To get your Shirts, Coolers, Stickers and other Myswag.org Merchandise just click Here...

Drag Racing

Started by Footy Shorts Shane, June 06, 2013, 08:43:41 AM

Footy Shorts Shane

Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on February 22, 2016, 04:41:52 PM
Hey Shane, ya see what Phillips ran in Perth.....  :o

Momo won the slowest pro bike race ever too.  ;D

Yeah, Canulli went .37 too. Was a lot of quick ET's on the weekend. By far, the best track in the country  :cup:

Jeepers Creepers

This is getting the ice cream home before it melts...........

527 KPH, yes, you have got it correct, 527 KPH in 4:53 seconds.

"We have a new track record at Perth Motorplex after an astonishing weekend of Top Fuel drag racing with some of the quickest times ever seen in Australia.

Mark Sheehan dropped jaws with a 4.537 second run in the elimination round of Sunday night – the quickest ever pass by an Australian drag racer on Australian soil.

But we weren't done yet annihilating the record books, as in the final round Damien Harris hit a 4.538 against Sheehans' 4.562 to produce the quickest ever side by side race in Australian drag racing history.

It was Harris' second win in two nights at Nitro Max.

Predicting only 4.6 second runs the night before, Harris was surprised to hear the nitro fuelled, 10,000 horsepower dragster had just run into the 'fifties' for the first time at a speed of 527kmh.

"It was awesome, I was very surprised to find out it was a 53 and it was good to go back to back (with wins)," he said"

Footy Shorts Shane

A couple of the Nostalgia F/C boys went 5.55 in the US over the weekend.
Not bad for no electronics, 6/71 std helix and only one fuel pump  :D

Jeepers Creepers

Nice new dragstrip ready to open next week-end for our northern hoons.

Just outside Mareeba, and only a short run for some boys from Herberton.

Google Springmount Raceway.

edz

JC's Suped up Nissota will be able to lay some rubber down on that fresh strip ..
For the record this old Diahatsu F20 with a 4cyl Ford heart ran 19 sec 1/4 miles, 7000 RPM  sidestep the clutch launch and would only just pick the left front wheel of the deck

jclures

Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on March 11, 2016, 06:58:29 AM
Nice new dragstrip ready to open next week-end for our northern hoons.

Just outside Mareeba, and only a short run for some boys from Herberton.

Google Springmount Raceway.
They had a members day the other weekend, my son and I were going to go down but a few things came us so we couldn't go.

Jeepers Creepers

50 Year anniversary of the opening of the Surfers Drag Strip this Sunday.

Tracks long gone of course, but nearby, their setting up a nostalgia display of sorts.

I'd go down for a look, but the weather this week-end is perfect for boating..... so that's what i'm doing.

edz

Thanks for the heads up Kev, might brave the w*nkers and traffic for a look .. Wish they'd advertise this stuff localy .

Jeepers Creepers

Quote from: edz on April 04, 2016, 10:47:23 PM
Thanks for the heads up Kev, might brave the w*nkers and traffic for a look .. Wish they'd advertise this stuff localy .

Go to the Street Machine Magazine website, you'll find the details on there.

Footy Shorts Shane

Jeepers Creepers

That's the fastest off I've ever seen.

edz

I want one http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/is-this-the-worlds-fastest-ute-20160403-gnx6h5.html

Fresh from building a highly modified Nissan GT-R capable of tackling the 0-400 metre sprint in 8.35 seconds, SVM received a brief to build the ultimate ute.
The outcome was simple: It had to have at least 800 horsepower, (590kW) smash through the 200mph (320km/h) barrier, and be capable of carrying a load from time to time.

The result is a stunning machine with a tuned version of Nissan's 3.8-litre twin-turbo V6, along with GT-R running gear, wheels and brakes. SVM has form building machines of this nature, having wedged the GT-R's world-beating driveline into a Nissan Qashqai compact SUV.

edz

Wonder if this thing would sound like this 350 - Z at full noise https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xefoiADMiBc  CRANK UP THE SOUND .

Quote from: edz on April 05, 2016, 12:35:26 PM
Wonder if this thing would sound like this 350 - Z at full noise https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xefoiADMiBc  CRANK UP THE SOUND .

Footy Shorts Shane

Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on April 04, 2016, 04:36:08 PM
50 Year anniversary of the opening of the Surfers Drag Strip this Sunday.

Quote from: Footy Shorts Shane on April 07, 2016, 11:35:32 AM

What I'd do for one of those cars, the FC ute or sedan in that condition!

Footy Shorts Shane

Like this one I have stuck in the corner at work?

edz

I know of a local bloke that has a two door version of an FB / C sedan sitting in his shed .. that was custom built as a race car back in the late 50's / early 60's ..

Quote from: Footy Shorts Shane on April 07, 2016, 11:41:48 AM
Like this one I have stuck in the corner at work?
Swap you 3x 285's for it :(

Squalo

A few mates and I are going to the Benaraby All Bikes drags on 6th August (QLD, just a little northwest of Gladstone), with Mason Rack Band playing... biggest all bike drag meet in Oz, should be a great day/night. Still figuring out our overnight accommodation details so any local knowledge is welcome.

The more the merrier :)
2007 Jimboomba Maddison Staircase
1995 GQ DX Patrol TD42

Jeepers Creepers

Tannum Sands is close by, but book early.

Footy Shorts Shane

Stay at the track. It's ALWAYS an experience ;D

Footy Shorts Shane

Soot choofin shootout is on again next month  ;D

Jeepers Creepers

They should let some pushbike riders out there with 'em.

Love seeing bike riders chocking on sooty exhausts.