To get your Shirts, Coolers, Stickers and other Myswag.org Merchandise just click Here...

Let's Talk Chainsaws ...

Started by Kit_e_kat9, November 29, 2012, 07:32:50 PM

Kit_e_kat9

After camping for 4 days at Gordon Country with just an axe ... I've decided that we need a smaller chainsaw ... so have enlisted Santa's assistance to provide one for him for Xmas.  Something to cut smaller logs that are just murder with an axe.  I can't see us requiring to chop our way out of tracks or anything serious like that ... just something to make firewood gathering a bit easier.  I don't think he's used one before, but I could be wrong ... I just know he doesn't' have one now.

So boys ... now for some tough Q&A.

Smallest / largest we should go?
Battery operated or petrol driven?
Brands to steer clear of?
Anything else I should be looking at?

Your assistance in this would be very much appreciated.  I'm just after some advice as a Sheila that's never had to purchase said item ever before.  Chances are pretty good that I'll buy this from the Mower Shop at Underwood as they have terrific customer service, but I want a smidge of knowledge on the matter before I head down there.   ;D

alnjan

cruisindub

Hi.

I wouldn't spend a great deal of money. If I was in your situation where an axe was getting tiring
I would go for a rechargeable reciprocating saw.good enough to cut up a bit of fire wood. Bit of pruning. Don't nzeed to worry about fuel,or anything, your probably not felling trees by the sounds of it.

craigtempo

Woodsie

The Ozito from Bunnings is the way to go...........had mine for over 5 years (when they were GMC) still going strong
Brilliant little saw.....just over $100.00
Tony Woods 06 HZJ105 Turbo/IC
2012 Eureka Hard Floor Camper

Brucer

I bought a small McCulloch from Bunnings a while back and it's given me a few good years of service and going strong. It's only a baby but for camping firewood and yard work it's perfect.
This is the current version of it http://www.mcculloch.com/au/products/chainsaws/m3414/#overview
I don't see it in Bunnings website but I'm pretty sure I saw them last time I was in store for under $200.
Outback Campers Birdsville, Nissan Pathfinder R51

Black-Pig

Quote from: D4D on November 29, 2012, 08:05:17 PM
I believe these are on special at the moment
http://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Products/Chain-saws/Homeowner-Chain-saws/2212-1571/MS-170.aspx
I have one of these. And it goes hard as to the point I have cut down 60cm diameter trees with it.
05 SR5 Hilux  - With Fruit...
2012 Outback Sturt - with some modifications

if its just for firewood go with a Battery operated one... Plenty of threads on them here.. brilliant and no stinking petrol and oil everywhere

Quote from: Lost on November 29, 2012, 08:33:03 PM
if its just for firewood go with a Battery operated one... Plenty of threads on them here.. brilliant and no stinking petrol and oil everywhere

Kit_e_kat9

Thanks for the info so far guys.  Exactly what I'm looking for.  I've checked out all the links ... it's all a bit diverse brand wise, but stats are fairly similar.

fuji

Woodsie

The real beauty of the Ozito, is its a one handed saw and being compact, it does not take up much space.
Tony Woods 06 HZJ105 Turbo/IC
2012 Eureka Hard Floor Camper

JU5T1N

this will get the job done in no time and will clear a whole camp site of trees and if the operators wear hockey masks will clear out the campers  :cheers:

Nissan whore:
Nissan Patrol GUramax (Stripped by ADC)
Nissan Skyline R33 GTR V-spec 480awkw
Nissan Skyline R34 GTR M-spec 830awkw (NOW SOLD)

Kit_e_kat9

Err Ju5tin,

He's going to have to carry it on his own ... LOL!  I could see campers scattering to the wind with that around though.   :cup:

RebsWA

http://www.stihl.com.au/STIHL-Products/Chain-saws/Homeowner-Chain-saws/2212-1571/MS-170.aspx

Way to go, more expensive but you get what you pay for. They durable, reliable, last for many years and will still be cutting wood when the cheapies are dead.
I realise you only intend it for the campsite but once you have one you find more uses for it.
You don't stop laughing because you grow old
You grow old because you stop laughing

2006 TD LandCruiser Troopy LX  -  2015 Jayco Starcraft Outback (a Caravan...)

Black-Pig

I have a 310 Farmboss, and now tend to use the 170 as not as heavy. Even take it fire wood cutting. I could not recommend enough. Will be taking it on the "Big Lap" next year.
05 SR5 Hilux  - With Fruit...
2012 Outback Sturt - with some modifications

Jason B

X 6 buy right once and you will get a life time out of it. Not to mention that parts will always be available and there are service agents all over the place, not that you will need them.

SteveandViv

With all jokes aside and the small and large I reckon invest in a long termer. This is just an example Kit_e but we have a Husky 345 with an 18 inch bar, can be 16 if you want. The thing is I've had it for 11 years and it still starts after 4 pulls (No that that type :-)) We hadn't used ours for over a year here in Broome and took it away with us to the Cape last year. 4 Pulls and you guessed it (The wife complained) I mean the saw started. Now there's a few that can offer that sort of life but not sure that you want to be cutting fire wood and he battery goes flat or you take two hours to cut up a log going side to side. Or you don't want to be hoping to cut up a log for the fire and the log is to big.

Our tress are quite large in the country so I think you need at least 16 inches  8) You can easily take the Bar off and store it away so it all fits in a milk create which is how we travel with ours.

grafy82

I would usually agree with exactly what SteveandViv said but... for what you described that you want to do with it, I reckon you can't go past the ryobi 18v li-ion kit saw. I bought the pole saw version of this one and used it to cut back a massive amount of our mango tree earlier this year and it did it effortlessly. I was truly supprised by it after only using bigger petrol saws in the past. I will be getting the chainsaw version soon and yes they do go through a battery reasonably quick but I have 4 batteries (from other tools in their range) and ryobi even make a 12v charger wth cig socket for them so they are easy to swap out. Check them out at qbunnings.

Wes
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

LeighC

QuoteI believe these are on special at the moment

x7

I got the ML-180 as a birthday pressie last year.   I wanted it mostly for camping a occasional around the house gardening tasks.  As per SteveandViv's comments, purchase once.  If the budget model plays up you'll probably see your old man exceed the world chainsaw throwing record.  The ML-810 has had a great year of camping and made easy work when wood collection time comes when on the way to a camp site.
Prado 150 series
Pioneer Argyle SE

Kit_e_kat9

More info to compute ... pulling / bars / how many inches - he does like his battery run stuff too ...  ;D  Thanks again Swaggers.  You are a good bunch of chainsawers regardless of your size in inches.   ;D

If you must buy petrol, buy from USA, theres several threads on it here...

treestuff rings a bell

JU5T1N

Quote from: Kit_e_kat9 on November 29, 2012, 11:03:18 PM

... pulling / bars / how many inches - he does like his battery run stuff too ...  ;D regardless of your size in inches.   ;D

sounds like your buying it from Fyshwick.... (not putting that clip up  :angel:)

Nissan whore:
Nissan Patrol GUramax (Stripped by ADC)
Nissan Skyline R33 GTR V-spec 480awkw
Nissan Skyline R34 GTR M-spec 830awkw (NOW SOLD)