G'day , joined today .

Started by UTE 701, November 27, 2011, 09:22:33 PM

UTE 701

G'day All,
I'm new here ( obviously ) , but certainly not new to camping and 4x4's .
I was into camping while still at school , in fact my "schoolies" was in my tent at Rainbow Beach , with my old Holden .
But that next year I had a new Hi Lux , and I was hooked on " Getting away from it all " for life .
I've done many trips over the years : Cape York , Kakadu , Gulf , Ayers Rock , Alice Springs , Birdsville Track , Gunbarrel Highway , Southern half of Australia Coastline , Flinders Ranges , Carnarvon Gorge , Fraser Island , Moreton Island . But all these were when I was in the tent brigade .
Over the years I have owned a Hi Lux , a Nissan , another Hi Lux , a Suzuki , an early Rodeo .
And when I first met my wife , she had a Pajero that she had already taken across the Simpson .
Then we had to do this boring thing called buying a house ...   But  ...
Since having 2 children , we decided to join the Camper Trailer Team .
And we have done many trips to get through that list of things I want my kids to see in Australia , before they start going overseas when they get older , as that is the trendy thing to do !!! ???
None have been tough trips ...But I have stories of many miles of Off Road racing , 4x4 Club runs , and tough 4x4 trips , so I have my share of extreme driving already done .
CT holidays for the kids include Moreton Island , Whale Watching at Hervey Bay , Cania Gorge , Dubbo Zoo , Central Qld Coast and Barrier Reef , Central Australia and Coober Pedy and Lake Eyre and Innamincka , and recently Victoria and the Great Ocean Road .
And every Easter we have a " Secret Place " in the bush with a creek and everything we want .
I have been a photographer , longer than I have been a camper , and I am looking forward to sharing some of my millions of pics with you .
Our CT is something we have put together over the years ( 7 x 5 trailer with a soft floor tent ) .
I am still adding to it with ideas I see .
The tow vehicle is a Rodeo dual cab '05 turbo diesel .
We live on the northside of Brisbane .
Next year we are planning on doing the Kimberley , so I am keen to find out as much as I can about all sorts of things , and that is why I ended up here on this web site .
I look forward to swapping yarns and ideas ,
Darryl. :cheers:

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Welcome to MySwag Darryl, sounds as though you will fit in just fine.

G'day Darryl and welcome to Myswag. Looking forward to reading about your adventures and seeing the pics, of course.  :cup: :cheers:

Welcome to MySwag . Set your camp up then drag a chair to the fire & lets yarn  :cheers:

Hi Darryl and welcome to My Swag

Welcome to the swag Darryl, checkout GU Rich's thread about his trip through the Kimberley.

G'day Darryl
Welcome to the forum mate.Good looking setup too!
The journey is just beginning.Enjoy the camper mate.

Cam and Deb

Hi Darryl welcome can't wait for some pics

Cam

Barrabart

G'day mate, welcome to the forum, look forward to seeing some pics of the trips you've done over the years.......... if ya can spare the time. :D

Janbo

Welcome, I hope you enjoy Myswag as much as I do, I have learned so much and had great fun along the way!!
We are all in the gutter....... But some of us are looking at the stars!!

pen.sco

Hi Darryl,

Welcome to MySwag.

Scott
I've decided that stupid should be painful!!!!

Hi Darryl sound like your a seasoned camper look forward to some pics

UTE 701

Thanks so much for the great welcome (s) .

It sure is a friendly sounding bunch here .

Although I need some help finding that Kimberley report you mentioned . I have seen some others but not that one .

There is so much news and great ideas on here , I have my work cut out trying to catch up .

Not to mention the photo work I have now promised to do .

Talk soon ....

" OWZITGAARN ? "

Nice pic mate.Look out Carlisle!!!!!!   ;D

Hi Darryl,

Post up Pics mate, we love pictures here.
Mate, you can never get tired of seeing what this great country has to offer. :cup:
You'll certainly get good advice about your Kimberley trip.
In October I asked had anyone been along the road from Yunta to Hawker and within a couple of hours GU Rich
:cheers:, had posted up pics of the road and I could see for myself what good condition it was in.  :cup:
All you need to do is ask.

Happy & safe travels

G'day daz and welcome :cheers:
Yes the Sig looks great mate.

Cheers BD

mystq

Hi and welcome, top setup you have there :D