General => General Discussion => Topic started by: sol on December 26, 2013, 07:42:23 AM

Title: What's The Weather Like Where You Are?
Post by: sol on December 26, 2013, 07:42:23 AM
We are visiting our Kids in Townsville for a few days and can't believe how hot it is already.

Almost 27 degrees and 75% humidity. >:(

What's it like where you are?

Title: Re: What's The Weather Like Where You Are?
Post by: speewa158 on December 26, 2013, 07:45:54 AM
Here in Nagambie  ( Birth place of Black Caviar ) a gently breeze is cooling a slightly cloudy sky .& tomorrow it might be 45C . But its nice now  :cheers:
Post by: gibbo301 on December 26, 2013, 08:04:09 AM
To bloody hot good weather for  :cheers:
Post by: muzza01 on December 26, 2013, 11:44:43 AM
28 ATM but will get to 30 with 60% humidity.
Post by: 02-SR5 on December 26, 2013, 11:52:38 AM
32 here in Toowoomba. Dry, no humidity.
Post by: Bird on December 26, 2013, 01:03:05 PM
Sunny.. but its Melbourne
Post by: Bird on December 26, 2013, 01:04:32 PM
raining.. but its Melbourne
Post by: Bird on December 26, 2013, 01:05:43 PM
Cold and windy.. but its Melbourne
Post by: Bird on December 26, 2013, 01:06:41 PM
Humid as Shit now..
Post by: speewa158 on December 26, 2013, 01:15:22 PM
You still in Melb or just Lost  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on December 26, 2013, 01:32:33 PM
Now it our turn for the weather to turn   . Thunder storm & Fat rain  :cheers:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 26, 2013, 01:46:20 PM
34 degrees, 35% humidity, water temp of 23 degrees with a 15 knot north/easter, so pretty farkin good really.

We got in an hour ago, nice on the water, but a bit wrm now e're home.  ;D
Post by: sol on December 27, 2013, 05:54:42 AM
Heading to Kurrimine Beach today for a few days.
BOM site says min of 20 max of 32 and humidity of 96% and fine . Nice ;D.
If anyone is in the area call in for a coldie or 2.

Post by: edz on December 27, 2013, 07:09:36 AM
Looking at the Mountain that Warns you, from about 2 k,s in from the beach and we have a cloudy 23 deg day atm with about 80% humidity and a slight breeze so far with the fans going just to make it comfortable..
Post by: Barrabart on December 27, 2013, 01:27:07 PM
It's always hot here, i'll let the pic do the talking.......... those mills are hot, the slurry in those tanks is hot, and yep in the back ground there, thats steam venting from deep in the earth...... and that is farrrrkin hot!!!!!!
Post by: sol on December 27, 2013, 04:08:25 PM
It's always hot here, i'll let the pic do the talking.......... those mills are hot, the slurry in those tanks are hot, and yep in the back ground there, thats steam venting from deep in the earth...... and that is farrrrkin hot!!!!!!

Where's that mate?

Post by: elle.mac on December 27, 2013, 04:59:49 PM
Hot and hot....technically speaking though its about 38degrees and 30% humidity. However, last week i have to say i did experience the hottest that I ever had (completely different to the temperature/humidity we had in Gove for 18months) - our grocery trip to Karratha was bloody hot - getting trolleys from the service desk at Woolies to the car (max 10minutes) the chocolate hadn't just melted it was pure liquid and even worse the temperature gauge in the Prado was showing outside temp as 50 degrees...hopefully the potential cyclone brewing might cool things down for awhile.
Post by: Barrabart on December 27, 2013, 07:16:18 PM
  Where's that mate?

Sol,

It's Lihir Island in the New Ireland Province of PNG.....
Post by: SteveandViv on December 27, 2013, 07:24:38 PM
Yea, hot here as well. 38-39 over the last few days. Storms building as the cyclone builds.

This is over the shopping centre in Broome.

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/13881348707151_zps230b47f4.jpg) (http://s207.photobucket.com/user/Steveandviv/media/13881348707151_zps230b47f4.jpg.html)
Post by: Bird on December 27, 2013, 07:29:45 PM
humidity has gone off the scale here...
Post by: Beatle on December 27, 2013, 07:57:10 PM
No weather here, it's dark.........
Post by: speewa158 on December 28, 2013, 02:54:39 PM
It's always hot here, i'll let the pic do the talking.......... those mills are hot, the slurry in those tanks is hot, and yep in the back ground there, thats steam venting from deep in the earth...... and that is farrrrkin hot!!!!!!

How do you keep such a big drug lab a secret these days  >:D
Post by: KieranR on December 28, 2013, 03:45:35 PM
waiting for the cyclone to arrive in a couple of days.....but right now its fricken hot!!
Post by: D4D on December 28, 2013, 03:54:22 PM
Just dropped 14 degrees in 10 minutes, much more pleasant now.
Post by: sol on December 28, 2013, 05:38:58 PM
Just dropped 14 degrees in 10 minutes, much more pleasant now.

;D it doesn't drop that much up here between summer and winter. ;D

Post by: speewa158 on December 28, 2013, 05:49:58 PM
A wind front has just about blown the saddle off a night mare  here  :cheers :Cooling from 38C
Post by: shakey55 on December 29, 2013, 05:50:24 AM
High winds have just started through Toukley (NSW Central Coast). Temp dropped and not lookin like a nice day.

'shakey'
Post by: Clouty on December 29, 2013, 06:36:53 AM
At the moment it's 25 on the GC and the weather guru's are saying it'll reach 36 today.. :cheers:
Post by: broncos11 on December 29, 2013, 07:33:04 AM
Beautiful at Coffs!!!!!!!!!
Off to Big Banana today for lunch time desserts. For the kids of course!!!

Post by: Axl on December 29, 2013, 07:43:24 AM
44deg here at Moomba yesterday 8), wind has picked up today and it is currently a pleasent 25deg :cheers:.
Post by: Garfish on December 29, 2013, 07:59:19 AM
Currently 29 degrees in the shade at Hervey Bay beautiful cooling breeze across the back deck on the western side of the house perfect for summer mornings not that great in the afternoons but that is what the front deck is for. Meant to reach mid 30s today.  B

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
Post by: sol on December 29, 2013, 08:05:23 AM
Beautiful here at Kurrimine Beach.
25 degrees and expected 33. Clear skies and boats and tractors going past every few mins.
5 to 10 knots. :cup:

Post by: Bigmacthepunker on December 29, 2013, 08:41:00 AM
Great temp, sunny but very very windy at lake taubrie NSW. Setting up the CT in the rain last Thursday was an experience. Plenty of things to keep the kids busy.
Big G
Post by: sol on December 29, 2013, 10:53:58 AM
Yea, hot here as well. 38-39 over the last few days. Storms building as the cyclone builds.

This is over the shopping centre in Broome.

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/13881348707151_zps230b47f4.jpg) (http://s207.photobucket.com/user/Steveandviv/media/13881348707151_zps230b47f4.jpg.html)

How's it going there guys?
   Are you going to get the Cyclone?

Post by: McGirr on December 29, 2013, 03:39:48 PM
I can't take much more of this weather.

Palm Cove.

Post by: rossm on December 29, 2013, 04:54:16 PM
not me, but no.2 son has been in Broome for a week and was due back this afternoon but will be staying a while longer.  Broome is just on the edge of cyclone Christine as far as gales go but rain has flooded the runway so  no flights for a while.

Post by: Rob C on December 29, 2013, 04:58:08 PM
Cold here,

15deg with the wind whistling off the desert,

Luckily the water is heated.!!!

Dubai.
Post by: Watty2975 on December 29, 2013, 04:59:36 PM
39.1 here at the moment. Mild warm breeze.
Been working in the shed wiring the camping, felt like it was in th 50's!
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 29, 2013, 06:04:08 PM

Hot. 

We spent the last few days at around 37C at the parents place and got 42C on our way home.  Now we are getting "severe" storms pushing through ... but not in my suburb as always. 

At least it's a bit cooler now ... still sweaty but cooler.

P.S.  I hear The Nurse lost power last night.  She must of got the rain too. 
Post by: SteveandViv on December 29, 2013, 06:09:24 PM
   How's it going there guys?
   Are you going to get the Cyclone?

Skirting down the coast and Broome is just in the Gale force zone. Been p1ssing down for a few hours now and blowing like buggery. Every ones getting g a bot stir crazy being inside
Post by: edz on December 29, 2013, 08:14:47 PM
Heads up Teewah and Double Island looks like its about to get rough up there
Post by: sol on December 30, 2013, 09:18:32 AM
Skirting down the coast and Broome is just in the Gale force zone. Been p1ssing down for a few hours now and blowing like buggery. Every ones getting g a bot stir crazy being inside

What's it like now mate?
    Any worse?

Post by: SteveandViv on December 30, 2013, 11:35:39 AM
   What's it like now mate?
    Any worse?

Was p1ssing down all night but starting to ease. Had 90 mm since 9am yesterday. Prob rain all day then be OK tomorrow
Post by: fishfinder on December 30, 2013, 12:25:50 PM
its nice and sunny about 20 deg, oh hang on its about 14 deg and cloudy, yep here comes the snow better put the air con on looks like a heat wave about to hit us
Post by: SteveandViv on December 30, 2013, 12:31:28 PM
Not sure if this works

http://youtu.be/0VJiS-ew1Qs (http://youtu.be/0VJiS-ew1Qs)
Post by: D4D on December 30, 2013, 01:17:14 PM
Looking out the office window it is blue sky and 20 degrees :(
Post by: Garfish on December 30, 2013, 01:29:59 PM
33 and sunny. Had a beaut of storm come through last night just before midnight in Hervey Bay

Post by: rossm on December 30, 2013, 01:47:00 PM
Not sure if this works

http://youtu.be/0VJiS-ew1Qs (http://youtu.be/0VJiS-ew1Qs)

It worked. hopefully Christine will miss the major population centres and just hive the Pilbara a big drink so there are lots of full waterholes and rivers to camp beside when I am up that way I. April.
Post by: D4D on January 01, 2014, 12:41:08 PM
Now this is hot!

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/oodnadatta-in-sas-far-north-poised-for-tilt-at-its-own-australian-record-temperature-of-507c/story-fni6uo1m-1226792975000 (http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/oodnadatta-in-sas-far-north-poised-for-tilt-at-its-own-australian-record-temperature-of-507c/story-fni6uo1m-1226792975000)

The remote town of Oodnadatta could break its own official national record of 50.7C as a hot front associated with ex-tropical cyclone Christine sweeps across Central Australia.

SOUTH AUSTRALIAN FORECAST:
Oodnadatta 49
Marree 48
Roxby Downs 48
Coober Pedy 48
Woomera 47
Port Augusta 45
Whyalla 41
Renmark 40
Adelaide 34
Victor Harbor 29
Mt Gambier 26
Post by: sol on January 01, 2014, 01:11:37 PM
I can't take much more of this weather.

Palm Cove.

G'day Mark
   Can you tell me if you can camp on the beach front at Cape Trip?
   We used to camp at Thortons Beach years ago right on the beach under the trees.

Nice pics too mate. :cup:
Post by: Axl on January 03, 2014, 12:00:57 AM
Well yesterday we hit 49.3 degrees http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news...102-307s0.html (http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news...102-307s0.html)

We didnt break the record and thankfully I am on nightshift at the moment but when I came on shift at 17:30 it was 46.8 degrees and as I type this post it is still 39.7 degrees.

Look out Brisbane and the east coast, you have got some hot weather on the way.

Extract below is from the weatherzone site last year,

Breaking Weather News - 49.6 degrees - Australia's highest temperature in 15 years
Brett Dutschke, 13 January 2013
Yesterday Moomba in the far northeast of South Australia recorded a maximum temperature of 49.6 degrees, which makes it the highest temperature recorded in Australia in 15 years.

The last time a higher temperature was recorded was in February 1998, in the Western Australian Pilbara, where Nyang reached 49.8 degrees.

Moomba's 49.6 degrees is also the highest temperature recorded in SA since Oodnadatta reached 50.3 degrees in January 1960.

Australia's record is held by Oodnadatta, 50.7 degrees, also in January 1960.

Post by: edz on January 03, 2014, 07:07:06 AM
Lets see the worlds population has increased by a billion since then, industry has increased a thousand fold,  millions of times  more cars, aircraft flights and general pollution output........ And we still  with all the Global Warming doom and gloom sayers arnt reaching the highest recorded temps of 60 odd years ago.......Time for popcorn methinks  ;D
Post by: sol on January 03, 2014, 12:51:25 PM
Anywhere in This great country of ours that's got cooler temps  ???

Post by: D4D on January 03, 2014, 12:52:33 PM
VIC is mid 20's, slight breeze, slightly overcast, pretty nice actually :)
Post by: sol on January 03, 2014, 01:01:09 PM
 That's nice weather. :cup:
 37 degrees here.  Good weather to break in my Tap King the kids gave me for Xmas. ;D
 Icey cold and ready to pour.

Post by: UIZ733 on January 03, 2014, 01:03:14 PM
High 30's western suburbs of Brisbane. Hot!
Post by: Watty2975 on January 03, 2014, 01:13:48 PM
37 here and hot hot hot. The warm breeze is not overly helpful!
Post by: ewwreckers on January 03, 2014, 02:10:07 PM

33 and sunny. Had a beaut of storm come through last night just before midnight in Hervey Bay

Hoping for good weather when we get there on Wednesday

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 03, 2014, 03:43:24 PM
Oh crap, we made 38.6 today with a "feels like 43", so it was shut down the mowers and head home for this little black duck.

I don't mow after it hits 35.....  ;D

Still a very tropical 30.8 atm.
Post by: KingBilly on January 03, 2014, 04:00:52 PM
We hit 38.9 and still 37.3.  Lots of stroms brewing.  Watch out on the lowlands, particularly the north and south coasts I reckon.

Post by: Foo on January 03, 2014, 04:49:29 PM
38c and is now blowing a friggin gale. :o (was 45.3c at Roma)

Post by: Terry W4 on January 03, 2014, 05:08:43 PM
In Canberra has been about 33 here at my place.  Started out overcast - clouds disappeared - strong winds - now patchy clouds and wind has dropped.
Post by: martyst on January 03, 2014, 05:15:12 PM
We got to 37 on our verandah in the Gold Coast hinterland.

Post by: Swannie on January 03, 2014, 06:45:19 PM
Some massive winds blowing through port fairy. Gazebos and tents flying through the air

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 03, 2014, 08:02:13 PM

Was 42 coming back through Aratula today and rather sweaty.  Got to love the handheld water spray devices!!  Twas 42 at Texas over the last few days - but chilly enough at night to see 14.8 on the guage next morning.  At least the drinks were still cold I suppose.  We feared the fridge might go on strike but it did us proud (go you good thing ... very aptly named!). 

