New member requests; if you do not receive a confirmation email first check your spam filter, or if not within 7 days, email admin@myswag.org with your details.  We get a lot of spam applications, and sometimes legitimate request get marked as spam as well.

Any muso's amongst Swaggers out there?

Started by robsjack, August 29, 2014, 08:08:53 PM

robsjack

I have a love for music and was wondering whether any fellow swagger's are the same.
What instruments do you play?

I started with a $300 Yamaha acoustic which I paid for by working over Christmas in my first job at Woolies right before I started my apprenticeship. I moved to Bass and joined a band in the late 80's playing pubs and clubs for 16 years. 1st pic is my trusty Fender Precision (early 80's vintage I think). I currently have a beautiful Taylor acoustic and for my birthday just gone I have moved to my first electric (an American standard tele).

McTavish

Sometimes I play 'the fool'.  Other times I play the drums.   One time we did a gig in Inglewood (country se qld) for a community function.  The beautiful old ladies from the town got there early to get a front row seat. I thought this would be an issue given we were there to attract the youth of the town to a night highlighting youth issues including suicide prevention - I.e the music was going to be loud and heavy. I had my wife go to them and have a quiet word to give them the heads up.  They were confident they would be ok so politely declined. 
It was the funniest thing to see how fast they scrambled ten seconds into the first song to get out the back of the hall.   Rock on.

Vacation Camper & McTavish surfboard - what more does a guy need??

Bullant4x4

I played the trumpet for many years. Started harmonica a while back but stopped. Need to get back into it as my daughter and I were learning together.

Piano, guitar, trumpet and used to sing in a band. Go figure.......
Scarey really

trust me.. theres plenty here that think they can sing.. Tomie was proof .. we had a live rendition of Pist Frozen Cats Featuring the BandSaw...

Bad Scott

Play a bit of Didg, circular breathing still the problem.
2010 79 SC
2013 Ultimate Xplor
2024 79 DC

Marschy

I play with my organ every now and then. My wife tells me I'm a dirty bugger when I do.

UIZ733

Quote from: Marschy on August 29, 2014, 09:12:01 PM
I play with my organ every now and then. My wife tells me I'm a dirty bugger when I do.
Beat me to it...............she says "if you are getting that thing out again, make sure you use dettol and a wire brush".

Big Tread

I can play guitar, badly. Bought myself a harmonica when we travelled last year and taught myself how to play, but would live a few lessons to learn the right techniques.
-----------------------------------------
2007 VX Prado
Tambo Omeo

rossbarb

Hi!
the other plays the bagpipes extremely well, he also plays the tin whistle, low d whistle, boudrin drum, harmonica,celtic harp, didg, anything he puts his hand to,
barb

Bullant4x4

Quote from: Big Tread on August 29, 2014, 09:21:08 PM
Bought myself a harmonica when we travelled last year and taught myself how to play, but would live a few lessons to learn the right techniques.

I brought JP Allen's DVDs and downloadable lessons. (If you buy the 5 disc set you get free access to the download stuff) Pretty easy to follow and liked his technic.

http://www.harmonica.com/lessons/

Big Tread

Quote from: Bullant4x4 on August 29, 2014, 10:07:45 PM
I brought JP Allen's DVDs and downloadable lessons. (If you buy the 5 disc set you get free access to the download stuff) Pretty easy to follow and liked his technic.

http://www.harmonica.com/lessons/

Thanks for the tip, I'll look that up.
-----------------------------------------
2007 VX Prado
Tambo Omeo

Bullant4x4

Quote from: Big Tread on August 29, 2014, 10:21:23 PM
Thanks for the tip, I'll look that up.

If you want a copy let me know , I'll burn you a copy .

2impulsiv

I play a bit of guitar or bass, not as much not since I broke one of fingers a few years ago, played piano when I was a young bloke too.. As well as drums....

2012 GIC Extreme Off-Road Camping Trailer. Here!
2014 GXL Prado. Here!

Vitara_JaycoSwift_Outback

I play trumpet and cornet and play every week with a brass band in Brisbane. We compete in competitions regularly and have won the state B grade championships a few years in a row now. 

MattNQ

I play guitar, but haven't played much for a few too many years. Once kids came along, I never seemed to have the time.
Got a sweet Rickenbacker 610 Fireglo & Vox AC30 25th anniversary (Not the best model btw. Been meaning to mod it for years)
Also have an unusual old Yamaha S-50 Acoustic. Japanese built in the late 60's from the few fragements of info on the web. Classical shaped body, but used steel strings. I've got a nylon set on at the moment.  Very nice sound.
Been sorely tempted of late to sell the Ric & Vox to finance a good camera, but can't part with them just yet ;D

smartyingreen

Played trumpet through high school and uni. Only get the opportunity in groups now every few years.

That's me 2nd one in about 4 years ago.

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Smartyingreen - HZJ105 Land Cruiser + Cameron HD Off Road Unlimited Concept Camper.

MMblue

There a story going round that you can still bang out a note by yourself. According to the guy that had ear plugs in that shared a room with you on the postie bike ride.

HEM19X

SWMBO plays the acoustic guitar, piano and ukelele...
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Quote from: HEM19X on September 02, 2014, 08:03:16 PM
No Names

Good times Mark.  :cup:

I have me a harem of guitars both acoustic and electric, six strings and basses. I dabble with mandolin and ukulele, and I play in church bands and a Bluegrass band.

Strummin around a campfire is icing on the cake. Love it.

austastar

robsjack

MattNQ - That's a nice looking Rickenbacker 610 Fireglo & Vox AC30. I've got a little VOX amp with a few amp modelling settings including one for the AC30. I'm sure it doesn't sound half as sweet as yours.

Snow - After 16 years or so of playing bass in clubs bands I finally got out of that. The constant movements due to my engineering/construction work made it impossible to commit to a band. I play more guitar these days and only the bass occasionally. I lead our local church band too.

rob   

MattNQ

Thanks Rob, the Vox does need some work. volume pots are noisy & I'd love to swap the Fane speakers for Celestions.
Kids all play something too. Daughter plays double bass (she figured it was cooler than the violin) son #1 plays tenor sax, son#2 plays clarinet.  We reckon getting them into music is a worthwhile investment.

Austastar,
struth, I had no idea you could get a recorder that big. I used to dread my kids "recorder soiree" at school.
Intrigued, I looked up these big ones - they have a very nice sound !

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ZmMMOnXwPg

GrahamFamily

Learning acoustic guitar for just over 12 months now. Still long way to go. Melinda plays piano and our 5 yo playas piano better then I could ever play it.