Author Topic: Masters Sale  (Read 49822 times)

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
Re: Masters Sale
« Reply #125 on: October 04, 2016, 03:10:35 PM »
reckon I'd just rather not know  ;D
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

« Reply #126 on: October 04, 2016, 04:35:11 PM »
Stick a Bable fish in your ear to translate for you  :cheers:

I got that reference, someone building a bypass?

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #127 on: October 04, 2016, 06:28:25 PM »
because you've got to build bypasses...

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
2018 GXL 78 Troopy with Alu-Cab conversion
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56

« Reply #128 on: October 04, 2016, 07:13:03 PM »
At least take your own Towel & don't trust SlartieBartFast   , hes full of it      :cheers:    :angel:

Offline Aussie Iron

« Reply #129 on: October 04, 2016, 07:28:17 PM »
how much was the chainsaw going for, as i've been wanting one for awhile now.

Just paid $330.00 for one and they may come down further if not sold out first.

Dan.

« Reply #130 on: October 04, 2016, 07:50:30 PM »
They haven't been advertising it, but the last couple of Tuesdays they've taken an extra 10% off everything at the check out

got myself a $69 step ladder last Tuesday for $40.

Offline Luckymiles

« Reply #131 on: October 04, 2016, 08:40:15 PM »
Nicely put....   its "funny" on this forum how we sometimes may feel "obliged" to further explain what we mean....  due to some of the "questions" that get thrown up...  when its mostly self-evident what we are communicating . ...

I sometimes think these "questions" are a cry for attention: "look at me- look at me"   LOL....

These days I mostly ignore them...  you know .....  y a w n .....   

Love the banter and camaraderie here; love all the really useful information on here...  but as for the  y a w n s - well, you know....   LOL...

Yeah I must admit that I do feel compelled to explain myself sometimes.

It is a funny thing. Especially since I did think that I had made my point in the first post.

But then again things can be interpreted different ways I guess.

Sent from my A1601 using Tapatalk

« Reply #132 on: October 07, 2016, 07:51:09 AM »
http://www.theage.com.au/business/retail/masters-cancels-orders-and-cuts-phones-amid-fire-sale-fail-20161006-grw4fo.html

Masters has taken down all pricing information from its website and cut off its telephone lines to its stores. Customers calling the corporate helpline are told they must visit a store to check prices.

WTF????
« Last Edit: October 07, 2016, 08:00:12 AM by Bird »

« Reply #133 on: October 07, 2016, 08:39:38 AM »
but Masters seems to have pulled their stuff off their website.

Try to keep up mate  ;D

« Reply #134 on: October 07, 2016, 09:33:28 AM »
Quote from: KingBilly
Try to keep up mate  ;D
you failed to mention " ... cut off its telephone lines to its stores.. Cutomers calling the corporate helpline are told they must visit a store to check prices."

I don't get it... None of that makes sense to me....

« Reply #135 on: October 07, 2016, 11:33:50 AM »
you failed to mention " ... cut off its telephone lines to its stores.. Cutomers calling the corporate helpline are told they must visit a store to check prices."

maybe certain stores with extra stock of certain items will be discounting more then the other stores to move product? Customers can't then compare each store and expect same prices easily at each store maybe. Might have already sacked the non essential staff also, so nobody there to answer phones. They bought in a US liquidation specialist to maximise the $$$ they get as they shut up shop, so I doubt the massive savings on anything will happen until the final weeks....sadly many people have gone there and paid more then they could of if everyone had just held off a few months.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2016, 11:36:16 AM by Rumpig »

« Reply #136 on: October 07, 2016, 11:51:27 AM »
I'm with Rumpig here.

Aldi don't publish phone No.'s for individual stores deliberately.
It's so you spend all that money on fuel or taxi to get there. 
You still don't know if they have what you want, until you walk around inside the store.
It's deliberate, a trap to make you buy stuff on impulse.

I believe Masters are trying the same stunt.
They are trying us on.

« Reply #137 on: October 07, 2016, 11:58:41 AM »

Aim would be to get foot traffic through the doors and then get impulse buys. From what I have seen however there seems to be plenty of people leaving empty handed so it's probably not working too well. People seem more than happy to wait for the prices to drop further at the risk of missing out, probably because they haven't discounted enough so in general there is plenty of stock still left. Unfortunately for them, everyone knows they have to sell and things will only get cheaper so consumers in a sense hold the cards. I wonder if part of the issue with liquidating is the same as when operating with Americans incorrectly assuming the Australian psyche is the same as the American and acting accordingly.

« Reply #138 on: October 07, 2016, 01:02:22 PM »
I doubt the massive savings on anything will happen until the final weeks....sadly many people have gone there and paid more then they could of if everyone had just held off a few months.

I'll be surprised if there is any significant price slashing in the coming weeks, other than on the obscure product categories / brands. Given the new purchasers of what will be left of the disseminated business are also in the hardware & electrical business, I suspect they will be taking ownership of the buildings and stock. I think there will only be a fire sale of the product ranges that the new owners do not want, and that may not even happen until the remaining stores have re-branded (but i hope i'm wrong as I'm watching a few things).

of course, I'm no expert.......just a gut feel I have.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #139 on: October 07, 2016, 01:17:40 PM »
Given the new purchasers of what will be left of the disseminated business are also in the hardware & electrical business,

there is a "purchaser" for Masters?

Did I miss something?

I thought that the entire reason for the "fire sale" was that they couldn't find a buyer.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman

« Reply #140 on: October 07, 2016, 03:59:27 PM »
These pics tell a story...

I was in Masters Everton Park (BNE); this morning.. 7th Oct --  buying some line trimmer line...   (91mtr HD @ $52, down to $43)....    Can't complain about that....   

Saw a barrel load of Ego mowers at the "super reduced special price"  of about  $519....  pffff

But the kicker is that I bought my 56vt mover 6 months ago for circa $570... with an (extra)  "Fast Charger" - worth I recall about  $180 thrown in at no extra $$$.....   So me thinks -- so much for many of Masters so-called fire sale prices atm...

The other pic shows them tearing down sections of the store already. ...   One of the supervisors told me this morning that they were pulling the plug on Everton Park on 4th December ???

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #141 on: October 07, 2016, 05:13:11 PM »
there is a "purchaser" for Masters?

Did I miss something?

I thought that the entire reason for the "fire sale" was that they couldn't find a buyer.

Metcash have bought the Home Timber & Hardware group (and I suspect that may include a package of ex masters stock), and a separate consortium group (Aurrum, Spotlight Group, Chemist Warehouse) has purchased the 82 sites, with rumoured plans to redevelop them into retail precincts of varying product mixes ?

Also don't rule out a lot of the merchandise being progressively sold off post Masters closure through BigW ?

There is very little detailed info available publicly as to the "nuts & bolts" of those deals.............everything is pure speculation at this point, but I did find this in an article-
"Home Consortium said it was already negotiating with retailers including Anaconda, JB Hi-FI, Super Amart, BBQs Galore, Woolworths Supermarkets and Dan Murphy's to take over some of the 61 freehold properties.
The deal to offload Masters is still subject to approval from Woolworths' US-based joint-venture partner Lowe's.
It covers 40 trading freehold stores, 21 development sites and 21 Masters leasehold sites which the consortium plans to repurpose into multi?tenant large-format centres.
Woolworths said it will acquire three Masters freehold sites and take assignment of 12 leases to facilitate the deal.
Rival hardware giant Bunnings was quick to jump on plum locations, confirming it planned to take over 15 Masters sites."

« Last Edit: October 07, 2016, 05:38:54 PM by Spada »

« Reply #142 on: October 07, 2016, 05:23:42 PM »
There will be some homeless crap on the shelves come Xmas                 :cheers:

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #143 on: October 07, 2016, 06:10:31 PM »
Metcash have bought the Home Timber & Hardware group

<SNIP - trimmed for space saving>

Rival hardware giant Bunnings was quick to jump on plum locations, confirming it planned to take over 15 Masters sites."

ok... that stuff I know. You're right... much of what doesn't sell will probably end up in Big W... that's assuming that they don't also pull the pin on Big W... which is losing money as well compared to say... K-Mart.

But I don't think the shareholders would cop two massive write down this close together.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman

Offline rsteedman

« Reply #144 on: October 07, 2016, 06:41:30 PM »
Full disclosure. I work at TradeTools.

https://www.tradetools.com/product-range/cordless-tools/individual-tools-and-skins/ego-56v-cordless-lawn-mower-kit-4-0ah-battery-lm2001e

Plus a $70 cashback.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

« Reply #145 on: October 07, 2016, 06:47:12 PM »
much of what doesn't sell will probably end up in Big W

Everything will sell, I don't think moving a few odd hardware bit's and pieces to a department store would make sense, especially when it's also part owned by lowes.

« Reply #146 on: October 07, 2016, 07:12:48 PM »
Full disclosure. I work at TradeTools.

https://www.tradetools.com/product-range/cordless-tools/individual-tools-and-skins/ego-56v-cordless-lawn-mower-kit-4-0ah-battery-lm2001e

Plus a $70 cashback.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

lf it dosent make noise & or suck petrol  whats  the point of it      ???      :cheers:

« Reply #147 on: October 08, 2016, 08:04:57 AM »
Masters in South Morang had "rough plumbing" down to 50%

That is most plumbing fittings, copper pipe  etc, but not taps,  sinks and those sort of things.
Might be a good buy for any plumbers. 
I picked up a 150mm screw cap and thread + bits for another pole carrier, and few other bits and pieces for other jobs.  Didn't get the sink pop up plug I actually went to get.

« Reply #148 on: October 08, 2016, 08:23:14 AM »
"Home Consortium said it was already negotiating with retailers including ... Woolworths Supermarkets and Dan Murphy's to take over some of the 61 freehold properties.

Wonder why you'd have to "negotiate" with Woolies & Dan the Man when they're all owned by the same company  ???

« Reply #149 on: October 08, 2016, 08:32:22 AM »

These pics tell a story...

I was in Masters Everton Park (BNE); this morning.. 7th Oct --  buying some line trimmer line...   (91mtr HD @ $52, down to $43)....    Can't complain about that....   

Saw a barrel load of Ego mowers at the "super reduced special price"  of about  $519....  pffff

But the kicker is that I bought my 56vt mover 6 months ago for circa $570... with an (extra)  "Fast Charger" - worth I recall about  $180 thrown in at no extra $$$.....   So me thinks -- so much for many of Masters so-called fire sale prices atm...

Most brands will have clauses in their contracts about selling for heavily discounted prices. Generally to stop 'loss leading'.  I'd say the discount is all Ego will allow, but Ego will be required to purchase back any unsold stock.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk