Yarralin to Melbourne XMAS 2025

Started by wakychapmans, December 09, 2025, 11:24:40 AM

wakychapmans

so the entire family (wife, 2 x dogs) are heading to Melbourne over XMAS to visit family and friends.

We'll be coming across from the NT vis Barkley, then Mt Isa, then Winton, Toowoomba and so on.

Looking for some suggestions for potential overnight camping spots with the two bois...

1st night should somewhere near Barkley Homestead. Either at the homestead... of a freecamp in the vicinity.

then... we have one or two nights across the remainder of the NT and all of QLD.

So open to suggestions. Just overnighters...

Brisbane is sorted in a mates front yard.

But we need somewhere south of Gold Coast the following night.

Then somewhere down near Old Bar/Taree.

We'll also need somewhere between Newcastle and Central Coast.

Staying in the front yard of a mate in Sydney

We're staying with friends in Wollongong

Then off to Canberra for a day visit with a mate

then somewhere a few hours south of Canberra for the night (was thinking Wee Jasper)

Then eventually down to Gembrook. Maybe in a day... maybe take two days... not decided.

anyone got suggestions of potential camps in the highlighted areas?

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
2018 GXL 78 Troopy with Alu-Cab conversion
2011 Kedron ATV
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (*FOR SALE*)
LIVING - THE - DREAM!

Never enough time

Stops in northern NSW, I am assuming you just want somewhere to pull up for the night with dogs close to your route, take the dogs for a walk, have a shower and maybe somewhere to eat, then move on the next morning, no nearby sightseeing.

Just south of Gold Coast try Murwillumbah Showground, or Lennox Head CP, not far off the Freeway.
Near Taree/Old Bar try Kendall/ Camden Haven Showgrounds, or Winham Showgrounds.

Places right on the NSW coast during summer school holidays are likely to be booked out and or minimum multiday stay, hence need to stay west of the M1 Freeway and at Showgrounds. I personally have only stayed at Lennox Head CP.
Consult Wikicamps.
Vehicles; Presently Prado 2021, previously three Pajeros
Camper; Complete Campsite Exodus 13 (2011 build), previously Kimberly Kamper and prior to that Soft Floor 16ft

wakychapmans

Quote from: Never enough time on December 09, 2025, 03:07:03 PMStops in northern NSW, I am assuming you just want somewhere to pull up for the night with dogs close to your route, take the dogs for a walk, have a shower and maybe somewhere to eat, then move on the next morning, no nearby sightseeing.
correct. No sightseeing time available.

at first glance... 4,000klm in 12 days... piece of piss.

but then you factor in actually stopping for up to half a day... almost every single day... and the timeline and the driving becomes a chore.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
2011 Kedron ATV
LIVING - THE - DREAM!

Pottsy

Hillbilly Hilux

I wouldn't stay at the homestead on the Barkley...  we stayed there on the way to Darwin earlier this year, the bats (flying foxes) have taken it over, might have changed but they were settled in when we were there.

There are a few stops either side of the homestead but they fill up fast, might not be too bad this time of year though.

The other side of Mt Isa you have Mary Kathleen, take the turnoff to the old mine site, heaps of good area to pull up in.

Winton...  the long water hole

Longreach, well, about 23k north of it, you have Macsland rest stop, follow the tracks behind the toilets.

There's a good area between Ilfracombe and Barcaldine (just out of Ilfracombe).

Between Barcladine and Blackall there is Douglas Ponds or just the other side of Blackall is the Barcoo Rest Area.

Depends on how many k's you can squeeze into one day with stops etc.

Can't help too much on the other side of the QLD border.

Hope that gives you a couple spots to look at.

HH

Fizzie

Quote from: wakychapmans on December 09, 2025, 11:24:40 AMsomewhere south of Gold Coast

Don't know if you only want free camps, but we've spotted https://www.myclarencevalley.com/operators/jabour-park-campgrounds/ at Grafton for our first night. $20 for 2, power, water, toilets & a dump point. Apparently dog friendly as well.

Quote from: wakychapmans on December 09, 2025, 11:24:40 AMNewcastle and Central Coast

https://www.lakemac.com.au/Venues/Morisset-Showground $33 powered / $28 un: P, W, T, DP, dogs.

Isuzu: 2017 MU-X LST

wakychapmans

Quote from: Hillbilly Hilux on December 09, 2025, 05:42:21 PMI wouldn't stay at the homestead on the Barkley...  we stayed there on the way to Darwin earlier this year, the bats (flying foxes) have taken it over, might have changed but they were settled in when we were there.

There are a few stops either side of the homestead but they fill up fast, might not be too bad this time of year though.

The other side of Mt Isa you have Mary Kathleen, take the turnoff to the old mine site, heaps of good area to pull up in.

Winton...  the long water hole

Longreach, well, about 23k north of it, you have Macsland rest stop, follow the tracks behind the toilets.

There's a good area between Ilfracombe and Barcaldine (just out of Ilfracombe).

Between Barcladine and Blackall there is Douglas Ponds or just the other side of Blackall is the Barcoo Rest Area.

Depends on how many k's you can squeeze into one day with stops etc.

Can't help too much on the other side of the QLD border.

Hope that gives you a couple spots to look at.

HH

I'd heard that about Barkley Homestead. There is a nice spot half way between Threeways and the homestead on the northern side of the hwy. Near some wetlands.

there's also another decent one about 40klm west of the Tablelands hwy junction on the Barkley. Back off the road quite a ways (north side) so potentially great for the dogs.

oh my Dog... thanks for all the other suggestions too. We'll be using plenty of them for sure.

it's 3000klm from Katherine to Brisvegas so "three days"... is pushing things. But 4 would be fine.

thanks again for all the suggestions.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
2011 Kedron ATV
LIVING - THE - DREAM!