New member requests; if you do not receive a confirmation email first check your spam filter, or if not within 7 days, email admin@myswag.org with your details.  We get a lot of spam applications, and sometimes legitimate request get marked as spam as well.

Need a new lunch esky.

Started by nab, December 02, 2019, 10:33:51 PM

nab

I've been using my small old esky for a few years and it's been ok, handle and lid have recently broken.
It's also struggling on 30+ degree days, ice packs defrosted by lunchtime. It was a promo product from a supplier so I can't get the same one again.

Any suggestions? 10-15L size should do the job. It usually lives in the car or rear canopy so has to deal with those heat conditions.

Pete79

Can't really go wrong with any of the roto molded ones.

I had 2x 15L Bunnings ones that I used in the back of my little Jimny (they were the only ones that fitted behind the seats) and they kept ice for about 2 or 3 days in the summer and about a week in the cooler months.

Around this part of the world Tropical Ice boxes are one of the best local eskies. https://www.tropicaliceboxes.com/shop/4/44/tropical-ice-box-10litre-second.html

I used to have an Evakool 110L as well, it was a great esky, just too big for us. I expect their smaller units would also be good quality.

bmwfreak

We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21'6" On The Move TRAXX Series 2

edz

A mate set up  a WAECO 35 he got on discount  + extra off deal, coupled it with a 180W solar panel, in the box on his truck [ Does have foam insulation inside the box and vented .. Ice cold drinks etc,    hasnt missed a beat now for about 5 years .. Truck lives in the sun all day everyday on building sites.

sharkcaver

Go see Aaron at Go camping Overlanding, Erindale Rd, Balcatta. He is producing some mint roto moulded eskies, not sure if he does any that small though??

Tell him I sent ya.

https://www.facebook.com/GoCampingwa/posts/2738998176165595

An NX Paj, a D-Max and an Ultimate X-trk

http://sharkcaver.blogspot.com.au/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoz71vk1CWl6lp6Tv3dXhkQ/videos?sort=dd&view=0&shelf_id=0

Marcus73

I carry a 13lt Dometic in my van for work. During summer I'll freeze a 1 litre bottle of water and it keeps everything cool all day easily

nab

Cheers guys, just found a $40 BCF voucher at home so looks like I'll be getting it from there. The dometic  one looks the goods.

I could probably keep the 12v one going off my second battery, no room for solar panel though.

Red roads have good gear but I think the bcf voucher wins out!!!

nab

Ended up with a Dometic 13L jobbie. So far it works well, sitting in the cab all day on a 35° day, te 2 ice packs we still hald frozen by the time I got home in the arvo. It's a big unit though but obviously the insulation works.