So glad it cooled down overnight though near The Gap too ... thought we were going to melt!  Missed that storm alas.  A few spits and it was all over.

Post by: Diesel Power on January 04, 2014, 01:52:50 AM
On Monday we had 45 in the shade, 48 in the sun and the Shotfirers working on the pit floor reached 55 degrees.
Its been like that all week, lucky Im on night shifts now.
Angus.
Post by: Foo on January 04, 2014, 06:44:10 AM
27c at 3am here this morning and windy.

Post by: Brumbypt on January 04, 2014, 07:41:00 AM
The weather is always lovely here, hot cold freezing, its all good.

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
Post by: sol on January 04, 2014, 08:25:18 AM
26 and still as. Not a breath of wind. >:(

Post by: sol on January 04, 2014, 10:32:39 AM
Talking of weather, what's the best site to check out the weather.
I'd like to look at the weather further out and see if anything is building out in the Coral Sea around Fiji etc.

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 04, 2014, 11:29:08 AM

Just checked and it's 31.2 in and 39 out ... although the in feels a lot hotter as the wind is rather warm.

Post by: cancan on January 04, 2014, 11:48:35 AM
Went for a bike ride this morning.. 26 when I started 38 when I finished... Pool was nice

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Post by: KingBilly on January 04, 2014, 01:59:22 PM
Just hit 40.  WTF, we are supposed to be in the cold bit of Queensland  ???  That's it, I'm off to put on the aircon and have a cold tasty beverage  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by: muzza01 on January 04, 2014, 02:11:24 PM
Bloody hot up here too in Cairns KB,

35 degrees. Not as hot as you but still hot.

Post by: Rumpig on January 04, 2014, 02:38:28 PM
just saw this on Weatherzone forum, we are a few minutes around the corner from this spot so pretty much same temperature.....
43.5 for Archerfield @ 2:17PM, breaks the record of 43.3 set in 1940.
Post by: sol on January 05, 2014, 05:48:05 AM
29 here already  ??? Going to be bloody hot later on.

Post by: Swannie on January 05, 2014, 11:54:23 AM
Currently blowing 90klm winds in port fairy with plenty of rain. May need an Ark!

Post by: GeoffA on January 05, 2014, 12:50:17 PM
Currently blowing 90klm winds in port fairy with plenty of rain. May need an Ark!

We've got the wind. No Rain yet, though.....
Post by: D4D on January 05, 2014, 12:56:13 PM
Blowing a gale here, no rain either, send it my way Swannie my garden needs the rain bad.
Post by: Bird on January 05, 2014, 01:14:38 PM
No wind here yet, got 1/2 the lawn mowed.. thought I'll change the blades.. got 1 off in 5 mins, got second one off in 1 hour started the third one and gave up pushed mower back in shed. I'll wait for the 230985230948 cuts on my hands to heal first..
Post by: GeoffA on January 05, 2014, 01:27:24 PM
....I'll wait for the 230985230948 cuts on my hands to heal first..

Did you shut the engine off.........??
Post by: Bird on January 05, 2014, 01:28:44 PM
Quote from: GeoffA
I'm new at this... :(
Post by: Rumpig on January 05, 2014, 05:02:20 PM
PMSL  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 05, 2014, 05:24:11 PM
No wind here yet, got 1/2 the lawn mowed.. thought I'll change the blades.. got 1 off in 5 mins, got second one off in 1 hour started the third one and gave up pushed mower back in shed. I'll wait for the 230985230948 cuts on my hands to heal first..

Its a 10 minute job, ya big girls blouse.  :-*

It does sound like you attempted it while the mower was still running, but even so, 20 minutes tops.....  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on January 05, 2014, 05:48:29 PM
I'm new at this... :(

Get a professional  :angel: :cheers:
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 05, 2014, 05:56:52 PM

Still hot but now it's sweaty as well.  Seems tomorrow will be hot too ... but unfortunately .... I'll be in 24 C until smoko   >:(   Good Bye Holidays ... I'll miss you.   :'(

Post by: Swannie on January 05, 2014, 06:57:55 PM
So the current damage today is 2 x bent annex poles, 1x water filler door vent ripped off, 1x oztent king Goanna chair destroyed.

Not as worse as a few others that have had canvas ripped.
Post by: D4D on January 05, 2014, 06:59:32 PM
1x oztent king Goanna chair destroyed.

Sorry to hear about your chair however I know a guy with a spare chair :laugh:
Post by: Swannie on January 05, 2014, 07:02:24 PM
Sorry to hear about your chair however I know a guy with a spare chair :laugh:

Yeah  I do too except he didn't bring the spare  :'(
Post by: D4D on January 05, 2014, 07:17:14 PM
Warrnambool Bunnings :)
Post by: Swannie on January 05, 2014, 07:19:00 PM
Warrnambool Bunnings :)

Arb warnambool  ;D
Post by: D4D on January 05, 2014, 07:20:07 PM
If I didn't know better I'd say you strategically placed the chair where the wind would catch it so you could visit ARB :)
Post by: sol on January 05, 2014, 07:31:13 PM
Anyone got a weather report from Western Australia, Northern Territory, Tasmania?

Post by: SteveandViv on January 05, 2014, 08:24:58 PM
42c today. 40% humidity at that time. Woke to 32c at 8am. The wind has changed, now 31 but 83% humidity....
Post by: sol on January 05, 2014, 08:34:44 PM
Thanks mate.
No cyclones around?
In the Sunday Mail today they're saying we should have one develop in 10 days. ???
We don't need that.

Post by: Black Diamond on January 06, 2014, 07:08:31 AM
Sh!te her in Mexico! I thought it was supposed to be summer. Had to throw a jumper on this morn   ???
Post by: GeoffA on January 06, 2014, 07:18:50 AM
......Had to throw a jumper on this morn   ???

Yeah, but you're a girl........ ;D ;D
Post by: noel_w on January 06, 2014, 09:49:18 AM
So how hot was it on Saturday, 41 at my place. Walked past the aircon compressor/fan and almost got 3rd degree burns from the blast of hot air.
Supposed to be hot here again today (29 atm) but nice & cool in the office. Storms this arvo so they say might cool it a bit.
Post by: sol on January 06, 2014, 06:11:34 PM
Anyone know of a good weather website?
I use BOM but is there a world wide site?

Post by: gordo350 on January 06, 2014, 07:03:27 PM
Try weather zone from the android app store

gordo350

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 06, 2014, 07:20:36 PM

I like OzForecast on the PC.  Enter your town name and tada ... a 7 day report with bom type radar pinpointing where chosen town is.

P.S. Was bloody hot today, but a ripper of a storm came through ... lightning, thunder, torrential downpour ... still watching the flashing in the sky from home now.
Post by: 02-SR5 on January 06, 2014, 08:29:14 PM
If that is the one that ripped through Tallibuggera at 4pm this arvo.

Complete campsites removed from the park. Gazebo's removed from the surface of the earth

I was holding down the front awning.

The lifestyle Explorer damage, one slightly bent awning support pole.
Post by: edz on January 06, 2014, 08:37:55 PM
Alls I can say thank christ we dodged the bullet again, though did spare a thought for you blokes a bit further north... Got a bit excited up there huh in Tally did it  02..  Glad to hear you came through it ok ..
Post by: SteveandViv on January 06, 2014, 09:20:40 PM
So every time they have a really hot forecast my digital et up is 3c hotter. If that is the case we will get 45c on Wednesday - Shite

Post by: Rumpig on January 06, 2014, 10:12:02 PM
If that is the one that ripped through Tallibuggera at 4pm this arvo.

