General => General Discussion => Topic started by: McGirr on July 08, 2010, 08:32:00 PM

Title: Your Forum Name..How did you come up with it!!!
Post by: McGirr on July 08, 2010, 08:32:00 PM

It was interesting posting out the Cape York Dvds.

Trying to relate members real names to their forum name had me thinking how they came up with it.

I know some members use their first name and my forum name is my surname let us know how yours come about.

I was going to use tripod but my wife said in my dreams. Go figure. :'(

Title: Re: Your Forum Name..How did you come up with it!!!
Post by: MarkGU on July 08, 2010, 08:34:19 PM
hahahahahahaha.....now this thread will be funny.

mine?

my 4by  ;D
Post by: Bongo on July 08, 2010, 08:36:01 PM
My name is Tom. Some called me TomTom which then became Bongo.  (Both drums)
Post by: grubbadoo1 on July 08, 2010, 08:36:22 PM
Mine Grubbadoo because in primary school i played piggy in the middle in the rain and in mud and you guest it got grubbaddoo, so it has stuck with me though out my life.
Post by: NewcastleKnight on July 08, 2010, 08:37:49 PM
Fairly simple for me.  I am from Newcastle and my last name is.... Knight
Post by: Pauly on July 08, 2010, 08:38:04 PM
I dunno where mine came from ???
Post by: davo69 and the Nurse on July 08, 2010, 08:38:48 PM
Well I am a nurse hence my forum name and davo69 is husband David but always called davo or hilly and was born in 1969 (old fart!).
Post by: darren on July 08, 2010, 08:39:19 PM
my parents thought mine up...
Post by: Bill on July 08, 2010, 08:41:25 PM
Bill and Morag were the best our parents could come up with  ;D
Bill and Morag
Post by: CRW on July 08, 2010, 08:42:01 PM
Just my initials, how boring ;D

Post by: shanegtr on July 08, 2010, 08:43:11 PM
I originally came up with my username many years ago when I signed up on my first forum(which happened to be a torana forum for the record). The shane bit is my first name and the gtr refers to my LJ gtr torana - which still own by the way. And I'm lazy I just use it for all my Internet usernames
Post by: Mr Ploppy on July 08, 2010, 08:43:57 PM
Earvin (Magic) Johnson, great NBA basketballer for those that don't know. It really comes from a scene in Hear No Evil See No Evil with Richard Pryor it's just always stuck with me. Bit of an in joke.
Post by: blackstump on July 08, 2010, 08:44:26 PM
just something that people know that relates to the bush/outback.....

Post by: OffRoadDave on July 08, 2010, 08:45:24 PM
First part, where I like to be, second part, not my choice.  :D
Post by: chrisroche on July 08, 2010, 08:49:58 PM
first name last name - wasn't sure what I was doing when I set it up.  How do you change it?
Post by: Camping Grant on July 08, 2010, 08:51:37 PM
Camping - because that's what I like to do, and Grant because that's what the olds decided to call me...
Post by: McGirr on July 08, 2010, 08:56:48 PM
first name last name - wasn't sure what I was doing when I set it up.  How do you change it?

Under rule 8 / section 7 / paragrath 4/ line 8 of the My Swag terms and conditions
Once posted a name cannot be changed without a genuine reason and must be approved by all members.

Only joking would not have a clue. ;D
Post by: Crazy Dog on July 08, 2010, 08:57:31 PM
Well it all started about 13 years ago...Nah! ya don't really want to know do ya....

Grrr!!! >:D >:D >:D >:D
Post by: MarkGU on July 08, 2010, 08:58:25 PM
Well it all started about 13 years ago...Nah! ya don't really want to know do ya....

YEP.....SPILL IT!!!
Post by: grubbadoo1 on July 08, 2010, 08:59:00 PM
Come on CRAZYDOG tell us :cheers:
Post by: McGirr on July 08, 2010, 08:59:35 PM

Mate you have to play other wise I make something up really embarrassing for you.
Post by: MarkGU on July 08, 2010, 09:01:14 PM
Mate you have to play other wise I make something up really embarrassing for you.
i reckon i might be able to get something off ExplorOz to incriminate him  :D
Post by: grubbadoo1 on July 08, 2010, 09:02:05 PM
Kool go for it :laugh: :cheers:
Post by: CRW on July 08, 2010, 09:03:40 PM

Mate a brown envelope with copious quantities of the folding stuff sent to each of the moderators will get you absolutely no where ;D ;D

If you ask Brett you might receive, or the Big fella might be able to help

Post by: Snow on July 08, 2010, 09:04:27 PM
first name last name - wasn't sure what I was doing when I set it up.  How do you change it?
Yep, PM one of the admins, Brett or BigJules and they can do it for you. :cheers:

BTW, I got nicknamed Snow when I joined in the Navy because I had white blonde hair.
Post by: Hairs on July 08, 2010, 09:05:51 PM
Spent my teenage years in Byron, a surfie dude with very long hair, No not a hippie type, just a young bloke in the eighties with long hair. Moved to the Clarence valley, got to know a bloke in yamba called John as well. Rang him one day at his work, His boss asked who was calling, I said "It's Jon, He's mate from Maclean" He replied back "Oh Jon Hairs"
It's stuck like mud. (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-shocked019.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
The wife's Maiden  name is Fysh, So that is where the HairFysh comes from.

Post by: bullfrog on July 08, 2010, 09:06:15 PM
Well, actually, mind was thought up by the kids. When we got the GQ (patrol ), one of the billy lids said that it looked like a big 'ol bullfrog. Picture a green GQ front on, round head lights, flared out guards, she reckoned it looked like a frog. Closer to the truth than she knew as I'm usually found around the bush near creeks & rivers.No, it has nothing to do with croaking type noises coming from me  ;D
Post by: NewcastleKnight on July 08, 2010, 09:09:05 PM
I'm usually found around the bush near creeks & rivers.

Mate, what you do in your spare time is your business...... :laugh:
Post by: MarkGU on July 08, 2010, 09:09:31 PM
Spent my teenage years in Byron, a surfie dude with very long hair, No not a hippie type, just a young bloke in the eighties with long hair. Moved to the Clarence valley, got to know a bloke in yamba called John as well. Rang him one day at his work, His boss asked who was calling, I said "It's Jon, He's mate from Maclean" He replied back "Oh Jon Hairs"
It's stuck like mud. (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-shocked019.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
The wife's Maiden  name is Fysh, So that is where the HairFysh comes from.

and the real reason they call him HAIRS is everytime we all go camping a shy creature called a YOWIE makes an appearence....thus HAIRS.

gospel folks   :D
Post by: Hairs on July 08, 2010, 09:14:35 PM
Mate, what you do in your spare time is your business...... :laugh:

As long as he doesn't have a good set of binoculars I don't care either. (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-scared001.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Post by: MarkGU on July 08, 2010, 09:16:05 PM
As long as he doesn't have a good set of binoculars I don't care either. (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-scared001.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
from what we have seen....neither do we need them  8)
Post by: Crazy Dog on July 08, 2010, 09:17:01 PM
Ok about 13 or 14 yrs ago I partook in the Cairns To Karumba push bike ride for the School Of Distance Education Bush kids - a ride of about 800 kliks or so.

I was one of two volunteer drinks drivers (use your imagination here..)..anyway the road "Boss" was called TOP DOG, the police escort was Bluey O'Gorman (now retired) who was called BLUEDOG and I was named the CRAZY DOG because I used to get dressed up in shielas clobba to give the riders something to laugh at when they came into my drink station every 40ks...

I did the ride for 8 yrs so the name stuck..

So now ya know ok...

Grrr!!! >:D >:D >:D
Post by: Mandrake on July 08, 2010, 09:17:18 PM
Mandrake was my comic book hero as a kid ... His wife's name is Nada ... Mine is Nadia .. SO

there ya go ...

Mandrake and Nada - Magic !! LOL

Post by: xvprado on July 08, 2010, 09:17:56 PM
Got mine from a lovely little bloke, a car salesman he was
I reckon not long off the boat and he was selling up a storm

So, the little fella says to me....No no no Sir you no want the GXL, you want the new one....ooohh is good ruxury one, new model the XV......................
 :D
Post by: MarkGU on July 08, 2010, 09:20:16 PM
Ok about 13 or 14 yrs ago I partook in the Cairns To Karumba push bike ride for the School Of Distance Education Bush kids - a ride of about 800 kliks or so.

I was one of two volunteer drinks drivers (use your imagination here..)..anyway the road "Boss" was called TOP DOG, the police escort was Bluey O'Gorman (now retired) who was called BLUEDOG and I was named the CRAZY DOG because I used to get dressed up in shielas clobba to give the riders something to laugh at when they came into my drink station every 40ks...

I did the ride for 8 yrs so the name stuck..

So now ya know ok...

Grrr!!! >:D >:D >:D
reckon it wasnt too hard to flush him out folks........probably now wishing we didnt  :'(
Post by: grubbadoo1 on July 08, 2010, 09:21:23 PM
hmmmmmmmmmmm :laugh: :cheers:
Post by: NewcastleKnight on July 08, 2010, 09:23:37 PM
reckon it wasnt too hard to flush him out folks........probably now wishing we didnt  :'(

I am wondering if he has been hanging out with Bullfrog near the creeks and rivers!! ;D
Post by: MarkGU on July 08, 2010, 09:24:19 PM
I am wondering if he has been hanging out with Bullfrog near the creeks and rivers!! ;D
hahhahahahhahahhaha :D
Post by: Crazy Dog on July 08, 2010, 09:24:48 PM
Bring it on Baby..

Or suck it up Princess... whatever...

Hahahahahaha!!!!!

Grrr!!!
Post by: grubbadoo1 on July 08, 2010, 09:26:17 PM
So crazy how by the nick name???????? :cheers:
Post by: Disco EMU on July 08, 2010, 09:26:59 PM
Disco - Discovery
EMU - It's on the number plate.

The plates belonged to my Grandfather who (in those days ... there were no personalised plates) stood at the RTA number plate production line waiting for just the right letter and number sequence to come out ... and said I'll take those ones.

EMU are my grandmothers initials and 278 is her birthday and month.

Post by: Crazy Dog on July 08, 2010, 09:31:18 PM
Yo Grub...Read my post - the answer is there...

Grrr!!! ???
Post by: grubbadoo1 on July 08, 2010, 09:32:05 PM
Oh sorry :cheers:
Post by: Crazy Dog on July 08, 2010, 09:37:41 PM
Thats ok mate..after all you guys are 2 hrs behind  >:D  >:D us over here in the East...

Sorry but could not resist... ;D

Grrr!!!! ;D :angel: :angel: ;D :angel: ;D :angel:
Post by: grubbadoo1 on July 08, 2010, 09:42:58 PM
That ok just not as drunk as you then a???/ lol :cheers:
Post by: Crazy Dog on July 08, 2010, 09:45:22 PM
Just cracked the first coldie mate...

Grrr!!! ;D
Post by: grubbadoo1 on July 08, 2010, 09:47:16 PM
Gee thats late :cheers:Ive had six alredy :laugh:
Post by: GGV8Cruza on July 08, 2010, 09:47:40 PM
Initials of name and tow rig

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on July 08, 2010, 09:47:56 PM
Well my reason is just plain boring compared to some.

Had Kat's all my life.  Big, fat ones, skinny little ones, one's that demanded affection, ones that rejected affection.  Everyone knows that Kat's have 9 lives.  When I got chatted up in pubs in my youth, I'd say my name was Kat, which is kinda true, because my last name is Lyons, one of the biggest Kat's in the world.  Who says you have to go to Africa to see one?  LOL!  So I'm Kit_e_kat9.   ;D

My house has been called "The Zoo" by many, but that seemed just a bit weird...

Post by: Duchess on July 08, 2010, 09:56:17 PM
Kit, we've got a Lyons out here...he's now a famous league footballer.  ;D

Duchess is because I have a Ducati...that is Duchess and the Duke.  ;D A friend gave me the title a few years ago.

Post by: spike45 on July 08, 2010, 10:07:55 PM
Well.....

I have been called "Spike" for 60 years because of my hairdo... so it has stuck like mud!
And the "45" is for the year I was born!

Spike45
Post by: mcbadger2 on July 08, 2010, 10:09:07 PM
Mine is for our surnames, mine is McConachie and SWMBO is badger. A friend of ours joines these 2 together and came up with Mcbadger. It works in my mind.
Post by: buff on July 08, 2010, 10:39:59 PM
just looked in the mirror: big ugly fat fu...erm...fella
Post by: Dave61 on July 08, 2010, 10:53:44 PM
Well, my first name is Dave, and I go under the name of Dave B on another forum.
But it was already taken on this forum so I used the model of my LC for the 61.

Post by: pajnmaj on July 08, 2010, 10:58:41 PM
Paj our vehicle and Maj is our camper (majestic).
Post by: MattNQ on July 08, 2010, 11:03:17 PM
Note to self - Do not choose Forum name late at night after reading bizarre sci-fi novel about a collection of planets connected by a thin atmosphere where humans travel between the planets in motorised balloons, and watch the majestic SkyWhales fly across the sky....Because after consuming far too many Inner Circles and making the obvious connection between completing my camper trailer and Pigs flying, the picture in my head of SkyPigs made some sort of sense at the time......bugger it, where did that bottle go. There must be one last drop in there.... ??? ??? ;D
Post by: Bongo on July 08, 2010, 11:06:23 PM
Crazy Dog,

Did you you use to ride a pushbike with a trailer around the Top End a few year ago with a road train sign on the back of the rig? He used to wear a dress!
Post by: idlegossip on July 08, 2010, 11:08:54 PM
Mine started about 9 - 10 years ago when I got involved in an internet cafe. It was called Idle Gossip Internet Services. We were one of the original true internet cafes of Melbourne before internet was so readily available and convenience stores put in a couple of computers and now call themselves "internet cafes". We serve real coffee and people can sit and enjoy a conversation whether it is online or face to face. We still get people saying to us "Oh, you are a real internet cafe with real coffee". Although we are a dying breed.

Thus idlegossip has stuck ever since.
Post by: rescue1 on July 08, 2010, 11:22:42 PM
Because I lack imagination and the first forum I joined was a rescue related one I figured something related to my business [The One Stop Rescue Shop] would be good there so rescue1 came about. I've been using it almost everywhere since...

Boring but easy to remember
Post by: Barry G on July 08, 2010, 11:34:51 PM
My mum gave me the first bit, the second bit tells when.
Post by: campjunkie on July 08, 2010, 11:38:33 PM
Well my reason is just plain boring compared to some.

Had Kat's all my life.  Big, fat ones, skinny little ones, one's that demanded affection, ones that rejected affection.  Everyone knows that Kat's have 9 lives.  When I got chatted up in pubs in my youth, I'd say my name was Kat, which is kinda true, because my last name is Lyons, one of the biggest Kat's in the world.  Who says you have to go to Africa to see one?  LOL!  So I'm Kit_e_kat9.   ;D

My house has been called "The Zoo" by many, but that seemed just a bit weird...

Kat are you related to anyone in brackenridge by any chance? the last name rings a bell that's all(http://www.pic4ever.com/images/237.gif)
Post by: gronk on July 08, 2010, 11:44:52 PM
Well, back in the older days most blokes had long hair at school, and in partnership with the girl I was going out with at the time, the mates reckon we looked like Gronk and Shag.....c'mon, some of you oldies will remember the TV show !!

So Gronk stuck.....but come to remember....I never did get a Shag !!!!!!
Post by: campjunkie on July 08, 2010, 11:47:07 PM
When i get my home made camper out from under all the dust and cobwebs
to take some photo's (http://www.pic4ever.com/images/photosmile.gif)and post it up on here
my name will then speak for itself
Post by: Barry G on July 09, 2010, 01:31:24 AM
Well, back in the older days most blokes had long hair at school, and in partnership with the girl I was going out with at the time, the mates reckon we looked like Gronk and Shag.....c'mon, some of you oldies will remember the TV show !!

So Gronk stuck.....but come to remember....I never did get a Shag !!!!!!

"Oooh ... hard hole ... ! 
(That's a glass sliding door to you young fellas.) 

See, some of us can relate to the stone age!  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on July 09, 2010, 02:43:50 AM
A little area N/W of Swanhill  on the Murry river , Speewa . 158 is date of birth ,month ,day & year .
After going to the easter Quambertook tractor pulls , ( huge boy thing) we camped at Speewa that night & read from the book Crocked Mick of The Speewa . The story is a collection of wild bush yarns so over the top you have to read them twice  to fully understand them . there is enough serious stuff going on in the world to be that way all the time .  I come here as we all do to spend time with an extended family of like minded people .   :cheers: ;D ;D
Post by: toeball on July 09, 2010, 05:36:44 AM
I've been shaving my head since 1993, which was when I noticed I was trying to brush my hair over my balding bits, 23 years old is way too young for a comb over :'( :'(

From behind my head looks like "toeball" or as I should have said "towball" i nevu bean gud spelor. ;D

Well I am a nurse hence my forum name and davo69 is husband David but always called davo or hilly and was born in 1969 (old fart!).

I'm glad the nurse cleared Davids reasoning for the 69 up, I must be the only one around here who had the wrong idea >:D ;D
Post by: Johnny Trackabout on July 09, 2010, 06:06:36 AM
Mine was hashed up by John Rooth (Roothy) around 9 years ago when I was doing a mag shoot on location at a 4wd park. We are both John's so to save the confusion he and the crew started calling me Johnny Trackabout and he wrote the story calling me Johnny Trackabout and since than it has stuck like $h!t to a blanket  ???

John Vezos aka Johnny Trackabout ;D
Post by: TOY80ST on July 09, 2010, 06:08:49 AM
Mine is just from my humble vehicle.

TOYOTA80SeriesTurbo.

I had the plates TOY80S on it when the slimline black and white ones came out but a fellow offered me $500 for them so I didn't argue with that. They are only number plates.

Soon to change my user name to TOY76SV8 though  ;D
Post by: davo69 and the Nurse on July 09, 2010, 06:31:38 AM

I'm glad the nurse cleared Davids reasoning for the 69 up, I must be the only one around here who had the wrong idea >:D ;D

Toeball, I never really stopped and thought about the other reasons for interpreting '69', as you did.... thank you for opening my eyes!

Post by: TOY80ST on July 09, 2010, 06:34:32 AM
Toeball, I never really stopped and thought about the other reasons for interpreting '69', as you did.... thank you for opening my eyes!

You could have gone the metric equivalent of 1-8-1 ;D
Post by: McGirr on July 09, 2010, 06:35:56 AM

Yes I had for a fleeting second thought mmmmmmmmm what could it mean. ???

Nurse its a male thing.  
Post by: davo69 and the Nurse on July 09, 2010, 06:39:27 AM
You could have gone the metric equivalent of 1-8-1 ;D

TOY80ST....
You are a classic....!
Post by: Silva on July 09, 2010, 06:55:50 AM
Note to self - Do not choose Forum name late at night after reading bizarre sci-fi novel about a collection of planets connected by a thin atmosphere where humans travel between the planets in motorised balloons, and watch the majestic SkyWhales fly across the sky....Because after consuming far too many Inner Circles and making the obvious connection between completing my camper trailer and Pigs flying, the picture in my head of SkyPigs made some sort of sense at the time......bugger it, where did that bottle go. There must be one last drop in there.... ??? ??? ;D

got a laugh outa this one - ty skypig

mines just my 4bee's colour
Post by: graylyn on July 09, 2010, 07:05:04 AM
GRAY - Short for Graham - and LYN - my deceased wife.
Post by: MADCOW on July 09, 2010, 07:25:01 AM
Well the missus name is Muriel and kids struggle to say it so MOO is the norm. Good friends reckon I was the old cow and grew to Madcow.  :cheers: 

Moo and Madcow signing off to go look for a better paddock to explore!!
Post by: Symon on July 09, 2010, 07:28:05 AM
Ummm..... it's my name.... boring aren't I?
Post by: McGirr on July 09, 2010, 07:35:25 AM
Ummm..... it's my name.... boring aren't I?

There is another person like that mmm who could that be k
Post by: Karen on July 09, 2010, 07:45:30 AM
There is another person like that mmm who could that be k

Oh you are funny this morning.  Yeah, yeah another boring one from me.  It's easy to remember after a few wines anyway.  :cheers:
Post by: jk on July 09, 2010, 07:49:25 AM
jk.......................John Kuhnemann, but my friends call me Johnno  ;D.....................plain and simple... just like me  :cheers:
Post by: giypsy on July 09, 2010, 08:38:08 AM
I'm Romany (gypsy) by heritage a and a hopeless wanderer by nature. The extra i in the middle reduces spam on my email. It also sounds better than what my mother called me, " Grumpy"
Post by: Hairs on July 09, 2010, 08:44:53 AM
It also sounds better than what my mother called me, " Grumpy"

I thought my name was Jesus Christ until I went to school. (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-shocked025.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

Post by: blackcat on July 09, 2010, 09:09:33 AM
I have no idea...  ???  registered and had to think of a user name, and came up with blackcat. I really don't like it, but hey, it's done. Maybe i might change it    ::)
Post by: gbdid on July 09, 2010, 09:13:49 AM
Erm, I'm too embarrassed to say. :-[
Post by: rossow on July 09, 2010, 09:14:10 AM
Its my last name. boring but its everywhere now.
I've tried a few things over the years but was on so many forums at one stage i couldnt remember all my names.  So for  future reference all i need do is remember my name...  And the way i'm going thats gunna be hard enough!

Rossow.
Post by: McGirr on July 09, 2010, 09:33:27 AM

come on no secrets here.
Post by: CRW on July 09, 2010, 09:37:55 AM

Come on spill the beans, the rest of us have

Post by: dallp on July 09, 2010, 09:38:49 AM
..Because after consuming far too many Inner Circles

There is your problem if you had been drinking the good gear "BUNDY RUM", you  would  have come up  with a good name like " SkyPig". :cheers: ;D ;D
Post by: driftenaway on July 09, 2010, 09:54:28 AM
Camper built by driftaway out of Geelong so driftenaway as i do, seem the way to go. :cheers:
Post by: davo69 and the Nurse on July 09, 2010, 10:01:22 AM
Come on spill the beans, the rest of us have

It can't be that bad... my user name is totally innocent, but some bored house-husband are thinking it suggests something else!

Post by: DX grunt on July 09, 2010, 10:06:15 AM
I drive a 2005 Nissan Patrol 4.2 TDi  DX Ute   Grunt  =  power

My DX is a basic 3 seater model (BM) with no frills, bling or carpet - just 'grunt'.  It's got manual wind up windows, a CD player, radio, and a heater and is commonly referred to by some as a 'Poverty Pack'.  What more could a person want?  LOL  I love my truck  :cup:

Post by: DX grunt on July 09, 2010, 10:09:48 AM
I drive a 2005 Nissan Patrol 4.2 TDi  DX Ute  with  Grunt  =  power

My DX is a basic 3 seater model (BM) with no frills, bling or carpet - just 'grunt'.  It's got manual wind up windows, a CD player, radio, and a heater and is commonly referred to by some as a 'Poverty Pack'.  What more could a person want?  LOL  I love my truck  :cup:

Post by: TOPNDR on July 09, 2010, 10:21:27 AM
Lived in Darwin for many years and love camping particularly in the north of the country, the Top End.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on July 09, 2010, 11:00:17 AM
Kat are you related to anyone in brackenridge by any chance? the last name rings a bell that's all(http://www.pic4ever.com/images/237.gif)

I'm related to many!  We are over 2500 strong in this country.  Can you tell I've done the Family Tree?

Post by: toad on July 09, 2010, 11:23:12 AM
 Crikey, 7 pages in less than 24 hours, a popular thread indeed.
With a lot of motorised toys over the years, I've been compared to toad of Toad Hall. The missus (Deb) is always cold, so froggy was a natural name for her. Ergo froggy and toad. And the Odyssey is nicknamed Toad Hall (or the Taj Mahal sometimes).
Post by: pjpatrol on July 09, 2010, 11:33:32 AM
Initials and what I drive.
Post by: sassenach.girl on July 09, 2010, 12:24:57 PM
Interesting name from a book series I was reading a while back. And, well .... I'm a girl :)
Post by: BradandPeta on July 09, 2010, 12:35:13 PM
My Mummy and Daddy gave it to me, then I added "and" then added the name my mother inlaw gave to my wife, what resulted was pure genius, made it alot easier at our first camp with Myswaggers , Hi I am Brad and this is Peta .. "So whats your user name on the forum ?" Ummmm well ...........
Post by: xmasbaby67 on July 09, 2010, 12:55:43 PM
Mine is not hard to figure out either but it's easy for me too remember... :cheers:

Xmasbaby = yep born on Xmas day and yes it sucks!! :'( 
67 = year i was born.
Post by: Teabag on July 09, 2010, 01:01:19 PM
Surname is Tetley so don't need to be Sherlock Holmes to work out why everyone call's me Teabag........ ;D
Post by: Crazy Dog on July 09, 2010, 01:07:56 PM
I would have thought this may have been more appropriate mate...

Grrr!!!
Post by: baldheadedgit on July 09, 2010, 02:36:32 PM
Baldheadedgit.?      Hmmm think it's cos i grew thru me hair.!
Post by: Karen on July 09, 2010, 02:54:49 PM
Baldheadedgit.?      Hmmm think it's cos i grew thru me hair.!

I have to admit that when I first saw this one I wondered what a bald head edgit was?  OK, OK, maybe I could be 'blondeheadedgit'!

Some of these usernames are very clever (unlike my own).  ;D

Karen
Post by: davo69 and the Nurse on July 09, 2010, 02:57:24 PM
Karen,
Try Bald Headed Git.... meaning old fart with no hair (oops sorry Steve!  :-* )

Post by: Karen on July 09, 2010, 02:58:54 PM
Karen,

I'm not that blonde Tammy, I did work it out in the end, without help.  ;D
Post by: baldheadedgit on July 09, 2010, 03:00:27 PM
Karen,

Hmmm love you too. lol
Post by: Darcy7 on July 09, 2010, 03:21:40 PM
Well...when my dad was teaching me to talk, he started by trying to get me to say my name.  For some reason, all that would say was Darcy.  So in the end, dad gave up and started calling me Darcy.  Stuck ever since.

The 7 is just a lucky number.
Post by: McGirr on July 09, 2010, 03:35:07 PM
Now now we do not pick on people with funny names. But gee I love the way the name sky pig was formed. :cup:

It sounds like more than alcohol was induced.
Post by: Patr80l on July 09, 2010, 03:38:37 PM
I have a Patrol GU which replaced a LandCruiser.   The ghost of the 80 series lingers on.
Post by: baldheadedgit on July 09, 2010, 03:44:55 PM
I have to admit that when I first saw this one I wondered what a bald head edgit was?  OK, OK, maybe I could be 'blondeheadedgit'!

Some of these usernames are very clever (unlike my own).  ;D

Karen
it's the edgit bit the cracks me up Karen. lmao. :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: pommiedic on July 09, 2010, 03:54:25 PM
I'm a Pom and I have a big *** NO NO NO, wishful thinking......

I'm a Pom and my nickname is dic.  ;D

dic
Post by: Johnny Trackabout on July 09, 2010, 04:14:41 PM

dic
:cup: ;D ;D
Post by: McGirr on July 09, 2010, 04:22:16 PM

dic

Could have been worse pommiepen@$
Post by: 4runnernomore on July 09, 2010, 05:01:28 PM
I was serving OS in the Middle East and I had organised to have a Commodore V6 transplant into my highly modified but slow 2.4 turbo diesel 4runner.  I received an email from the work shop telling me they had some bad news for me. When I finally got in contact with them I was told that my truck was no more after 12 years of $$ sweat and tears.  Some disgruntled customer had torched the 4runner to get back at the shop owner. They were actually trying to strip it and were interupted buy a security guard.

Any way in a fit of depression I found some 4wd forums. As you have to log in with a user name I came up with 4runnernomore. People thought i was going to be buried in that truck.

Damn I miss the old girl. May she rest in peace.

Cheers, Chris

Post by: WaituiRob on July 09, 2010, 05:06:53 PM

Mines not very exciting, waitui...where I live, rob....first 3 letters of my name.
Post by: Wilk0 on July 09, 2010, 05:47:50 PM
My last name is Wilkinson and Wilko was taken so its Wilk0 lol :D

Cheers Wilko
Post by: D4D on July 09, 2010, 06:02:05 PM
I drive a D4D Prado

In the true spirit of  :worthles:

This is it on the day of delivery

(http://blkmav.com/prado/pradosm.jpg)
Post by: speewa158 on July 09, 2010, 06:07:03 PM
That rig has no plates , did you pinch it ?
Post by: D4D on July 09, 2010, 06:09:48 PM
That rig has no plates , did you pinch it ?

Yep I drive it like I stole it  ;D
Post by: Victa on July 09, 2010, 06:35:26 PM
Vica is my nickname from the old days in the nightclubs when my mates reckoned I could cut anyone's grass if full enough :).

I tell people it was because I was a sprinter back in school - fast cut grass - not so friendly people tell others it is because I only last for 2 strokes :)
Post by: toeball on July 09, 2010, 06:37:23 PM
It can't be that bad... my user name is totally innocent, but some bored house-husband are thinking it suggests something else!

Whats so unique about a male with a one track mind ???    ;D
Post by: RWS on July 09, 2010, 06:46:13 PM
No need for a explanation...fairly obvious...boring I know...at the time of joining it's all I could come up with ;D
Post by: markpeh on July 09, 2010, 06:52:16 PM
Easy, my first name and surname intitial and then Eh as in EH Holden, my first car, and the car that I still own to this day, nearly 15 years now.
Post by: Redback on July 09, 2010, 07:00:43 PM
I wanted an Australian name, something unmistakebly Australian, so I chose Redback, but my daughter stole it as her forum name so I started forum life on ExplorOz as (Baz NSW) then bazzar on Australia4wd and yes I am, but then we ordered a Redback camper and when we got back from a trip with Australia4wd forum, I lost my membership from ExplorOz (Baz NSW) and decided to change my forum name on all forums to Redback the name I chose in the first place, Redback on ExplorOz was my daughter first up, she never used it.

Post by: Dasnowman on July 09, 2010, 07:14:00 PM
Mine is because I can never get mine (nickname) in any of the forums!!

And now this one is getting hard to keep as well!!

(http://www.google.com.au/url?source=imgres&ct=img&q=http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4012/4248140976_087a45d373.jpg&sa=X&ei=D-g2TLecD4GTkAWB09HqAw&ved=0CAQQ8wc4UQ&usg=AFQjCNEd-6csosGP06v1tArUGfmpFrKuVg)

(Frosty) Dasnowman
Post by: knopfler on July 09, 2010, 07:57:58 PM
Mine comes from one of my all time idols, Dire Straits frontman Mark Knopfler in my opinion one of the greatest songwriters, guitarists and musicians of all time.
Post by: grubbadoo1 on July 09, 2010, 07:59:13 PM
hear hear :cheers:
Post by: madfisher on July 09, 2010, 08:13:03 PM
  About six winters ago we where flyfishing Lake lyel of a night in sub zero temps trying to catch some 5kg plus fish that we knew where their. Anyhow we use to start about 4pm and fish till the flyline starting freezing up in the guides. Relating to a mate a few days later what we where doing he replied (you would have to be a MADFISHER) .
 Cheers Pete
Post by: Dasnowman on July 09, 2010, 08:15:12 PM
Mine comes from one of my all time idols, Dire Straits frontman Mark Knopfler in my opinion one of the greatest songwriters, guitarists and musicians of all time.

Yep definately one of the best!!!

Dasnowman
Post by: SteveandViv on July 09, 2010, 08:40:53 PM
I got sick of remembering all those different names etc and as I'm loosing brain cells decided on our names. So boring really but it works. I still know my name and can even remember the wifes. Good thing is if I forget hers I login and *Walla* I call her Steve  :laugh:
Post by: grubbadoo1 on July 09, 2010, 08:42:23 PM
but you will never forget SHMBO :cheers:
Post by: McGirr on July 09, 2010, 08:48:50 PM
I got sick of remembering all those different names etc and as I'm loosing brain cells decided on our names. So boring really but it works. I still know my name and can even remember the wifes. Good thing is if I forget hers I login and *Walla* I call her Steve  :laugh:

Wait until you forget the birthday and anniversary. Even worse the kids birthday. It will come trust me I am going through it now. My son is having a birthday on the 20th July which took me 10 years to finally remember and then I said you 15 now and the boss said no he is 16 with a filthy look. Some how I missed a year. ???   
Post by: grubbadoo1 on July 09, 2010, 08:49:54 PM
Oh bugga :laugh: :cheers:
Post by: SteveandViv on July 09, 2010, 08:59:55 PM
Wait until you forget the birthday and anniversary. Even worse the kids birthday. It will come trust me I am going through it now. My son is having a birthday on the 20th July which took me 10 years to finally remember and then I said you 15 now and the boss said no he is 16 with a filthy look. Some how I missed a year. ???   

Oh No... Is this a 48 year old thing  :'(..And for the record. I have a daughter who is - 28,29.30.or 31  depending on how I feel. My three grandchildren all have names, if only i could remeber what they were. Did I tell you the other day I was going out for a walk and  ??? What was I saying  :cheers:
Post by: baldheadedgit on July 09, 2010, 09:03:13 PM
Oh No... Is this a 48 year old thing  :'(..And for the record. I have a daughter who is - 28,29.30.or 31  depending on how I feel. My three grandchildren all have names, if only i could remeber what they were. Did I tell you the other day I was going out for a walk and  ??? What was I saying  :cheers:

Sounds to me like a bad case of "CRAFT"
Post by: Hairs on July 09, 2010, 09:04:01 PM
I missed a year. ???   
Doesn't help when the minister for war and finance tells you that your older that what you really are, & bingo it dawns on you that your one year out.
Yeah Love Very Funny, Glad ya got a kick out of it  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: SteveandViv on July 09, 2010, 09:13:58 PM
Sounds to me like a bad case of "CRAFT"

Alright Sir Bald One, i've got your number sonny jim...Don't be CRAFTING with me or,or else    :laugh:
Post by: Macleod on July 09, 2010, 09:43:16 PM
Another boring one - from the suburb I lived in at the time of joining....
Post by: Flemo on July 09, 2010, 10:05:25 PM
Abreviation of my surname in typical Aussie style. Campbell = Cambo, Johnson = Johnno, Thompson = Thommo and Fleming = Flemo and my dad and grandad are the same! If I had a boy so too he would be the same. One lot of Flemo's in Yamba!!!!
Post by: McGirr on July 09, 2010, 10:07:01 PM
Wow 10 pages in 24 hrs. That has to be a record.

Keep them coming.

Post by: McGirr on July 09, 2010, 10:08:51 PM
Abreviation of my surname in typical Aussie style. Campbell = Cambo, Johnson = Johnno, Thompson = Thommo and Fleming = Flemo and my dad and grandad are the same! If I had a boy so too he would be the same. One lot of Flemo's in Yamba!!!!

Gee I will fell sorry for your daughter. ;D

You could call her flemingo. ;D
Post by: Flemo on July 09, 2010, 10:23:21 PM
both daughters and the wife are flemingoes!!! long legged things that they are.. ;D
Post by: Talawana5 on July 09, 2010, 10:49:11 PM
Talawana from the track that runs off the Canning Stock Route, (we will do it one day). 5 being my favourite number cheers
Post by: cucinadio on July 09, 2010, 11:51:39 PM
Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary © 2006 Oxford University Press:      kitchen /?k?t??n/ noun cucina
Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary © 2006 Oxford University Press: God, god /g?d/ noun Dio  

simple really.....

Post by: HEM19X on July 10, 2010, 07:14:18 AM
I vote for cucinadio as the one furtherest in "left field"

Mine is actually my initials reversed MEH - in fact it is also the 1st 3 letters of my surname.

19X is our wedding anniversary 19th October.

So far never missed one, so maybe this forum is helpful afterall.

HEM19X
Post by: griz066 on July 10, 2010, 07:27:48 AM
We used to camp in a tent and every time I got that tent out I could turn perfect weather into hail rail sleet snow wind within the hour. It seemed something would always go wrong and my darling wife reckons that I reminded her of the Grizwalds from the National Lampoon Movies so Griz it is and 66 is the year I was hatched.
Post by: Followme1 on July 10, 2010, 08:23:38 AM
Wife drives a GU patrol and I dont like parting with my money Jew boy or Guboy. One day I will change it to Effie as I drive a F250

George
Post by: Karen on July 10, 2010, 11:29:13 AM
Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary © 2006 Oxford University Press:      kitchen /?k?t??n/ noun cucina
Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary © 2006 Oxford University Press: God, god /g?d/ noun Dio  

simple really.....

There's another one.........  I was wondering what a Cuci Nadio was?!  I am so glad people are explaining these things for me.  ;D
Post by: cucinadio on July 10, 2010, 11:42:11 AM
There's another one.........  I was wondering what a Cuci Nadio was?!  I am so glad people are explaining these things for me.  ;D

lol....some are really cleaver.....

Post by: pepiman on July 10, 2010, 01:28:57 PM
hope you have a half hour to spare. My name is Peter. My father's name is Josef. He came from Czechoslovakia. In Czechoslovakia a nickname for Josef is Pepi. When I was a boy they used to call my father big Pepi and I was called little Pepi. And I have had Pepi as a nickname all my life. So hence my Swag name . Pep for me and Man for my wife Mandy. All confused.
Post by: Yimmy on July 10, 2010, 01:33:35 PM
Ok reading post from McGirr says as a new mwmber I must explain the name, here goes,

My name is Jim, not much you can do with a name like that so managed to get through school without a nickname :laugh:. Then the boss and I sat down and watched the movie "The Whole Nine Yards" with Bruce Willis, Bruce's characters name is Jimmy. His Mafia boss in the movie is Jannie pronounced Yannie, now the boss isn't that smart and seeing the spelling of his name and how it is pronounced he calls Bruce Yimmiy all the way through the movie.

Fair to say the wife loved it and now to all the friends I'm Yimmy (thats alright her name is Louisa so you can guess that has been shortened to Weeza) :cheers:

Sorry for the long story :-[  
Post by: speewa158 on July 10, 2010, 02:41:48 PM
Mcgirr  Clever boy you have opened a pandoras box with this thread . You have worked out everybodys master mind subject  .  Well done    :cheers: :cup:
Post by: Frostd on July 10, 2010, 08:05:43 PM
Once again, when looking for Frosty, but somebody else had the name, so went the next best thing, Frostd, which in turn is the initial of the finance minister. :cheers: :police:
Post by: BuggerBoggedAgain on July 10, 2010, 10:50:42 PM
Whilst in Artillery, if there was a drought on and there was a chance there was just a bit of mud somewhere,more than likely, I would be bogged up to my axles, at least, once a month over 6 yrs, oh dear.

It was a standing joke,whenever the radio-chatter was about some vehicle being bogged, everybody thought of me, dunno why?

When I was in civvy street, driving for country council, I called over radio I was bogged, well not exactly, I drove over this hump and all axles were off ground, like a giant see-saw, only a 10- tonne truck,up and down, swaying in the breeze, not going anywhere, it took our grader to pull me off the bump, bugger,bogged again.
Post by: jetcrew on July 10, 2010, 11:07:22 PM
Got  nicknamed JET  by a mate and every time he rings he asks how the crew is (wife & kids) ,

So jetcrew is me and the family

Pretty plain and simple ...

Jetcrew  :D :D 
Post by: Dion on July 11, 2010, 06:48:56 AM
I'm a huge Celine Dion fan .... No wait .... It's my first name :-)
Post by: McGirr on July 11, 2010, 08:10:28 AM
I'm a huge Celine Dion fan .... No wait .... It's my first name :-)

Mmmmmmmmmmmm A Closet Dion Fan. Thats allright we all have skeletons in the closet. Gee there is even a cross dresser here. ;D

Post by: Crazy Dog on July 11, 2010, 10:18:22 AM
NEVVA!!!!!!! >:D

Grrr!!! :angel:
Post by: buddha on July 11, 2010, 11:07:55 AM
People seem to like to rub me on the belly for good luck!!!
Post by: grubbadoo1 on July 11, 2010, 11:10:04 AM
Mostly on saturdays lol :cheers:
Post by: I detect on July 11, 2010, 01:00:04 PM
I prospect for gold with a metal detector,so,"I detect"

cheers billy 8)
Post by: Crimso on July 11, 2010, 05:09:55 PM
From the 70's, 80's, 90's & 00's rock band called King Crimson.
During the 70's some British rock journalist called them "Crimso" and they were
called that by fans for a few years.  Not a very famous band though still producing
good music, well I think it is.  ;D
Post by: Dasnowman on July 11, 2010, 06:00:13 PM
hope you have a half hour to spare. My name is Peter. My father's name is Josef. He came from Czechoslovakia. In Czechoslovakia a nickname for Josef is Pepi. When I was a boy they used to call my father big Pepi and I was called little Pepi. And I have had Pepi as a nickname all my life. So hence my Swag name . Pep for me and Man for my wife Mandy. All confused.

When I think of Lil Pepe i think of this!!

(http://www.ridelust.com/wp-content/uploads/aa_1982_ford_bronco_xlt_romancing_the_stone.jpg)

1982 Ford Bronco XLT
Where It’s From: Romancing The Stone [1984] film

Claim to Fame: Lil Pepe “The Mule”, the drug-running 4 x4 with a V8 engine and the apparent ability to score bigger air then the General Lee.

Dasnowman

PS I know I am starting to show my age with this!!!
Post by: poppasmurf on July 11, 2010, 06:47:11 PM
Got it from a much younger, much taller mate.
Post by: savanahkelpy on July 11, 2010, 08:11:09 PM
I wanted a forum name that was relatively australian, related to the bush or outback, individual and a bit different,( as we all do).
Since i live in the wet tropics rainforest country, i like going west to the open forest and savanah country of the gulf for an ocassional change of weather and surroundings, and so savanah became the first part, and since i also like aussie kelpie dogs, it became the second, with a slight spelling change. Hence,,savanahkelpy.
Laurie.
Post by: Myfault on July 11, 2010, 08:14:19 PM
Mine is Myfault - take a guess why.

Alex
Post by: Taz on July 11, 2010, 08:24:20 PM
Born in Tasmania and then joined the Army .... ergo 15 years of Taz or variants of it.

In regards to CRAFT ... I am lucky I was born in a year ending with a zero. It makes it easier to calculate your age but only if you can remember which year it is now ..... and for some strange reason every time I try and remember what year it is I look at my watch ??? I have never had a watch that displays the year.

(24 hours in a day, 24 cans in a slab ... coincidence ? .... I think not !)

PS: Hey Teabag, looks like you got moved north a couple of k's ....

Taz
Post by: Pipeliner on July 12, 2010, 01:16:11 PM
Since I arrived in Australia 27 years ago I have been working in the oil & gas pipeline business, so..........................
Post by: baldheadedgit on July 12, 2010, 04:19:23 PM
Hope there big pipes.?? could be a bit cramped.!!!
Post by: wizardofoz on July 13, 2010, 04:34:50 PM
Mine is just wishful thinking!.
Post by: hookedon4wding on July 13, 2010, 07:52:35 PM
I've used mine from the first forum I ever signed up to (Overlander). It was after my first offroad outing in my first 4wd - a mighty Mazda Tribute :) The bug bit straight away hence the forum name.

Cheers, Sam.
Post by: Pipeliner on July 14, 2010, 08:03:40 AM
Hope there big pipes.?? could be a bit cramped.!!!

Working in the business, not in the actual pipelines!  Not too many big ones in Australia, though I've been involved with some pretty large ones in the Middle East.
Post by: SpoonyAU on July 14, 2010, 09:46:32 AM
My surname roughly translated from German to English means to ladel or scoop ... I made the mistake of mentioning this to a mate and hence I have been called Spoony ever since.

I managed for a few years to not be called this at work but at my wedding, the above mentioned mate was my best man and in his speech only referred to me as Spoony, so now all my work mates call me that as well ... I got back to work and everything (locker, coffee mug, pigeon hole etc) had "Spoony" labels all over them!

Now just waiting for the billy lids to start calling me Spoony and the transformation will be complete :D

Post by: spargo on July 14, 2010, 12:44:49 PM
It's my surname. I like it, so I use it everywhere.

I've met plenty of people who don't even remember my first name when I meet them again, but the surname sticks.. 
Post by: cucinadio on July 14, 2010, 12:55:17 PM
It's my surname. I like it, so I use it everywhere.

I've met plenty of people who don't even remember my first name when I meet them again, but the surname sticks.. 

lm with you there, i had a friend at high school that i recently caught up with on facebook..he was saying hows it going hubbert!!, after some discussion he asked "l always wondered if that was your real name when we were at school?" to which i replied "what is my name mate" ?...he said i thought it was, Hubbert!    :laugh:

Post by: 4wd26 on July 14, 2010, 01:28:58 PM
I had a few different forum names over time

"1hzzzz" when I had a 105 series landcruiser GXL- but as they were vehicle based had to change as the vehicle did
The original "survey dude" when I didn't have a clue what forums were or what the hell a forum name meant

I'll settle for the one I have now.
(http://publicgallery.stevenbowden.com/albums/album33/abc.sized.jpg)
Got these plates for my 30th B'day and I think I'll keep them until I kick it.
Post by: terravista on July 14, 2010, 04:14:23 PM
I have 2 versions, 
See if you can guess which one is true.

1.  I wanted to relate my forum name to my dream of looking at the astounding scenery while travelling our beautiful country, our Australian version of Terra Vista
Then I thought of cutting it back to TV, but thought people would think I was fixated with wasting my time watching television, so wanted to avoid confusion and decided to change it to TB because B rhymes with V, and if you say it fast, it sounds alike..
TB had connotations to the horrible disease with the same initials, so that thought was subsequently amended to CB to relate to communications with other vehicles while looking at our scenery.
I decided that CB was old technology so I slipped it to UHF, which signified newer technology, but some friends thought that UHF was long life milk, and that could get changed to cow juice.
Not wanting to be associated with mad cow disease, I wanted to relate it to a better class of animal, and looked at names like Werewolf.
I used to have books when I was a little tinker that featured Brer Rabbit and his gay pals, and thought that Brer was a bit too close to Were, so decided to head in another direction.
Recently, while driving on some slippery tracks with high falls from the side, the car slipped so one wheel went over the edge, and only the sidestep digging into the wet clay prevented us from plunging down a 100m drop.
I developed a bad case of the shakes and had the horrible feeling of terror looking over the valley far below, and thought that even though it was an intensely dangerous position, it was a nice view, so I adopted Terror View, and decided to use a version of that, but decided to make it a bit romantic by changing it to a Mediterranean name, Terra Vista.

2.  The company I work for does a little bit of land development, and we registered the company as Terra Vista, so I use that email address for net surfing at work, and I can remember it easier.
Post by: graylyn on July 14, 2010, 04:20:21 PM
Terravista, I prefer option 1.  Option 2 doesn't ring true to me.
Post by: Ruffstuff on July 14, 2010, 05:00:36 PM
Mine is the Rego of my 80 because i prefer to be on the rough stuff than the black top.. Rough Stuff wouldnt fit on the plate so it was shortened to Ruffstuff. :)

Post by: jclures on July 14, 2010, 09:25:56 PM
Jcclures or jclures, my initials and I made barra lures for 30 years.
Post by: TC Cocky on July 15, 2010, 11:20:57 PM
I'm a farmer and the country that we have is often referred to as Tiger Country because you can't see the tigers coming!
Post by: coxy1954 on July 16, 2010, 11:32:08 AM
The same as Barry1956,
My mum gave me the first bit, the second bit tells when.
Post by: McGirr on July 19, 2010, 08:34:44 PM
Come on more partakers please.

Post by: Des Lexic on July 19, 2010, 10:50:20 PM
Mine has evolved over the years. Only other forum that I frequented was EO and when I first started there I was Alpaca as it is loosely my name. Few people started to work out who I was so needed another name which became Al Symers because the brain cells aren't what they used to be. Forgot the pass word so needed an new Avatar. When typing, I'd often hit the wrong key and I would say to myself, "Bloody Dyslexia again" So became Des Lexic and have been that for a few years now. When people call me Des, I answer without thinking LOLOLOL
Post by: Al Coholic on July 20, 2010, 08:49:54 PM
My initials are BWS which also happens to be a large bottle shop chain around the country..........hence al coholic. I split it up to look more like an actual name which suprisingly confusses some people >:D ;D
Post by: farmer6 on July 20, 2010, 08:58:15 PM
I'm a farmer and with dad, mum and the kids there are 6 happy campers.
Post by: chunk on July 21, 2010, 12:58:39 AM
When I started work at BHP I was a young strapping Aussie rules player with big chunky legs so they called me chunk, now I'm just a big fat old bastard. ;D
Post by: skmaint on July 21, 2010, 11:38:11 AM
S for Simon
K for Karen (the wife)
Maint is short for Maintenance Which is a part of our business.

Simon.
Post by: madfisher on July 21, 2010, 09:18:26 PM
Mine has evolved over the years. Only other forum that I frequented was EO and when I first started there I was Alpaca as it is loosely my name. Few people started to work out who I was so needed another name which became Al Symers because the brain cells aren't what they used to be. Forgot the pass word so needed an new Avatar. When typing, I'd often hit the wrong key and I would say to myself, "Bloody Dyslexia again" So became Des Lexic and have been that for a few years now. When people call me Des, I answer without thinking LOLOLOL

Good to hear from you Des, from another EO tragic
 Cheers Pete
Post by: Diksta on July 21, 2010, 09:36:55 PM
I used to get Call Dickie Knee cause i was an annoying little Sh&T and it gradually evolved to Diksta, i have been carrying Both Dickie & Diksta for about 20yrs now.

So now i answer to both.

Diksta
Post by: Farquo on July 21, 2010, 09:47:47 PM
Start of surname with an o added at the end.

slightly OT
Son, James, joined hockey team. 2 other James on the team so each had to have different name. Others became Bushy and Wally, my James briefly became Farquo. Teenagers with mouthguards calling to each other soon meant that he needed another name - Jimmy  :laugh:
Post by: RebsWA on July 22, 2010, 11:17:00 AM
REB is my initials and I was often called Rebs in a past life. Just added WA as its where I'm from.
Post by: Gunna Do on July 22, 2010, 01:55:47 PM
This is a timely post.  Back in 1989 when I did my first trip up to Cape York with friends we had T-shirts made up with Gunnado Tours on it.  When I joined this forum and was trying to work out a good username, Gunna Do came to mind.
Post by: davo69 and the Nurse on July 22, 2010, 05:11:30 PM
I used to get Call Dickie Knee cause i was an annoying little Sh&T

So now i answer to both.

Diksta

Hey Diksta, Are you still annoying? Guess I will find out in 12 weeks!

Post by: Diksta on July 22, 2010, 05:16:43 PM
Hey Diksta, Are you still annoying? Guess I will find out in 12 weeks!

i didn't say that it had changed      :D
Post by: Alloy C/T on July 23, 2010, 10:06:50 AM
2nd C/T was all alloy , now hunting for our 4th , 3rd was CampOmatic.
Post by: kaos on July 25, 2010, 05:39:23 PM
kaos are my initials ;D
Post by: Grungle on July 25, 2010, 06:51:31 PM
Mine came from a dog that was in a book by Robert G Barrett. It was an ugly but tough mutt and I loved the name. Originally it was a nickname for our first 4wd but it was also used for our second and current 4wd. Have used it for nearly 20 years and is great because it is not common and is rarely taken on the various forums I frequent.

David
Post by: Diksta on July 25, 2010, 06:53:24 PM
Mine came from a dog that was in a book by Robert G Barrett. It was an ugly but tough mutt and I loved the name. Originally it was a nickname for our first 4wd but it was also used for our second and current 4wd. Have used it for nearly 20 years and is great because it is not common and is rarely taken on the various forums I frequent.

David

i read that book and the series.

and it is apt, "you wouldn't be dead for quids"
Post by: Victa on July 26, 2010, 12:13:42 AM
Love every book written by Robert g Barrett.  Best aust writer we have!!
Post by: BigBlock1DT6 on July 26, 2010, 12:45:50 AM
Well i always ran Big Horse Powered Big Block V8s over the quarter mile for just over 20 years
the 1DT6 = Diesel turbo 6 cylinder, is the only engine i have now  ;D
so BigBlock1DT6 was born
Post by: Grungle on July 26, 2010, 07:41:11 AM
Love every book written by Robert g Barrett.  Best aust writer we have!!

Yes he was a great author. He really brought his characters to life in his books.  :D

David
Post by: Flemo on July 26, 2010, 12:59:15 PM
Yes he was a great author. He really brought his characters to life in his books.  :D

David
How would Danny green go against Les Norton? I would pay foxtel to see that fight!!!!
Post by: Paul.Helm on July 26, 2010, 01:10:17 PM
I think my user name says enough. No real need for my nickname or the like, but my sig has my nickname Helmsy from high school days of old.

My user name is used on other forums as well.
Post by: dug on July 31, 2010, 12:07:46 PM
My name is Douglas but when I was a young teen and the old arcade games only took the 3 letters could not use Doug so went with dug and now I use it whenever I can.
Post by: oldturtle22 on July 31, 2010, 06:33:50 PM
I couldnt think of a profile name when I signed up for ebay, and my brother was oldturtle21, so I went with the next best thing!

and it's stuck with me.

Cheers Chris
Post by: camdyson on August 01, 2010, 06:44:00 PM
I'm so boring.... :'(
Post by: graylyn on August 01, 2010, 06:47:30 PM
ok, camdyson, give it to us.  don't be shy.
Post by: Gonewalkabouts on August 01, 2010, 07:19:10 PM

I did a lot of travelling in the military throughout Aussie, spent alot of time hunting, camping and fishing, and have changed career a few times, finally Im also one of those idiots that lays awakes at night thinking about science, philosophy, culture, relgion etc. As a kid I use to watch shows like World Safari, Leyland Bros, Malcomb Douglas adventures etc and always said to myself thats how I was going to spend my life e.g. hence joining the Navy after highschool.

Finally I was also told by an Aboriginal elder once of the true meaning of "going walk abouts" so I guess Im still on mine.......

Gonewalkabouts

P.S. It also seemed appropriate for a site this also.
Post by: camdyson on August 01, 2010, 10:02:21 PM
Not much to say - just too lazy to type Cameron.  ;D

Cam Dyson

oh, used to use just plain old "Cam", until I begun getting confused with another far less cultured "Cam" in my other life as a paraglider, so Camdyson was born out of necessity.
Post by: McGirr on August 06, 2010, 08:50:07 PM
come on new members how did you come up with your forum name.
Post by: Sir Kev + Darkie on August 06, 2010, 08:54:53 PM
come on new members how did you come up with your forum name.

OK

Mine is from another forum where in the heat of battle I got Knighted   :angel: so therefore I became Sir Kev  :cup:

Darkie got his name due to being converted by Darkside Conversions in Romsey Vic and him not being the standard white colour that they had normally converted  ;D ;D

Cheers Kev
Post by: SUPA105 on August 06, 2010, 08:57:20 PM
Our Landcrusier 105 series is Supercharged = SUPA105.... :cheers:
Post by: yorkie on August 06, 2010, 10:17:59 PM
two trains of thought with mine.

born in east yorkshire

or

chocy bar in the uk "yorkie" thick and chunky.... ;D

Post by: Big Jas on August 06, 2010, 10:42:39 PM
going back a few years ago, the owner of a dive shop wrote on my dive tanks for them to know which is mine, and he wrote Big Jas and it stuck and and have used it on different forums, so I thought why not here as well.

Post by: dragonsgirl on August 06, 2010, 10:44:42 PM
Just love my football team.  Its been my user name for everything.
Post by: Cloud Basher on August 07, 2010, 09:25:39 AM
My family is my first love, 4WDing and camping is my second love and Flying is my passion.  I love flying and the freedom it gives and love "bashing clouds". The name came from when I went for a ride in an F/A-18 Hornet and there were some nice white fluffy cumulus clouds about and we proceeded to fly though the very tops of them.  When you go through a cloud in a Hornet you simply "destroy" the tops of them and put holes in them, thus bashing clouds - Cloud Basher.

I have used that user name for numerous years on a number of aviation forums and so I can remember what I call myself on various forums I just use the one.

Hope it is ok to post a few photos here of flights I have done and taken people on, but as I said, I love flying and sharing it with people.  If this is outside of the forum rules mods, please delete them.

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/17365-1/P6051559.jpg)
Self Portrait in a Piper J3 Cub

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/17368-1/P6051563.jpg)
View from the Cub's Door

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/17370-1/IMG_1232.JPG)
Taking an passenger for an aerobatic flight in the Pitts Special S2B

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/17372-1/IMG_2328.JPG)
Taking another passenger for an aerobatic flight.  A nice shot too!

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/17374-1/IMG_2120.JPG)
Harvard WWII trainer flypast - friend flying

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/17376-1/IMG_1456.JPG)
Coming in to land after turning my passenger upside down and around and around

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/17378-1/IMG_2352.JPG)
Taking the Stearman WWII trainer out for a spin

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/17380-1/IMG_2363.JPG)
Turning Crosswind in the Stearman.  Just beautiful

The Photos of the Pitts and Harvard were taken at the RAAF Richmond Flying Club Fly-in in 2008.  I am the president of the club there and we arranged for a number of aircraft to visit and I conducted joy flights in the Curtis Aviation Pitts Special on the day.  Everyone had a ball and not one of my passengers was sick.  The photos as you can see are simply awesome (the originals full size look even better) and were taken by my Glenn Alderton who if any of you are Warbird enthusiasts will know is one of Australia’s premiere aviation photographers.  I know Glenn from work and we have shared a few too many beers at a number of airfields including flying days at the Temora Aviation museum.  The other photos of the Stearman were taken by a friend of mine when I got to fly that aircraft in the States last year.  The Piper Cub was also in the States and belonged to a good friend of mine.  He was 6 ft 5 and weighed 290lbs and as we both couldn't fit in he just said take it for a fly.  Unbelievably trusting. 

I have flown the Harvard myself but not solo as they owners insurance won't allow anyone but the owner or a named instructor to fly it solo, but it is simply a beautiful aircraft to fly.  I also fly a Tigermoth which is again simply beautiful on a Spring evening with the sun setting and the wind in your hair and the smell of fresh cut grass.

Anyway a rather lengthy post just to explain my user name!  I guess you can tell it is indeed my passion and especially older aircraft, warbirds and antiques.  I count myself very lucky to be able to fly some of these aircraft and cherish every moment of it and being able to share it with others.

Post by: Barry G on August 07, 2010, 01:24:37 PM
Great photos Dave, love those old birds, a flight in a Tiger Moth is on my 'bucket list'.
Post by: speewa158 on August 07, 2010, 02:20:31 PM
Great stots well done  ;D
Post by: Cloud Basher on August 07, 2010, 08:06:05 PM
Barry,
Here is a couple of photos to wet your appetite to go and make it happen.

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/17399-1/DSCN0280.JPG)
My eldest daughter then 3 playing biggles in the Tigermoth

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/17401-1/DSCN0281.JPG)
Getting ready to call "contact" and have the prop swung!!!!

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/17405-1/IMGP1514.JPG)
Flying over Camden Airfield in the tiger.  My father-in-law was the passenger this day.  I flew him for his 60th birthday.  He loved it.

Don't leave it too late!!!!!!!!

(Sorry for the thread drift mods, delete if necessary)

Post by: maca76 on August 07, 2010, 08:13:49 PM
maca is part of my last name ::) and 76 is the year I was born

cheers Ryan  :cheers:
Post by: tj0llll0@yahoo.com on August 08, 2010, 05:54:59 AM
TJ- the kind of JEEP I have, 0llll0 is a picture of the front of the JEEP.

Post by: speewa158 on August 08, 2010, 06:27:55 AM
Looks like the back of your jeep or do they have stoplights on the front too. Its a jeep thing we dont want to understand .    :cheers:
Post by: tj0llll0@yahoo.com on August 08, 2010, 06:40:19 AM
OK.  Im a JEEP nut.  The 0llll0 is also my plate.  Don't have one in the front, too many rocks to rip it off!
Post by: camwill on August 08, 2010, 07:09:06 AM
I used to use camwill69 but have shortened it to camwill. I got it from ebay when I first joined under the instruction's on that site. It advised the you could abbreviate your christian name ( Cameron), abbreviate your surname (Will&^*%) and if that was taken add your year of birth (1969). Totally innocent and did not even realise for many years until someone pointed it out that their was another meaning. Only ever had one person complain about it in 7 years of using it.

Cam
Post by: Barry G on August 08, 2010, 03:18:55 PM
Cam, I understand that, when Marmite came to Aus in the 1920s, Vegimite responded by changing their name to Parwill!

How lame, about as successful as 'isnack2.0'.

Won't ask the circumstances of the complaint about your e-bay 'handle'!  ;D >:D
Post by: camwill on August 08, 2010, 05:31:19 PM
Hey Barry,
Yeh dropped the 69 bit just in case i offended someone unintentionally. Their was no malice in the original user name but as per usual the minority spoilt it for the majority. Jeff was so far off when he made the complaint it's not funny. A member of that forum for 2 days, complained and moved on never to be seen again. Big man he was. It was made even funnier when another forum released member numbers and I got number 181. Ironic or issued by the mods not real sure, funny all the same once it was explained to me.

You live and learn.

Cam
Post by: Barry G on August 08, 2010, 06:07:48 PM
Cam, some people either lead very sheltered lives, or have a case of the 'green eyed monster'.  Perhaps even both!
Post by: dallp on August 08, 2010, 06:52:23 PM

David

Hey grungle, just checked his website, indicates he is still on the planet. Is there some bad news not yet published?
Post by: McGirr on August 12, 2010, 07:24:52 AM

More Please ;D
Post by: MrCruza on August 12, 2010, 09:02:42 AM
Mine comes from owning a succession of Japan's finest that the kids couldn't quite get the tongue around. ;D
Post by: hutchie62 on August 12, 2010, 05:33:42 PM
Nickname & year of birth. Pretty boring.
Post by: Moopla on August 12, 2010, 05:37:24 PM
Nicname from few years back also boring!
Post by: speewa158 on August 12, 2010, 06:18:46 PM
MrBitchie  Nice truck is it an oiler . Love that (TRUCK ) car !! ;D
Post by: Ranga on August 12, 2010, 07:01:24 PM
I thought 'Ranga' was pretty self explanatory, but just you wait and see all us red heads will unite and rule the world one day! Ha Ha! >:D
Post by: briann532 on August 12, 2010, 07:07:47 PM
I thought 'Ranga' was pretty self explanatory, but just you wait and see all us red heads will unite and rule the world one day! Ha Ha! >:D

Too right!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! >:D >:D >:D

Lets just hope its not under "Ranga" Julia's rule.........!!!

Cheers all,
Post by: Ranga on August 12, 2010, 07:13:09 PM
I hear you loud and clear!!!! :-[
Post by: MrCruza on August 12, 2010, 08:12:10 PM
MrBitchie  Nice truck is it an oiler . Love that (TRUCK ) car !! ;D

Nah, mate. Petrol and LPG.
Post by: Blueboy on August 12, 2010, 08:32:00 PM
Another redhead. (Well, I used to be.!!!!!!).Still a mystery to me though why redheads have been nicknamed "BLUE".
Post by: Barry G on August 15, 2010, 07:40:48 PM
Too right!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! >:D >:D >:D

Lets just hope its not under "Ranga" Julia's rule.........!!!

Cheers all,

Another ex-ranga here (the 56 in my name is my year of birth, so nothing surprising there.

IMHO,any Ranga is to be preferred to the 'dumbo eared budgie'.

(Posted in the interests of 'equal time' political anouncements.  ;D)
Post by: Roachie on September 19, 2010, 05:14:44 PM

Yeh, it got the stage where I wasn't sure what your real name was after I first met you!!! I found it just as hard to believe somebody could be called Al Paca (sic), just as much as Des Lexic...hahahaha.

Now I find that Dust Devil has also joined this forum as well....hell, they're leaving EO like rats deserting a sinking ship.  ;D
Post by: cruisindub on September 19, 2010, 11:59:35 PM
Pretty laid back relaxed kinda guy, ..........(sometimes) At least when me and the chef are travelling and not just repairing.
Oh, And I have a VW Kombi T3 !!!
The Dub rules !!!!!!

CruisinDub.
Post by: mick32 on September 20, 2010, 10:42:31 AM
Plain and simple like me ;D Mick= nick name for Michael and 32, I have a 3.2Ltr Pajero :cup: Damn its sorta sunny again, pack the kids and missus were off up Nariel Creek :cheers:
Post by: Barry G on September 21, 2010, 05:44:34 PM
Pretty laid back relaxed kinda guy, ..........(sometimes) At least when me and the chef are travelling and not just repairing.
Oh, And I have a VW Kombi T3 !!!
The Dub rules !!!!!!

CruisinDub.
In the 'air cooled' days the model designations were:
Type 1 - Beetle
Type 2 - Kombi (all body shapes - tray back, camper, van, etc.)
Type 3 - Notch Back, Fast Back and Variant (i.e. 'Wagon')

Can't remember exactly when they changed, probably about the time they started lettingg liquids other than oil and fuel in their engines!  :D
Post by: cruisindub on September 22, 2010, 02:20:01 AM
In the 'air cooled' days the model designations were:
Type 1 - Beetle
Type 2 - Kombi (all body shapes - tray back, camper, van, etc.)
Type 3 - Notch Back, Fast Back and Variant (i.e. 'Wagon')

Can't remember exactly when they changed, probably about the time they started lettingg liquids other than oil and fuel in their engines!  :D

Correct, its Type 2, but a T3. Born 1983, 27 yrs young!
Its a T25 to be precise.
Without being pedantic in Europe they are commonly called a T3, to differentiate between the Splitty T1's, Baywindow T2's, the T4's and T5's etc.
Its the first of the WBX engines. 1.9 litre, DG engine. (water cooled)
Originally a Caravelle, before I put the home made interior together.
Would love an original splitty, bay , Samba etc, but too expensive and getting quite rare.

The DUB Rules..... !!!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volkswagen_Type_2_(T3)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Volkswagen_Transporter

Post by: Mr Ploppy on September 22, 2010, 08:05:40 AM
I just changed my forum name. Was Earvin now Mr Ploppy - I thought this name suited our Land Rover Discovery, it is slow and drops stuff (oil) constantly. Plus it's a Blackadder reference ;D
Post by: MarkGU on September 22, 2010, 08:21:59 AM
Mine comes from owning a succession of Japan's finest that the kids couldn't quite get the tongue around. ;D
i reckon your forum name should be.........Bitchy & Lefty   ;D
Post by: hodgefamily on September 29, 2010, 06:29:29 PM
It's who i represent. :cup:
Post by: kiwipete on September 29, 2010, 07:48:54 PM
Kiwipete
Not that difficult really
I was from NZ'd = kiwi
First name = peter
or KP

one more post and i hit 25 Posts   yay  :)
Post by: Gonewalkabouts on September 30, 2010, 09:36:53 AM

My missus asked me if she needed a forum name

I suggested "killjoy"

I got the elbow to the ribs, along with the stare!

Gonewalkabouts
Post by: BuggerBoggedAgain on October 03, 2010, 10:07:13 PM
Armidale late at night, did u-turn in tautliner twin steer on what looked like hard mud, nope, slowly sank down to all 4 axles. Lucky for me, just across from council works depot,cost a ctn of beer for grader pull/tow.

Army 6WD International Tractor, I'll just mosey on down this hill to bottom, hmmmmm, why am I sinking, open door, ground level now at seat level.

Council 9 tonne truck,I'll just cross this hump to the road, hmmmmmm, no traction, wheels spinning, reversed bog,truck sitting on top of hump, see-sawing up and down, up and down, call on radio, I'm stuck on hump, no traction on any axle, just up and down, another grader tow.

Corolla on trip to Lightning Ridge passing through Walgett after a light shower of rain,missus says, you just passed a picnic ground, so do u-turn off bitumen, bad mistake, why aren't we moving, whats all this mud clinging to tyres, step out on ground, second mistake, my boots are glued to mud, I'm now 6 inches taller than when I set out on trip

oh BuggerBoggedAgain

Post by: bjf on October 04, 2010, 02:40:46 PM
Another vote for my initials not a lot of thought was put into it, boring now after seeing what other members have come up with.
Post by: UR-50-LO on October 04, 2010, 03:27:03 PM
My numberplates.
Because it has been raised up & has a 5.0 litre in it...

Post by: GS on October 04, 2010, 04:15:38 PM
My initials but GS is also what my mates and family have called me for the last 25 years.

I have been called worse names though!
Post by: McGirr on October 13, 2010, 06:50:09 PM
More please ;D Dont be shy
Post by: peanut2 on October 13, 2010, 07:00:52 PM
I live in Kingaroy, need I say more?

Peanut
Post by: Redback on October 14, 2010, 08:34:56 AM
Yeh, it got the stage where I wasn't sure what your real name was after I first met you!!! I found it just as hard to believe somebody could be called Al Paca (sic), just as much as Des Lexic...hahahaha.

Now I find that Dust Devil has also joined this forum as well....hell, they're leaving EO like rats deserting a sinking ship.  ;D

God!!! you and Des Lexic, there goes the neighbourhood :-[
Post by: Maîneÿ . . . on October 14, 2010, 08:46:38 AM

Well I've been known as Maîneÿ since I was just a kid     ;D

( that's probably 50 yrs and a fairly obvious reason )  

Post by: Chippy76 on October 14, 2010, 09:12:34 AM
I'll give you one guess what I do for a job ... :p
Cheers Chippy :D
Post by: Redback on October 14, 2010, 09:32:53 AM
I'll give you one guess what I do for a job ... :p

Own a fish and chip shop ;D
Post by: Chippy76 on October 14, 2010, 09:53:23 AM
Ahhh ha ha ha ha .....nice one redback
(i wish ..... fish n chips nom nom nom)

Post by: waledownunda on October 14, 2010, 04:26:52 PM
Welshman... living in Oz.....
Post by: barista on October 14, 2010, 07:41:01 PM
barista it what I do make coffee
Post by: Duchess on October 14, 2010, 08:24:08 PM
Please tell me that you don't just mean making coffee from a jar of international dust... ;D
Post by: speewa158 on October 15, 2010, 08:32:46 AM
Thats a bit harsh Duchess . >:D
Post by: Roaring Chicken on October 26, 2010, 01:34:09 PM
I love an old TV series called F Troop.  Roaring Chicken was a medicine man of the Hekawi tribe and I just think the name's a hoot.

Shane
Post by: MR MAC GU on October 26, 2010, 01:48:47 PM
I drive like Mr Mac Goo
I drive a GU Patrol

Well it sort of works... ???
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on October 26, 2010, 03:50:03 PM
I drive like Mr Mac Goo

Magoo!  LOL!  We had an old black and white super 8 film of Mr Magoo.  Cracked me up all those years ago.

(I still have a BIG KAT last name)
Post by: Alass on October 26, 2010, 05:30:06 PM
All encompassing name covers
.  a mix of my initials
.  the feminine side, my wife can also identify herself
.  those times when an opportunity has been missed
Post by: Damo on October 26, 2010, 06:06:58 PM
Damo, I chose this because my name is George.

Just kidding.
Damien.
Post by: Monty94 on October 26, 2010, 06:55:46 PM
I got chose mine when I signed up to a Ford forum,  at the time owning a 1994 Fairmont  ;D

Post by: speewa158 on October 26, 2010, 08:03:36 PM
Monty 94   You didnt really go on a ford Forum really did you ? If so you will have to sit in the blue ovel gang . You can do better than that !         :cheers:
Post by: Markbell on October 26, 2010, 09:09:51 PM
If you are bored one day, make a phone call to someone who maybe expecting to hear your full name and tell them your name is Marcel...... Won't be too long before they repeat it back to you as Mark Bell. I just wish people would listen!  >:D

My takeaway order name is now Mark!
Post by: speewa158 on October 27, 2010, 03:55:42 AM
You want fries with that  ???
Post by: JCOJ on October 27, 2010, 03:30:01 PM
I drive a JK Jeep Wrangler and my name is John so I put them both together to make JKohn.

Many people ask me how to pronounce it and I ask if they've ever heard of Akon - the singer?  Well it's the same but with a J.
Post by: baldheadedgit on October 27, 2010, 03:35:39 PM
Who the ****s Akon.?????? lmao.. ;D
Post by: JCOJ on October 27, 2010, 04:41:26 PM
Who the ****s Akon.?????? lmao.. ;D

This tool...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EEW-9NDM5k

Post by: Monty94 on October 27, 2010, 06:37:33 PM
Monty 94   You didnt really go on a ford Forum really did you ? If so you will have to sit in the blue ovel gang . You can do better than that !         :cheers:

Haha  I've actually owned both red and blue, but sticking with blue.  It doesn't seem to attract so much attention from the  :police: , even with some Lightforce 240s on the front   ;D

Post by: not quite there yet on October 27, 2010, 08:34:53 PM
Hey well its fess up time.  I'm not a camper trailer owner and am only now buying my first 4by (sniff sniff).

As a result, I played on the pun and seeing I'm "Not quite there yet" as a legitimate camper trailer owner on a camper trailer forum...
Post by: McAbouts on October 27, 2010, 08:41:49 PM
Ours i easy and a bit dull compared to some on this site. Gee some people really think long and hard about their names.
Mc for the beginning of our surname- McKenzie
and Abouts as suprise, suprise our CT is a Trackabout.
See, told you it was easy.

Louise. :D :-*
Post by: farcanal on October 28, 2010, 08:45:21 PM
......it's what I say a lot on the golf course...
Post by: davo69 and the Nurse on October 28, 2010, 10:07:12 PM

I love it!
Post by: farcanal on October 28, 2010, 10:16:25 PM
I love it!
Thanks nurse Tammy...I see you've moved
Post by: Ruffstuff on October 29, 2010, 10:18:30 AM
and i thought it was because you lived on the canals, but not the near one..... :)

Post by: farcanal on October 30, 2010, 12:43:22 PM
very good ruff  ;D ;D
Post by: Kidsanall on November 22, 2010, 09:24:22 PM
Hmmmm fairly basic as it the kids and all ...... hence we needed the CT!!
Post by: maverex91 on November 23, 2010, 08:30:37 PM
Mine came out of the kids calling the truck Rex ; don't know why so I just combined the 2 to get Maverex
Post by: escape on November 24, 2010, 06:49:02 PM
Mine is left over from my time in the navy.Last name is Hatch,so escape just came naturaly.
Post by: Moto Mech on November 24, 2010, 06:53:01 PM
Short for our business, Moto Mechanical.
Post by: crackacoldie on November 24, 2010, 11:12:55 PM
One of my favourite past times, together with camping and 4wding!!!   :cheers: Cracka
Post by: Yoda42 on November 25, 2010, 05:05:14 PM
Yoda is an eggshell blonde  ;D, and has the right shaped head and ears to be Yoda 8) Love you, sweetie darling sweetie ;D

The 42 part comes from Mrs Yoda, who's user name on other forums has a 42 on the end, as it is the meaning of life, the universe and everything ;D

Mrs Yoda
Post by: arel on November 27, 2010, 08:32:44 AM
simple, my initials.
Post by: Pearlie on November 28, 2010, 02:46:08 AM
Named after my 4bee, Pearlie.  2004 VX Crystal Pearl Prado, now towing a 2005 Jayco Outback named Laverne
Laverne and Pearlie...  Look out!!!  :laugh:
Also a name I use on other forums..
Post by: OB Swan on November 28, 2010, 10:53:21 AM
err um you'll never guess  :laugh:

pretty original !!
Post by: fitzyfootlong on November 28, 2010, 03:34:37 PM
Well you wouldn't call me "Fitzyshortlong"  :cup:

Well the wife doesn't complain!!

And we have 2 junior fitzyfootlongs  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: areyonga on November 28, 2010, 03:36:10 PM
Its a town in the West McDonnald Ranges about 3 hours west of Alice Springs I worked at 20 years ago and went back there for a year a few years back to work for the Commonwealth Govt.

Absolutely picturesque and great people, in a deep valley with permanent waterholes, yabbies, horses, donkeys, camels, unused mines etc.

Wil

Post by: HerGU on November 28, 2010, 05:30:56 PM
When the other half is working on the wagon and things dont go right its "my car", but when everything is rosey, its suddenly "ours" again. haha - hence "HerGU".
Post by: Strawb on December 02, 2010, 02:40:16 AM
Have been referred to it most of my life. As a kid Dad had a large strawberry patch in the back yard, first name Steven last name ends in bury not rocket science for 8 year old neighboor hood kids at the time. ::)
Post by: mr_cougar79 on December 02, 2010, 03:55:14 PM
My name comes from around 15yrs or so ago when i was all of about 15 some school mates and myself had CB radio's setup at home and we'd get on those after school,so like the internet we had to make up nicknames and i thought Cougar was a cool name at the time lol,Now Cougar is referenced to an older woman who chases younger men hahaha well seeing thou my better half is 9yrs older than i it seems she is the Cougar but i have the name lol Even her parents call me Cougar lol..So my nickname has just kinda stuck from way back in the day.
Post by: MarkGU on December 02, 2010, 04:18:57 PM
My name comes from around 15yrs or so ago when i was all of about 15 some school mates and myself had CB radio's setup at home and we'd get on those after school,so like the internet we had to make up nicknames and i thought Cougar was a cool name at the time lol,Now Cougar is referenced to an older woman who chases younger men hahaha well seeing thou my better half is 9yrs older than i it seems she is the Cougar but i have the name lol Even her parents call me Cougar lol..So my nickname has just kinda stuck from way back in the day.
you sure you aint this bloke ??   ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KoaIYB0qTQY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KoaIYB0qTQY)
Post by: austastar on December 02, 2010, 04:52:45 PM

state:    tas
suburb:  tar

Not really very exciting.

Post by: surly17 on December 02, 2010, 07:38:12 PM
Surly is the name of the bike i get around on only having one car i get the bike the wife gets the patrol
also riding a bike in traffic can make you pretty surly and 17 well i was born on the seventeenth
Post by: Jon on December 02, 2010, 07:44:48 PM
Dunno...
Post by: tropicbird54 on December 02, 2010, 09:13:57 PM
Have just read ALL previous posts - very entertaining.  haha   Some very clever usernames.

Mine is pretty simple  -  I live in the tropics and am a female (bird) and my birth year is 54 (crap, where did all those years go!!)
Also, there is really a bird called a tropicbird.
Post by: cardinal28 on December 03, 2010, 11:13:40 AM
I have an EB GT and the colour is Cardinal Red. Build number is 28 = Cardinal28
Post by: Willow Girl on December 19, 2010, 10:47:29 PM
Actually it is our new cattle dogs name , Willow and of cource I am a female (although not much of a girl anymore) :D

Post by: Hauler on December 20, 2010, 12:10:38 AM
It's what I do.  Haul you good folks from A to B.......
 :D
Post by: ferret on December 20, 2010, 11:05:12 AM
An old Army nickname as no one could pronounce my surname  :cheers:
Post by: bimborocks on December 20, 2010, 04:42:48 PM
When growing up my sister started calling me Jimbo (name is James) as she got older and more obnoctious that changed to Bimbo and stuck unfortunatly (and she is the blonde one too)
Post by: fugwurgin on December 21, 2010, 12:21:13 PM
HAHA!!!
there are some real creative ones there.

i must admit i copied mine from a name of a small fishing boat that pulled up next to us at the traffic lights (it was being towed- lol). I was only about 10 and i didnt get it??? but thought the word sounded funny, i started using it, i even used to call people it ("ya fugwurgin"), i must have been a bit slow not to realise what it meant and the relationship of it being a name of a boat. Anyhow, thought it was clever and have used it alot for many things, even on other forums (one forum made me change it as they had got complaints by people who thought it was offensive).

anyway- back to reading more threads (my list of mods is getting longer and longer).

have a merry christmas all.

Anth
Post by: Alchemist on December 21, 2010, 12:31:07 PM
Alchemist - because I have mastered the art of converting wood into gold and now have a limitless source of wealth... yeah, right. :'(

I'm a mad-keen home coffee roaster, converting green coffee beans into beautiful, aromatic golden brown treasures (well, that's what I think of them any way).

Alchemy of a different sort I guess ;D

Post by: aprillove20 on December 21, 2010, 12:54:40 PM
Aprillove20- Both my name and my birthday!! How convenient right?  ;D
Post by: sadie on December 21, 2010, 01:14:16 PM
Something to do with my line of work....
Post by: speewa158 on December 21, 2010, 06:29:57 PM
You should be rolling in the $$$ . Yes    cleaning up   so to speak  :cheers:
Post by: sadie on December 21, 2010, 07:41:44 PM
Mate, if I had a dollar for every time someone called me 'Jim', I'd be as wealthy as... well.....Jim!
Post by: McGirr on December 29, 2010, 08:38:05 PM
more members now you know the drill ;D 
Post by: duggie on December 30, 2010, 04:06:24 PM
Duggie- my name is Doug and I dig holes for a living.
Post by: McGirr on January 18, 2011, 05:07:43 PM
Its been a while need more members to add to this please
Post by: tonyw on January 18, 2011, 05:19:26 PM
Its been a while need more members to add to this please

1st name Tony with W being the initial of my last name, too easy.

8)
Post by: Paul and Bern on January 18, 2011, 05:35:57 PM
 :-[ Um .. Me and SWMBO .....  Never had been on a forum before and didn't realise it appeared all the time or I would have shortened it. 
 :cheers: Paul
Post by: bobnrob on January 18, 2011, 08:18:16 PM
Our names :)
Post by: speewa158 on January 18, 2011, 08:22:28 PM
Paul and Bren if you shortened your names it could go well & be a PB  ;D
Post by: Barrabart on January 18, 2011, 08:45:09 PM
can't really explain without offending someone, hehehe
Post by: Swogjb on March 22, 2011, 07:44:24 PM
My dads nickname is swog and I also get called swog and the better halfs nickname is jb.
= swogjb
Post by: cheekygirl668 on March 22, 2011, 09:19:31 PM
l was nicknamed cheekygirl by a friend in America cause l used to tell him he was cheeky and he didn't understand our lingo and thought l was talking about his butt ..... so after that he always called me a cheekygirl and l am a smart arse so it fits...... and 668 cause l didn't want to be the beast just the neighbour of the beast...... then l met my husband online and he is iansixsixsix so if seemed to fit..... his is easy... Ian and his birthday is June 1966....
Post by: macca on March 22, 2011, 09:19:50 PM
??????????

macca
Post by: MC 031 on March 22, 2011, 09:34:03 PM
Mine too is very simple MC for my ModCon camper and 031 is the build number.
Post by: Strawb67 on March 23, 2011, 07:51:07 AM
Nickname all of my life, Surname rhymes with strawberry and Shortened to Strawb by my mates, as there is another Strawb on the forum have added 67 as the year of birth!
John
Post by: morgansmall on March 23, 2011, 10:00:08 AM
Ummm, my first name is Morgan and my surname is Small 8), but mainly I thought there'd be another spot at sign up where you could choose your 'handle'. :-[  D'OH!
Post by: time on March 23, 2011, 10:09:00 AM
First name is Tim, surname starts with an E, hence time, so it should be pronounced tim_e, not time as in time of day  :D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 23, 2011, 10:09:42 AM
Ummm, my first name is Morgan and my surname is Small 8), but mainly I thought there'd be another spot at sign up where you could choose your 'handle'. :-[  D'OH!
If you contact one of the moderators they may be able to change it for you

Post by: two+four on March 23, 2011, 10:12:20 AM
Two adults
Four kids
= Two+Four we came up with it for Geocaching and it has kind of stuck since
Post by: pacs on March 23, 2011, 10:35:44 AM
I'm a pacs administrator for a radiology company pacs = picture archiving communications system  ;D
Post by: moonie80 on March 23, 2011, 03:36:49 PM
where i'm from and the 4wd I drive  ;
Post by: Biscuits on March 23, 2011, 04:16:35 PM
BISCUITS relates to my last name, I will let you guess what it is!!!!   :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: outback jack on March 23, 2011, 04:29:10 PM
BISCUITS relates to my last name, I will let you guess what it is!!!!   :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

arnott ?
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on March 23, 2011, 04:52:58 PM

Nice?
Anzac?
Chocolate?
ChickenInA?

Post by: bussoboy on March 23, 2011, 08:37:35 PM

Ice Vovo?  ;D

& my name comes from my home town back in WA and the fact i'm a "boy"
Post by: Teabag on March 23, 2011, 08:41:20 PM
arnott ?

You have it correct. Biscuits and I worked together so it was great at morning smoke with Tea and bikkies.......hehehe ;D
Post by: cheekygirl668 on March 23, 2011, 08:49:25 PM
Ice Vovo?  ;D

& my name comes from my home town back in WA and the fact i'm a "boy"

well boy would be pushing it a bit...lol
Post by: Trish59au on March 24, 2011, 09:37:19 AM
Trish..that's what my family call me..59...the year I was born and... au...this great country I live in!!

Pat
Post by: disco1 on March 24, 2011, 05:10:27 PM

Have a 94 Landrover Discovery (series 1) hence the name also known in other
  forums as hybrid disco as the disco has a 94 body and 2000 motor, 2004 gearbox etc
  and often as seashells as have a few .

Mauri
Post by: Biscuits on March 24, 2011, 06:24:17 PM
Nice work Outback Jack,
As for what type of biscuit, yep, I have heard them all................When the missus and i have kids apperently they are all going to be "Tiny teddies" as far as our friends are concerned.
Better than swearing at me I guess

;D ;D ;D ;D :cup: :cheers:
Post by: Gonewalkabouts on March 24, 2011, 06:37:53 PM
where i'm from and the 4wd I drive  ;

So where you come and 4x4 hey moonie80.

Does that mean you come from the MOON, and if so what kind of camper trailer does ET use.

Gonewalkabouts ( phone home)
Post by: Softrax on March 25, 2011, 12:13:54 AM
I asked a marketing company to come up with a name for my computer business. They suggested Softrax Computer Group. I later found out Softrax is also a large software house in the US but I wasn't aware of that at the time and the name has worked well for me here in Perth.

Since it sort of works as a 4WDing name as well, I now use it all over the place.

Post by: Patr80l on March 25, 2011, 03:46:17 AM
When I joined the Patrol4X4 forum I had just gotten rid of my 80 series.   The name combines the two vehicles and I used it here too.      Don't ask me how to pronounce it!   It would be a better password than username.

I also use another name on different forums.   I took it on to reflect my life-change and new philosophy.   It is an ancient name and I do not even know its exact meaning.   It was given to me by an old hermit who lived on an asian mountain top.   After many days of trekking I reached his lonely hovel to share with him and learn the secrets of his lifestyle and find meaning.   After many months of living with him on his mountain top he broke his vow of silence to give me my new title.   He said "You have travelled far to reach here.   You have given up the comforts of your affluent lifestyle.   You have chosen to live a life of denial here on this cold and windy mountain top.   You have brought nothing with you and acquire nothing here.   You are such a Wang Cur."
Post by: moonie80 on March 25, 2011, 03:07:57 PM
(So where you come and 4x4 hey moonie80.

Does that mean you come from the MOON, and if so what kind of camper trailer does ET use.

Gonewalkabouts ( phone home))
[/i]

Nah gone I originally come from a little town in Queensland called Moonie (travel much ?) and i drive an 80 series Cruiser the only 4x4 to have haha
Post by: Moto Moto on May 22, 2011, 08:58:02 PM
I have two kids under four and therefore we watch a lot of kids movies. A favorite is Madagascar 2. One of the characters is Moto Moto, a fat, stupid, self obsessed hippo. Before you ask, no, thats not the reason for taking on the name.

He has a funky song - "I like em big, i like em round, i like em chunky......", pretty much describes the Patrol we drive (especially when you try to park it).

Post by: hotfuzz on May 22, 2011, 09:15:34 PM
Name of movie i was watching when i first joined and didnt think i would ever post anything anyway
Post by: trekkn on May 22, 2011, 10:42:04 PM
trekkn is what we like to do
Post by: making tracks on May 23, 2011, 12:03:52 PM
Because i love getting away from it all and leaving my mark on the out of the way tracks! Much better than leaving rubber marks on the hard black stuff.
Post by: gibbo301 on May 23, 2011, 02:42:52 PM
Yep pretty boring too nickname + birthdate  :D
Post by: oldblade on May 23, 2011, 03:35:50 PM
I have an old fireblade that is my baby owned it for many years
Post by: buildermidwife on May 23, 2011, 03:36:38 PM
Plan to work while we travel ( builder and midwife ) .
Post by: Toey on May 23, 2011, 04:33:52 PM
Was played a car racing game many years ago - Carmaggedon.  First ever time I'd LANed a game.  Seeing it was a car game, I need a cool car drivers name.   Thinking of Mad Max, I picked Toe-Cutter.   However, that took too long to type, so it became Toey.  Had that tag in various forums etc since cirs 1996.
Post by: Slydog on May 25, 2011, 04:14:00 PM
It's a nick name given to me as my first name is Sylvester however some mates say it sometimes reflects my behavior? go figure??  :angel: >:D ;D
Post by: D4D on May 25, 2011, 04:43:29 PM
Because i love getting away from it all and leaving my mark on the out of the way tracks! Much better than leaving rubber marks on the hard black stuff.

Have you heard of tread lightly?
Post by: speewa158 on May 25, 2011, 06:15:41 PM
Tread lightly in the bush , yes , Rip up the black stuff to make dirt roads  :cheers:
Post by: cancan on May 25, 2011, 07:12:06 PM
I was given mine in a work footy comp....have just kept it for all forums when I can....if I have different names I won't know who i am
Post by: speewa158 on May 25, 2011, 07:23:25 PM
cancan     Yes but why  ???
Post by: McGirr on August 30, 2011, 01:55:17 PM
Its been a while since this has been updated....more please
Post by: trotter on August 30, 2011, 02:13:05 PM
well it was obvious a long time ago that i would never be a galloper and no i was and never will be a fast trotter.
Post by: @fnq4now on August 30, 2011, 02:13:27 PM
Because its where I'm at. for now.
Post by: poidda on August 30, 2011, 02:47:43 PM
Peter -> Poida -> Poidda (single d was taken many years ago) 

(http://im.videosearch.rediff.com/thumbImage/videoImages/videoImages1/youtube/rdhash770/L-W-vzELBt8.gif)
Post by: wombatx8 on August 30, 2011, 03:51:18 PM
Wombat from Army days - short, tubby and slept a lot and x8 as when I joined a forum years ago this was the first combination excepted.
Post by: Big Nath on August 30, 2011, 04:35:24 PM
We love camping and we have 3 young kids........campingwithkids :)

Post by: swanny on August 30, 2011, 05:37:09 PM
Swanny, i have a Jayco OB Swan, seems simple to me.
Post by: Campa on August 30, 2011, 05:44:44 PM
Bnk08 = Brad & Kristy.  Its the rego plate on our Patrol :D 

Post by: maurerless on August 30, 2011, 06:42:46 PM
I needed to find a new email address after separation/divorce.  First part is my surname, second part came about... well, you know. (aka less the ex) >:D

Plus it sounds like "More or less", so now it's maurerless my nick  ;D
Post by: flamingo on August 30, 2011, 07:36:15 PM
  Tough one this... I have a Flamingo!!  :cheers: Phil
Post by: boxxy on August 30, 2011, 07:56:01 PM
Many many years ago when in retail I used to jokingly call our receptionist Dragon, she playfully retaliated by calling me Boxhead. After discovering the internet I used Boxhed(different spelling) as my sign in names on different websites, forums etc. When we formed our 4wd club some members and the kids shortened it to Boxxy and that is what has stuck.

Boxxy
Post by: Campfire on August 30, 2011, 08:10:48 PM
I had to come up with some name and I like campfires, pretty simple logic
Post by: jaycamrie on August 30, 2011, 08:13:34 PM
jason, cameron ,cherie
jaycamrie
me my brother and my sister

Post by: Patr80l on August 30, 2011, 08:28:29 PM
I traded a well worn 80 Series (owned it for 13 years from new) on a GU Patrol, hence Patr-80-l.   Last week the Patrol was traded on a Touareg and the Jap trucks are a fond memory.   Patr80l is just a bit clumsy.
Post by: ralphedward on August 30, 2011, 08:43:26 PM
My dog, RalphEdward the German Stupid was sitting by my feet when I joined.  I thought I can remember that name, even after a few sherbets.  I should have made that my password - I can never remember that bloody thing! :cheers:
Post by: gonfishen on August 30, 2011, 08:48:36 PM
I always wake up first in the house, and make my wife a cuppa when she screeches "were is my coffee" should the bay look good, i hook up the boat before she is awake and go and dangle a line BUT i always leave a note on the table gonfishen. She thought it was funny the first time so i kept doing it, now it just irritates her so i keep doing it  >:D
Post by: Newsman on August 30, 2011, 09:05:07 PM
Simple... Retired Newsagent.
Post by: Boesman on August 30, 2011, 09:37:02 PM
I have a fondness to some of our local native bushman. We call them Boesman (same as bushman, just Afrikaans).

They are known for being good at hunting, tracking and surviving in the harshest South Africa has to offer.

If you have them on your farm, then you are very lucky. They will care for your farm as if it was their own. Good people.

(http://andrevil.files.wordpress.com/2010/12/san.jpg)

(http://www.zanzibartrading.com/images_0-f/bushmen_hunters.jpg)

Post by: Smithy2 on September 09, 2011, 09:08:43 PM
Hard to beleive but the very rare name "Smithy" was already taken.....and there's 2 of us using the site. Genius :cheers:
Post by: Thetribe on September 09, 2011, 09:45:12 PM
I have 6 kids what other name would i use lol.???????

@ Smithy2 better make that 3 of use
Post by: jclures on September 09, 2011, 09:58:08 PM
Are those Smithys breading, must be like rabbits. ;D
Post by: gacoxd on September 09, 2011, 11:08:53 PM
Mine is a hangover from the days when I was a CICS COBOL DB2  (has your head exploded yet?) with BHP.  The G meant Queensland (?), the A meant Coal (double?) and the rest is the first 3 chars of my surname ( which is Cox so there are only three anyway) and my first initial D for Damian. it's convoluted but it's 20 years old now and it is never taken.

my wife worked for them too and hers is WQUYTH. 100 points if you know what the first two chars mean :-)

Damo
Post by: The Nats on September 10, 2011, 01:32:05 AM
The surname is Natoli.

As a teen it was Nat.

When I started at the fire station it was Natman (1989 & the 1st Batman movie had just released).

Now with the wife & family it's The Nats.

Paul & Helen
aka The Nats
Post by: carinya on September 10, 2011, 12:24:20 PM
From an indigenous word for wild horse.

Oddly enough not a pet name from the minister, but relating to a sport I used to do.
Post by: Squalo on September 11, 2011, 08:53:55 AM
I have a separate forum name for motorcycle forums I am on (dates back to 1998). When I joined my first car-related forum I was obsessed with a motorcycle called the Squalo (made in WA by Vee Two, uses Ducati engines) and here we are - I use it on four car-related forums now.

Squalo is Italian for shark.
Post by: skog on September 12, 2011, 09:38:54 PM
nothing technical, just the first letter from our names  :D
Post by: Stormchaser on September 12, 2011, 10:44:48 PM
My name was borrowed from a tv show on Austar.
I particpate in a few forums and for the life of me when I first started using them I couldn't think of a name to use then magically thru the fog the show "Stormchasers" appeared on the screen sweet!! That'll do and has stuck ever since. :cheers:
Post by: Top.ender on September 13, 2011, 07:21:14 AM
spent 8 years in the Kimberley and 2 years in the Territory 
Post by: toddy on September 13, 2011, 07:43:18 AM
uuummmmm.... I suppose my parents came up with mine.... :D
Post by: staghornflat on September 13, 2011, 09:22:59 AM
Its where we live
Post by: MarkUnit on September 13, 2011, 07:02:48 PM
My mates call me "Big Unit", so I spliced it with the name my Mum calls me - MarkUnit
Post by: gurules on September 13, 2011, 08:08:47 PM
had to come up with some thing so gu's do rule dont they,and its better than show bag,cause there full of

s ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D+_)(*&^%$ t
Post by: McGirr on November 16, 2011, 08:37:56 AM
Time to add more  ;D

Post by: Manjimike on November 16, 2011, 08:42:42 AM
Not sure

Post by: earlybird on November 16, 2011, 08:54:26 AM
It's short for Earl  ??? - my surname.  Given to me by the "clever" kids at Mossman Primary (FNQ).

Post by: Chippy76 on November 16, 2011, 12:22:47 PM
had to come up with some thing so gu's do rule dont they,and its better than show bag,cause there full of

s ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D+_)(*&^%$ t

hahahah I read yours as "guru les" ...lol gives it a different meaning! lol

Post by: FZJ on November 16, 2011, 02:02:43 PM
It's short for Earl  ??? - my surname.  Given to me by the "clever" kids at Mossman Primary (FNQ).

You got off lightly, one of my teachers last name was Tickle....So he used to get called "Tess"...........Tickle
Post by: Mallory Black on November 16, 2011, 07:06:16 PM
Mine is made of 2 nicknames. Mallory started as Mal as in Mike & Mal.
When I was riding enduro bikes my mate would say "So where are we going to day Mal?" and I'd say "Well Mike, we're going to climb Honda Hill and then over to the crossing etc etc" that was the day's course and off we'd go racing for sheepstations along the way.
Someone else thought that Mallory would be better and that stuck.
Black was the other, my mate would order Pizza as Mr White and I would order as Mr Black because while my name is 100% Anglo it was amazing how many times people would stuff it up and call out some other name.

As it turns out there really is a Mallory Black  out there (some chick in the US) but I was first with it in the cyber world so I'm keeping it!
Post by: Cam and Deb on November 16, 2011, 08:24:08 PM
Well I was going to use me and the handbrake but.............the handbrake did not approve so I just used our first names it makes her think that the ct is half hers but little does she know it's mine all mine.........did I say that out loud

Cam
Post by: grizzly on November 16, 2011, 08:33:14 PM
Mine is my Scout name as given by the little darlings about 10yrs ago and for those that remember an old TV show( 80's I think) about a man and his bear,I share his surname, it may also relate to my disposition if I do not get enough sleep, which is where Iam off to now Good night all :D :D :cheers:
Grizzly
Post by: Desert lover on November 17, 2011, 07:48:52 AM
First visit to the "red centre" in 1972... then in 1991, 94, 96, 99, 2000, 01, 04, 05, 06, x3months in 07, 07 (again), 08 x 3 visits, 09 x 2, 10x 3 and 2 so far this year.... think I'm a local now....  Just love that red sand, the scrub, the animals (not the snakes so much but...)
Get the picture?   Hence the forum name.
Post by: McAbouts on February 24, 2012, 10:10:37 PM
Thought I might bump this up again as I'm terribly curious with some of the new names on. Let's see what we get.

Louise :D
Post by: Lloyd65 on February 24, 2012, 10:40:30 PM
 Lloyd is what Parents call me and 65 is the length of my boat 6.5
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on February 24, 2012, 11:07:53 PM
I don't like pockets.

Shane.
Post by: mrdenn1s on February 25, 2012, 08:13:52 AM
Many moons ago I joined hotmail and wanted to use my name "Dennis"

Dennis was taken
Mr Dennis was taken
So I went mrdenn1s...it was suggested by hotmail

Thankyou Bill Gates
Post by: seenthelight on February 25, 2012, 08:28:38 AM
My last 4x4 was a land rover discovery,
my new 4x4  is a toyota prado
hence
seenthelight

Geoff
Post by: UTE 701 on February 25, 2012, 09:12:31 AM
Simple , it's the rego plate on my 4x4 .

That way if anyone sees me anywhere , they know it's me .

But people ask why 701 .
Well that goes back to the days I used to follow the off road racing all around the country and do the photos and reports for all the magazines .
The various classes of cars that race are all recognised by their number : buggy 218 is a class 2 , 4x4 834 is a class 8 and so on .
But the top 3 placegetters in the championship for each class get to run their class number followed by 01 , 02 , 03 for the following year .

Class 7 is for the production 4x4's .
In my dreams this would be the class I would race and win .
But seeing that would never happen , I thought having 701 as a number plate would be the closest I would ever come to being the 701 driver !
My old friend , Les Siviour thought it was great when I did it . And he carried the 701 on his race car for alot of years .

Plus it's a quick way to find out those that are into off road racing .....

And ... the Smithy name was already taken .....
Post by: Chippy76 on February 25, 2012, 09:39:03 AM
Les Siviour is an old time friend ????? I use to love him "back in the day ... " lol

Chers Chippy :D
Post by: cdustbehindme on February 25, 2012, 09:51:31 AM
very simple, I love seeing a great big line of dust behind me when driving a country rd....   Often when coming home I can still see my "journey" slowly drifitng accross the paddocks....   Looks bloody great in the rear view too, 4x4 or my little commuter (corolla) rally car haha!!!
Post by: Swannie on February 25, 2012, 09:56:48 AM
After many hours of thought processing and deliberation I came up with the ingenious Swannie OB....As I have just bought a Swan Outback!!

Clearly I now understand why my creative side was always very poor at school ;D

Post by: UTE 701 on February 25, 2012, 10:02:48 AM
Les Siviour is an old time friend ????? I use to love him "back in the day ... " lol
Chers Chippy :D
Yep , I used to stay at his house , and travel with him on the road . He even came up for my wedding .
Would you believe it was me sitting in the navigator's seat at the race the year he lost his 701 .... :-[
Post by: Mexico on February 25, 2012, 10:46:20 AM
Before the invent of the smart phone, when people would write my surname in their phone using the auto word thing and it would come up with Mexico. It has stuck ever since. 

639426 comes up with Mexico. 663394426 would be the correct spelling of my surname if done the long way. Don't miss those day of texting at all.

Birdie birdie in the sky laid a turdie in my eye. If cows could fly I'd have a cow pie in my eye.
Post by: Mace on February 25, 2012, 10:56:37 AM
Pretty original really, abbreviated surname became Nickname at High School.  I think it may have been Rich's old mate Scotty (Macca) at Jamieson that first nailed the Maso tag to me, which turned to Mace.
Post by: Fun Police on February 25, 2012, 01:32:17 PM
Because I got the sh its with the over moderation of the Whirlpool forum I changed it to Fun Police.

Mainly as a dig at the dick moderators.

So....the name stuck
Post by: xcvator on February 25, 2012, 02:25:08 PM
Bet you'll never guess  :laugh: :laugh: and the net robots rarely find it :cheers:
Post by: grafy82 on February 26, 2012, 06:38:21 AM
Nothing special really. Just my internet banking password.....        :-[ :-[ :-[
Post by: offrdn on February 26, 2012, 06:47:32 AM
Easy its what i do best ;D :cup: :cheers:
Post by: Malcur on February 26, 2012, 07:38:19 AM
Mine's very boring:  mal - my first name,  cur - 1st 3 letters of my surname (Currey), hence "malcur"

Mal
Post by: wholehog on February 26, 2012, 10:37:27 AM
i was trying to create a user name for E-Mail addy and everything i tried was taken....as i tossed my head back in frustration i looked up at a trophy i had hanging on the wall from my old biking days and saw it
Types it in and there u have it...been with me for many a year
(http://i947.photobucket.com/albums/ad312/wholehog62/IMG_3603.jpg)
Post by: whitey1 on February 26, 2012, 12:45:49 PM
Bet you'll never guess  :laugh: :laugh: and the net robots rarely find it :cheers:
you operate an excavator?
Mines just my nickname. I think it was already taken on another forum so I had to put the 1 after it. So thats how I go on all forums now. Except for Geocaching.com I had to be whitey100
Post by: brno465 on February 26, 2012, 01:45:15 PM
a brno 465 is a classic small game rifle.
I've been into hunting as well as fishing for ever, my brno 465 was one of several rifles I sold years ago when I was bitten hard by the bowhunting bug (only lasted 12 years or so  ;D ) and I've always wished I hadn't sold it ....
It's my name on a couple of other forums, so I used it here when I joined due to complete lack of imagination  ;D
Post by: Mumof3 on February 26, 2012, 03:45:13 PM
Not very imaginative. 3 rugrats
Post by: Jason B on February 26, 2012, 04:18:05 PM
Not very imaginative. 3 rugrats

x 2, I used my first name followed by the first letter of my last name. Very creative me!..................................Not

Post by: DarWen on February 26, 2012, 05:23:30 PM
Pretty standard,  Darren And Wendy.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on February 26, 2012, 06:03:27 PM
Nothing special really. Just my internet banking password.....        :-[ :-[ :-[

Thanks for the laugh grafy82 ... now I seem to have forgotten your BSB and account number ... any chance you could refresh my memory?  Thanks so much!   >:D

Post by: rove on February 26, 2012, 06:07:44 PM
The name of our labrador! :cheers:
Post by: driftenaway on February 26, 2012, 06:13:38 PM
camper built by driftaway, rebuilt by myself ,wishing to driftaway so driftenaway.get it ;D
Post by: brickiematt on February 28, 2012, 04:32:50 PM
Mines pretty boring and unimaginative really. My first name's Matt, and i'm a brickie. Good thing i'm not a door............ ;D
Post by: vk2ss55 on February 28, 2012, 04:36:36 PM
vk2ss is my ham radio callsign and I was 55 when I joined Pradopoint a few years back .
Post by: homerj on February 28, 2012, 10:47:48 PM
Last name Simpson , used to be Bart then got married ,had to step up to next level .Homerj.
Post by: swoffer on March 02, 2012, 06:36:05 PM
Swoffer is not very interesting I'M afraid , it's merely a tag used occasionaly for a "salt water fly fisher " and I've been known to thras the water to foam with a buggy whip from time to time .  ;D

Post by: Tjupurula on March 02, 2012, 08:05:35 PM
My tribal skin name under black fella law, oops, can't say that, under aboriginal law.
Don't blame me, got left in the microwave a bit too long.
Post by: JCAT on March 02, 2012, 08:06:36 PM
JCAT

Jason
Clare
Alyssa
Trent

Very boring!
Post by: McAbouts on March 02, 2012, 08:12:15 PM
Bit clever JCAT.
Not what I pictured.
Louise :D
Post by: offcampn on March 02, 2012, 09:34:00 PM
It was interesting posting out the Cape York Dvds.

Trying to relate members real names to their forum name had me thinking how they came up with it.

I know some members use their first name and my forum name is my surname let us know how yours come about.

I was going to use tripod but my wife said in my dreams. Go figure. :'(

Good read  ;D

Ours is our rego

(http://i1197.photobucket.com/albums/aa433/offcampn/DSCF0220-1-1.jpg)

Pitty we don't get enough time to get away as much as we would like to , ( for ever  :D ) , that little thing call work keeps getting in the way of our plans  ??? ??? ???

Post by: speewa158 on March 03, 2012, 04:27:18 AM
Good read  ;D

Ours is our rego

(http://i1197.photobucket.com/albums/aa433/offcampn/DSCF0220-1-1.jpg)

Pitty we don't get enough time to get away as much as we would like to , ( for ever  :D ) , that little thing call work keeps getting in the way of our plans  ??? ??? ???

What NO  MYSWAG sticker  ???   :cheers:
Post by: McGirr on March 22, 2012, 07:40:54 AM
More please !!

Post by: fuji on March 22, 2012, 10:20:12 AM
Donuts because i love eating them. It s alleged that all coppers stuff their face with donuts but it's not true. After 23 years in the force I've seen a lot of overweight coppers but not from donuts. You may see the name fuji from time to time. I was given that name from an old bushytail Senior Constable 20 years ago and the name stuck. He saw that I had asian features and I told hime I was born in Japan. So there you have it.
Wayne aka fuji aka donuts
Post by: Victim on March 22, 2012, 01:14:19 PM
I better be careful how I answer this..........  :-\

It stems down from my old man who always said he was a victim of various things.... Then after some women troubles I too became a victim although I am not a victim right now, well not of women anyway, I have found a good one!!!  ... anytime anything goes wrong I say to my partner I am a Victim, she says of what... I say life in general!!....

When I was joining myswag I said to her what user name do you think I should use.... She said well you might as well use Victim because that what you tell me you are!!! So I did!!  ;D

Victim
Post by: johnyd on March 22, 2012, 01:31:54 PM
First name is John, last name initial is D and was born in 1989.

I did want just johnyd, but accidentally filled out the form using *hotmail address*@gmail.com and took it away from myself.  Should've just emailed about it but wasn't thinking clearly at the time.
Post by: Mace on March 22, 2012, 01:54:17 PM
First name is John, last name initial is D and was born in 1989.

I did want just johnyd,

If you ask the mods nicely they mite change it for you if its unused, I altered mine.

Post by: brickiematt on March 22, 2012, 04:40:32 PM
Donuts because i love eating them. It s alleged that all coppers stuff their face with donuts but it's not true. After 23 years in the force I've seen a lot of overweight coppers but not from donuts. You may see the name fuji from time to time. I was given that name from an old bushytail Senior Constable 20 years ago and the name stuck. He saw that I had asian features and I told hime I was born in Japan. So there you have it.
Wayne aka fuji aka donuts

Donuts, I know a few coppers (my sister is one too), and doughnuts and free maccas isn't the reason a lot are overweight. The real reason is cos your all so good at bending the elbow ;D  ;D  The only group of people I've met who drink more than your lot are Venturers!! That being said, I haven't attended a Myswag meet yet ;D
Post by: Hairs on March 22, 2012, 04:45:24 PM
That being said, I haven't attended a Myswag meet yet ;D
Chicken  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: cheekygirl668 on March 22, 2012, 07:02:09 PM
Donuts, I know a few coppers (my sister is one too), and doughnuts and free maccas isn't the reason a lot are overweight. The real reason is cos your all so good at bending the elbow ;D  ;D  The only group of people I've met who drink more than your lot are Venturers!! That being said, I haven't attended a Myswag meet yet ;D

Train drivers excell at it too........ hubby is a driver so l speak from experience
Post by: fuji on March 22, 2012, 08:07:31 PM
Hey brickiematt,
I see you come from Boronia, let me see ahhh postcode 3155, right? I lived in the Basin for many a year. Worked at Mooroolbark for 9 ish years. No I don't bend the elbow now, I gave up a few years after joining Victoria's finest. No we don't get free maccas only half price and I usually drink the cappucinnos.  My missus would crack it if I went and ate maccas, being as fit as she is. LOL. Take care and live life to the fullest. 8)
Post by: brickiematt on March 22, 2012, 09:21:28 PM
Chicken  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Im gunna ease my way into it on Mace's high country meet later this year!!
Post by: brickiematt on March 22, 2012, 09:28:55 PM
Hey brickiematt,
I see you come from Boronia, let me see ahhh postcode 3155, right? I lived in the Basin for many a year. Worked at Mooroolbark for 9 ish years. No I don't bend the elbow now, I gave up a few years after joining Victoria's finest. No we don't get free maccas only half price and I usually drink the cappucinnos.  My missus would crack it if I went and ate maccas, being as fit as she is. LOL. Take care and live life to the fullest. 8)

Strewth, you're scaring me now Donuts. Are you sure we haven't crossed paths?!! ;D I grew up in croydon, sister is stationed at ringwood. Tough job mate, great respect for you guys.
Post by: taipan on March 22, 2012, 09:43:33 PM
Mine came from when I was doing some organised internet gaming quite a few years ago. The group I gamed with was mainly American and Canadian so I thought an aussie callsign was a good idea.
Post by: fuji on March 23, 2012, 05:42:02 AM
Hey brickie
I probably knw yr sister unless she is pretty junior. Ask her to say hello to the boss Paul for me. Tell him fuji is asking. He'll probably scratch is head. Mention the little half japanese fella lol. Yeah I use to knw all of them but tat was a long time ago. Cheers
Wayne
Post by: brickiematt on March 23, 2012, 05:46:45 AM
Hey brickie
I probably knw yr sister unless she is pretty junior. Ask her to say hello to the boss Paul for me. Tell him fuji is asking. He'll probably scratch is head. Mention the little half japanese fella lol. Yeah I use to knw all of them but tat was a long time ago. Cheers
Wayne

Will do Wayne. She is a senior connie, been in the job 15 yrs.
Take it easy mate.
Post by: fuji on March 23, 2012, 08:14:20 AM
Hey Matt
Mention the name fuji, see if she knows me
Wayne
Post by: Crockett on March 24, 2012, 01:03:17 PM
Mine took rocket science to formulate,,,,,,,,,,, My name's Dave
Post by: galloping gumboot on March 24, 2012, 05:16:58 PM
Ha !
I was a pretty big guy who used to race a Mini. People said I had to pull it on like puting on a gumboot. The car became know as the "Galloping Gumboot"
Post by: cheif carlos on March 24, 2012, 09:01:59 PM
Bought an ex-bush fire brigade Dual Cab Hilux got nick name - Fire Cheif ended up shortened to "Cheif" With that Maxwell Smart E

Then had ute stolen and they added Carlos

Add together I was called and still am to some Cheif or Cheif Carlos

Post by: vk2ss55 on March 26, 2012, 10:16:56 AM
VK2SS is my amateur radio call sign and I was 55 when I joined Pradopoint .
Post by: Mace on March 26, 2012, 10:26:39 AM
VK2SS is my amateur radio call sign and I was 55 when I joined Pradopoint .

And here was me thinking you were a Holden Nut!!

Post by: McGirr on May 15, 2012, 06:30:05 PM

Any other new members !!

Post by: becboo on May 15, 2012, 06:53:19 PM
My dad has called me this for as long as I can remember.
Post by: Hairs on May 15, 2012, 07:12:04 PM
Any other new members !!

Maybe  it should be a sticky thread?
Post by: McGirr on January 02, 2013, 12:29:38 PM

Time to rejuvenate ;D

Post by: Bunyip on January 02, 2013, 12:34:18 PM
Mine is my Scouting name, which my daughter has taken to calling me occasionally.
Post by: Garfish on January 02, 2013, 02:59:38 PM
After the little green fish that I used to catch a lot of, found out about this forum from Ausfish so just used the same handle and now use it everywhere,  was going to use mudskipper as I got stuck in the mud flats in Mackay as a teenager when fishing for about 3 hours but chose garfish as they are tasty
Post by: StrvnMrvn on January 02, 2013, 03:21:43 PM
When I first started my current job, Strvn Marvn popped up on South Park! I just shaved my head and was quite a bit skinnier, so the guys have called me Strvn Marvn so I thought I'd use it here!!!
Post by: fuji on January 02, 2013, 03:38:38 PM
Was Donuts, then wyno and now fuji lol
Post by: evolution on January 02, 2013, 03:45:55 PM
When I was working at a motorsports team, I had just got my L's and was asked to move one of the cars.
I promptly crashed it into a wall and got the nickname after that car,
Yes it was a Mitsubishi Evolution IV.

I am yet to crash another one but it kinda stuck.....
It got shortened to Evo after awhile.

Evo
Post by: Marschy on January 02, 2013, 04:26:32 PM
A few years ago I did a lot of research into my family history and found that my first and last names are very unique and have not been used together before, not in nearly 400 years.

My user name is the first three letters of my first and last names with a 'Y' chucked on the end for good measure.

I figured this would be pretty unique, how wrong could I be,there are marschy's plastered all over the net
Post by: gordo350 on January 02, 2013, 04:32:06 PM
Got mine cause I had Chevy Silverado with a 350 chev motor and a ford f 350. (And my name is Gordon)
Post by: Robbo on January 02, 2013, 05:04:10 PM
Mine has been my nickname since day dot and is a direct result of my sirname
Which should be obvious to all.

Robbo  ;D
Post by: hainess on January 02, 2013, 06:29:39 PM
Nuff said.

(http://i906.photobucket.com/albums/ac263/johnnofishing/Photo008.jpg)
Post by: nbd73 on January 02, 2013, 06:43:16 PM
Mine has been my nickname since day dot and is a direct result of my sirname
Which should be obvious to all.

Robbo  ;D
You wouldn't happen to be the best mate that inspired that bloke song 10 yrs ago? You know the one where it was a rip off of "I'm a bitch, I'm a lover etc".
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 02, 2013, 06:56:46 PM
Own a jeep, i'm married, no kids, blind as a bat without my specs and i have a huge boil on my left nut, so it was a no brainer really.... ;D
Post by: matt150 on January 02, 2013, 07:24:59 PM
matt150 - my name, Matt. I drive a Prado 150.. Easy really.
Post by: bushbandit on January 02, 2013, 07:26:14 PM
My wifes nickname is Ned and we all like Ned Kelly history so i came up with Bushbandit
Post by: brickiematt on January 02, 2013, 08:08:12 PM
Own a jeep, i'm married, no kids, blind as a bat without my specs and i have a huge boil on my left nut, so it was a no brainer really.... ;D

In that case, from hereon in you shall be known as " Jeepers Pussnuts".......... ;D

Doesn't have quite the same ring to it tho!
Post by: xcvator on January 02, 2013, 08:27:52 PM
I'll bet nobody is going to suck the poison out either  >:D >:D >:D
Post by: Hollowaymoon on January 02, 2013, 08:38:24 PM

Live at a beach called Holloways and when down there at night and the moon is glistening through the palm trees it is beautiful so .......... Hollowaymoon  :D ;D  don't think Steve is particularly fussed with it!!!!!!
Post by: JU5T1N on January 02, 2013, 10:31:36 PM
boring really...obviously my name but years ago it wasn't available on another site so haven't had same problem since
Post by: PeaBrainPete on January 03, 2013, 06:52:16 AM
P
Post by: PeaBrainPete on January 03, 2013, 06:58:48 AM
Oops - accidentally sent a P. Anyway, I was very small at school and was given the nickname 'Petite Pois' - small pea. Any hey ho, kept growing, and growing, and growing… except for the bit between the ears, therefore not wanting to give a false impression... Regards - Pete
Post by: nbd73 on January 03, 2013, 07:02:14 AM
PBP, you can modify the original post as an option instead of adding a new one. Particularly useful when you re read and discover "if" instead of "of" etc etc.
Post by: champin on January 03, 2013, 07:23:41 AM
Just Champin at the bit to get out there.
Post by: firecracker on January 03, 2013, 07:33:18 AM
Our hounds kennel name, Amy changed it to one she liked, but i like it. :D
Post by: Clouty on January 03, 2013, 08:07:34 AM
This one's a no brainer..
Surname is Clout and all my mates call me Clouty...
 :D :cheers:
Post by: BlueTME on January 03, 2013, 10:50:16 AM
My other toy is a JDM spec EVO 6 TME (Tommi Makinen Edition) that's blue which is pretty rare or was, hence BlueTME

(http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q129/rfl022/SSoffthebridgeCRD.jpg)
(http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q129/rfl022/SSoffthebridgeCRD-1.jpg)
(http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q129/rfl022/richard-3.jpg)
Post by: JU5T1N on January 03, 2013, 07:55:07 PM
My other toy is a JDM spec EVO 6 TME (Tommi Makinen Edition) that's blue which is pretty rare or was, hence BlueTME

(http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q129/rfl022/SSoffthebridgeCRD.jpg)
(http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q129/rfl022/SSoffthebridgeCRD-1.jpg)
(http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q129/rfl022/richard-3.jpg)
boy I miss that track in the 1st 2 shots & was so nice and handy for me to get to....3rd obviously a different event could be elsewhere
Post by: BlueTME on January 04, 2013, 12:06:13 PM
3rd pic is turn 2 at eastern creek, I miss Oran park as well, in the 2 years before they stole it from us I did every super sprint, open practice and trackday going. My favorite couple of laps there were with Dean Evens (Tarmac magazine) driving my car with me riding shoot gun (the man can drive). But I'll never forget the feeling of coming up out of ice coffee and going blind over the top flat to the boards in 4th and hoping you were on target for the ripple strip over the top. The new north circuit at Sydney Motorsport park has hints of the fun of OP.  8)
Post by: rambo71 on January 04, 2013, 05:08:50 PM
I used to race a greyhound about 10 years ago called John Rambo so every forum or name Rambo is the name I use and trust me I'am no Rambo ????????
Post by: Chicky Babe on January 04, 2013, 06:55:24 PM
This guy I met kept calling me "The" Chicky Babe, it kinda stuck, then all his friends starting calling me "Chicky Babe", then all my friends started doing it, then their kids started and it has stuck 12 years on!!  I love it!!

Thought it was kinda cute then I learnt he did it cause he couldn't remember my name in the beginning (yes he was blonde).  It's hilarious now but wouldnt have thought so at the time had I known LOL!! 

Turns out he gives everyone nicknames cause he is a shocker remembering peoples names.  :cheers: 
Post by: Metters on January 04, 2013, 09:09:42 PM

I am currently restoring one of these so what else could I call myself?

(http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y287/BND1928/MettersCan_zps4bd43fb1.jpg)
Post by: firecracker on January 05, 2013, 03:02:36 AM
So, Metters did you know 14months ago you were going to restore the CANBERRA, or have you been on with it 14months, if so how good is it looking now. :cheers:
Post by: ruskie on January 05, 2013, 05:36:29 AM
I got mine at one of my first proper jobs and is because of my last name and have used it for forum logins ever since.
Post by: dungee on January 05, 2013, 08:06:05 AM
Was a commercial fisherman, came home one day from work a bit extra smelly and my 4 yo offspring said "you're all dungee daddy", I think he meant to say smelly but it stuck and he called me dungee dad for years.
Post by: lino6 on March 03, 2013, 06:02:27 PM
Lino is one of many nicknames I had at high school (shortened last name). 6 is the number I had when I was still playing footy.
Post by: Taz64 on March 03, 2013, 06:14:43 PM
Taz is a nickname given to me many years ago at training sessions, has something to do with my temper ??? ??? ???
Post by: Kydar on March 03, 2013, 07:07:22 PM
Kydar:
Darren and Kylie easy one really.
Could have gone Darky but Im a white falla.... :cheers:
Post by: MarkGU on March 03, 2013, 07:08:58 PM
MarkGU

name and 4wd  :cup:
Post by: GanG on March 03, 2013, 07:14:37 PM
Same name I use on most internet stuff..........started years ago on a chat site, Wife and I used to be admins in a chat room, just to keep the recalcitrants guessing, I am Greg, She is Gail and we shared a login.......GanG :)

These days she rarely does much interaction stuff on the net, but I used the nick for so long its sorta stuck.

The other version I gave my kids when they asked was, that since I have been involved in Martial arts for most of my adult life........if I ever got in a fight that they would get hit so hard and so fast they would reckon there was a gang of me  LOL.....BTW I have never been in a fight since primary school outside of a tournament, so I have never been proven wrong nor am I likely to at my age :)
Post by: campgirls on March 03, 2013, 07:30:09 PM
My wife (not legal yet but we've been 'married' since 2009! The law needs changing- OK, off soap box now!) and I picked 'campgirls' when we first joined MySwag, for obvious reasons! We use it for things we're members of where we might both be posting. For all other things when it's just me (Christine) I use chrislovespugs. I'm sure that's for pretty obvious reasons too! :-)

Post by: Ynot on March 03, 2013, 07:30:16 PM
Ynot - Tony backwards!

Sent from my Vox using Tapatalk 2

Post by: Nay-DMAX on March 03, 2013, 09:55:28 PM
Nay shortened from Renee but always spelt it that way and DMAX for my ute pretty boring one but easy to remember.
Post by: Nug613 on March 04, 2013, 03:10:57 AM
Mine is my number plate. Nug613. Which spells nuggy. Nugget was my nickname in school and it got shortened to nuggy by the end of school.
Post by: Vk3bq on March 04, 2013, 04:53:34 AM
Ham radio callsign. Very boring!! :)
Post by: elkay on March 04, 2013, 06:27:12 AM
Simply because all my life for some strange reason I have been called by my initials LK so when starting a small business I spelled out my initials and  the name became ELKAY
Post by: 63holden on March 04, 2013, 12:59:21 PM
I owned and restored one many years ago and I have just kept using the name
Post by: tashem on March 04, 2013, 01:14:05 PM
A combination of our names that had kinda stuck - tash and emma
Post by: Paul (SA) on March 04, 2013, 09:11:12 PM
My mum and dad picked mine for me.
Post by: 58fc chev on March 04, 2013, 09:27:17 PM
Year, model and engine of my drag car.
Post by: chester ver2.0 on March 05, 2013, 10:30:05 AM
I have CP and walk with a limp
There was an old Cowboy movies and one of the characters called "chester" walked with a limp

Took a guy at school 30 seconds for the connection and it stuck

The ver 2.0 is cause they computer ate all my details when we migrated to the new server
Post by: BLKWDW on March 05, 2013, 02:04:08 PM
I'm fascinated with the black widow spider and want to incorporate it into my car somehow.
Post by: JU5T1N on March 05, 2013, 07:55:00 PM
I'm fascinated with the black widow spider and want to incorporate it into my car somehow.
lets hope its not your passenger for your sake!!!  :cheers:
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on March 05, 2013, 09:53:32 PM

I had a red back in the stick shift knob but it was glued on and I couldn't remove it when I sold the car.  I liked it because it freaked a few people out.

Post by: KingBilly on August 15, 2013, 04:04:02 PM
For the many years that I have been on forums, I have used a regal, as in royal, forum name.  Couple of slight variations but generally the same.  When I joined this forum, I couldn't register with my usual forum name.  No idea why as I have since found out it wasn't being used by anybody else.  Anyway, I chose something similar, hence KingBilly.

Post by: 2shortGQ on August 15, 2013, 04:32:50 PM
We are a family of 4- 2 adults and 2 kids and we have a GQ SWB Patrol hence the name 2shortgq ;D
Post by: lino6 on August 15, 2013, 05:49:40 PM
I thought KingBilly was a reference to the comedian King Billy Coke bottle!! Just thought you liked comics!  ;D
Post by: KingBilly on August 15, 2013, 05:54:52 PM
I thought KingBilly was a reference to the comedian King Billy Coke bottle!! Just thought you liked comics!  ;D

OK just had to goggle that.

Post by: Mace on August 15, 2013, 05:59:54 PM

I just thought that your name was William and that you were king of all you surveyed (until SHMBO gets home)!

KBCB was also a favourite of mine when younger, a bit out of order now!
Post by: Brumbypt on August 15, 2013, 06:35:57 PM
Same username i have been using for 18 years this month..

Tapa talker
Post by: EvoWishesHeWasATurtle on August 15, 2013, 09:08:17 PM
Evo kept wanting me to sign up as MrsEvo but we're not married and it's too boring. He's also obsessed about turtles!
Post by: evolution on August 15, 2013, 09:10:49 PM
Evo kept wanting me to sign up as MrsEvo but we're not married and it's too boring. He's also obsessed about turtles!

Obsessed is such a strong word,
.................................................... I prefer slightly neurotic????

Evo
Post by: EvoWishesHeWasATurtle on August 15, 2013, 09:21:54 PM
Obsessed is such a strong word,
.................................................... I prefer slightly neurotic????

Evo

Only slightly? I think you need therapy!
Post by: hoytshooter on August 15, 2013, 09:28:11 PM
Mines easy ... its the brand of bow I shoot ...
Post by: Mobi on August 15, 2013, 10:14:52 PM
Mine name for a Naval Artificer
Post by: CRW on August 15, 2013, 10:19:36 PM
Mine name for a Naval Artificer

Muppet LOL kings of Nirimba

iPad using Tapatalk HD
Post by: Ynot on August 15, 2013, 10:21:10 PM
Only slightly? I think you need therapy!

In my mind I see you two sitting on a lounge with an iPad or phone each shooting post at each other and mumbling "ba5tard" as you read them...

Keep it coming, very entertaining,

Post by: evolution on August 15, 2013, 10:24:08 PM
In my mind I see you two sitting on a lounge with an iPad or phone each shooting post at each other and mumbling "ba5tard" as you read them...

Keep it coming, very entertaining,

Not far from it mate, just more laughs than mumbling.  ;D

Evo
Post by: Mobi on August 16, 2013, 11:18:14 PM
Muppet LOL kings of Nirimba

iPad using Tapatalk HD

Ok I should have said Ratstruc or earlier Naval Artificer

Post by: sup8pdct on August 17, 2013, 10:12:18 PM
Super 8bit products:  condenced to fit into 8 charactors. Had to come up with a login name when i first got internet in early 90's. Is unique and  easy for me to remember so kept using it.

James
Post by: Brumbypt on August 17, 2013, 10:16:52 PM
whoops i never answered the question..

i liked wild horse which are called brumbys and the pt is my initials.. thinking somoene else might have had brumby before.. anyway its served me very well for the 18 years i have been using it for.

Peter,
 Tapa talker
Post by: CRW on August 18, 2013, 09:10:21 AM
Ok I should have said Ratstruc or earlier Naval Artificer

MT or AT

iPad using Tapatalk HD
Post by: holden1 on August 18, 2013, 09:25:06 AM
Holdens are number 1
Post by: wacanary on August 19, 2013, 12:48:55 AM
Originally from Norwich (UK), the home of the greatest football team in the world (proper, round- ball football) Norwich City, the Canaries. Now living in WA, hence wacanary.
Post by: kanga1 on August 19, 2013, 07:53:30 AM
I used to be an Earthmoving Contractor in WA, one of my machines was a new Kanga mini loader, and I used to get called, you guessed it!!! :cheers:
Post by: Malcolm Tugless on August 19, 2013, 08:07:31 AM
Multiple choice ...

A. It came to me in a vision.

B. The voices inside my head made me do it.

C. Because my name's not Malcolm, and I don't tug-less.

D. A play on words in memory of its late great almost namesake.

E. All of the above.
Post by: Puffin on August 19, 2013, 05:17:14 PM
Well I'm short, fat, big mouth and love seafood, says it all really.

Post by: Mongoose on August 19, 2013, 07:17:17 PM
Many, many years ago cricket was my thing. I liked to patrol the cover region, and according to the porky boys in the slips cordon, used to pounce on the ball like a Mongoose on a Cobra. Not.
Post by: Mobi on August 19, 2013, 10:30:06 PM
MT or AT

iPad using Tapatalk HD

AT
Post by: McGirr on November 20, 2013, 08:04:43 PM

Time for some more   ;D

Post by: BTMNDR on November 20, 2013, 08:40:33 PM
20 years in The Top End and in a moment of temporary insanity I apply for and accept an offer to work in Tassie!  I HATE the cold!

Not there yet but getting ready ....

Bottom Ender to be.
Post by: axle on November 20, 2013, 08:47:34 PM
In the early nineties when I needed my first Internet name I was a big fan of Gunnas and Cars so Axle seemed to fit. Now I just use it in most places to save remembering others. Still a Guns n Roses fan and massive petrolhead.
Post by: Moggy on November 20, 2013, 09:35:11 PM
When I was a kid, I had an uncanny ability to snap a cats neck.........

Nah, I just like pussy :)

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1) - now Free
Post by: RallyDog on November 20, 2013, 09:45:42 PM
Me dog was called rally i allways called him rallydog he was me best mate. Put him down 3years ago I like to think he is still with me.
Post by: Pog on November 20, 2013, 09:48:13 PM
Pogasauras - A nick name from my days at uni. It seems to have stuck all these years later.
Post by: smartyingreen on November 20, 2013, 09:51:12 PM
Pogasauras - A nick name from my days at uni. It seems to have stuck all these years later.

Like $#!+ to a blanket Hey Pog!

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk 4
Post by: Pog on November 20, 2013, 09:54:56 PM
It wasn't sh!t sticking to blankets back at uni...
Post by: Diesel Power on November 20, 2013, 09:55:43 PM
Had a 1 HZ powered Cruiser, so that's how I came up with Diesel Power, bit of an Oxymoron.
Favourite band is Prodigy, one song is "Diesel Power"
Angus
Post by: themissus on November 21, 2013, 05:39:05 AM
Because I am    :-*
Post by: Azz on November 21, 2013, 05:44:00 AM
Ever since I was a young bloke I have been called Azz, my initials are AS.
It has just stuck, even my kids call me Azz now.  :D
Post by: lindamc on November 21, 2013, 06:13:34 AM

Its my name!
And my nickname was taken.

Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk 2

Post by: GUEY on November 21, 2013, 09:27:05 PM
I needed a username for Patrol Forum and wanted something with GU in it and this was what I came up with...

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/G%C3%BCey_(vulgar)

Güey (usually misspelled as guey, wey or we; pronounced like the English word 'way') is a word in Mexican Spanish which is commonly used to refer to any person without using his name and applies equally to males and females (though it is more often applied to males). It is used in Mexican Spanish in roughly the same way "dude" is used in modern American English.[1] It is derived from the term buey, which refers to a castrated bull (an ox), used for meat, sacrifice, and/or labor (e.g. pulling plows and carts). Over time, the initial /b/ underwent a consonant mutation to a /g/, resulting in the modern güey. In Mexico this same word is used like an insult (can be a negative term like "fool" ), although, due to its extremely high frequency of use in a multitude of contexts, it has lost much of its offensive character, becoming a colloquialism.[2]

And yes since being married I feel like someone has me by the nuts....
Post by: yupyup on November 21, 2013, 09:42:02 PM
yup yup...... always said it got my email wit it, used name on patrol forum as well now i hear everyone sayin yupyup lol
Post by: Doweymex on November 21, 2013, 10:14:26 PM
Dowey is my nickname from under 18s footy when I worked at Donut King and derivative of last last name too of Downes.  Mex is wife's nickname from early in life. Apparently jumped off things from a large height and got 'Mexican jumping bean'.
Post by: best of both worlds on November 22, 2013, 09:20:24 AM
Best of both worlds..... we have a off road camper trailer plus a full ensuite off-road caravan   ;D
Post by: Straitened Out on November 25, 2013, 11:17:59 PM
I love being out in the Sandy Straits and I probably need straightening out from time to time so I combined the two.
S.O.
Post by: RLI on March 14, 2014, 12:56:28 PM

G'day Trendsetters,

I thought i would post up a thread inquiring how you came about your forum call-sign, that if this thread does not already exist?

My call sign is RLI = Rhodesian Light Infantry, when i served in 1979 to 1980.

Post by: Mace on March 14, 2014, 01:00:25 PM
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=7104.msg535159#msg535159 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=7104.msg535159#msg535159)

Post by: briann532 on March 14, 2014, 02:05:43 PM
G'day Trendsetters,

I thought i would post up a thread inquiring how you came about your forum call-sign, that if this thread does not already exist?

I was there then - Borrowdale, Salisbury, but far too young to serve.......... ;D

Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 14, 2014, 02:09:58 PM
G'day Trendsetters,

Merged the topics to keep it all together

Post by: Steffo1 on March 14, 2014, 02:55:26 PM
When the "Light of My Life" is happy, I'm.....Steffo
When not happy it's.....Stephen
so I much prefer Steffo. I added the 1 as a just-in-caser.
Post by: woody too on March 14, 2014, 03:53:19 PM
G'day all, Got it back in the 70s when driving trucks, my first name is Edward and I think it might be the last half as pronounced Woody, when registering on this forum that name was already in use so added too meaning as well , must say I don't  like my given name and usualy go by the name Ted.
Regards Woody
Post by: broncos11 on March 14, 2014, 06:37:06 PM
When the "Light of My Life" is happy, I'm.....Steffo
When not happy it's.....Stephen
so I much prefer Steffo. I added the 1 as a just-in-caser.

Funny you say that. I've heard your wife call you every name bar Steffo or Stephen???
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on March 14, 2014, 06:58:19 PM
just happened

(http://i527.photobucket.com/albums/cc353/woolgoolgaoffroad/FORTGREYENTRYIMG_1059.jpg) (http://s527.photobucket.com/user/woolgoolgaoffroad/media/FORTGREYENTRYIMG_1059.jpg.html)
Post by: JCOJ on March 14, 2014, 08:14:46 PM
JCOJ

J - John
C - Catie
O - Oliver
J - Jasper
Post by: Black Diamond on March 14, 2014, 08:23:02 PM
just happened

(http://i527.photobucket.com/albums/cc353/woolgoolgaoffroad/FORTGREYENTRYIMG_1059.jpg) (http://s527.photobucket.com/user/woolgoolgaoffroad/media/FORTGREYENTRYIMG_1059.jpg.html)
Geez mate how did you keep it so clean in the red dust, did you break out the sponge for a camera pose ;D

:cheers: BD
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on March 14, 2014, 08:31:20 PM
advantages of going first !! and was cool
Post by: evans52 on March 14, 2014, 10:52:51 PM
Evans52.................'Evans' = Last name '52' = race number in go karting.
Post by: oldmate on March 15, 2014, 07:13:46 AM
Everyone calls somebody that they don't know Oldmate.
Post by: RLI on March 15, 2014, 07:45:40 AM
advantages of going first !! and was cool

Come on Kev,

What about the wheels, no red dust! lol

Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on March 15, 2014, 08:10:50 AM
Come on Kev,

What about the wheels, no red dust! lol

seriously your hard to please

heres another shot along the Dowling Track recently. I think using the FC11 tyres really help Paul keeping the dirt inside the guards

(http://i527.photobucket.com/albums/cc353/woolgoolgaoffroad/IMG_0615.jpg) (http://s527.photobucket.com/user/woolgoolgaoffroad/media/IMG_0615.jpg.html)
Post by: koshari on March 15, 2014, 11:08:11 AM
Koshari is a food popular in egypt I enjoyed there diving on the sinai.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk 2
Post by: rmb3218 on March 15, 2014, 11:41:46 AM
The old Australia Post address for our place. Roadside Mail Box 3218

Kevin
Post by: Patr80l on March 15, 2014, 11:52:41 AM
When I first joined I had just sold  my 80 series and bought a 2006 GU.   Seems a bit cumbersome now but it's too hard to change it!
And there's been a Touareg since the first Patrol and now I'm back with a 2011GU.

Maybe I'll change it to 4080GUVWGU.
Post by: McTavish on March 15, 2014, 11:58:04 PM
Camping often goes hand in hand with surfing.
The board I choose to use the most and - is the best you can get... IMHO is my "McTavish" Surfboard.
In fact - awestruck moment a few weeks ago meeting Bob McTavish (for those not in the know - Bob is an Australian Surfing Icon) at his factory in Byron Bay was a highlight of most recent trip. 
Post by: thecamocamper on March 16, 2014, 04:16:16 PM
my forum name came when camper built see photo
maybe obvious to most

Post by: Nomad on March 16, 2014, 04:20:19 PM

Camping often goes hand in hand with surfing.
The board I choose to use the most and - is the best you can get... IMHO is my "McTavish" Surfboard.
In fact - awestruck moment a few weeks ago meeting Bob McTavish (for those not in the know - Bob is an Australian Surfing Icon) at his factory in Byron Bay was a highlight of most recent trip.

Funny that my Seabreeze Forum name is Cord

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/03/16/usaje9en.jpg)

But I am preferring the Classic Malibu Performer Model atm. Cheers

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/03/16/3u3u2uqy.jpg)
Post by: McTavish on March 16, 2014, 11:59:31 PM
Nice one Nomad - maybe you or I should have used 'Stoked' instead as the forum name ???    ;D
Post by: Young Camping Family on March 17, 2014, 09:07:18 AM
When I first joined a forum for camping it was the first thing I could come up with that best described our situation.
Hubby and I were under 30 then so the 'young' part was to distinguish our age and the fact we aren't that experienced as far as travelling this great land, and we are a family of 4 - myself, my other half and our 2 girls (plus a dog) :)
Post by: DaveR on March 17, 2014, 10:41:50 AM
Well don't I feel like a Boring dill.
Thanks everyone.
My name is Dave
who
Dave's not here Man.
Post by: Fizzie on April 21, 2016, 10:09:36 AM
Stirring up another old, but funny & interesting, thread!  :D

Bit boring compared to some as mine is only a slight re-spell of my abbreviated surname, but then I kept the same idea going with Fozzee the Subaru Forester (ee in memory of my mum Eunice) & Ozzee the Oztrail CT  :D

Use the same name on a number of sites - occasionally with a 41 added for my old Gun Battery in the RAA (RIP the Army Reserve Artillery  :'(   >:()
Post by: BaseCamp on April 21, 2016, 11:42:34 AM
BaseCamp...  a self-reliant home away from home; a place of origin and sanctuary; a bolt hole and hub, ..of safety and serenity. ...

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160420/09b413ff43409cb3feb1bc8b6ffaadec.jpg)
(West Kunderang NSW Dec 2015)

Post by: plusnq on April 21, 2016, 01:13:21 PM
plusnq. Professional locum ultrasound services North Queensland Used it since the mid to late 90's as it was my business name.
Post by: GBC on April 21, 2016, 01:28:09 PM
Was one of my boat's names. It had no name, but we needed to have one to log in for the Fraser classic one year (2003?). Dragging it up the beach into Waddy point, we were driving past all these custom plate boats with paint jobs of bulldogs and sharks with dripping blood and lots of muscles and stuff. My mate in the passenger seat said "do you think they are trying to compensate for something?". So we called my boat "Great Big C%ck". I had planned to get a muscular looking bantam rooster painted on it to save confusion but never got around to it.
The base operator couldn't repeat our call sign without wetting his pants so he shortened it to GBC. It's been my call sign ever since.
Post by: clarky on April 21, 2016, 01:35:59 PM
Um, mine was pretty hard. I thought about it for a long time because I wanted to get it just right.... ;-)
Post by: speewa158 on April 21, 2016, 05:39:17 PM
Well don't I feel like a Boring dill.
Thanks everyone.
My name is Dave
who
Dave's not here Man.
                                       Far Out                                    ;D                      :cup:
Post by: Terry W4 on April 21, 2016, 05:41:57 PM
Terry Walls = Terry W4 because that is what the name thingy said was an option. Too lazy to get too clever.

Post by: Slo1 on April 21, 2016, 07:21:39 PM
Slo1 , this comes from when a I had a car accident when I was 18. Due to an aquired brain injury and my mental capabilities were some what slow.
nurses started calling me the slow one.

Other web forums at the time had restrictions on length of your screen name so Slo1 was the out come.....
Post by: jw2170 on April 22, 2016, 12:57:02 PM
I am not that smart, so I just use my initials and postcode...

saves me getting lost..... :D
Post by: Sixpack on April 22, 2016, 02:26:07 PM
Well it certainly isn't my abs, I will say that much.
Post by: Swannie on April 23, 2016, 04:57:28 PM
Just keep making it up
Post by: rockinj on April 23, 2016, 07:04:21 PM
It is our stud name - Rockin J Performance Horses

Hubby and I both use it as we are members of horse forums. Can't identify to anything else lol.
Post by: ratstriton on April 23, 2016, 08:01:36 PM
Used to play for a inline hockey team called lillydale Rats and I drive a Triton.
So ratstriton came about.
Post by: Jakster1 on April 24, 2016, 09:58:15 PM
It's a combination of my firstborn son and my dogs names. Plus a 1 because I had to
Post by: Streetkid on April 25, 2016, 05:18:36 PM
I joined a forum years ago and kept punching in different combinations of my last name till I found a username that wasn't taken, and have stuck with it ever since, I'm not actually a child.
Post by: broncos11 on April 25, 2016, 05:49:21 PM

My family all loved Big Geordie. Funny thing is he wore 12!!!
Post by: mrdenn1s on April 25, 2016, 07:17:58 PM
I just thought "Dennis" was about as exciting as elevator music. Too 70's beige, so I tarted it up a bit
Post by: lochgilphead on April 25, 2016, 09:29:09 PM
The town in Scotland nearest to where the head of my clan lives - in Duntrune Castle.  Thought to be the oldest continuously inhabited castle in Scotland.  Visited there some years ago and had a wee dram with the laird - bloody amazing. 
Post by: rockrat on April 27, 2016, 10:09:17 PM
Used to do a lot of rock climbing
Title: Your Forum Name..How did you come up with it!!!
Post by: scrapsD40 on April 27, 2016, 11:20:10 PM
I was playing scrabble one night. These were the letters I had left and what they totalled to.
Post by: Garfish on April 28, 2016, 06:17:32 AM
Was my username on Ausfish, where I heard about this site.

Used to catch lots of them....  And became a nickname as well as mudskipper after spending 3 hours stuck in mud at Williams beach Mackay in a fishing comp, but preferred Garfish
Post by: MadMarv on April 29, 2016, 10:56:24 AM
I used to be Darkone but too many others have appeared over the years so now im just Madmarv .... mad as in a little crazy and marv for Marvin Martian .... was my name for a while ....
Post by: FJCruzin on April 30, 2016, 01:39:20 PM
Ummm..........

Post by: McTavish on May 01, 2016, 10:24:54 PM
[Ummm..........]

Still stumped - any more clues??
Post by: FJCruzin on May 01, 2016, 11:46:27 PM
[Ummm..........]

Still stumped - any more clues??

LOL....actually used Pacman for many years as my online user name, but so many use it now it needs to be Pacman985454643738  :D.  Has been my nickname since primary school due to my initials (PAC) and my surname ending in 'man'.

Love the FJ so it was an easy choice
Post by: CokeBottle on July 21, 2016, 10:31:59 AM
Fan of the movie "The Gods Must Be Crazy"

https://youtu.be/A1U3qEfGXMw

Post by: Steffo1 on July 21, 2016, 12:56:00 PM
Fan of the movie "The Gods Must Be Crazy"

https://youtu.be/A1U3qEfGXMw

And here I thought you were related to KingBilly ;D
Post by: rnrphantom on July 22, 2016, 11:26:26 AM
rnr as in 50's Rock'n'Roll and Phantom as in the ghost who walks, just 2 of my passions
Post by: oldmate on July 23, 2016, 02:19:53 PM
l and Phantom as in the ghost who walks

I should call my MIL the phantom too then!!! >:D
Post by: archer63 on July 23, 2016, 07:01:30 PM
Very old computer password from the early eighties.....not very original but remember having trouble with a name at the time as I had to make up one quickly....all I could come up with was the star sign Sagittarius...hence archer and 63 year born.

Must still be pretty unimaginative as I use this on a few other forums  8)

Post by: Craig Tomkinson on July 23, 2016, 07:37:21 PM
Hi All, Thats easy, its my name, Craig
Post by: grmas1 on July 23, 2016, 07:42:49 PM
Nothing much other than first 2 letters of my first name (Grant) and first 3 of my surname (Mascord). It came about when I was getting an email address for the first time in the 90's. The 1 came about when I changed providers and the someone else must have had the grmas already.

Normal everyday nickname of Grunt is tough to come online in forums as there is normally a few of us ;)
Post by: FireBat on July 24, 2016, 04:38:33 PM
At the ripe old age of 47 I started playing Masters Aussie Rules in Hervey Bay. The teams name is The Fruitbats, so we all tried to come up with a nickname, me being a Firie I was FireBat  ;D. Played for 11 years, now retired from footy, almost retired from the Fire Service and looking forward to getting out and about with our new MDC Jackson forward fold.
Post by: Wukkers on July 24, 2016, 04:50:46 PM
Mine has nothing to furry about.
Post by: Beefa Toyota on July 24, 2016, 05:52:47 PM
Nickname at work Beefa, work at Dubbo City Toyota, hence the Toyota part. Obviously had a few Toyota's I'm my time
Post by: Kimmy Kitten on July 24, 2016, 06:45:34 PM
Mine was gifted to me when we RNRPHANTOM (my husband) and l used to run a rock n roll club l was the youngest committee member and had no nick name do they came up with Kimmy Kitten (youngest)

RNRPHANTOM stands for rock n roll and he's obsessed with the Phantom comic character.

Post by: Liege on July 24, 2016, 09:16:29 PM
well my name is Lee and my surname starts with G. Lee G. Liege.

Post by: rockrat on July 25, 2016, 07:59:14 PM
Once upon a time, long ago, I was an avid rock climber.
Post by: VAGRANT on July 26, 2016, 09:05:57 PM
Once upon a time, long ago, I was an avid rock climber.
Used to do a lot of rock climbing

Did you have a fall?
Post by: swaggie1 on July 26, 2016, 11:23:45 PM
Swaggie was already taken!
Post by: Flighty (WA) on July 28, 2016, 11:08:36 AM
Flight is last name and been known as "Flighty" since a kid
Post by: Bird on June 29, 2018, 09:05:52 AM
So many not here anymore :(
Post by: austastar on June 29, 2018, 09:54:38 AM
    Divide it in to three and find where I live.

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Post by: GBC on June 29, 2018, 12:51:11 PM
At the ripe old age of 47 I started playing Masters Aussie Rules in Hervey Bay. The teams name is The Fruitbats, so we all tried to come up with a nickname, me being a Firie I was FireBat  ;D. Played for 11 years, now retired from footy, almost retired from the Fire Service and looking forward to getting out and about with our new MDC Jackson forward fold.

You'd know our mate Dozer then.....
Post by: Hairs on June 29, 2018, 05:48:05 PM
So many not here anymore :(
Yeah,
The 8 years or so I've been here, a lot have.

Sent from my SM-P585Y using Tapatalk

Post by: bullfrog on June 29, 2018, 06:03:01 PM
Still here Bruce & Jonno, just not as much. Hope all is good with you blokes, good folk are hard to find these days. :cheers: Member # 952.
Post by: Hairs on June 29, 2018, 06:23:40 PM
Hey Bullfrog,
You'd be busier than a one armed bricklayer in Beirut, with the July carnival kicking off.
Heading to the Nymboida Camp ground(Doboy) tomorrow night, club trip and meeting.
We need to catchup mate.
Hope ya beer is cold,
Happy days maye.

Post by: bullfrog on June 29, 2018, 06:41:16 PM
yes the beer is cold
Best wishes to the Club, say g'day to them for me
as for Carnival, resignation is in the glovebox of the GQ, the gun is loaded...….
Catch up, yeh mate that would be bloody good ATM  :cheers:
Post by: Rodt on June 30, 2018, 06:10:31 AM
Member # 952.
As a general question. Where do you see what number you are?
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2018, 12:02:38 PM
As a general question. Where do you see what number you are?
mouse over your name when you post -
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?action=profile;u=51643 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?action=profile;u=51643)
Post by: Rodt on June 30, 2018, 08:26:10 PM
Yeah I went into my profile and looked but didn't see it  ???

Where in your profile info is it?
Post by: Bird on July 01, 2018, 11:04:11 AM
Yeah I went into my profile and looked but didn't see it  ???

Where in your profile info is it?
not in your profile
Where you posted your reply in a thread - just mouse over your name

Rodt  <<<<<<----------------------------------------
Soft Floor Camper User
Post by: Rodt on July 01, 2018, 11:53:57 AM
Thanks mate but it doesn't do anything other than give me the words "view the profile of Rodt"

All good I am sure i will survive without knowing (first world problems and all that)

Post by: Bird on July 01, 2018, 11:55:35 AM
must be browser dependent.

Im using FFox
Right click on RODT, then copy link location and paste it into the browser address bar

shows 'http://www.myswag.org/index.php?action=profile;u=51643' (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?action=profile;u=51643')
Post by: Rodt on July 01, 2018, 05:41:23 PM
Thanks Bird and got it to do the same thing. Does that mean i am member number 51643? Geez how many people are into camper trailers ;D
Post by: Paddler Ed on July 01, 2018, 05:49:25 PM
I spent 10+ years working in Outdoor Education and Activity, and the majority of my coaching qualifications were in kayaking and canoeing.... so Paddler Ed made sense....

Also at one of the centres I worked at there were three Ed's, and I was the only one who did kayaking and canoeing... and the paddlesport coaches were nicknamed smelly paddlers...

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/1916788_322500385601_2591011_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=2da58bba9d2e324fd1e0744e008e85f1&oe=5BB1E074)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/10392222_157631695855_6641963_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=788475d69b39a127fe0244e86e86a5a8&oe=5BE7B5F6)

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/10398887_83914850855_4073365_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=69a5c6dbc325751e5fc92e1d2de845db&oe=5BA51471)
Post by: Hairs on July 01, 2018, 07:52:11 PM
yes the beer is cold
Best wishes to the Club, say g'day to them for me
as for Carnival, resignation is in the glovebox of the GQ, the gun is loaded...….
Catch up, yeh mate that would be bloody good ATM  :cheers:
I'll let ya know whst trips are on.
Happy Days Mate.