Opinions on composite panel camper trailers

Started by ADTradie, June 20, 2026, 08:21:25 AM

ADTradie

Does anyone have any experience with camper trailers manufactured with aluminium-foam core composite type panels. Emu Adventure campers from around 2020-2022 are an example. Stories, good or bad. I'm nearly past swagging it. So, we're looking to buy a s/h forward fold camper, figuring I should get 5 years good use out of one before I give up on outback/desert travel on corrugated roads (due to our age). I'm wondering how they stand up to rough roads, given steel or aluminium sheeting is what I envisage as traditional construction. Thanks. A.D.
Edit- I note well-known brands such as Cub and Track Trailers (T-Van) use composite panels, so if done well they stand up to plenty of punishment. I'm not sure about other mainly Chinese campers?
A.D.
Colorado RG MY2014 dual cab ute, swag and tent

Traveller

G'day ADTradie, I don't know if they are on your radar, but I know several people that have had Vista RV campers for quite a few years, have done heaps of outback travel, and the trailers have handled it all.

The Vistas use a composite panel and I have yet to hear a problem where the panels have given any grief. They are a very strong unit and well built, but not cheap.

Hope you find something.

WilSurf

Our Rhinomax Scorpion Hybrid has a composite body.
It's awesome, no more flapping canvass.
- 2017 Rhinomax Scorpion Hybrid
- 2002 Lexus LX470 V8, E-locker, ARB Sahara bullbar

nab

Forward fold, as in composite body and canvas roof/walls?

Check the storage available. My mate had a forward folding Opus and the internal storage was dismal.

ADTradie

Thanks guys. We're still investigating this. Plenty of storage is a common issue with both forward fold and rear fold camper trailers. A lot positive is to be said for the good storage volume in the older style side-fold soft-floor campers. But we know how things have progressed with the search for the perfect camper trailer when people want all the conveniences of home. :)
A.D.

ADTradie

Quote from: nab on June 22, 2026, 10:56:02 PMForward fold, as in composite body and canvas roof/walls?

Check the storage available. My mate had a forward folding Opus and the internal storage was dismal.
Yes, composite body and canvas roof/walls.
A.D.