Hi from Toowoomba

Started by Jasman, August 09, 2012, 09:47:56 PM

Jasman

Hi, I've been floating around the forum for a few months now and keep forgetting to introduce myself so thought I should stop being slack and say g'day.  My Myswag adventure started when I followed a link from one of the Jeep forums a few months ago and I've never left, it's the first site I open every night and the last one I close.

Even though I don't own a camp trailer yet I'm researching like crazy with the plan of picking one up later this year/early next year (most likely a Jayco offroad swan), in the mean time my addiction has been fuelled by hiring a Camel trailer from one of the local hire companies.

I grew up camping/boating/fishing/trail biking and really keen to introduce my family to the lifestyle (wife and two boys 4 & 6) and just get out there and have some fun away from the pressures of business and all the mod cons - not that a Swan in roughing it really.  The plan is to mainly hit the beaches (Fraser, Straddie, Moreton and Noosa North shore) with a bit of the bush thrown in for good measure (Bestbrook or any of the dams).

Jason aka Jasman.

Hi Jasman and welcome to My Swag

gacoxd

Welcome to the forum!

While you fuel your addiction you will get to know what you want/don't want, like/don't like in a CT.

If you have the opportunity check out a hire that has something different or perhaps the jayco you are interested in.

They all do things a little bit differently.

Damo
2011 Navara STX-550
2011 Trackabout Deluxe Tourer

Sicilianmama

Welcome to the forum Jason :) I'm sure you'll love the swan if you go that way :cup:
2007 Holden Rodeo with 2012 Jayco Swan Outback :)

Jasman

Thanks guys.

Gacoxd, You read my mine, I've found a mob that rents out Jayco outbacks and will give it a go in the not to distant future.

SicilianMama, I think you're right, the Swan would be great.   I also think the swan might be in my blood,  Mum and Dad bought a new on road Swan back in 1985 and we used to drag it up to Fraser a couple times every year and used to have a ball.  It probably didn't hurt that we used to take a couple of Yamaha trikes with us, one on the top of the Swan and smaller one on top of the Patrol.

G'day Jasman. Yes it's quiet an addictive forum But a great place to be. Good luck with it all mate :cheers:

G'day Jason and welcome.
Good luck with the camper search. :D

Welcome to the Forum Jason, never to late to say hello. Swans are pretty popular round here so there will be a heap of information available to help on your decision

jgrant

G'day Jasman. Plenty of good advice, hints and tips to be gained here. Good luck with you hunt for a camper to suit you! Cheers.
Always planning my next adventure.

Chippy76

Welcome Jasman.

Hang around here and you will find heaps of nice places to bush camp around T'ba ..... it is a magic part of the world!

Cheers Chippy :D
"All ice is thin ...cross only when necessary" - Buck Tilton

G'day & Welcome Jasman.

Was just up your way using a swag. It was good, but I wish I had a camper instead.

Gmac52

8) Hi Jasman I'm sure you will find a lot of great advice here, enjoy the forum and send some pics when you're set up  ;) ;)

Gra
GU 3.0Lt 2" Lift 3"exhaust  Tune-it chip 33" Maxxis Big Horn Mike Vine inter-cooler Kit Trackabout Safari

Jasman

Thanks everyone!

Chippy, I'll keep my eye out for places nearby, I love the idea of finding plenty of spots within an hour or so for quick weekend getaways.

Julie's, I don't envy you in a swag, it's been bloody cold.