Complete campsites removed from the park. Gazebo's removed from the surface of the earth

I was holding down the front awning.

The lifestyle Explorer damage, one slightly bent awning support pole.
i drove through that about a half hour to an hour earlier from Beaudesert through to Algester, could barely see where i was driving most of the time, and when i got to Parkinson it was so torrential i ended up pulling into a shopping centre in a side street and waited for it to ease off. i didn't pull off to the edge of Beaudesert Rd like some people were doing for fear someone would rear end me, at times i couldn't see past my bonnet and i was crawling along in 2nd gear with the rest of the other vehicles doing the same around me. the wind ripping through the trees on the Rathdowney side of Beaudesrt before the storm hit was amazing, i was dodging small tree branches on the road as i went along, and actually feared that a bigger branch might come off as i drove along  :o :o
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 07, 2014, 09:04:10 PM

Yep I reckon it was the same one.   ;D  Sorry to hear of your damage and now extended arm ... but WOW ... loved it.  Got 65mm at home and it's washed all but the grass away  ;D  We so needed the rain, but it could have been spread out over an hour or so rather than the 20 minutes we got.

Was at work when it hit (so glad I shut the house up that morning) and spent the entire time taking photos and filming the flood go past our kitchen door.  Even managed a hand held lightning ... bit blurry though.  I've darkened it a little due to the flash being so close.

(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-1yS5ROFCNzA/Usve6wPBPwI/AAAAAAAACy4/MkVsgIdb5qY/s1600/Storm+06.01.14.jpg)
Post by: Pog on January 07, 2014, 09:36:58 PM
Nice shot

I wish we could get even 6.5 mm a the moment... We haven't had rain for a long time.
Post by: sol on January 07, 2014, 09:50:53 PM
Great pic Kit_e.
 That's one hell of a Lightning bolt.

Post by: Rumpig on January 07, 2014, 09:54:08 PM

Even managed a hand held lightning ... bit blurry though.  I've darkened it a little due to the flash being so close.

i managed much the same as far as blurriness goes yesterday also Kit-e, was out the back of Beaudesert crouched down infront of my bullbar trying not to get hit by the lightning about the area...lol

(http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk237/qld-bundy-drinker/Storms/tn_IMG_2173_zps8d521f46.jpg) (http://s281.photobucket.com/user/qld-bundy-drinker/media/Storms/tn_IMG_2173_zps8d521f46.jpg.html)

(http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk237/qld-bundy-drinker/Storms/tn_IMG_2167_zps5c176e6c.jpg) (http://s281.photobucket.com/user/qld-bundy-drinker/media/Storms/tn_IMG_2167_zps5c176e6c.jpg.html)

Post by: sol on January 08, 2014, 05:25:21 AM
Awesome pics Rumpig.
There must be some power in those lightning strikes.

Post by: Rumpig on January 08, 2014, 07:40:45 AM
Awesome pics Rumpig.
There must be some power in those lightning strikes.

cheers Sol...it was a cracka of a storm, but i'm sure you see plenty of them up your way aswell each year. the lightning about was amazing, i ended up stopping taking pics as i had both my kids in the vehicle with me, and the last thing i wanted was for them to see me get struck by lightning right infront of them. the wind was blowing a gale and rain falling a touch also in the first pic, so was hard to get the perfect shot that i was hoping for.
Post by: D4D on January 08, 2014, 08:00:58 AM
...crouched down infront of my bullbar trying not to get hit by the lightning about the area...lol

You do realise the irony of being crouched down in front of a big arse piece of metal in a lighting storm :laugh:
Post by: sol on January 08, 2014, 09:01:25 AM
Does the tyres on a car, 4wd etc act as some sort of insulator ??? if vehicle is hit by lightning?

Post by: D4D on January 08, 2014, 09:19:51 AM
Do you trust them...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZxgYNnkBd0#t=254 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZxgYNnkBd0#t=254)
Post by: sol on January 08, 2014, 09:28:21 AM
Thanks mate, very interesting 8)

Post by: Bird on January 08, 2014, 10:54:18 AM
Well its fine here at work.. but found out why our connection to the Datacenter in the US is dead

"Due to the extremely cold temperatures, water in section of our conduit has frozen, compressing the fiber cable and causing connectivity loss.  To correct the problem, fiber technicians will reroute your circuit to bypass the impacted fiber cable. 

The dangerous weather and road conditions are inhibiting our ability to quickly resolve the problem.  Snow removal is required in order to access 3 handholes and the fiber.  We are projecting completion of your circuit reroute on Friday, January 10, 2014.   
As the work progresses, we will keep you informed of the completion date and time."
Post by: scarps on January 08, 2014, 11:01:54 AM

Well its fine here at work.. but found out why our connection to the Datacenter in the US is dead

"Due to the extremely cold temperatures, water in section of our conduit has frozen, compressing the fiber cable and causing connectivity loss.  To correct the problem, fiber technicians will reroute your circuit to bypass the impacted fiber cable. 

The dangerous weather and road conditions are inhibiting our ability to quickly resolve the problem.  Snow removal is required in order to access 3 handholes and the fiber.  We are projecting completion of your circuit reroute on Friday, January 10, 2014.   
As the work progresses, we will keep you informed of the completion date and time."

So their computers are frozen?
Post by: Bunyip on January 08, 2014, 11:02:44 AM
We are projecting completion of your circuit reroute on Friday, January 10, 2014.   

Ouch, that is a bit of a wait.
Post by: Rumpig on January 08, 2014, 12:02:47 PM
You do realise the irony of being crouched down in front of a big arse piece of metal in a lighting storm :laugh:
there were heaps of large tall trees about the paddocks much bigger then my 4wd that i'm sure would have gotten hit before my 4wd attracked a lightning strike. i was mainly crouched down there to get out the rain, but it felt safer there then standing out in the middle of an open road away from the vehicle anyway...lol
Post by: 02-SR5 on January 08, 2014, 05:53:13 PM
Rain here at Tallabuggera at the moment.
Post by: Mobi on January 08, 2014, 08:11:15 PM
there were heaps of large tall trees about the paddocks much bigger then my 4wd that i'm sure would have gotten hit before my 4wd attracked a lightning strike. i was mainly crouched down there to get out the rain, but it felt safer there then standing out in the middle of an open road away from the vehicle anyway...lol
Rumpig the experts recommend that you stay in the vehicle but when it's raining makes it hard to take pictures  ;D . Nice photos from you and Kit-e  :cup:

Post by: elle.mac on January 08, 2014, 08:57:58 PM
I think those of you getting rain need to send to WA, we had 48 today. 
Post by: 02-SR5 on January 09, 2014, 06:22:05 AM
Rain here at Tallabuggera at the moment.

Still raining, and it looks it will continue to rain till we go home :-(
Post by: Bunyip on January 09, 2014, 06:27:08 AM
Raining here in Parkes. Infact between Manildra and Parkes it was pi55ing down to the point that my nearside wiper blade decided it had had enough and would part company with the car.

Caught it in time and re-attached it, but got wet in the process :(-

Rain very much needed out here so sorry no deliveries to WA pending at the moment. :)
Post by: sol on January 09, 2014, 06:29:44 AM
Yes we had a few mils of rain last night too. ;D
92% humidity now!!

Post by: edz on January 09, 2014, 06:48:38 AM
Slight breeze overcast and misty wet and a comfortable temp with an occasional heavier sprinkle just enough to keep the grass to wet to mow, Dammit ....
Now the 6 yro will want to watch movies or something instead of doing the mowing .
Post by: SteveandViv on January 09, 2014, 07:19:12 AM

water in section of our conduit has frozen, compressing the fiber cable and causing connectivity loss

Well I've never seen glass compress very well ;D I'd say there ratShit :cup:
Post by: sol on January 09, 2014, 08:10:34 PM
Just looking at the weather map and it looks like the areas around Thargominda and Tibaburra are getting a lot of rain. Anyone out there?

Post by: sol on January 11, 2014, 06:35:03 AM
Poured down rain here last night. ;D
Looks like there is more north of Cairns also.

Post by: Pog on January 13, 2014, 08:37:19 AM
Rain.... pffft - Haven't seen decent rain for a long time., and not going to either by the look of this...

(http://i1285.photobucket.com/albums/a590/pogasarus/WeatherForecast_zpsa5f0584f.jpg)
Post by: FNQBunyip on January 13, 2014, 08:54:07 AM
Yes WET up here ... 68mm this morning ... 126mm yesterday

Post by: sol on January 13, 2014, 11:43:16 AM
We've had just over 160mls since Friday.

Post by: KiwiAngler on January 13, 2014, 01:08:20 PM
Wagga Wagga NSW

current 40c
Forecast
Tues 42 - wed 43 - Thursday 43 - Friday 42

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk 2

Post by: Pog on January 15, 2014, 09:03:39 PM
Renmark, SA

Monday    43c
Tuesday   46c
Today      44c
Thursday  48c
Friday      46c
Saturday  35c

Not good camping weather, bush fires on two sides of Renmark at the moment.
Post by: peter01 on January 15, 2014, 09:30:54 PM
Shepparton VIC

Wednesday 10:00 pm,  Overcast 31 deg

Post by: evolution on January 15, 2014, 09:41:08 PM
Wodonga,
pleasant now. Crazy again for the next few days. thank god for Aircon

Evo
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 15, 2014, 10:39:15 PM

It rained for 5 minutes about an hour ago ... so there is the 0 - 2mm they predicted.  Hoping for some more soon ... but I can see stars so not too hopeful.

Post by: SteveandViv on January 15, 2014, 10:44:40 PM
We are getting ready for up to 200mil over the next few days - bring it on. Just drove through the best storm ever on the way home from Derby...
Post by: speewa158 on January 16, 2014, 03:35:06 AM
Shepparton VIC

Wednesday 10:00 pm,  Overcast 31 deg

Thursday 4.33AM      , Overcast  31C
    should warm up latter in the day  :cheers:
Post by: sol on January 16, 2014, 05:25:30 AM
Renmark, SA

Monday    43c
Tuesday   46c
Today      44c
Thursday  48c
Friday      46c
Saturday  35c

Not good camping weather, bush fires on two sides of Renmark at the moment.

:-[ :-[  wow is there any breeze with that?

Post by: sol on January 16, 2014, 05:33:15 AM

I cannot believe people lock kids in cars in this weather or any weather.
         19 kids were locked in cars in Victoria in the last few days according to the report on the radio a few mins ago. >:(. WTF!!!   
         Throw the book at them.

Post by: D4D on January 16, 2014, 06:21:56 AM
8:30am yesterday morning, yes that is the correct temp, going to be hotter today 44 :( At least I am not in Remark 48 :o

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/38.jpg)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 16, 2014, 06:28:28 AM
Hot, damn hot

Good Morning Vietnam- Its Damn Hot!.mov (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DpktBGInl60#ws)

Post by: Pog on January 16, 2014, 07:26:18 AM
      :-[ :-[  wow is there any breeze with that?

No Breeze or Wind... There was a little storm on Tuesday Night without any real rain, a fair bit of wind for 30 mins, but mainly lots of lightning that just started a heap of fires.
Post by: sol on January 16, 2014, 07:52:18 PM
Beautiful night here. Full Moon just coming up over Mt Mackay. ;D
Few showers today, wish we could send some down south guys.

Post by: Top.ender on January 16, 2014, 08:37:16 PM
just got back from Ningaloo Station and the thermometer maxed out at 56c in the shade at 14:12.... :'(
Post by: sol on January 16, 2014, 08:41:06 PM
just got back from Ningaloo Station and the thermometer maxed out at 56c in the shade at 14:12.... :'(

Are those temps much the same there this time of year or has this year been hotter?

Post by: speewa158 on January 17, 2014, 01:39:09 AM
lts still 31C & its too hot to sleep at 2.38am  >:D
Post by: Wilko1970 on January 17, 2014, 10:20:36 AM
Over 40 in Vic today, already 38 in Briagolong! >:(
Post by: Top.ender on January 17, 2014, 11:53:36 AM
    Are those temps much the same there this time of year or has this year been hotter?

That was our first trip there but will definitely be back.... would imagine thats pretty standard for that time of year....don't be put off it sounds hot but you just need to walk 10 meters to the beach and sea breeze.. :cheers: :cheers:   
Post by: Black Diamond on January 17, 2014, 11:59:45 AM

I cannot believe people lock kids in cars in this weather or any weather.
         19 kids were locked in cars in Victoria in the last few days according to the report on the radio a few mins ago. >:(. WTF!!!   
         Throw the book at them.

Unbelievable what's wrong with these people  ???
Post by: sol on January 27, 2014, 01:03:01 PM
According to the Weather guys we could have a cyclone out in the Coral Sea by Wednesday.
That's the last thing we need here :-[
We're still getting over Yasi. >:(

Post by: bert56 on January 27, 2014, 02:00:03 PM
We've had 40-60km/hr winds here for the last few days. I do believe a cyclone is brewing in the coral sea.

It's made it hard to even check crab pots in the creeks.

Bert
Post by: Pog on January 29, 2014, 01:00:58 PM
Looks like we are in for another hot week.... Probably not what the CFS would like to see, considering they still have the Billiat and Bangor fires burning that were started by lightning on the 14th of Jan.

(http://i1285.photobucket.com/albums/a590/pogasarus/Elders_zpsccebd5c3.jpg)

At least therse no real chance of frost... ;D
Post by: wilson79 on January 29, 2014, 03:09:25 PM
Bloody windy!!!! And about to get worse with alit of rain too by the look of it..
Post by: muzza01 on January 29, 2014, 05:02:38 PM
Bloody windy!!!! And about to get worse with alit of rain too by the look of it..

Good luck Mate. It always sucks to be just South of the cyclone when it crosses the coast and Townsville will certainly get an uppercut. Even though they only think it will be a Cat 1, it will still have a fair amount of sting.
Post by: sol on January 29, 2014, 09:01:18 PM
G'day wilson79 and muzza01

What's it like down there. We have a son and daughter in Garbutt and another son in Kalinda Close.

Post by: MattNQ on January 29, 2014, 10:58:50 PM
Where's the wind gone.. ???

Suspiciously quiet here at the moment - no wind, no rain. O where O where did our tropical low go?

