New member requests; if you do not receive a confirmation email first check your spam filter, or if not within 7 days, email admin@myswag.org with your details.  We get a lot of spam applications, and sometimes legitimate request get marked as spam as well.

D'day from Sydney

Started by mborgy85, November 27, 2012, 08:21:20 AM

mborgy85

I've been hanging around the forum for some time now so i fugured it was finally time to join in on all the fun.

My whole family has owned a string of campers over the years but i've taken a particular interest in building or modifying my own 4WD and camper trailer to suit myself and my partners particular needs.

Tough touring is my type of camping, it's what i love. There's something about hitching up the camper trailer, going to places that only keen 4WDers can get to and than camping in style. The forum so far i has given me some great advice and awsome idea's so i figured i should start posting and contributing to hopefully return the favour.

The project set-up at the moment is my 80 series landcruiser. Its been converted into a single cab ute with a custom canopy for camping. But the best thing is it's running a 6.5L turbo diesel Chevy which is music to my ears! Its got a whole bunch of mod's coming up in the future so it should become a fairly capable Tourer.

The camper trailer touring magazine has been following the build of my camper trailer so far. Its just a basic trailer I picked up from ebay and intend to build it up of the next 12 months or so. I'll upload some recent images of it when i get a chance, but so far its just a heavy duty steel galvinised trailer with 60 series leaf springs and a solid chasis and drawbar. So far i've replaced the bearings and axle, added electric brakes, a custom motor bike rack, on-board air compressor and 12V and 240V power pack. I'm looking at the options as far as the tent and so far a good quality roof top tent and awning seems to suit my needs the best. A full slide out kitchen and fully sealed storage boxes right around the camper are coming soon if everything goes to plan.

The camper in the pic below is one i borrowed from my uncle to head south for a few days.

Look forward to the chatting with everybody and sharing any useful info i pick up along the way!!!

Borgy

Welcome to the madhouse, good to see you have the pic thing sorted  :D.

Nice looking 80 you have there, they look great as a single cab. I wanted to put a Chevy in my 80 but SWMBO says no so we will look for a stock TD 80.

Cannot wait to see pics of the trailer build.

What part of Sydney are you in?

mborgy85

G'day Bunyip,

I had a bit of help uploading the pic's so i cant take credit for that.
The chevy sounds great and goes pretty good as well but i havn't had it out for a decent run yet so i cant wait for the madden voyage.  I was after a standard TD 80 series aswell, awsome 4WD i reckon. But i stumbled upon this rig and just could'nt help myself- I purposly forgot to inform the other half of the power plant, so that was interesting! 

I'm in southwest sydney around Narellan or Marcarthur district.   

G'day Borgy ,

Hmmm, a 6.5L turbo diesel Chevy in an 80  ;D Nice!!!
Did you have the conversion done, or did some one else do it?
A great setup you have there  :cup:

Gday Borgy and welcome to My Swag

Welcome aboard.  Look forward to following your build.

mborgy85

Thanks guys,

Hairs- I stumbled across this project only half complete and could'nt help myself. The chev was already mounted to the original landcruiser 5 speed box and was sitting in the engine bay with nothing else hooked up to it. So there was a bit of mucking around to do the rest but the hard work was done. I've got a trailer load of upgrades for it including a tough dog 4 inch lift kit, winch bar and winch, snorkel, water tank and LED lighting but just hav'nt had the time to hook into it yet.

Hey Borgy,
You can stop right there, I don't want to know  ;D
Nah, Half ya luck and good on ya.  :D
She'll make an awesome rig mate  :cup: