Author Topic: Health scare  (Read 3494 times)

Health scare
« on: November 03, 2017, 01:46:58 PM »
Well not really as it appears I’m a little uneducated.

Background.....I have been on a mission to drop some weight, started at 110.2kg and now I’m 94kg ~16kg or there about over 15 weeks or so.

As I travel a lot for work I have had a couple of work colleagues ask if I was OK, confused I ask what to you mean? they said health wise as I’ve lost a lot of weigh......it actually sticks in the back of your mind when a few people ask.....I.e. cancer

Recently as part of my health approach is to have a cold press juice every morning.....well I have been loading it up with beetroot....along with many other ingredients.

You see where I’m heading.....

Given people have been asking if I’m OK I’ve checking the loo after I’ve been.....of late the  I have been noticing some changes....than a big change. 

Dopey me didn’t know beetroot changes the colour in water.......must say I didn’t think it was blood as it was purplish.

Oh well at least that’s settled.

Offline Ben.Archer

Re: Health scare
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2017, 01:49:28 PM »
Just try adding Guinness to your diet and see what that does at the other end.....  Too many Rugby Tours in Dublin  ;D  :cheers: :cheers:
2015 Land Rover Discovery 4
2000 90 Series Toyota Prado RV6
2013 MDC Off Road Step-Through V3 - Heavily modded and I am only just starting :-)

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2017, 05:48:16 PM »
I have beetroot on my sandwiches every day ( for 30 yrs ) and have never noticed any difference . How much of the stuff are you consuming ??  ;D

Even though I have family history, and get a colonoscopy done every 5 yrs, it's not a bad idea to get one at around the 50yr mark !!
What it can pick up is polyps......they might take 5, 10 or 20 yrs to develop, but it can nip them in the bud early.

Funny how we spend more money on our 4wd's , but ignore our own engines !!

« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2017, 07:04:10 PM »
I must confess! I DO LOVE Beetroot!
But only Golden Circle! that Edgels stuff sucks BIG TIME!

« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2017, 09:31:27 PM »

Ha ha, I buy woolies brand stuff...all tastes the same to me !!

« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2017, 10:06:00 PM »
I have beetroot on my sandwiches every day ( for 30 yrs ) and have never noticed any difference . How much of the stuff are you consuming ??  ;D

Even though I have family history, and get a colonoscopy done every 5 yrs, it's not a bad idea to get one at around the 50yr mark !!
What it can pick up is polyps......they might take 5, 10 or 20 yrs to develop, but it can nip them in the bud early.

Funny how we spend more money on our 4wd's , but ignore our own engines !!

One whole fresh beetroot.....maybe juicing it is the reason.

A google search also confirms  the that beetroot juice will have an effect.

« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2017, 11:00:27 PM »
The missus just told me that fresh beetroot will affect the colour of urine whereas the canned stuff won't...

« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2017, 11:21:00 PM »
The missus just told me that fresh beetroot will affect the colour of urine whereas the canned stuff won't...

Was she enjoying the moment, when she told you that?

Offline Ragman

« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2017, 12:30:35 AM »
fresh beetroot definitely will give you a colour change for 1's & 2's
after eating it fresh grated on my sandwich the canned stuff doesn't cut the mustard me anymore.

« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2017, 07:08:24 AM »
fresh beetroot definitely will give you a colour change for 1's & 2's
after eating it fresh grated on my sandwich the canned stuff doesn't cut the mustard me anymore.

Must admit the fresh stuff tastes completely different to canned. So used to the canned stuff, I can't stomach  fresh !!

Offline ATC

« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2017, 07:18:19 AM »
Must admit the fresh stuff tastes completely different to canned. So used to the canned stuff, I can't stomach  fresh !!
You have to peel fresh beetroot before jucing it, otherwise it tastes earthy (mud).
Wedge of lemon, skin and all also helps.

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk

« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2017, 01:41:04 PM »
Funny that you mention this at this time. A few days ago I had exactly the same situation. Had a bit of a crook gut for a couple of days and then forgot about having fresh beetroot from the garden, for tea the night before. Noticed the reddish tinge to the water when I flushed. Of course I had a bit of a panic attack when I saw that too. It does pay to be vigilant though.
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2017, 03:30:29 PM »
Mmmmmmmmmmmmm beetroot. Definitely has to be Golden Circle but I have noticed lately that the colour is not as bright as it used to be. They have changed something I reckon. I'll sit and eat a whole small tin in one sitting with my dinner if we are having rump and chips etc. Can't beat it on sangas and burgers.
Ya can beat an egg but you can't beat a r.......
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van