Might surprise us in the morning perhaps?
Post by: SteveandViv on January 29, 2014, 11:48:14 PM
lts still 31C & its too hot to sleep at 2.38am  >:D

Harden up princess, that's normal around here. I dare you to come up and see for your self  ;D  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: gunna on January 30, 2014, 06:42:44 AM
Some stats
Post by: MADCOW on January 30, 2014, 08:02:08 AM
Woohoo 41 yesterday, today, tomorrow,Saturday,Sunday and most likely Monday. nothing under 39 for the next week. In fact no rain predicted for a month. We've had 1 day of rain in the past month. Good time to be out of the bush in times like this. The high country is as dry as a dingoes bum
Post by: wilson79 on January 30, 2014, 02:40:11 PM
G'day wilson79 and muzza01

What's it like down there. We have a son and daughter in Garbutt and another son in Kalinda Close.

Hi Sol,
Its not too bad mate looks like its going to hit south of us just north of Ayr,

Its only a cat1 so shouldn't be too bad the people in low lying areas are in for a rough night as the storm surge looks like it will combine with a king tide..

I have a fridge full of beer and a couple of bottles of rum to keep me warm so all good
Post by: muzza01 on January 30, 2014, 03:05:41 PM
Here is the latest. Plus a 4.1 meter King tide tomorrow morning.

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/cyclone_zps03a596d4.png)
Post by: sol on January 30, 2014, 06:42:46 PM
Thanks guys. :cup:

Post by: Banjo16 on January 30, 2014, 06:49:15 PM
Dry,water restrictions in place.
Hope the cyclone comes south.
Post by: speewa158 on January 30, 2014, 07:02:28 PM
40 something Deg , great  :cheers: weather  :cheers:
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 30, 2014, 07:06:55 PM

Uneventful really. 

However a "sink hole" appeared at Springwood and that seemed newsworthy.  It had to do with water, which is a by-product of weather.   ;D

Post by: MattNQ on January 30, 2014, 08:59:38 PM
Hi Sol,
Its not too bad mate looks like its going to hit south of us just north of Ayr,

Its only a cat1 so shouldn't be too bad the people in low lying areas are in for a rough night as the storm surge looks like it will combine with a king tide..

I have a fridge full of beer and a couple of bottles of rum to keep me warm so all good

Cat 2 now according to the BOM- it's winding up quickly. It'll be blowin' in Bowen and not so fair in Ayr!!

sent from earth via tapatalk

Post by: grafy82 on January 30, 2014, 09:29:59 PM
OK here's the latest. Pretty calm here at the moment in Brownsville. Had some good rain through the day (should be just enough to settle the dust). Really praying that the rain reaches inland far enough to get to the farms that really need it.

Post by: Rumpig on January 30, 2014, 09:40:11 PM

Uneventful really. 

However a "sink hole" appeared at Springwood and that seemed newsworthy.  It had to do with water, which is a by-product of weather.   ;D

was listening to a caller on the radio this morning who mentioned they were looking for that sink hole, then realised they were parked right beside it at the time whilst on the phone...me thinks the media were beating it up a touch as the caller didn't seem overly amazed with what they were seeing
Post by: edz on January 30, 2014, 09:42:46 PM
Hold tight you NQlders bit of a wet and blow, hope you all get through it without any troubles, stay safe peoples ..
Post by: Nomad on January 30, 2014, 09:55:50 PM
The weather is s..thouse. Lots of wind so wrecking the surf and no bloody rain yet so I am watering my new turf on town water which is going to cost a small fortune.........at the moment we get 3 spits of rain and I get excited then nothing but wind.
Post by: SteveandViv on January 30, 2014, 11:41:41 PM
Well the wets i here in any rate well and truly. P1ssing down right now and has for the last two weeks sort of. Up to about 400mm this Month and I must say bl00dy fantastic. Been out and  about and the place is awesome.
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on January 31, 2014, 05:59:35 PM
how are the myswag members up in the cyclone affected areas at the moment ???
saw it on sunrise this morning and it just looked pretty wet
Post by: sol on January 31, 2014, 06:26:42 PM
how are the myswag members up in the cyclone affected areas at the moment ???
saw it on sunrise this morning and it just looked pretty wet

I know my daughter is happy it's over.
She was here when Yasi came through and was expecting the same in Townsville.
A bit of rain and wind was all they got where she was.

Post by: MattNQ on January 31, 2014, 10:44:01 PM

This has been floating around facebook. Sums up Townsville.  ;D
High tide was higher in the usual areas though.

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/t1/1002377_10151951435547309_582017702_n.jpg)

Further south copped a bit more  of a flogging though. I saw some pics of Keppel Island off Yeppoon - The wild waves have undermined & damaged some of the buildings.

Apparently there was a reason the cyclone moved south - Campbell Newman was in town.. ;D ;D

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/t1/s526x395/1623748_643545582369681_966808398_n.png)
Post by: Pog on January 31, 2014, 11:28:18 PM
32 degrees at midnight the last 2 x nights... It's not easy to get a good nights sleep. Maybe a belly full of p!ss tonight after a session @ the club will help? Hopefully the kids leave daddy alone in the morning...
Post by: GeoffA on February 02, 2014, 08:03:46 AM
It's just magnificent this morning. A bit of fog, lifting with the sun. :cup:

Gunna warm up later, though.....
Post by: sol on February 02, 2014, 08:57:23 AM
We had one good storm yesterday. :D
30 mls in 10 minutes  :cup:

Post by: speewa158 on February 02, 2014, 09:03:42 AM
A gently breeze is coming out of SA heading for Melb 80 to 90 KM predicted  :cheers:  Hang on  :cup:
Post by: sol on February 03, 2014, 09:58:29 AM
Babinda got over 400mls of rain in the last 24 hrs :cup:

Post by: SambOz on February 03, 2014, 10:20:55 AM
East of Melbourne by a few 100 kms, 36C yesterday, supposedly 40C+ today, 20C tomorrow and probably some snow on the peaks.....well not quite, two seasons is nice enough ! 
Post by: D4D on February 03, 2014, 10:51:44 AM
Just dropped 10 degrees in 10 minutes, still hot though...
Post by: Doweymex on February 03, 2014, 06:44:43 PM
Kept kids in at lunchtime because of extreme heat...could just about have a jumper now and just saw a dog get blown off a chain...
Post by: muzza01 on February 03, 2014, 06:51:41 PM
175mm of rain here at home in the last 24hours.  :cup:
Should keep the lawn green for a while.
Post by: Pog on February 03, 2014, 07:09:51 PM
175mm of rain here at home in the last 24hours.  :cup:
Should keep the lawn green for a while.

I haven't had more than 5 mm in a day since the 1st of October last year. The Renmark weather station says we have had a few rain events, but they have missed Renmark. The BOM weather station is about 7 km out of town.
Post by: Bunyip on February 04, 2014, 06:35:24 AM
I actually had to use the windscreen wipers on the way to work today. Not for long and not very heavy but a little rain is better than nothing.

Pity it was falling mainly through the Parkes township rather than on the farms.

Post by: sol on February 08, 2014, 08:09:28 PM
We've had over 300 mls of rain since 3pm yesterday.
I heard Babinda had more :cup:
Flood warnings out for the Herbert, Tully, Johnstone Rivers.

Post by: D4D on February 08, 2014, 08:10:59 PM
We haven't had 300 mls of rain in the last 6 months :(
Post by: discoteddy on February 08, 2014, 08:23:54 PM
We haven't had 300 mls of rain in 6 the last months :(

Yep know the feeling mate we've had 6 mls this year and an unseasonably hot summer!

Disco teddy
Post by: Mace on February 08, 2014, 08:42:20 PM
20C and raining!

