The firewood thread

Started by lino6, August 02, 2014, 09:54:38 AM

For the woodcutters on here

https://www.facebook.com/stacy.c.smith.96/videos/778467942182640/

PS not my FB page  ;D  Don't know how to copy, just added the link.

lino6

Quote from: KingBilly on April 28, 2015, 08:56:39 AM
For the woodcutters on here

https://www.facebook.com/stacy.c.smith.96/videos/778467942182640/

PS not my FB page  ;D  Don't know how to copy, just added the link.

Don't think it would work that good with a bit of red gum, or speewaville wood. Would be a good bit of gear though if it would do the hard stuff.
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

peter01

Heard today that after this season (end June) Barmah will be closed up for good ???
2014 GLXR Triton
2015 Blue Water - FF Darling camper

Our blog:     http://ourezytrail.blogspot.com.au/

Nay-DMAX

Quote from: peter01 on April 28, 2015, 06:00:01 PM
Heard today that after this season (end June) Barmah will be closed up for good ???

Yep thats right cant remember if its in this thread already. Lots of petitions and push from some local councillors to get it changed. More than 70%  of Barmah residents have wood fueled heating only

Kangaron

Rumor i heard that it will be closed to the commercial cutters, residents will still have access with the same conditions as the rest of Vic.

lino6

Quote from: Kangaron on April 28, 2015, 07:55:51 PM
Rumor i heard that it will be closed to the commercial cutters, residents will still have access with the same conditions as the rest of Vic.

This link shows that its the final season for all.

http://delwp.vic.gov.au/forestry-and-land-use/firewood/hume-region

Sad....
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

fuji

Thanks for the kindling bro! :cheers:

lino6

Quote from: fuji on May 03, 2015, 04:04:42 PM
Thanks for the kindling bro! :cheers:

No probs mate. Did you see the stuff in the tandem?

raider

Don't live a life of going-to-do's and die with nothing done

fuji

Quote from: lino6 on May 03, 2015, 05:33:38 PM
No probs mate. Did you see the stuff in the tandem?

Nope, only the offcuts in the other trailer. Dogs were going off so didnt hang around too long. Might pop Sat arvo if you are home.

lino6

Quote from: fuji on May 04, 2015, 08:16:19 AM

Nope, only the offcuts in the other trailer. Dogs were going off so didnt hang around too long. Might pop Sat arvo if you are home.

No worries mate we'll be around. Bring your trailer and it will leave here full.

fuji

Quote from: lino6 on May 04, 2015, 08:59:25 AM
No worries mate we'll be around. Bring your trailer and it will leave here full.
full of horse poo?;D

lino6

fuji

Great at keeping mozzies away

lino6

Wouldn't mind getting one of these. Would be handy for the big stuff and easier to transport than a V8 chainsaw!

That is just so scary lino  :-[

lino6

They can be, but can make cutting up bodies easier!!

My dad's cousin had one, was great. But takes a bit of skill to use them.

plusnq

Quote from: lino6 on May 07, 2015, 05:33:55 PM
Wouldn't mind getting one of these. Would be handy for the big stuff and easier to transport than a V8 chainsaw!

One going cheap at Wolf Creek. postage can be a killer though!

Quote from: plusnq on May 07, 2015, 07:33:34 PM
One going cheap at Wolf Creek. postage can be a killer though!
speewa could bring it back with Him.

fuji

Another quality load of firewood from Lino and Nay, Wood Merchants Kialla :
Thanks guys for lunch too.
:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Mik01

gday all - some advice please.

we live in an old house with only a wood heater for heating - and it gets pretty cold around here.

yesterday I borrowed a mate's cheap ebay 7t electric log splitter and was surprised at the size of the logs it went through - did ok I thought, although a bit slow and at times I had to give it 3 or 4 goes to get split the logs (not going through the knot).

I could get one of these for about $400 delivered and it would get the use, but I was reading about just getting a block splitter or axe and although more labour, apparently its quicker and easier? I've never had any axe better than a cheapie from bunnys, so ive got no idea about quality and what to get.
do you reckon I should stick with the electric jobbie or is there a real benefit in the manual way? cheers
Contact me for special MySwag prices on 4x4 accessories!
http://scenicrim4x4.com.au