Hello From Perth WA

Started by Gavmac, November 20, 2012, 12:15:03 PM

Gavmac

G,day All

Been lurking on this forum for a while now so thought it was about time that I posted. Can't believe the amount of information at out fingertips which is real handy given that we are new to owning a camper trailer.

After years of tent camping we often thought of upgrading to a camper trailer so few weeks ago we hired one for the weekend. We liked it so much that we went out and bought one!

We went for a 2011 Challenge Outback walk-in deluxe which we bought privately. Took it away for the first time last weekend and we are extremely happy with it. Really comfortable and Plenty of room for the 2 kids.

Planning to get away in it as much as possible. Got a 2 week trip booked in WA south west in January, staying at Denmark for a week and another couple of places(possible Augusta or Margaret River area). Also hope to get away for another weekend before then.

Our dream is to do a lap of Australia and planning to do this in 5 years time when I get long service leave. We are going to buy a large map of Australia and when we read about somewhere we want to go we will put a mark on it so that we know to include it in the plans.

Gav

Welcome Gav,

Heaps of info on the friendliest place on the web. Sit back, crack open a cold one and enjoy the show in the electrical section  >:D

What is your tug?

Don't forget  :worthles:

Stozz

Welcome Gavmac,

Good to see yet another sandgroper joining the forum.
There is a small group of campers heading to Sandy Cape this weekend, if interested: http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=26206.0
Looking forward to seeing pics of your camper and set up.

Hi Gav and welcome to My Swag

Gavmac

Thanks guys.

Bunyip - My tug is a 99 Pajero GLX. Had it for 5 years and it's done 225k. Don't really know what the average life span is of a Pajero is but it seems really solid and has never caused me any problems.

Stozz - Thanks for the offer but unfortunately I have to work this weekend. Not been to Sandy Cape before but hope to get there soon.

Not sure how to post photos yet but will give it a try.

Gav

G'day Gav.

Yep, there sure is a wealth on info here, to either help you setup your camper/vehicle or to plan trips.
You've given your self plenty of time to get everything right for your trip.

LB

Quote from: Gavmac on November 20, 2012, 12:15:03 PM

Our dream is to do a lap of Australia and planning to do this in 5 years time when I get long service leave.

Welcome,

We are planning to do exactly the same thing :D

LB
2017 BT-50 GT
Kimberley Kamper Platinum 2013

Welcome Gav.  Plenty of helpful info on here.  Look forward to reading of your travels

Welcome aboard Gav and enjoy your stay mate :cheers:

gadgetman

We had a Challenge Meridian for a while.  They are good units.

2004 NP Pajero DiD,
2011 Swan Outback

chester ver2.0

Welcome Gav

We made the big lap from VIC 2 years ago and have stayed ever since (i should actually get around to changing the rego plates one day)

Port Augusta is a nice place but gets real busy on holidays so if you can just go down for a normal weekend it ios quite good

We think a better place is just up the road at hamlin bay a lot quiter on your average weekend