Let's Talk Chainsaws ...

Started by Kit_e_kat9, November 29, 2012, 07:32:50 PM

gramps

Quote from: Sawed-Off on January 01, 2013, 12:41:27 PM
Oh yeah, I always carry a bow saw anyway. It starts first pull..  ;D

But they can run out of fuel pretty quick  :laugh:

Kit_e_kat9

Quote from: gramps on January 01, 2013, 12:48:13 PM
But they can run out of fuel pretty quick  :laugh:

And you forgot to mention that they are always packed right at the bottom of everything AND they get very sweaty and swear a bit when they get used.   ;D

gramps

Quote from: Kit_e_kat9 on January 01, 2013, 05:26:32 PM
And you forgot to mention that they are always packed right at the bottom of everything AND they get very sweaty and swear a bit when they get used.   ;D

:laugh: Thanks Kit_e very true  :cheers:

atregent

Is it too late to throw in another vote for the Stihl MS170?

I scored one for christmas to use for cutting firewood while camping, so the smallest one is more than enough. After cutting up quite a number of logs, I thought I might be up for a challenge...
Anthony

Crisp Image

Quote from: atregent on January 03, 2013, 12:05:16 PM

I scored one for christmas to use for cutting firewood while camping, so the smallest one is more than enough. After cutting up quite a number of logs, I thought I might be up for a challenge...
And when the saws go back to their home you should hear the little ones brag to the big ones about how big the tree was they cut up today.
It may take some planning and thinking but the little saws can do a whole lot.

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

Quote from: atregent on January 03, 2013, 12:05:16 PM

Be quick with the 170 on special for $299, these were imported/dumped in AU as we don't have the emission laws here. It is replaced with the 171 which is $449.

atregent

Quote from: Crisp Image on January 03, 2013, 12:44:57 PM
And when the saws go back to their home you should hear the little ones brag to the big ones about how big the tree was they cut up today.
It may take some planning and thinking but the little saws can do a whole lot.

Thankfully my little chainsaw lives with a bow saw and an axe, so there won't be any bragging like that happening!

I was really impressed with how easily i managed to get through that big log. Being new, with a sharp chain, probably made a world of difference too.
Anthony

Sawed-Off

Quote from: D4D on January 03, 2013, 12:47:21 PM
Be quick with the 170 on special for $299, these were imported/dumped in AU as we don't have the emission laws here. It is replaced with the 171 which is $449.

I've been busy and haven't had a chance to get out and buy a saw. I stumbled on these. They look the goods, even if it's not the very latest. $369 + shipping for a new Stihl 16" with the little extras might be too good of a deal to pass up.

http://www.machines4u.com.au/view/advert/Stihl-MS180C-BE-Chainsaw-16-Bar/68768/
Matt.

Rootin', Tootin', & Shootin'. It's the Cowboy Way.

'97 HZJ80R Land Cruiser Dual Cab
'05 Tambo "The Cooper" : Nights used - 2015: 13  2014: 34  2013: 36  2012: 31

Sawed-Off

Quote from: D4D on January 03, 2013, 12:47:21 PM

Saw an add on telly last night - the $299 deal for the MS170 is back. Free case, free hat, fueled up and ready to go. Minister for war and finance said "go get one", so I'll dutifully do as I'm told.  :cheers:
Matt.

russ81

Are you kidding me. I ended up buying a makita saw last night as 300 was the limit of my budget grrr

This is what I got

Sent while temporally motionless

grafy82

Quote from: russ81 on April 25, 2013, 09:47:52 PM
Are you kidding me. I ended up buying a makita saw last night as 300 was the limit of my budget grrr

This is what I got

Don't fret it. My mate works at the local still shop and he said the mini boss is a pretty average saw, being at the bottom of the range. Not the same quality as the bigger ones.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

fuji

Quote from: D4D on April 25, 2013, 08:59:25 PM
That is a great deal.

Where is that advertised? Can't find on their website
Wayne

Quote from: fuji on April 27, 2013, 09:43:11 PM

Where is that advertised? Can't find on their website
Wayne

Click the forth dot on their homepage banner thingy

Sawed-Off

Quote from: grafy82 on April 27, 2013, 09:06:38 PM
Don't fret it. My mate works at the local still shop and he said the mini boss is a pretty average saw, being at the bottom of the range. Not the same quality as the bigger ones.

Yeah, you'd have to think at this price point something has to give. Picked mine up yesterday. The only country of origin label I can find on it anywhere is on the bar, which is made in Germany. They give you a how-to DVD as well.  The case dwarfs the saw. I can fit a 1L bottle of chain oil in there, along with the normal scabbard. I reckon I could throw some chaps and earmuffs on top, as well.
Matt.

McGirr

I bought a $99 chainsaw from bunnings. Worked great at Woodleigh  Station. Can't remember the brand but for the use it gets it does me.

Mrs smith

These smaller stihls are Chinese made, (straight from my local dealers mouth) it's a simple fact that with everyone importing cheap crap it's hard for the reputable brand name companies to compete so it's a case of add a cheapie to there range or miss out on a sale. I think the main thing to keep in mind here is after sales service. 

russ81

Fired the makita up to cut some logs, so far I am impressed.

robsjack

I bought one of those Makita's last Christmas when our local Gasweld stores had them on special. Have found it great so far.
rob

wholehog

Quote from: Sawed-Off on April 25, 2013, 08:52:30 PM
Saw an add on telly last night - the $299 deal for the MS170 is back. Free case, free hat, fueled up and ready to go. Minister for war and finance said "go get one", so I'll dutifully do as I'm told.  :cheers:
Me Too :cheers: