New member requests; if you do not receive a confirmation email first check your spam filter, or if not within 7 days, email admin@myswag.org with your details.  We get a lot of spam applications, and sometimes legitimate request get marked as spam as well.

Drag Racing

Started by Footy Shorts Shane, June 06, 2013, 08:43:41 AM

Footy Shorts Shane

Race your 4x4 for free tomorrow night at Willowbank.

edz

What a shame I dont have the O'l Diahatsu Scat.
Used to go to Operation DRAG [ run by the QLD  coppers ] at the old Surfers Raceway.
Stage then on the light, Side step the clutch at 7000 slightly pick the left front off the ground and flat change through the 1/4 to a 19 sec run .. Not to shabby for a NA mild worked 2ltr  Ford powered reasonable heavy 4x4 ..   At the very least it was entertaining and fun .
The old pig in front of the Cherry Venture .

duggie

Quote from: edz on September 27, 2016, 03:53:10 PM
What a shame I dont have the O'l Diahatsu Scat.
Used to go to Operation DRAG [ run by the QLD  coppers ] at the old Surfers Raceway.
Stage then on the light, Side step the clutch at 7000 slightly pick the left front off the ground and flat change through the 1/4 to a 19 sec run .. Not to shabby for a NA mild worked 2ltr  Ford powered reasonable heavy 4x4 ..   At the very least it was entertaining and fun .
The old pig in front of the Cherry Venture .

I do take it that you are referring to the Diahatsu Scat.  ;D Time to go and hide . :angel:

edz

;D ;D ;D That could be either way,  if you knew me  ...  Good thing some ones not here ATM .  ;D  :cheers:

proctor

Putting this out there if anyone can help. I'm wanting to join a team and help out at the drags, my local track is willowbank but would also travel for regional or interstate meetings and help between races. I'm a mechanic by trade but spent the last 10 years as a mechanical fitter working on ships and tug boats while in drydock so im mechanically minded. Been a fan of drag racing for 20 odd years and travelled to America to watch a few meetings even on my honeymoon, can't afford to race but would love to help those that can. send me a message if you can help. thanks

Jeepers Creepers

Lots of racers will be looking for someone like yourself.

Make up a single page flyer, go to a meeting and drop the flyer with the teams you like. Someone will snap you up.

BS61

I've always wanted to go racing but could never afford it. Finally. I have bitten the bullet and bought a spare chassis to build a ha/gr car out of as the class is in my budget and to be honest I love old gear and grey motors.

It will take me some time to collect a few bits and pieces but super excited to get the build complete and get amongst it.

Footy Shorts Shane

Quote from: BS61 on October 06, 2016, 12:56:49 PM
I've always wanted to go racing but could never afford it. Finally. I have bitten the bullet and bought a spare chassis to build a ha/gr car out of as the class is in my budget and to be honest I love old gear and grey motors.

It will take me some time to collect a few bits and pieces but super excited to get the build complete and get amongst it.

kylarama

Those HAMB dragsters are insanely cool.  Grassroots affordable racing.

Those not sure on what BS61 is building.

Pre 1962 engines, manual box, I beam front and no rear suspension. 
Me and a few mates bang on about building one when we get on the drink.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Quote from: kylaramaMe and a few mates bang on about building one when we get on the drink. \

you now have a challenge to beat what BS61!

kylarama

Quote from: Bird on October 06, 2016, 01:25:55 PM
you now have a challenge to beat what BS61!
Money and time is my big issue.  Missus loves rods, but would hit the roof if I built one that seats 1 and can't be registered.

We're about to remortgage to do some much needed and overdue home renos. Maybe I can overestimate on a few of the reno budgets....

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Footy Shorts Shane

Quote from: kylarama on October 06, 2016, 01:36:46 PM
Missus loves rods, but would hit the roof if I built one that seats 1 and can't be registered.

Mine frowned a bit when I said I'm going to build a drag bike, until I told her she's riding it too. Instant nod of approval then ;D

Jeepers Creepers

Shane, you have too much time on ya hands.

Love to see the grey motor a couple of posts back roar in anger.

Footy Shorts Shane

Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on October 06, 2016, 02:29:30 PM
Shane, you have too much time on ya hands.

Yeah, far too much. That's why it's not built, nor the old car sitting on stands in the garage at home  >:(

Jeepers Creepers

Things like eating and sleeping are very over rated..... there's some extra time already.  ;D

Footy Shorts Shane

edz

Classic action there Shane, One way to get kids fit and of the screens ..Could be an opportunity for the Bike guys . ;D
And for those without Face crap https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHfXDKTyN0A

Footy Shorts Shane

What a ride  8)

https://www.facebook.com/NHRA/videos/10154699567731410/

Also found this on Facebook. Billet alloy, PSI'd, turboed, nitrous, methanol injected Duramax.

Champin

Wild ride all right. You reckon a bit of poo come out?

Footy Shorts Shane

Would have had some very big eyes  :o

Jeepers Creepers

Its pretty cool huh.

He was looking at the sky for a fair while.

Footy Shorts Shane

Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on November 01, 2016, 04:30:11 PM
Its pretty cool huh.

He was looking at the sky for a fair while.

Wouldn't that be a buzz  :D

You couldn't do it twice, you wouldn't volunteer to do it twice, but if it happened again, it'd be just as big of a rush ;D

What a ride  :D

edz

Bring back the wheel standers and the fun dragsters https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Pwrqpfjrj4    ;D ;D

Jeepers Creepers

Then they crashed Hemi Under Glass a year or 3 ago during a demo with Jay Leno.

listo

G'day Shane, do you know if a winternats ticket is a day pass or an event pass? We been getting the kids interested in the drags out here lately (watching that is) & wouldn't mind taking them for a look next year.