New member requests; if you do not receive a confirmation email first check your spam filter, or if not within 7 days, email admin@myswag.org with your details.  We get a lot of spam applications, and sometimes legitimate request get marked as spam as well.

Anyone in Cairns who knows land cruisers?

Started by shanegtr, August 06, 2014, 06:30:12 PM

shanegtr

Hi all, just wondering if someone who's in the Cairns area and knows a few things about land cruisers (in particular 80 series). Theres one there that Im considering buying, but being all the way over in WA I'd like a bit of an idea on its condition before I go to much further. I've chatted to the current owner and although he paints a good picture of it, I'd like to hear someones thoughts thats independent of the seller. Im happy to send beer $$$ for you if you take it on

Barrabart

G'day mate,

If you can't find someone to look over it for you and want a mechanic in Cairns, I can recommend SVS Auto in Cairns, they will certainly give you a thorough report on the Cruiser.

http://www.svscairns.com.au/

Also Wayne Boylett, I've found him really good..... he also owns a ripper 79 series dual cab.... and knows all cruisers well.

http://www.localdirectories.com.au/Cairns,QLD/Wayne-Boylett-Mechanical/profile/sXiM

Have a yarn to both of them.

Good luck.

muzza01

I can probably help you out or also recommend a couple of good mechanics, let us know. :cheers:

Bullant4x4

If you were in Townsville, Kenny is out near the croc park (Billabong sanctuary) and is a grouse mechanic.

shanegtr

Thanks guys, I just need someone to have a look so I can get an idea if it's worth getting further possibly more costly inspections done

Teabag

I can have a look over it for you? Give you an honest, unbiased opinion.

"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

shanegtr

Got it sorted for now, thanks for the offers guys, much appreciated.