Post by: Pog on February 08, 2014, 08:45:07 PM
45 degrees again today.
A couple of cool days (mid 30s) forecast, then another week of 40+...
Post by: SteveandViv on February 08, 2014, 11:01:30 PM
Babinda got over 400mls of rain in the last 24 hrs :cup:

Wow That is awesome. I think we might do the same over the next few days but 400 in 24 is a lot of water. Are you still on land or floating  ;D
Post by: bert56 on February 09, 2014, 04:36:41 AM
Awoke this morning to sound of water flowing in the downpipes, it is bucketing down.

I was supposed to check crabpots, I am going to give it a miss.

Bert
Post by: Coolblue80 on February 09, 2014, 05:52:45 AM
Awoke this morning to sound of water flowing in the downpipes, it is bucketing down.

I was supposed to check crabpots, I am going to give it a miss.

Bert
Been p*ssing down since about 2 this morning. We've had about 3 inches since 9am Saturday til this morning. Plus the 100mm last Friday.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: sol on February 09, 2014, 06:36:33 AM
45 degrees again today.

Are those temps common for this time of year down there?

Stay safe mate.

Post by: speewa158 on February 09, 2014, 08:08:14 AM
43C yesterday  , 28C overnight , & warmish again today @42C  might rip a top or 2 off through the day  :cheers:
Post by: scarps on February 09, 2014, 08:21:59 AM
Just received this, some hope
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/09/du8ypaba.jpg)
Post by: muzza01 on February 09, 2014, 08:28:05 AM
Rain, rain, rain. Here are some pics of the bridge that leads to my place yesterday.

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsd0edf0f0.jpg)

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsf1abc447.jpg)
Post by: sol on February 09, 2014, 08:29:06 AM

Good news mate?
   I'd like to send some of the rain your way.
   We've had enough now.

Post by: sol on February 09, 2014, 08:33:48 AM
Rain, rain, rain. Here are some pics of the bridge that leads to my place yesterday.

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsd0edf0f0.jpg)

(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsf1abc447.jpg)

G'day muzza, wow you must have got some rain overnight mate.
We were down there yesterday til 11am and it was overcast.

Post by: muzza01 on February 09, 2014, 08:40:47 AM
Yeah got another 180 mm on Fri night and approx 600mm over the last week.
You guys in Tully have had more than us haven't you?
Post by: D4D on February 09, 2014, 08:41:40 AM
No wonder your grass is so green!
Post by: sol on February 09, 2014, 08:44:25 AM
Yeah got another 180 mm on Fri night and approx 600mm over the last week.
You guys in Tully have had more than us haven't you?

The FIL says we've had almost a metre in the last 10 days.
 That's his reading mate, but I know we've had heaps. ;D

Post by: Hairs on February 09, 2014, 05:47:52 PM
Hasn't rain here since early January, The Clarence Valley.
Ok, a few showers here and there, but nothing to get excited about.
Watched LandLine today, A Dry Debate (http://www.abc.net.au/landline/content/2013/s3940776.htm)
Hmmm, and I thought it was dry here, I had heard that west of the range farmers had been struggling, A bloke I know has completely de-stocked near Tamworth and have heard stories of other doing the same.
And the amount of cattle that are being agisted between Grafton & Lawrence is noticeable in the paddocks.
Paddocks that have barely any cattle on them are full.
The grass in our 2 acre paddock is dead, we hand feed our old boy(He is a 39 year old stock horse), haven't mowed since before Christmas.
Our thoughts are with all those on the land that are again struggling to stay on the land.
Post by: Moggy on February 09, 2014, 06:17:05 PM
Been pi$$in down hear all day. My guess would be 200 mm +/-

Sent from my XT905 using Tapatalk

Post by: Nomad on February 09, 2014, 06:28:01 PM
We had about 5 hrs of drizzle. My tanks are full and the new turf watered for a few days at least.  :cup:
Post by: sol on February 09, 2014, 06:48:27 PM

How did you guys go?
 Any rain mate?

Post by: sol on February 09, 2014, 06:50:48 PM
Wow That is awesome. I think we might do the same over the next few days but 400 in 24 is a lot of water. Are you still on land or floating  ;D

G'day Steve.

Are you guys getting another cyclone over there?

Post by: chookduck on February 09, 2014, 06:51:57 PM
Freakin' hot and very dry in ACT. 38 again today.  Humidity below 20%. Another week of plus 35 for the nation's capital coming up.  Only rains if I turn on the sprinkler.
Post by: sol on February 10, 2014, 05:37:01 AM
Is there any rain on the horizon to help you guys out in Vic?

Post by: D4D on February 10, 2014, 05:46:39 AM
No significant rain in the long range forecast
Post by: sol on February 11, 2014, 05:02:04 PM
45 degrees again today.

G'day mate, any sign of rain down your way yet?

Post by: Pog on February 11, 2014, 08:43:06 PM
G'day mate, any sign of rain down your way yet?

HAHAHA - We have a wise cracker!  ;D ;D

Rain, folk in SA and Vic haven't seen 'rain' in months.... I think I would have to go back to October to find a decent rainfall event for our area. Whilst the towns Weather Station says we had some rain in December and January, it actually missed the town, and really only landed on the weather station which is about 7 - 8kms away...

Yesterday, forecasts had predicted we could get 40 - 60mm on Thursday / Friday, but today that was revised down to 5 - 10mm, and by tomorrow, any chance of rain will most likely evaporated - literally.

We hit 40 today, and forecast is for 43 tomorrow, so if you like it hot and dry - this is the best place in the country!
Post by: sol on February 11, 2014, 09:03:57 PM
Looking at the BOM site and it shows rain down your way and into Vic.

Post by: Diesel Power on February 11, 2014, 09:11:09 PM
We had 7 inches of rain on Sunday. Ive stopped telling my old man in Adelaide as gets annoyed with the amount of rain we get.
Angus.
Post by: D4D on February 11, 2014, 09:14:22 PM

It's a mirage :(
Post by: Black Diamond on February 11, 2014, 09:17:00 PM

Pfft the ground is that parched, it will evaporate before it hits ;D
Post by: Big Damo on February 12, 2014, 10:09:03 PM
Still hot.
Need some bloody rain, never thought I would wish for a cool change
Post by: smartyingreen on February 12, 2014, 11:48:28 PM
Still hot.
Need some bloody rain, never thought I would wish for a cool change

I'm with you on that Damo! The never thought bit. Oh yeah and the rain bit. Whoops nearly forgot, and the hot bit!

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Post by: sol on February 13, 2014, 06:30:24 AM
According to the weather guys a low and trough will bring heavy rain to S.A and Vic on Friday.  :cup:

Let's hope so  ;D

Post by: D4D on February 13, 2014, 06:43:34 AM
That equates to isolated showers, be lucky if we get a couple of mm
Post by: sol on February 13, 2014, 04:55:10 PM
Just watching the news. Rain rain and more rain for Vic and SA.  :cup:

Post by: D4D on February 13, 2014, 04:58:32 PM
Just watching the news. Rain rain and more rain for Vic and SA.  :cup:

Don't believe what you see, nothing today and it was supposed to rain...
Post by: speewa158 on February 13, 2014, 05:12:43 PM
Its as dry as a dead dingos donger  & very Smokey at present , no wind at all  :cheers:
Post by: Pog on February 13, 2014, 08:40:34 PM
It's been raing here constantly for the last 7 hours, and we have just got to 7mm! It's not heavy, but just enough to get wet if you stand in it long enough.

