Author Topic: What made you Smile - 2025  (Read 51153 times)

Re: What made you Smile - 2025
« Reply #150 on: July 24, 2025, 08:13:07 AM »
Thanks Hairs, I taking note. I’ve a knee in the near future, but I need a shoulder done first. Matter of which hurts the most & the shoulder wins.  Brother had his done in SA last year & they scan the shoulder & then 3d print a new one. Perfect fit. I rang around Perth trying to find a surgeon that does these but no luck, then blow me down the women doing an X-ray of my shoulder for the GP tells me about the surgeon in Busselton that does these 3D ones. It’s a lot bloody closer than Perth too. Apparently the old way you get a new joint that’s the closest to your current shoulder, may not be exact so this printed one is a much better fit. Just waiting on the surgeon to get back to me, he’s on holidays.
I wish you all the best and it all goes well for you.
It's amazing how far medicine & health care has come in the last 20 years.
Yesterday while waiting to see the physo, the chap next to me was 84, he had both his hips replaced 9 weeks ago, you wouldn't know it to see him walk.
I'm blown away by how quickly I am recovering, today I am going to see how much firewood I can get from the wood shed, might even cut up some kindling.
Fysh would like to go out for the day on Saturday, somewhere for lunch, if I'm up to it after having the stitches seen to on Friday.

Let us know how you get on, all the best.

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

« Reply #151 on: July 24, 2025, 08:23:39 AM »
As they've said to me though, when I've had various bits worked on - do not put up with pain, as it doesn't do you any good!

Have you tried Osteomol at all?
Hey Fizzie,
No I haven't.
I have Endo, Osteo, asprin.
I've been reluctant to dose my self up on too many pain killers.
Shock horror, I haven't even had a beer for nearly a month, wanting my body to have the best crack at healing after this.
Even tho many have given their advice to have it.
I'd hate do more damage while p155ed, being out of work for nearly 7 weeks is a head %%# as it is, having more time off due to me being a D#$k, would probably cause a divorce :O

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, Fizzie

Offline Harbourmaster

• Hard floor camper
« Reply #152 on: July 24, 2025, 10:04:04 PM »
As they've said to me though, when I've had various bits worked on - do not put up with pain, as it doesn't do you any good!

Have you tried Osteomol at all?
Yes I have. Live on it at times, my wife was a nurse & used to laugh at the oldies ( now we’re old) who used to take whatever at night to get a good nights sleep, or reasonable at least, now we’re doing it. Don’t recon I’ll need them after the op & I’m looking forward to it sooner the better
2013 ex Telstra GU Patrol 2004 Kimberley Kamper
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

Offline Harbourmaster

• Hard floor camper
« Reply #153 on: July 24, 2025, 10:10:30 PM »
Thanks Hairs I’m 73 so I’m not so worried about taking pain relief these days figure if it does some damage I’ll probably fall off the perch by then anyway. You’re right about the advances in medicine. I guess 50 years & more ago you just had to put up with it.

« Reply #154 on: July 25, 2025, 09:41:29 AM »
Thanks Hairs I’m 73 so I’m not so worried about taking pain relief these days figure if it does some damage I’ll probably fall off the perch by then anyway. You’re right about the advances in medicine. I guess 50 years & more ago you just had to put up with it.
Sorry for the long reply.
35 years ago, My parents & my self operated the Maclean Taxis, you meet many people from all walks of life.
One particular regular customer was a little old Aboriginal lady, Annie.
She was about 5 foot 2, she usually had her daughter with her.
Her husband had passed, but she was surrounded by her children & Grandchildren & Great Grandchildren, she was a pleasure to talk to and and a laugh with.
 On the way into tiqn one day, I asked her how long it had been since she had visited the Maclean Lookout, she replied, it must been over 60 years, so I took her for a drive up there and it was a dirt track then.
I pointted out the Norfolk Pines on Yamba Hill, the Sugar mill, Iluka, Clarence Peak, and on the way down the view over to her home at Ilarwill, she was amazed.
When I dropped her off at her daughters, I said to her,
Annie, I would of loved to of seen the things you have seen as the world has changed.
You have seen from horse & cart, to the Motor vehicle, to man landing on the moon.
Unborn babies being operated on while still in the womb.
She smiled at me, and said.
And just imagine what you are going to see.

I'll never forget that.

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, Harbourmaster

« Reply #155 on: July 25, 2025, 10:12:33 AM »
  As a kid, the local Rabbitohs delivered weekly from a horse and cart. He had a hand bell, and could be heard around the block.
Yet another  horse would wait while the milkman carried a small churn around to our back door to ladle a few pints into our milk billy each morning.
Gorringe's wood yard delivered wood and coal by dray as well.
Cars had black canvas folding roofs, flappy plastic side windows, started with a crank handle, and the one tail light had its switch on the lamp at the rear so the driver could see it had turned on.
Hmm, does that mean I'm getting old?

Typed with phat fumbs

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA, Fizzie

« Reply #156 on: July 25, 2025, 10:39:24 AM »
Hmm, does that mean I'm getting old?

Nah, you just started before most of us.... ;D

I can remember, the bread van, the ice van, the briquette truck, and the clip-clop of the milkies horse.
I can also remember that the night man did his bit, but I guess I must have been asleep at the time.
Dad used to get our rabbits for us....

