Author Topic: AND THE CAMPERTRAILER OF THE YEAR COULD BE..?  (Read 5938 times)

AND THE CAMPERTRAILER OF THE YEAR COULD BE..?
« on: November 25, 2010, 01:17:48 PM »
What would you buy under $20,000 and why.   ;D

Re: AND THE CAMPERTRAILER OF THE YEAR COULD BE..?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2010, 01:24:21 PM »
A Cavalier.

They have been around since the 1980's, are a very well made product, and their head office is just a few minutes from where I live!!

Kelly, one of the guys there, is just a top bloke too and always says hello and remembers my name every time I see him at a show - and I don't even own one of their campers!

Offline Tracey family

« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2010, 01:45:54 PM »
Our Trackabout deluxe tourer with several extras was well under $20000 and I wouldn't swap it.

Tough as nails trailer, quality Aussie tent that is easy to put up, optional extras like water tank, battery setup and drifta kitchen so there isn't really anything else we need and fantastic service from JT.

Couldn't be happier.

:laugh:  :cheers:  :laugh: Glenyse

Offline schmik

« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2010, 02:12:08 PM »
A 2nd hand, used twice, $13k camper for $10k and boat for $10k. Or maybe not a boat but an already build $10k suzuki sierra to flog in hardcore tracks.
Why?
Because to me $20k is ridiculous for a tent on wheels.

Or maybe a $10k troopie, $2k roof top tent + camper conversion in the rear (boot). It would sleep me and 3 (very short kids) and i wouldn't have to tow anything.

mike

« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2010, 05:41:44 PM »

A 25 year old Aussie Swag? 

Go The Swag!!

Offline kiwipete

« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2010, 07:50:03 PM »
For something special
http://www.explorercampers.com.au/
under $20k

KiwiPete
1991 HDJ80
Explorer Campers & Canvas - Lawson Off Road
Canberra

Offline Rod Camping

• 2009 Lifestyle Extenda-2011 Nissan Patrol ST Wagon
« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2010, 06:31:22 AM »
A lifestyle Extenda....

They are great campers.

« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2010, 07:47:43 AM »
Dno, What requirements do need in a camper trailer? This might help others answer you question.

good luck

« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2010, 08:26:00 AM »
G,day GU Rich.  Been reading post's on here, and a lot of people think there should have been a under $20,000 CT of the year, Im just intersted in if you were in the market for a new CT or going to up date what would people buy , not so much what have you got now, because a lot of people have started  with a little cheapie then move up.  SO ROLL UP AND PUT IT OUT THERE  wich CT would you buy, if you had to spend the money.  ;D

« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2010, 08:32:00 AM »
A Challenge outback Deluxe for 13k then 7k on fuel to get it dirty.   :cheers: Cracka

Offline xmasbaby67

« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2010, 09:14:28 AM »
The new 2010 Deluxe Off Road Customline with 12ft tent & full annexe, water tank, brakes, power, innerspring, pole carriers, kitchen with checkerplate lockable door and any other extras I could get for the money!!!!!

NB: We currently have a 2009 Customline but if I had been given the budget of $20K I would now upgrade to the new model as the annexe is higher and the bed window is not slanted. Also this was the CT we had wanted from the word go & after heaps of research we kept coming back to this one. WE LOVE IT!!!!!
2009 12ft CUSTOMLINE towed by 2005 VX Prado

« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2010, 09:02:13 PM »
I myself would buy one of those trackabout extended jobie's. side fold with the walk way just under the money and customize it up later.  Or maybe trackabout trailer some cavalier canvas work and rear fold tent to the design of outbackcamper's, could probly do this with change to spare... :cup:..COM ON WHAT WOULD YOU DO..... ;D
« Last Edit: November 26, 2010, 09:27:01 PM by dno »

Offline Pebble

« Reply #12 on: November 28, 2010, 10:45:25 AM »
An Ultimate cut in half? Lol ;D

For sub 20k we purchased an All Terrain Camper Trailer a few years ago, but had to sell, Complete Campsite was the closest consideration at the time.
Right now for $20k hmmm lots of choice out there, the above two would get a look in again if they are still in that price range!
2015 LC Dual Cab
2017 Trakmaster Gibson

« Reply #13 on: November 28, 2010, 10:55:49 AM »
G'day Pebble. coulple nice choice's there.  ;D

Offline terryc

« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2010, 12:07:46 PM »
G,day GU Rich.  Been reading post's on here, and a lot of people think there should have been a under $20,000 CT of the year

No point in buying the magazine if there isn't report on this market. If I can not buy a decent, simple first CT for well under $20K, then it would make more sense to just buy any old trailer and try a range of tents on top of it. Add on crappy bling from fleabay/chnia just doesn't impress me.

« Reply #15 on: December 01, 2010, 01:34:41 PM »
The thing i found annoying was i could not see the price of the winner in the $20.000 to $35.000 , so if it was $10.000 more to buy than one of the other's, that's nearly the price or more than the price in some case's of another trailer (chinese)  . So are you comparing apple's with apple's  ?? .

monique

« Reply #16 on: December 04, 2010, 09:18:18 AM »
The All Terrain Camper Trailer that won the $20,000- $35,000 bracket is priced at $28,000 incl GST. Just an oversight by the publishers i reckon

Offline Phantomxr8

« Reply #17 on: December 05, 2010, 06:07:22 PM »
Well I voted with my wallet and the XTrail Ranger with the new 9ft tent, kitchen, batteries, independent coil suspension ect was the winner, came in under the 20k mark with enough change for a nice trip away  :cup:

Offline kiwipete

« Reply #18 on: September 24, 2011, 06:35:37 PM »
For something special
under $20k

I actually just got back home to Canberra from being up at Gosford getting a Topical Roof fitted to our Lawson OffRoad camper, What a piece of art...

These are one of the very few totally Aussie made Campers, The Canvas made in here, Scott hand sows every stitch and the trailers are built over the road, Andrew took me and my Son for a tour today and what a setup.....  and what a great team....  I even met a new Explorer Owner who is just about to head off for his first trip away with his wife to SA... nice  :)  With a bit of luck he might just join My Swag to help make the numbers of   "Explorer Campers and Canvas" Camping trailers  check out their site   http://www.explorercampers.com.au/
We on the other hand are off to Yadbro next weekend...  and then to Bendethra...

Under $20K I don't think you can get a better buy... 
KiwiPete
1991 HDJ80
Canberra

Offline Prado BB

« Reply #19 on: September 24, 2011, 06:45:53 PM »
Under $20K I don't think you can get a better buy... 

You can or you can't? ???
Cheers Andy

A diplomat is someone who can tell you to go to hell in such a way, that you look forward to the journey.

« Reply #20 on: September 24, 2011, 08:58:07 PM »
You can or you can't? ???

kiwipete's saying you can't, or another way...to get something better, you'll need more than 20k!

Offline kiwipete

« Reply #21 on: September 25, 2011, 07:45:58 AM »
kiwipete's saying you can't, or another way...to get something better, you'll need more than 20k!

Thanks for that translation....  We an't all Public Servants in Canberra and Gramma isn't always the best ....   However gives me chance to say that there are other Aussie Built Trailers out there for less than what we paid and possibly many that I have not seen to compare and I am sure that they also are great value for money and are equal in an Explorer...  But the question s was under $20k Our trailer wasn't $18k but bloody close to it, If I had gotten power on board and the Tropical Roof it would have come close to $20K (I am currently wiring it up myself, I just wanted the 12volt experience)....   next time you see Explorer Camper and Canvas at a Show have a look yourself and let me know what you think...

Andrew said yesterday that they will be at the Canberra show on the 29th Oct, Queabeyan next year and Batemans Bay.. So drop in say say Pete sent you :)

Bloody hell with all the advertising I am giving them you would expect a Coffee Cup or a Stbby Holder, I could do with a cap (hair is thinning)....  :)

KiwiPete
1991 HDJ80
Canberra