Been lurking long enough

Started by RobM, February 15, 2012, 01:57:32 PM

RobM

g'Day All,
I feel I know most of you as I've been lurking for just over 12 months.
I bought a dual cab Christmas before last and decided to do some research on camper trailers and that's when I stumbled onto this forum.
Ended up deciding to build a small light weight slideon instead so I pulled the tub off and spent the first 6 months of last year building a drop side tray. ( can't rush these things).
Spent the next 6 months planning the slideon and have finally made a start.
Why wait so long to post ?
Because I was having enough trouble deciding what I wanted to build and I knew there would be plenty of good suggestions from the group, but this meant I might never "bite the bullet" and get started. ( make sense ?)
Anyway I'm committed now... building out of polypropylene honeycomb laid up with 450gm double bias fibreglass cloth. (Only ever made a canadian canoe with fibreglass and that was about 25 years ago so it's a steep learing curve).
I'll start a thread in the Camper Build section a bit later, and will be happy to get suggestions/criticism. ( as long as it doesn't mean starting again).

Cheers Rob Male

Mace

Welcome RobM.

look forward to seeing your build.

You kno the go!

MAce

RobM

Thanks Mace,

Yeah, been taking some pics. Not much to show yet though.

Wandering Tassie

Welcome Rob.
Must feel good to have a rough idea in the head and to make a start. Seems to always be the hardest bit.

Best of luck

RobM

Thanks Trevor,

It took 12 months to make a start and will probably take another 12 months to finish.
Some people call it procrastination, I like to think of it as "creative thinking".

We were in Tassie for a few weeks this time last year and I said then that we would be back with a camper, so hopefully next year we will.

Dreama

G'day Rob,
This sounds like a real interesting build, looking forward to some pics.

G'day Rob,

You've having a crack at it, that's what counts.
You will find heaps of useful tips & ideas here.

Welcome to the Forum Rob, the build sounds interesting

Hi Rob and welcome to My Swag

G'day Rob
Welcome to the forum mate.Townsville? Just down the road from us.
Nice place to be too!Enjoy the chat  :cup:

Cam and Deb

RobM

Thanks for the welcome everyone.

I just tried to start a new topic in My Camper Trailer Build but good old Internet Explorer crashed just before I was ready to post.

It appears that photos can't be embedded in the post but need to be linked to the myswag gallery or some other external site ?
Can someone verify or correct me if I'm wrong please.

Cheers Rob

Jenko67

Welcome Rob , keep us updated with your camper.