Milk

Started by barnray, May 05, 2011, 07:04:15 PM

barnray

As an experiment I have been using Skim Milk Powder for normal drinking milk for a couple of month's. A couple of times the milk has gone bad very quickly and produced an undesirable affect in relation to a needle and the eye! Has anybody a solution? Barnray
Ps I am looking at 2 months away. B

Estelle

Tried UHT Skim Milk? Small containers? Supposed to last about 5-7 days after opening.
Chris & John

05 DiD Platinum Pajero, Cub Spacevan Drover Off Road

DeBe

One would hope you refrigerate the mik after its mixed must be below 4Deg C. Ive never had any problems with powdered mik but i only mix enought to last a couple of days.

rossbarb

Hi!
We use the small containers of skim uht milk about a popper size as we only use it for tea etc, and it seems to work a treat or if you hardly use any milk single serves of skim uht milk I use these for day tris hope this helps
barb

we use the 1 litre UHT milks and never had a problem

AKB

Quote from: 73bubba on May 05, 2011, 08:41:59 PM
we use the 1 litre UHT milks and never had a problem

barnray

I have been known to drink a couple of litres in a day and I like my milk like my beer COLD. Jamie I'm not talking about the other stuff. B

Quote from: barnray on May 05, 2011, 08:46:55 PM
I have been known to drink a couple of litres in a day and I like my milk like my beer COLD. Jamie I'm not talking about the other stuff. B
Maybe you could substitute most of your daily milk intake with more beer :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

bullfrog

Gday Russ,
We also use mostly UHT when camping. Normally take a 3l of fresh moo juice from the house fridge & when that is gone it's on to the UHT. The Cook stocks up on UHT when they are sale between camping trips. With 5 of us we go through a lot of milk, an average week would be about 10 x 3l bottles.Have though about a house cow but would probably eat it  ;D. :cheers:

MarkGU

Quote from: bullfrog on May 05, 2011, 08:55:44 PM
Gday Russ,
We also use mostly UHT when camping. Normally take a 3l of fresh moo juice from the house fridge & when that is gone it's on to the UHT. The Cook stocks up on UHT when they are sale between camping trips. With 5 of us we go through a lot of milk, an average week would be about 10 x 3l bottles.Have though about a house cow but would probably eat it  ;D. :cheers:
you drink MILK Bevan  ???

i'm staying outta your esky then  >:(

barnray

Thats fine but I do have to drive to the next camp, but I like the idea.B

bullfrog

Sure do Nav, made me growed up big & strong  ;D ( & it goes OK with the Bailey's  :cheers:)

barnray

I was kicked in the butt with a Dairy Farm at the back door and grew up on raw cow juice not the crap we get now and it has become a sliding scale  from the age of 18 trying to adjust to the different tastes of milk.And Now If I drink fresh milk I get the sh** if I drink low fat I get fat and if I drink Skim I get The SH*** and loose weight. Lost about 14kg so far so some good has come out of it, all I have to do is make it right. B   ;D :cheers:

bullfrog

Know what ya mean Russ. Grandparents had a dairy farm just out of Ulmarra. Nothing like a mug of fresh milk straight out of the bucket. :cheers:

StevenM

Quote from: barnray on May 05, 2011, 07:04:15 PM
As an experiment I have been using Skim Milk Powder for normal drinking milk for a couple of month's. A couple of times the milk has gone bad very quickly and produced an undesirable affect in relation to a needle and the eye! Has anybody a solution? Barnray
Ps I am looking at 2 months away. B

What are you using it for? Cereal, Tea / coffee, drinking, cooking or all of the above?

How much do you normally go through?

barnray

Mate I use to go out in the middle of winter to get my fix at about 18 months dragging the nappy thru the green stuff. so I been told. R

barnray

Could go thru 4-6 ltr a 24hr period for all of the above. R