It looks like tomorrow could be the day we get a decent amount (more than 10mm).
Post by: Black Diamond on February 13, 2014, 08:53:34 PM
We need some desperately, my garden is starting to look like the Simpson Desert  ???
Post by: sol on February 13, 2014, 09:07:18 PM
It's been raing here constantly for the last 7 hours, and we have just got to 7mm! It's not heavy, but just enough to get wet if you stand in it long enough.

It looks like tomorrow could be the day we get a decent amount (more than 10mm).

Great news mate. :cup:

Post by: SteveandViv on February 13, 2014, 09:13:40 PM

G'day Steve.

Are you guys getting another cyclone over there?

Sorry for the late reply mate. We have had a low pressure system over here the last 5 days and it's rained and rained. The Roebuck Planes are flooded and the river have cut access down South and up to Fiztroy from here.. Loving it. Been quite the last two days though so we're due for a break
Post by: Banjo16 on February 14, 2014, 08:13:55 AM
10ml so far,hopeful a bit more to come.
Post by: sol on February 14, 2014, 04:26:13 PM
We need some desperately, my garden is starting to look like the Simpson Desert  ???

Are you getting a drop or two now?

Post by: smartyingreen on February 14, 2014, 05:31:37 PM
According to the BOM 54mm since 3pm yesterday, the forecast suggests it's continuing for a few more hours yet tonight. Bring on the weeds.

Post by: sol on February 14, 2014, 05:35:54 PM
According to the BOM 54mm since 3pm yesterday, the forecast suggests it's continuing for a few more hours yet tonight. Bring on the weeds.

Good stuff mate.
    Not a cloud in the sky here for the first time in a month. ;D

Post by: D4D on February 14, 2014, 06:15:23 PM
Blowing a gale in Port Fairy
Post by: Nomad on February 14, 2014, 07:02:18 PM
Camping D4D?
Post by: Pog on February 14, 2014, 07:12:37 PM

Smarty - Just checked my gauge, 75mm since 7:00am today and 17mm last night, (thats pretty much 92mm in 24hrs) with a little bit more to come.

Our Annual Rainfall is around 250mm, so we have had 1/3rd of our annual rainfall in 2 x days.

For the last month, I have been running air conditioners trying to stay cool, now I am running pumps, pumping stormwater out of the yard and trying to keep it from going under the house!
Post by: sol on February 14, 2014, 07:42:36 PM
Smarty - Just checked my gauge, 75mm since 7:00am today and 17mm last night, (thats pretty much 92mm in 24hrs) with a little bit more to come.

Our Annual Rainfall is around 250mm, so we have had 1/3rd of our annual rainfall in 2 x days.

For the last month, I have been running air conditioners trying to stay cool, now I am running pumps, pumping stormwater out of the yard and trying to keep it from going under the house!

Is that good? ;D

Post by: D4D on February 14, 2014, 07:50:48 PM
Camping D4D?

Glamping :)
Post by: Pog on February 14, 2014, 08:16:37 PM
  Is that good? ;D

The rain is nice for the garden, but unfortunately in this area, most crops are being harvested (almonds, wine grapes , stone fruit) and this rain is not good for them.

I would rather the water didn't get under my house, as it causes the soil to move, and then the house moves.
Post by: evans52 on February 14, 2014, 08:22:10 PM
The top pic is from Sunday night, the bottom pic is from this afternoon at about 2pm. Yesterday it was 40oC today got to 26oC. Mother nature at her finest.

Disregard the text, I didn't write it.

(http://i896.photobucket.com/albums/ac168/evans052/1016430_206164236259160_519882347_n_zps4aa01350.jpg) (http://s896.photobucket.com/user/evans052/media/1016430_206164236259160_519882347_n_zps4aa01350.jpg.html)
Post by: sol on February 14, 2014, 08:45:19 PM
So that mean the drought is broken in SA?

Post by: Pog on February 14, 2014, 09:21:10 PM
So that mean the drought is broken in SA?

I'm not sure I'd go that far, but we have had close to 100mm in about 28 hrs.

The rain has now stopped, and for the sake of a lot of our fruit growers in the area, I hope it comes in windy for the next 48 hrs to dry out the trees or vines, other wise this season will turn into a disaster with disease destroying the crops at the beginning of harvest.
Post by: discoteddy on February 15, 2014, 08:15:49 PM
Raining in Canberra as I type, up until now we'd only had 10 mls for the year, not as dry as some but very dry for here.

Disco teddy.
Post by: Hairs on February 15, 2014, 08:29:11 PM
Bone dry here, what has fallen from the sky today has evaporated as soon has it hit the ground.
78% humidity atm, feels like 1000% and not a breath of wind to be felt.
 :-[
Post by: sol on February 18, 2014, 08:14:04 AM
Anyone on here at the moment?
Wow! How much rain have you guys got in the last 12 hrs :D

Post by: RobM on February 18, 2014, 08:16:14 AM
Great weather here in Townsville
Over 150mm overnight
Post by: D4D on February 18, 2014, 08:21:09 AM
No rain here, they say we'll get some mid week, that's what they said last week...
Post by: RobM on February 18, 2014, 08:26:27 AM
Told us we would get 10-20
Sometimes I'm happy for them to be wrong
Post by: sol on March 14, 2014, 08:50:07 PM
We're at Kurrimine Beach this weekend. ;D
Nice breeze blowing few sand flies and clear skies.
The Tawny Ports going down very easy :cup:

Post by: sol on April 11, 2014, 09:03:02 PM
What's it like up there in Cairns, Atherton, Mareeba, Herberton, Ravenshoe and towns in between?

Stay safe guys.

Post by: FNQBunyip on April 11, 2014, 09:21:23 PM
all good sofar .. had 55mm 06:30 to 18:00 , just under 25 since..the odd gust , but nothing to make us hide out just yet ..

Post by: shakey55 on April 11, 2014, 10:23:32 PM
I'm at lakes entrance. Been pouring heavy all day. Had our last down pour around 8:30pm then the skies have started to clear. Fingers crossed

Post by: scarps on April 12, 2014, 07:14:00 AM
Sunrise on the Murray River at Tocumwal

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/12/3y3y5y5a.jpg)
Post by: ozstickman on April 12, 2014, 07:15:43 AM
I'm at work but it's still a nice day!
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/12/qudazy6a.jpg)

Post by: sol on April 12, 2014, 08:00:19 AM
Sunrise on the Murray River at Tocumwal

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/12/3y3y5y5a.jpg)

I like your hot water system mate :cup:

Post by: scarps on April 12, 2014, 08:16:56 AM

I like your hot water system mate :cup:

thnx, made by CUB, or at least that's the brand on the side
Post by: duggie on April 12, 2014, 09:47:09 AM
It has not stopped raining since yesterday afternoon, more coming as the Cyclone Ita comes closer to the Atherton Tableland's area. I will have to spend the day in my shed giving the Old Girl a bit of TLC.
Post by: sol on April 12, 2014, 10:18:31 AM
It has not stopped raining since yesterday afternoon, more coming as the Cyclone Ita comes closer to the Atherton Tableland's area. I will have to spend the day in my shed giving the Old Girl a bit of TLC.

Just heard the Gilles and Kuranda Ranges are closed

Post by: Bongo on April 13, 2014, 12:12:51 AM
Barkley - Bewdiful!
Post by: Clouty on April 13, 2014, 03:35:39 PM
Been raining for about 2hrs now..
Might be an early day at work tomorrow.. Woohoo
Post by: sol on April 13, 2014, 04:48:58 PM
We got around 200mls of rain last nite and a bit of wind.
Hot and very humid one now though. ;D