Welcome to MySwag.org - Australia's #1 Off-road Camper Trailer Forum.

Gidday from Tassie

Started by Spud7017, September 25, 2015, 05:41:11 PM

Spud7017

Gidday,

Just a quick introduction to the site.  I'm Des (Spud), live in beautiful Tassie for the last ten years prior to that Far West NSW.  I am a long time Adventure Motorbike Camper.  Have ridden to most places of this fine country.  I retired early about 12 months ago and bought myself a new Amarok Highline with all the necessary camping and 4x4 bling.  My intention was to buy a hybrid van at the same time but I either couldn't find my wants or the price was excessive.  However, by chance came across a small independent builder in Newcastle and will collect my Van next Friday.  Comes fully kitted out for my independent off road adventures and am very excited.  Besides camping I have two beautiful grown Children and wife and a dog called Ellsie who has been s my constant companion since I got her 12 months ago.  Thanks for sharing your stories and I have learnt a lot already 

Cheers Spud

These are a few of my favourite things.....😉
VW Amarok Highline
BRS Offroad Hybrid Van
Elsie the English Staffy
KTM 1190R Adventure

G'day Spud and welcome to the forum.  Very interested in your new hybrid.  Do they have a website?  Or name and contact number?

Spud7017

Quote from: KingBilly on September 25, 2015, 05:50:55 PM
G'day Spud and welcome to the forum.  Very interested in your new hybrid.  Do they have a website?  Or name and contact number?

Gidday KB,

http://brsoffroad.com.au/ and https://www.facebook.com/BRS-offroad-757406264295520/timeline/

His spec sheet is little out of date as my Van comes with a 2 Ton Cruisemaster suspension and some other bits and bobs like Solar, inverter and ducted air but you'll get the basics.  Really impressive young Aussie bloke having a fair dinkum go.  Did his time with a caravan company on the central coast of NSW which is well known but I can't recall there name at the moment.

VW Amarok Highline
BRS Offroad Hybrid Van
Elsie the English Staffy
KTM 1190R Adventure

Thanks Spud  :cup:  It looks great

Draggin

G'day Spud,
Welcome to the light side, congratulations - looks like a great set up. I hope you have many happy memories generated with this gera,
John
"Beneath the radiant Southern Cross"

Spud7017

Quote from: Draggin on September 25, 2015, 06:43:55 PM
G'day Spud,
Welcome to the light side, congratulations - looks like a great set up. I hope you have many happy memories generated with this gera,
John

Hi John,

Thanks for the welcome and I see your a fellow statesman.  My first trip to try out the set up will be the Western Explorer so should give it a gentle introduction.

Cheers Des
VW Amarok Highline
BRS Offroad Hybrid Van
Elsie the English Staffy
KTM 1190R Adventure

Sixpack

G'day and welcome to Myswag Spud. 

Trailer Bloke

G'day Spud very nice setup enjoy the forum.

Rumpig

Quote from: Spud7017 on September 25, 2015, 06:48:52 PM
......  My first trip to try out the set up will be the Western Explorer so should give it a gentle introduction.

nice looking camper, perfect for Tassie with the lack of canvas. Enjoy the Western Explorer, I really enjoyed our drive along there when we did it, stunningly beautiful country it is.

Draggin

Quote from: Spud7017 on September 25, 2015, 06:48:52 PM
Hi John,

Thanks for the welcome and I see your a fellow statesman.  My first trip to try out the set up will be the Western Explorer so should give it a gentle introduction.

Cheers Des

That's a brilliant area for a test run Des, have a good look at some of the coastal tracks out there, you don't have to be a diehard 4wder to go part of the way between some of the access points. Pieman Heads for example  ;D
"Beneath the radiant Southern Cross"

Spud7017

.........and such good fishing from the beach around the Pieman and Granville Harbour...... ;D
VW Amarok Highline
BRS Offroad Hybrid Van
Elsie the English Staffy
KTM 1190R Adventure