Author Topic: What ute - suggestions please  (Read 7317 times)

Offline Discoduck

What ute - suggestions please
« on: May 08, 2017, 10:07:07 PM »
I've been asked to look into replacing our Ford ute at work.
Needs are:
Must be automatic, four door.
Must be able to have a tray body and have a payload of 1000-1500kg. Payload is the stuff we can load onto it - not including the tray, fuel etc but REAL payload. It would not be unusual to need to carry 1400kg. Probably tow trailers sometimes too.
Probably preferred petrol rather than diesel.

So what options are there? Obviously I can name the major brands, but which ones do you know that can be configured to suit above list?

Look forward to some thoughts.
Thanks, Chris
Nissan Patrol GU 4.2TD
Trakmaster Nullarbor, Air suspension

Re: What ute - suggestions please
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2017, 10:10:18 PM »
F250 4 door. 
Not a cheap unit.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2017, 11:30:57 PM by Cruiser 105Tvan »

« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2017, 10:29:25 PM »
Mahindra.

« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2017, 10:51:17 PM »
Small Isuzu or Mitsubishi truck
Iveco Daily
Ford Transit
Mercedes Sprinter

Realistically, I don't think there is a 4 door ute that will have a 1000kg + payload after a tray and crew have been loaded up, and certainly very few will have 1400kg unless you go into the American utes.

Unfortunately, they're unlikely to be petrol unless one of the American ones.

Hope that helps a bit,

Ed
« Last Edit: May 08, 2017, 10:54:25 PM by Paddler Ed »

« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2017, 03:53:49 PM »
The Mercedes ute is a 1.5 tonner. Not sure they do a civilian twin cab yet though.
Edit. It's actually a 2 tonne payload with a 2.8 tonne rear axle. No twin cab though.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2017, 04:14:06 PM by GBC »

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2017, 04:53:24 PM »
Are there any GVM upgrades available to get any of the 'standard' dual-cabs over 1000kg payload?

What about a lazy axle?  (Suspect more trouble than it is worth)

Edit: ARB do GVM upgrades for Ranger/Bt50/Hilux.  Look to be a significant increase - not entirely sure what that translates to in terms of extra load in the tray.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2017, 04:56:06 PM by chisel »

« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2017, 07:07:04 PM »
 With the limited range of petrol Utes available on the market, maybe a V6 Hi Lux with a conversion from this company
http://www.sixwheeler.com.au

Offline GanG

• NEDSA
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2017, 07:18:41 PM »
Iveco Daily, (or the Isuzu/Fuso) I dont think any of the standard commercial utes will meet your 1.4 ton payload figure, you are in truck territory by a fair margin.
Light travels faster than sound............that's why some folks may appear bright until they speak

« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2017, 07:48:17 PM »
Iveco Daily, (or the Isuzu/Fuso) I dont think any of the standard commercial utes will meet your 1.4 ton payload figure, you are in truck territory by a fair margin.

Which is why I suggested the F250 4Door.
More dealer support, over more of the Country.
Your in need of at least a 2 1/2 tonne truck or bigger to get anywhere near the figures your talking about.
Iveco may have a vehicle that compares to or meets your specs.  Another Country wide Dealer network, already in place.
Isuzu will definitely have a small truck that meets your specs.  Also with a Dealer network Country wide.
Your utility reference Doesn't fit with your stated specs.
You may get near it with a  70 Ser. Utility with a suspension upgrade from J-Max Engineering.
But two people will have to sit on the tray if you insist on a crew of 4 on board.

Offline Discoduck

« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2017, 08:05:10 PM »
Thanks for all those replies. Looks like a tricky project.
Problem is this: we only ever have one company vehicle. It needs to carry four people as in the case of injury/sickness, we need a driver, the patient and 1st aider. They would not be carrying a load in this case. As for actual load carrying capacity, things would be 1100Lts wine in pallet tank (say 1150kg), or maybe 4 barrels of wine 4 x 300lts + 4 barrels at 40kg each, plus rack, so total around 1700-1800kgs.
The other problems these days is half the population can't drive manuals, and nearly all staff have car licence.
hmmmmmm ???
Nissan Patrol GU 4.2TD
Trakmaster Nullarbor, Air suspension

Offline mynance

« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2017, 08:20:46 PM »
Friend of mine had a Patrol ute rated for 9 tonnes

NT Pajero Avan Cruiseliner

« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2017, 08:23:15 PM »
Well you didn't say it was for carting wine around, that makes things completely different.....

Offline GanG

• NEDSA
« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2017, 08:30:27 PM »
Iveco can be "derated" on the rego to drive on car license, and they come in a 7 seat dual cab
Light travels faster than sound............that's why some folks may appear bright until they speak

« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2017, 08:32:38 PM »
Put the grog in a decent trailer?

« Reply #14 on: May 09, 2017, 08:35:46 PM »
Iveco can be "derated" on the rego to drive on car license, and they come in a 7 seat dual cab
Yeah but payload will be 1.5t or less depending on the tare. Anything with 2t payload will be a Lr/mr license - but you can tow it on a car license. Pretty stupid eh.

« Reply #15 on: May 09, 2017, 08:44:02 PM »
Well you didn't say it was for carting wine around, that makes things completely different.....

Yes, Pete your a winner!!!

Offline cheif carlos

« Reply #16 on: May 09, 2017, 10:32:14 PM »
I think Mercedes do just that in their Sprinter with an auto

They did them in a van or ute with a payload of up to 2300kg

I looked at one they are not a true 4x4 from memory and the back seat is very low
Need to get the backside into gear and get out camping

« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2017, 12:05:26 PM »
I think VW do their crafter in an AWD too - depends on which bits you want to compromise on I suppose.

« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2017, 12:41:31 PM »
Quote from: Discoduck
The other problems these days is half the population can't drive manuals, and nearly all staff have car licence.
sad isn't it! but I believe most councils have rules all cars must be Auto now for that reason... :(

« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2017, 01:00:57 PM »
We had it as a requirement at one place I worked that you held a manual licence - there was one automatic on the property at the time and it was an unregistered basher, everything else was manual.

Offline Merts

« Reply #20 on: May 10, 2017, 01:18:57 PM »
Friend of mine had a Patrol ute rated for 9 tonnes

I find that extremely difficult to believe.  ???
Towing a a National Campers 'Hermit 10' hybrid with an MQ Triton. Previously towed an Outback Campers 'Sturt' softfloor. (PM me if you want to buy the Sturt!)

« Reply #21 on: May 10, 2017, 01:49:35 PM »
I find that extremely difficult to believe.  ???

Reckon that'll be GCM not GVM. I raised an eyebrow too. GCM approaching 9T is common enough for 6 wheelers.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2017, 01:54:01 PM by GBC »

Offline Merts

« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2017, 02:23:07 PM »
Reckon that'll be GCM not GVM. I raised an eyebrow too. GCM approaching 9T is common enough for 6 wheelers.

Ahh. Yep. That would make sense.
Towing a a National Campers 'Hermit 10' hybrid with an MQ Triton. Previously towed an Outback Campers 'Sturt' softfloor. (PM me if you want to buy the Sturt!)

Offline mynance

« Reply #23 on: May 10, 2017, 06:31:12 PM »
Ahh. Yep. That would make sense.

Yes I'm sure it was gross combined mass, he had the lazy axle added to legally tow his 5th wheeler

He has now sold this built a slide on a new Patrol but he ended up with 2 tonne on the front axle so this time he has set it up with a lengthen and an extra driven axle all independent suspension.

Hasn't said what this has cost but it was the first one to be ADR compliant which in itself is expensive for engineering and paperwork.
This will make it cheaper for the next person to do.

Would of been much cheaper to use one of the American Utes.

Myles

NT Pajero Avan Cruiseliner

« Reply #24 on: May 10, 2017, 07:44:12 PM »
I was having lunch today and saw a Tundra parked across the road. Was going to suggest one of those for this thread, but a quick google search said they can tow a hell of a lot with that big V8, but they only have 700kg payload. Pretty sad really from such a Behemoth ute...