The Sandman is back! (Sort of...)

Started by Ozsnowman, March 27, 2015, 06:42:09 AM

kylarama

Quote from: Footy Shorts Shane on March 27, 2015, 10:52:25 AM
Slapping stickers on a car and calling it a Sandman, is exactly what GMH did in the 70's.

Same with Drifter and Sundowner.

Yeah I know, but when you say Holden Sandman to someone, they instantly think panel van.  Not rep-mobile...

Back in NZ in the 70's the old man and his mate had a business.  One of the delivery vans was a then new 6cyl, 3 on the tree XB Panel Van called 'Supervan'.  Burnt orange paint, custom round bubble windows, the body head to toe in blue flame decals, a big Supervan decal above the windscreen, the back decked out in champagne coloured shag pile and still rolling on skinny tyres and hubcaps!  Apparently the Supervan kit was a dealer option.

Big thumbs up on the XF van cruiser 91. :D   I've had 2 of them over the years.  First was an ex divvy van.  Factory column auto with bucket seats and no centre console, a cigarette lighter, but no ashtray and a switch under the dash that let you turn the dash lights on without the headlights.  Had SVO style paint, XC Cobra Bathurst Globes and dumped really low.
The 2nd van I went the opposite way.  15" interceptors, 205/75 AT tyres and a 1.5" suspension lift.  I went a quite a few 'camping' trips with an ex girlfriend in that one. >:D

Quote from: speewa158 on March 27, 2015, 07:39:59 PM
That's no a Root Ute its a Station Wagon Wanner Be        :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( Just where would you put the chandelier & disco ball     ???    ???    ???

You forgot the fluffy shag pile!  ;D

They  " Forgot it " luckily some of us can remember the embers we lit in said wagons  . >:D        :cheers:

fishfinder

didn't they try to re introduce the sandman a few tears back maybe even 10 years back, and as a panel van ?
I personally preferred the "Drifter" panel van

Footy Shorts Shane

Quote from: Footy Shorts Shane on March 27, 2015, 10:52:25 AM
It's certainly ugly, but hey, it's a Commodore, it'll never be a 'something'  ;D

And didn't these things sell like hot cakes  ;D

Well done GMH. Best marketing plan ever...........  ::)

gronk

Quote from: Footy Shorts Shane on August 27, 2015, 10:39:22 AM
And didn't these things sell like hot cakes  ;D

Well done GMH. Best marketing plan ever...........  ::)

Did they sell ANY ??  Did they actually offer it in the end ?

Footy Shorts Shane

Quote from: gronk on August 27, 2015, 11:33:25 AM
Did they sell ANY ??  Did they actually offer it in the end ?

Yeah there's a couple down the road from me at the dealers. I recon there'll be a fair few Utes and vans sold off soon with some sporty options on them and a different model code on the VIN. Reckon there'll be a heap of removed ugly orange vinyl decals in the bin too ;D

denidoug

Bring them back I say
You could have one of these
Or maybe not
Or

kylarama

listo

^^ my thoughts exactly, that looks awesome!

Nomad

My FIL's, well now my BILS.
My BIL and his cousin dropped the engine back into it for the FIL's funeral.

The current motor is an older group A motor.
The original motor is in a Bedford truck.

The FIL bought it secondhand in 74.

edz

Sorry to hear of the passing of the FIL Nomad .... Question ... that bar under the steering colum is that part of a hand control set up for a driver with dissabilities ?

Nomad

dales133

How dare they call that abomonation a sandman

Nomad

A bit off low flying lol

https://www.facebook.com/HoldenPickers/videos/736093323166521/

edz

Quote from: Nomad on August 27, 2015, 07:14:41 PM
He was a paraplegic. Broke his back racing trail bikes. So the ute was set up for him.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-03-18/paralympian-ashley-adams-killed-in-quad-bike-accident-in-qld/6329220
A nice  write up honouring him  too .. thank you ..
Classic vid of the Q on the beach, They rusted quick enough without running through the surf to help speed it up . ;D