Mud Flap Material

Started by UIZ733, September 02, 2015, 06:20:09 AM

UIZ733

Where is the best place to buy Mud Flap Material (conveyor belt?) in Brisbane?

Jeepers Creepers

Trot down to a trampoline maker & get an offcut /end roll of the spring guard rubber matting they use .  Cheap as its of little value to them  , tuff stuff to tame gibbers     :cheers:

RobM

I see the big green place is selling 5mm thick mats made from recycled car tyres. 1800x1200 for $54. I wonder how it would stand up used as mud flaps

HEM19X

I bought some "6mm insertion rubber" from a local supplier called Calstar, cost $75 for 1500mm x 1200mm. Used it to extend current mud flaps plus going to run it across the whole underside of the Van.

Conveyor belt is the go  :cup:  it's tough, thick and reinforced with layers of fabric. ( ours have been fitted for the best part of 10 years and are going strong even after 1000's of km off road ).

I've never had to buy it  >:D , but you could Google it for sellers in the Brisbane area or ring around a few quarries, concrete plants, asphalt plants etc to see if they have any old /used offcuts lying around that they would part with for a box of gold or similar !!  The worst they can do is say no  :-\

John K

achjimmy

Insertion rubber has the fabric woven in like belts . It works well and easy to get at clarks, just stupid expensive that's all. The stuff bunnings sells tears without the fabric in it. I know I tried it under the van.

Troopy_03

Do an Ebay search, there is at least one bloke up there selling conveyer belt rubber. Down here in Newcastle I tried various places and none would bother selling me any unless it was a minimum order of $150.00 to $200.00. Might have to check out clarks for the insertion rubber. Most of the non-reinforced stuff around is too flexible and blows back under a bit of speed.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

bobnrob

Our local Produce/Rural Supplies place sells stuff for round yards - horse floats - cattle yards etc
Different thickness and widths for a good price - can't remember $$$ now, would make great mud flaps  ;)

G'day mate, try this place. www.conveyorbeltman.com.au/
I got mine second hand from the Sugar Mill here.

woolgoolgaoffroad

i picked mine up off the side of the pacific highway just recently after a truck had a tyre blowout.....good for the environment and i got a bargin
Kev

http://woolgoolgaoffroad.blogspot.com.au
Landcruiser + Ultra Breakaway

UIZ733

Quote from: sol on September 02, 2015, 06:26:42 PM
G'day mate, try this place. www.conveyorbeltman.com.au/
I got mine second hand from the Sugar Mill here.

Heh heh..............no sugar mill mill remotely in sight here mate!! Did visit Clarke Rubber today and Insertion Rubber (not my idea of what it was??  ;D) looks promising. I will scour eBay and Bumtree as well.
Thanks all.

achjimmy

Insertion rubber will work great mate no worries. Only issue is your second mortgage to buy it from Clark rubber

DaveR

Just don't use Vinyl like some clown near me has, leaves under the back of the tug all the time, I see it flapping in the breeze at 50 k an hour.

Quote from: UIZ733 on September 02, 2015, 06:42:32 PM
Heh heh..............no sugar mill mill remotely in sight here mate!! Did visit Clarke Rubber today and Insertion Rubber (not my idea of what it was??  ;D) looks promising. I will scour eBay and Bumtree as well.
Thanks all.

If you want me to get you some just ask mate.
More than happy to help you out. ;D