To get your Shirts, Coolers, Stickers and other Myswag.org Merchandise just click Here...

Rear Window Protector

Started by sol, June 17, 2016, 07:34:37 AM

Cruiser 105Tvan

When you get that new clear, non distorting, optical quality corflute, can you get enough for all of us pls. Geoff.

I need Headlight protectors on my truck too.  Been lucky so far.  (Don't suppose I should tempt Fate, but it's done now.)

gronk

Nothing.........get a stone stomper instead !!

Quote from: gronkNothing.........get a stone stomper instead !!
coreflute is about $1000+ cheaper..

Redcherokee

We also got the added extra on our insurance. Unlimited window replacements!

Works a treat. Haven't had so much as a stone chip since. 

Jeep Rubicon SWB 2013. Outback Campers Sturt 2011
4.2L Patrol and Billabong Grove 16 hard roofed camper.

MrCruza

Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

mudge1

Beginners question, is this a real problem? Are the stones thrown up from the trailer?
Is the stone deflector on CT enough?

FJ Cruiser & Conqueror 390 Escape

Hewy54

Yes it is a real problem. Have been lucky myself, but mate did a rear window on the Birdsville track last trip.
Have always just used cardboard taped on but now that we are doing more trips and I have more time, made up one yesterday.
Went to a tyre dealer and got an old corflute sign, cut to size, then fastened on with suction caps from Bunnings. Got the ones with a hook on them, so that the cup end fits in a 9mm hole and the little hook fits in to hold it on. Can easily be removed by taking out the hooks. Simple, cheap and I hope effective.

80 Series
Vista Crossover XL

Jayandbel

When I was working in the servo in Birdsville we used to do a roaring trade in cardboard and duct tape for people who didn't plan ahead. At least half a dozen rear windows per week in the tourist season.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

GeoffA

Quote from: Jayandbel on June 18, 2016, 10:55:11 AM
.......At least half a dozen rear windows per week in the tourist season.

:o :o

Actually I don't think you you should protect the rear window at all :)

Fizzie

Other people MAY just like to debate that opinion with you!  ;D

Isuzu: 2017 MU-X LST

KevL

One thing I noticed on my last outback trip, stone deflectors on the front of campers don't protect your rear window. Spoke with 5 people with broken windows over 6 weeks, 3 had stone deflectors, 2 didn't.
Lesson, cover the back window if you want to protect it.

Also spoke with a bloke in a 200 ser . His drivers side rear 1/4 glass was hit by a stone from a passing car on the Birdsville track. He checked when next stopped but couldn't see a mark. Late that same day as he entered Birdsville, it "exploded" for want of a better word. Dunno what that would cost but he wasn't happy.

Terry W4

Quote from: KevL on June 19, 2016, 10:14:49 AM
One thing I noticed on my last outback trip, stone deflectors on the front of campers don't protect your rear window. Spoke with 5 people with broken windows over 6 weeks, 3 had stone deflectors, 2 didn't.
Lesson, cover the back window if you want to protect it.

I always protect my rear window even though I have a stone deflector. Some stones bounce off it onto the rear window. After 2 long trips last year on the first after returning to Canberra when I came to wash it and found a couple of large rocks lodged behind the spare wheel. On the other trip I could see dents in the corflute before I removed it after getting back on bitumen.
Terry - Canberra ACT
2008 Prado 120 D4D and 2009 Swan Outback
Blog Travels with Terry: https://terrywalls.wordpress.com

Quote from: KevLstone deflectors on the front of campers don't protect your rear window.
I didn't think they were designed to.. thought they were to protect the camper

GeoffA

Also need to protect the rear paint/panels, not just the glass.
The paintwork can get quite badly peppered.

Stone Stomper type setups are very good.

Thanks for the replies guys :cup:

GU Rich

GU Rich

DaveR

Plenty of free material to be found now on every street corner, got 1 week left to claim yours.

Quote from: DaveR on June 27, 2016, 06:45:16 AM
Plenty of free material to be found now on every street corner, got 1 week left to claim yours.
Thanks mate,
Now that made me smile  :cheers:

DaveR

Now obviously a bit of Paint may be needed as well.

Fizzie

Jeez yeah, & you'd have to be careful which way round you mounted them - just imagine driving along, glancing up in your mirror & seeing the face of one of our wanna-be leaders staring at you  :o - you'd probably run off the road from fright!  >:D

Isuzu: 2017 MU-X LST

And if their ugly mug was on the outside, you could have rocks thrown at ya  :angel: