Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10
General Discussion / Re: What's making News, 2025
« Last post by Bigpickle on Today at 10:04:44 AM »
Isn't life strange.
Alcohol now determines where we can visit.
General Discussion / Re: What's going on in our car industry
« Last post by Rowlie on Today at 08:32:54 AM »
My take on it is that we are going through a generational change. I recently sold my 76 series. It was 14 years old and I sold it before the ink dried on the ad. Wish I had 10 of them - the level of interest was incredible.

I had been looking for quite a while and putting off the inevitable position of technology replacing judgement. Last week I bought a DMax Xterrain. After lots of experimenting it now passes the beep test although it reminds me often that I should hit the potholes rather than swerve to avoid them. We are no longer doing much serious 4w driving but still need a tug for the (new) caravan. Options under $100k are limited and boring.

I miss the simplicity of the cruiser but the heated seats, 8 way adjustable driver's seat, climate control and oh the red stitching on the dash are nice.

Rowlie
General Discussion / Re: What's making News, 2025
« Last post by Fizzie on Today at 08:10:43 AM »
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2025-07-03/carnarvon-wa-tourism-small-business-attractions-closing/105426404

BiL only left there on Tuesday, & was going crook about the grog rules - there is no cask wine at all, with limits of 1 bottle of spirits, 1 ctn of beer & 2 bottles of wine, & all expensive. So if you're visiting, stock up in Geraldton!
At least the water is clear enough that you've got a chance of seeing the crocs sneaking up on you! :P
General Discussion / Re: Side Swiped @ 90Klm's P/H By Truck
« Last post by xcvator on Today at 07:47:15 AM »
When my Ute was stolen, I could claim up to $1000 for missing items that were stolen.

Yeah, when I had a chat to the insurance company I was told I could claim up to $1k BUT I can do it up to 7 times , for a total of $7k , each claim has an excess of $100.00 :'( Yesterday I  submitted 2 claims , more to go , so we'll see how I go  :D
General Discussion / Re: What's going on in our car industry
« Last post by GeoffA on Today at 05:56:19 AM »
I don't see anything on the new car market that holds any interest for me.....
General Discussion / What's going on in our car industry
« Last post by prodigyrf on Yesterday at 11:43:11 PM »
Thought it might be a good thread for general goss bouquets and gripes for the second most important investment for most of us.

So here we are in mid 2025 with no more local carmakers (bar the converters like Walkinshaw) we're well over the Covid shortages but it seems some have a bit of sticker shock with the price of new cars in our showrooms addressed here-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/motoring/news/true-or-false-the-facts-behind-rising-car-prices/ar-AA1HBo2e

To find out how much all these factors have impacted what you pay for your next car, we crunched the numbers on some of Australia’s favourite models to see what the real cost increase has been between 2015 and 2025.
The five models we chose were the Hyundai i30, Mazda CX-5, Kia Sorento, Toyota Prado and Ford Ranger, which represents a diverse mix across the spectrum of new vehicle purchases. All five of these were popular a decade ago and are still in-demand today, so they represent what people are buying.

General Discussion / Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Last post by Bird on Yesterday at 07:59:52 PM »
Quote from: oldmate
3 years fulltime for us
stop it,.... you make me jealous
General Discussion / Re: The Random Question of the Day Thread...
« Last post by oldmate on Yesterday at 07:25:19 PM »
What’s with everybody fitting bright yellow hammerlocks and lifting hooks to their tow bars these days? Swinging around like a set of balls. You used to only see them on tradie utes, now they are everywhere. Is this the new version of fluffy dice hanging from the rearview mirror?

3 years fulltime for us, moving van all the time, i still use good old D shackles..  I think the same as you every time I see those hooks, and i see lots of them
General Discussion / Re: Side Swiped @ 90Klm's P/H By Truck
« Last post by Foo on Yesterday at 06:33:54 PM »
When my Ute was stolen, I could claim up to $1000 for missing items that were stolen.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10