Author Topic: What didnt your mrs know about a modification  (Read 21489 times)

Offline jim-m-72

What didnt your mrs know about a modification
« on: June 19, 2012, 10:21:23 PM »
A couple of weeks ago the minister of war and finance and i were admiring our new GU8 Patrol when she looked at the snorkel and said "Did they cut a hole in our new car to fit this thing" Yes dear thats why the dealer did it and not me then she said "if I had known that they cut holes in our brand new car to fit it then it would not be on there" I said its a bit late now to change your mind the dealer won't replace the steel they cut out now.  So what did you or your partner do when they seen a mod.
dyslexics of the world untie

Offline Crockett

Re: What didnt your mrs know about a modification
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2012, 12:03:30 AM »

The cost  :angel:

Offline Rural

« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2012, 12:19:55 AM »
Sorry, unable to post "unauthorized" mods on a public forum.  Oh but cannot help myself.....

New suspension on Prado late last year....took a few weeks before the "does your car look taller or something?"

This is the only one........

« Last Edit: June 20, 2012, 12:29:31 AM by Rural »
2016 Land Cruiser GXL - 2016 Mountain Trail EDX Hard Floor.

« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2012, 05:47:46 AM »
i hate badges and stickers and stickers on cars..and when picking up the jeep there was a bubble on the side molding which the dealer said he will have replaced. i mentioned i was going to debadge the car and wife said no.
so as soon as we got home with the car i thought i would at least remove as much as possible before she new they were there.....got sprung....they were stuck on a lot better than my car.

i want personalized plates which has been given the big N O....done know how i am going to get these past her

« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2012, 06:32:06 AM »
It was frowned upon when she found out I hacked a new Iphone and one of the kids Ipods. It wasn't like I did it straight away and to a new phone, I had it for nearly 24 hours.

Shane.

« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2012, 06:44:28 AM »
I mucked about in the shed one Saturday arvo doing the Auto up mod on the electric window switch for the drivers window on the 80 Series.
Soldered the diode into position, had a couple of beers, was happy with my handy work.
Fysh comes out to the shed so show her.
She shrugs her shoulders and says.
"So, hasn't that always done that" and walks back inside.
 ???

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2012, 10:23:05 AM »
Her Prado must have sagged an awful lot, it came up nealy 80mm when I fitted the new suspension, why is it higher than everyone else, theirs must have sagged too. ;D ;D

But got sprung when my cousin noticed it. :police: :police:

There could be a few others but she might read this.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2012, 10:25:07 AM by singo-26 »

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

Offline MDSimpson

• 2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 Prado
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2012, 11:04:40 AM »
Many moons ago, I had a Datsun 1600. I drilled a few holes in the exhaust and said "Honey, I need to get a new one". OK, she says.
Came home with a full 2" sports exhaust with extractors. Never heard the end of that one. Still to this day, every time I ask for permission to mod something, she always reminds me...

Good old days... :)
2007 Jayco Flamingo Outback follows the 2008 D4D Prado. Lets get out there...

Offline Riguez

« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2012, 11:06:24 AM »
Her Prado must have sagged an awful lot, it came up nealy 80mm when I fitted the new suspension, why is it higher than everyone else, theirs must have sagged too. ;D ;D

Will try that when I replace the 'shockingly poor' factory springs and struts on my Triton  :angel: (which have actually sagged btw), and 'wow, isn't it amazing how the new springs and shocks have not only fixed that sag but have improved the power and economy?' (when I get a sprint booster and 3" exhaust fitted at the same time  >:D)

I know SHMBO will notice the mods at some point down the track but sometimes its easier to ask forgiveness than for permission. Its just far easier to explain the benefits of expenditure when the items are already fitted and doing their job. She'll enjoy the added power too, ;D
2010 Mitsubi Triton GLX-R

2009 Cub Brumby

« Reply #9 on: June 20, 2012, 11:20:23 AM »
I suppose I am lucky.
When she sees the pictures of our car as it is now, she is complaining.
"Look at ours compared to the car behind us. We don't have a snorkel, no bullbar nothing. When are you going to do anything about it?"

Well, the snorkel is in the garage, still in the box.
The bullbar has been ordered months ago but the shop stuffed up and order the wrong one.
Battery tray is in the garage as well, ready to be fitted.

« Reply #10 on: June 20, 2012, 11:44:50 AM »
I bought our last car without consulting J - does that count? ;D ;D

And no, I've still not heard the end of that. I maintain that she said "I don't care - do whatever you want", but she has a different recollection.

Cheers!

« Reply #11 on: June 20, 2012, 11:53:02 AM »
I bought our first camper trailer without her knowing.  It took me 3 months to convince her that we should get one, which was just in time as it was ready to collect the next week!!

liney

« Reply #12 on: June 20, 2012, 12:07:11 PM »
I took my 7 month old SS VE ute to town and came home with a 100 series cruiser. She was only pissed cause she liked the noise- but I told her this is a V 8 as well but she said its too quiet. Ok I guess we need to upgrade the exhaust lol.

---
I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?o1p2qw

« Reply #13 on: June 20, 2012, 12:07:33 PM »
As I've already been sprung I can relate my biggest fauz pas.

I fitted raised suspension and twin lockers. I think it went in for a snorkel. She kept looking at the blue lights on the lockers switches, "what, those old things?"  ;D, and complaining it seemed harder to get into. "What, you old thing?"  ;D.

Then I was foolish enough to share those mods on here and even though she wasn't interested in the forum she was interested in my activity. I still hear about it.

Maybe I should lock this thread now and save a marriage or two....

« Reply #14 on: June 20, 2012, 12:12:48 PM »
My Wife and I have an understanding  >:D

The last conversation went something like this.... Me: What the f%$k, is that another handbag I see you bought to match another pair of shoes!!!... The lovely: Is that another engine,diff, wheels tyres for the Torana I noticed in the garage and is that also new equipment for that camper!!!

I slink away very slowly and not mention any of her pruchases for a little while ... She hasn't been and looked in the other shed  >:D

« Last Edit: June 20, 2012, 12:47:33 PM by swannie OB »

Offline Riguez

« Reply #15 on: June 20, 2012, 12:28:44 PM »
I maintain that she said "I don't care - do whatever you want", but she has a different recollection.

Hey, we've all been there before I'm sure   ;D . You have to treat that kind of remark with 'extreme', repeat 'extreme' caution  ;D, loss of hearing and possible dismemberment may result, particularly when she exercises her right to 'change her mind' for no logical reason whatsoever.
l
Getting SHMBO to even engage on some purchases (usually related to vehicles) is often an uphill battle. then you've got to reach an agreement, which may involve an ambit claim (to ensure you get what you want) and some 'heated' discussion. If you then go ahead with said purchase without the Minister's signature in blood, your doomed. If you don't purchase the item because agreement could not be reached, said item will most definitely be needed sometime down the track, it will be your fault you didn't buy it, your doomed. If you purchase the item and don't fit it or use it straight away, your doomed.
2010 Mitsubi Triton GLX-R

2009 Cub Brumby

« Reply #16 on: June 20, 2012, 12:35:33 PM »
I recently bout some Lightforce spot lights and the wife noticed and asked what did that cost.

I was sneaky and said ‘That’ cost $200. I was sprung when my mate saw them and asked are they about $400 per set. That’s then the wife clicked as I only gave her the price of one light. (But I smarter enough not didn’t mention the cost of the anti theft nuts, wiring loom or the blue covers)

Mind you in saying that whatever I spend on the car/camper etc and the wife notices it, within a couple of weeks new shoes/dress etc suddenly appears. So whatever the mod cost, it’s basically going to cost double by the time my wife has matched the money on something for herself. Mind you I have to admit I have played that hand myself over the years.  ;D
« Last Edit: June 20, 2012, 12:39:48 PM by Beachman »

« Reply #17 on: June 20, 2012, 12:38:23 PM »
You've got to make it about safety. "what about the children... if I fit these they won't perish in the desert"

Offline Ruffstuff

« Reply #18 on: June 20, 2012, 12:48:53 PM »
Too many to list, I work on the theory that it is easier to beg for forgiveness , than to ask for permission!! :)
Warning: This Post May Contain Traces of Nuts!!! :)

80 series Landcruiser, DTS Turbo, Cross Country Intercooler,  3"exhaust, 33" BFG MT, locked, Lifted & gadgetised
2005 Trak Shak

« Reply #19 on: June 20, 2012, 12:57:00 PM »
I got a quote for some OME suspension and a snorkel emailed to me at work. I had the permission for the suspension. I forwarded the email to home and the wife replied to me at work that the price wasn't too bad , book it in.
We had friends over for lunch the other weekend and were talking about the car going in for suspension and snorkel and the wife said when did the snorkel bit happen. I said it was on the quote, you looked at it and said OK.
Mate sitting at the table is a Toyota service manager so I asked him to back me up on the "cheap insurance" the snorkel is and he said I was on my own. He eventually sided with me and said a hydralic locked engine rebuild was very expensive and we would have a cleaner air filter as the intake was higher up out of the dust.

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #20 on: June 20, 2012, 01:00:08 PM »
Boys!
You just got to say 2 things, works for just about anything:

1- it's to make the vehicle safer, or,

2- it will improve our fuel economy

3- it will keep your wine at the right temperature
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

Offline ozbogwam

« Reply #21 on: June 20, 2012, 01:00:32 PM »
I bought our last car without consulting J - does that count? ;D ;D

And no, I've still not heard the end of that. I maintain that she said "I don't care - do whatever you want", but she has a different recollection.

Cheers!

Had the same thing when I bought the GU. Went from a Ti spec GQ to a DX Gu, still haven't heard the end of it. Fine for going camping in but refuses to go in it for any other reason

Offline cetacean

« Reply #22 on: June 20, 2012, 01:09:29 PM »
Maybe I'm(we) are a bit different. My partner and I live together but pretty much have separate finances. B has her own place which she rents out and she pays me board. We do own our camper-trailer  between us and use my Rodeo to tow it with. And the Mrs goes halves with all the mods that I've done,as they are needed to get to all those great campsites !

Darryl
Mazda BT50, Trakmaster Sturt X-- Country, Stacer 369 Seasprite

« Reply #23 on: June 20, 2012, 02:32:57 PM »
And the Mrs goes halves with all the mods that I've done,as they are needed to get to all those great campsites !

Darryl

Unfortunately I can’t use that reason as I did it the wrong way around. Years ago we did Cape York and apart from the Bull Bar/Snorkel/UHF the 4wd was standard as it I bought it new and only 8 months old when we left.

Only since then I’ve wanted to buy accessories, but now with young kids we no longer do anything too challenging.

« Reply #24 on: June 20, 2012, 05:24:35 PM »
I maintain that she said "I don't care - do whatever you want", but she has a different recollection.

Cheers!
Matto you should know that "do whatever you want doesn't actually mean that, it means do that at your own peril.
I should know as it has been said to me once or twice and after taking advantage of the moment have lived to regret it.
Noel