We were 1 of the 2 families in the street that had a car, a Mk1 Zephyr. It was preceded by a long line of bitza's.
Dad was very handy and resourceful. His first car was built from parts he scrounged from the tip....

I remember the neighbours sometimes coming in to use our telephone.
We were the only entry of our surname in the Melbourne phone book.
It's about a page now, and I only know a couple....

« Last Edit: July 25, 2025, 11:07:20 AM by GeoffA »

« Reply #157 on: July 25, 2025, 06:03:54 PM »
Great report from the Dr, re my knee.
Enjoy your weekend Swaggers.

The following users thanked this post: GeoffA

Offline Harbourmaster

• Hard floor camper
« Reply #158 on: July 25, 2025, 10:31:24 PM »
Interesting about the aboriginal lady, When Bad Scott & I went out to surveyor general corner we had to go to the community at Warakurna. I had trouble with my pass for the corner. They had an elder woman there that seen the A bombs go off at Maralinga. Then when we went to get the guide at Irrunytju (Wingellina) to take us out to the corner, Robyn Davidson (The book Tracks) who crossed to the west coast with camels stayed with our guide another aboriginal women elder. Robyn had paid for her to go to Melbourne to stay with her. So Bad Scott & I had a very interesting trip.

Then talk about Milkies and old tourers, when I was a kid I used to help the Milky on his round Sunday mornings. With a horse & cart. The first car I remember my parents having was, I think a 1926 Pontiac I remember dad saying it was the first Pontiac with a 6 cylinder. Dad said he reckoned I didn’t remember that car but I told him he painted a red strip around the body & I was right so one of my earliest memories. All the rest of his cars were Holdens.

« Reply #159 on: July 26, 2025, 07:44:49 AM »
I think a 1926 Pontiac

The Museum at Goomeri has a 1927 soft-top, that's still road-registered!

Isuzu: 2017 MU-X LST

Offline Harbourmaster

• Hard floor camper
« Reply #160 on: July 26, 2025, 10:17:26 PM »
Bugger me. My lad used to work for a beekeeper out of murgon some years back, if only I’d known.

« Reply #161 on: July 27, 2025, 08:32:31 AM »
:)

« Reply #162 on: July 29, 2025, 06:25:04 PM »
60/40 and they live longer than blokes-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/health/other/government-determined-to-support-women-s-health-in-australia/ar-AA1Ju7xr
Does Labor have a problem with men?  ;D
There's no Great Evil conspiracy against consumers within engineering, manufacturing and supply. Just the many tradeoffs incurred to satisfy diverse tastes, priorities and wallets. But first comes all the insatiable Gummint eggsperts, nanny-staters and usual suspects.

« Reply #163 on: July 30, 2025, 01:02:34 PM »
21 days done.
Only having pain killers in the early hours of the morning.
Getting around outside well, I've taken both wheelie bins out yesterday(some 40 odd meters), I'll bring them back in later today.
Both my vehicles haven't been started for nearly a month, so I thought I'd have a crack at sitting in them.
Went and tried to sit in the work ute, nope, can't bend the knee to get it in the door.
But, I can get in the 80 series without a problem.
Carried two lots of wood from the wood shed to inside for the fire yesterday, made it up the 7 treads on the veranda without a problem.
I'm slowly get there.
Might be time for an after lunch nap.

« Reply #164 on: July 30, 2025, 03:19:12 PM »
Hi,  glad you are on the recovery side now. Stiff knees are such an inconvenience, getting about, chairs, putting on socks and getting off the dunny without falling flat on the floor.

Typed with phat fumbs

« Reply #165 on: July 30, 2025, 03:26:07 PM »
Hi Austastar,
Thanks mate.
Amazing what we take for granted and also what we do to over come what we can't do now.
I know it will get better, as the saying goes,
No pain, no gain.
But I'm not going to anything stupid either.
It's only been 3 weeks, so I still have a long road ahead.

« Reply #166 on: July 30, 2025, 03:36:19 PM »
Hi, it was not fun!

Typed with phat fumbs

« Reply #167 on: July 31, 2025, 06:17:15 PM »
Sheezes :O
How's things now?

Today I achieved a bit.
A couple of arm full fire wood loaded inside.
Walked down the grassed back lane to say G'day to a neighbour.
Measured up for a Sail Shade off the front of the Carport.
And, the dozens of phone calls organising upcoming work.
Oh, and submitted my tax reporting.

Happy Days, a refund. :)

« Reply #168 on: July 31, 2025, 07:55:29 PM »

Sheezes :O
How's things now?

    200mL sinovial fluid taken out of the left knee and a course of anti gout happy pills and I'm almost dangerous.

Typed with phat fumbs

« Reply #169 on: July 31, 2025, 08:16:04 PM »

    200mL sinovial fluid taken out of the left knee and a course of anti gout happy pills and I'm almost dangerous.
Typed with phat fumbs
is the darker patch on your right leg in the image above the fluid? what were your issues (if i missed it above sorry)

« Reply #170 on: July 31, 2025, 10:12:41 PM »
Hi, it is a heat image, the left leg is hotter and inflamed .

Typed with phat fumbs