New member requests; if you do not receive a confirmation email first check your spam filter, or if not within 7 days, email admin@myswag.org with your details.  We get a lot of spam applications, and sometimes legitimate request get marked as spam as well.

Jayco roof

Started by GUTourer, September 27, 2012, 10:32:50 AM

GUTourer

Help!!!

I need to know if I can safely stand on the roof of a jayco eagle to install my solar panels!??!  I physically cannot reach the middle (centre) of the roof where I'm trying to fix my battons without standing on it.  Its the two piece roof if that matters!

GUTourer

bump sorry guys need someone who can confirm this ...

G'day GUTourer,
I'm not a small bloke by any means, 118kg and I have very carefully with the aid of a couple pieces of 90x35 pine laid across the roof of our old Swan got up there while the roof was down to re-seal the 4 seasons hatch.
With the roof down and a couple of pieces of timber across it I can't see why you couldn't.

Disclaimer  All responsibility is void after hitting the post button  ;D

GUTourer

Appreciate that hairs, thats kinda what I had in mind.  Was going to lay planks from each left and right edge across the van roof but just wanted someones voice who had done it before.  I had envisaged the damn roof snapping down the middle and then forever having leaks .....

No worries mate, you'll be able to fix your panels and away you go.
Happy & safe travels.

Burnsy

Have also stood on the roof with planks across it.  No way I would do it without planks though.

NewMax

Haven't stood on the roof of our Flamingo but have crawled across to give our solar panel a good clean

Bm0

Just a follow up question to the above, I have a 2003 Dove and I am about to do the same (fit a panel)

Will a stud finder work to find the cross members to screw into? My plan is to use aluminium angle to mount the panel.

is there a better way?

(sorry for slight thread hijack)

B

GUTourer

Quote from: Bm0 on September 27, 2012, 01:33:55 PM
Just a follow up question to the above, I have a 2003 Dove and I am about to do the same (fit a panel)

Will a stud finder work to find the cross members to screw into? My plan is to use aluminium angle to mount the panel.

is there a better way?

(sorry for slight thread hijack)

B

No probs at all mate this is vital info IMHO and something I would be keen to hear the opinions of others as well.  Like you I have sikaflexed and stainless steel bolted the 50x50x4mm aluminium angle to the front and sides of my panels, leaving a 15-20mm gap underneath the panel for air flow (THE BLOODY JAYCO ROOF IS NOT LEVEL!!!!).

WaituiRob

  I read on another forum where some people are using these kind of mounts for their panels.
           http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Solar-Panel-Mounting-Bracket-Kit-Cable-Block-BLACK-MED-Caravan-RV-Boat-/180942324289?pt=AU_Solar&hash=item2a2100c241

Cheers, Robyn

GUTourer

Quote from: WaituiRob on September 27, 2012, 04:07:11 PM
  I read on another forum where some people are using these kind of mounts for their panels.
           http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Solar-Panel-Mounting-Bracket-Kit-Cable-Block-BLACK-MED-Caravan-RV-Boat-/180942324289?pt=AU_Solar&hash=item2a2100c241

Cheers, Robyn

YUPO they are the ones jayco uses to mount them ...... at least when I swung by Jayco Bairnsdale thats what he showed me.  I will say this here as well in my own jayco thread DO NOT USE 30MM SCREWS!!!!!!!!!!    GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

Thanks for the link  :cup:

seenthelight

Mounted my between the roof racks,
I can still wash under the panels and use a mop to clean the top.
Cheer
Geoff