Author Topic: Engine Conversion for Patrol Ute  (Read 25575 times)

Offline peanut2

Engine Conversion for Patrol Ute
« on: August 21, 2016, 10:56:32 AM »
I am putting this out there to those way more knowledgeable than me.

Our 2011 Nissan Patrol ute 3L has sh*t itself - I know surprise, surprise. :)

Anyway our conversion options are an LS1 (v8) motor or an HDFTE (4.8). Because of the year model, we have to remain within the standards for emission control, so we can't just go and install just any motor.

We use this ute mainly for towing a gooseneck horsefloat, or caravan or camper trailer.  It is also used for collecting a couple of round bales of hay.  This is just a bit of background info.  Also, it probably only does around 10000km/year.

What are your thoughts? 

Peanut

Offline dales133

Re: Engine Conversion for Patrol Ute
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2016, 11:10:54 AM »
The Ls1 makes a good conversion for crusiers and patrols.
As you probably know you can buy a complete kit so enginering and instalations relitivly easy from what ive heard.
The other plus is power to weight ratio is good and tons of hp upgrade mods for them.
Just get a pre drive by wire engine
The following users thanked this post: peanut2

« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2016, 12:01:53 PM »
$10 To $14 Grand for an LS1  conversion,  $4500 for a second handy or a full fleabay rebuild kit for $1500 + $$ for machining etc ... Money talks and BS walks Decisions ..
A lot depends on what you or your mates are capable in doing to help drop the costs involved ..Do you have the time / space know how to do the conversion etc or are you going to have to farm it all out to a mechanic at $100 +  an hour .
« Last Edit: August 21, 2016, 12:09:48 PM by edz »

Offline 99disco

« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2016, 12:01:56 PM »
What has the 3l done mate, what was the failure?

The 1hdfte won't pass euro4 emissions which is why it was discontinued in Australia after 2006. Depending on budget the best option is a duramax but you'll need pockets roughly twice as deep as an ls2 conversion.

Shane

« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2016, 12:09:20 PM »
My boss has dropped an Ls1 in two patrols now. 12-13lt per hundred touring and the thing will drag most things off the lights. Makes the best fourbie going around . If you like the vehicle go for it. The 3l is ordinary at the best of times towing a reasonable size load it's a dog.

Offline Traveller

« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2016, 01:16:52 PM »
Sorry, can't help with your decision, but thought this thread on another forum might help. A lot of the folks over there are very knowledgeable, and may help with your concerns. It is also very good for all things Patrol.

http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/nissan-patrol-gu-gr-10/zd-not-zd-337105/ 

« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2016, 02:07:17 PM »
A forum member on here fitted a Ford Barra 4L 6 cylinder out of a BA - FG Falcon to a Patrol wagon.  Looked like a really neat conversion.  Those Barra engines are pretty bullet proof and you can pick up low k units from wreckers complete with accessories and harness for well under $1000. No where near as grunty as an LS1, but with 190kw. It would go pretty good with reasonable economy.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2016, 03:24:02 PM »
have just being through this, and ended up fixing the 3lt

« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2016, 04:13:51 PM »
Hi All, A lady I no that lives in Pomona had a 6,6lt duramax with 6 speed Alison auto fitted to there 3lt Patrol wagon , 40 grand drive in drive out, not a cheap conversion buy no means, but she said it pulls there 22ft van like it was not there, Craig

Offline peanut2

« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2016, 04:21:59 PM »
So no-one would consider the landcruiser hdfte 4.8 over the LS1?  Obviously diehard Patrol fans would not contemplate it.

Peanut

« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2016, 04:39:55 PM »
So no-one would consider the landcruiser hdfte 4.8 over the LS1?  Obviously diehard Patrol fans would not contemplate it.

Peanut

i did, but decided against a conversion altogether

« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2016, 05:00:15 PM »
Quote from: peanut2
Anyway our conversion options are an LS1 (v8) motor or an HDFTE (4.8).
google for Project Toni.. dude did a cruiser conversion years ago amazing work...
dude in our club just fitted the Duramax and nothing but issues... but when it goes, 300rwkw - it goes!
nutha dude has gone top shelf - TD42T. best of all worlds
« Last Edit: August 21, 2016, 05:13:08 PM by Bird »

« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2016, 05:28:14 PM »
The duramax is an amazing motor but the later ones that need the ad blue are giving a bit of grief. I reckon you still can't neat the LS conversion for simplicity, power and economy. Only downside is petrol and the issues with remote touring I guess?

« Reply #13 on: August 21, 2016, 05:32:28 PM »
Quote from: achjimmy
The duramax is an amazing motor but the later ones that need the ad blue are giving a bit of grief. I reckon you still can't neat the LS conversion for simplicity, power and economy.
the issue with Duamax is finding someone with a clue to fit them... plenty of "expert" companies. all I've heard of and seen are letdowns.

« Reply #14 on: August 21, 2016, 05:37:13 PM »
the issue with Duamax is finding someone with a clue to fit them... plenty of "expert" companies. all I've heard of and seen are letdowns.

It's just a motor Bruce. The two LS convertions have been faultless no reason a duramax shouldn't be. But as I said mate had a 2015 2500 and the ad blue motor is a pain. Run any diesel other than BP and your in for it. Best way to do any conversion is a donar  car then you can make sure you get everything. Maybe that's the issue with the duramax convertions ?

« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2016, 05:39:19 PM »

Some very dodgey operators too. Promise the world, take a deposit, and deliver NOTHING.

Caveat emptor.....

« Reply #16 on: August 21, 2016, 05:44:07 PM »
Some very dodgey operators too. Promise the world, take a deposit, and deliver NOTHING.

Caveat emptor.....
Understatement.. your on patrol forum.. you know the go!
Sadly mate had one fitted out Warrigul by an Expert.. th airbox wasn't connected to motor.. = motor ****d.. even the housing for starter had been welded back on!!!

So he took to another "expert" to have a report done on it, and it rebuilt, found out it was too rooted to rebuild.. was promised new motor months ago... still waiting for it.. its parked next to another mate who has waited nearly 12mths for his engine replacement....

Offline 99disco

« Reply #17 on: August 21, 2016, 09:09:31 PM »

Peanut

As I said above they don't comply with 2011 emissions and they're actually a 4.2 not a 4.8

Offline moose2367

« Reply #18 on: August 21, 2016, 09:55:48 PM »
Cummins.  5.9 or better yet the 6.7 ISBe.
My 6.7 is an 07 model, euro4.  300hp, 1200nm(depending on calibration) no egr, no dpf,  no adblue

« Reply #19 on: August 22, 2016, 07:19:42 AM »
Because of the year model, we have to remain within the standards for emission control, so we can't just go and install just any motor.

Peanut

edit, was thinking capacity, not emissions.

You're boring.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2016, 07:30:39 AM by Footy Shorts Shane »

Offline GUEY

« Reply #20 on: August 22, 2016, 08:20:21 AM »

I was wondering which way you ended up going.

A forum member on here fitted a Ford Barra 4L 6 cylinder out of a BA - FG Falcon to a Patrol wagon.  Looked like a really neat conversion.  Those Barra engines are pretty bullet proof and you can pick up low k units from wreckers complete with accessories and harness for well under $1000. No where near as grunty as an LS1, but with 190kw. It would go pretty good with reasonable economy.

Sent from my GT-I9507 using Tapatalk

Yeah FG with the six speed auto. Goes really good and a pleasure to drive, but probably wouldn't do it again given a choice. Too many electrical headaches. But you will find that with most conversion options that need to meet that years emissions.
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

« Reply #21 on: August 22, 2016, 08:36:23 AM »
I was wondering which way you ended up going.

Yeah FG with the six speed auto. Goes really good and a pleasure to drive, but probably wouldn't do it again given a choice. Too many electrical headaches. But you will find that with most conversion options that need to meet that years emissions.

Yeah mate, after our chat and with a few others I decided that for a wife's daily drive I just needed it to run. If it was a toy or my casual drive and I had time to chase any problems that may occur, maybe I would of done it.

Offline Joff

• "This is my Custom User Title"
« Reply #22 on: August 22, 2016, 09:34:32 AM »
Shame if the FTE is out coz of emmisions. They turn a strong but gutless ute into something almost worth owning. I have two mates with them (FTE powered Pootrol utes) and both are great tourers.
HDJ-105 full dresser plus modded Allterrain and NO BLING

« Reply #23 on: August 22, 2016, 10:11:10 AM »
Could always just go O'l Skool and slot in an older V8 basic conversion  of your preference [ non injected ] set it up on LPG only ..Fit a  gas research carby, shave the heads  and up the compression to 12.5 to 1 or more / good cam, adjust the timing and enjoy the power and slightly cheaper fuel costs of gas..
http://www.elgas.com.au/autogas-lpg-cars?gclid=CJW9gPPd084CFQNxvAodnmoMSw
« Last Edit: August 22, 2016, 10:42:46 AM by edz »

« Reply #24 on: August 22, 2016, 10:39:45 AM »
https://cumminsengines.com/pickup-truck