$$$ Become a MYSWAG.ORG Server Supporter by making a donation HERE $$$

New here seeking info

Started by Dazzaling, August 28, 2017, 09:35:21 PM

Dazzaling

Hi everyone my name is Darrin on the gold coast and i'm looking at buying my first camper trailer.
It seems that most of the new soft floor campers for the 7 to 10 k price range are all from china.
i know the all Aussie built ones cost a lot more but around 9 k is my budget. Does any one have any info or recommendations on what would be a good buy.
I have the Mrs, myself and 2 young girls. Have been looking at Emu and Black series campers but there are so many mixed reviews.
i'm ready to buy and anyone's input would be greatly appreciated. Or a good 2nd hand one.
My main requirements are off road and deep cycle batteries. Anything else i need i will add after a few adventures.

Welcome to myswag.  Good luck in your search for a CT.

Shit loads of used trailers around your budget and cheaper with tons of goodies that are Aussie made...

Bargains to be had.

Gday and welcome mate.

Dazzaling

Thanks for the welcome.
yes i've noticed a tonne of Aussie made stuff on here and i think that's the way i'll go.
As a hard working Aussie tradie i'm struggling with the idea of buying chinese. Don't think i can do it to myelf.

Watty2975

We bought a good quality second hand Aussie built trailer. Came with extras and we are going on 6 years of trouble free service ;D

Happy hunting
Landcruiser 200 TTD GXL with a few goodies & campomatic camper

trinityalyce

Hi Darrin, welcome to the forum!

Unfortunately I'm not much help with camper trailers. We've been tent campers for years, now heading for a caravan... Upgrade to a little luxury and all that. ;) Though there was a brief stint where we co-owned a soft floor camper... but it was rubbish!

If I was in your shoes I'd be looking for a second hand job. Heaps of good second hand gear from even the big brands getting around, that should be within your price range.

Good luck! :)

Where are you mate?  May be able to help with a recommendation.

noel_w

Reckon this would suit your needs to a tee.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=52797.0

It's on the Goldy too so local. My last CT was a Trackabout, couldn't fault it.

duggie

Hi ,

I can strongly support noel about the Trackabout range of soft floor camptrailers .

I am a very proud owner of a 2009 Trackabout Delux 4x4 camptrailer , bought it new , flogged the bloody thing along some of the roughest terrain/roads that are in the northern section of Australia and as yet have had only minor repairs/maintenance needed .

Top quality canvas , well built trailer and plenty of room for a family .

Dazzaling

Thanks every one and yes i do like the track about.
King Billy i'm in robina on the gold coast

Rumpig

Black Series used to be called GIC, maybe google their reviews to help choose between them and the Emu you are looking at. I have no experience with either brand by the way, so can't give personal experience on them. Have you looked at Mars campers?...i know a few owners that like theirs.

Quote from: duggie on August 29, 2017, 01:32:01 PM
Hi ,

I can strongly support noel about the Trackabout range of soft floor camptrailers .

I am a very proud owner of a 2009 Trackabout Delux 4x4 camptrailer , bought it new , flogged the bloody thing along some of the roughest terrain/roads that are in the northern section of Australia and as yet have had only minor repairs/maintenance needed .

Top quality canvas , well built trailer and plenty of room for a family .
What he said.

Welcome Darrin & Family,

The Trackabout would be a good buy, but look around as there will be a lot like that.