I've been hanging around here for a little while and now after I've had a bit of a rant, asked some dumb questions and given some bad advice I figured I'd better introduce myself properly.
I signed up here just to have a look around as our family are all made keen campers, but I was thinking I didn't really belong here.
You see we love 4WDing, exploring, bush camping and all the fun things of outdoor life.
But.......
We do our absolute best to avoid caravan parks, we don't drive a Cruiser or a Patrol and our trailer weighs less then 600kg fully loaded.
So should I just leave now??
Only joking.
I can see there's a great mix of people in here and I've been picking up some good ideas for our touring setup from you all.
Speaking of our setup
As I said we're mad keen campers, but we're tent campers through and through.
I'm here because I built a tough little custom trailer to drag our camping gear into any remote site that we want to go and check out.
My logic is that I want complete freedom to be able to take on any track that I want and camp at any site I want.
As most of you would know, there are so many great camping sites around this country that don't cater for camper trailers. There's always a short walk from the car to the camping area or the sites are too small or the just don't let you in with big trailers.
So I built my own compact little trailer that fits everything we need to remote camp for a week or more.
We're compact, so we can't go for months without stopping for supplies. But 10 days without seeing a town (or another person) is no worries for us.
Last year we spent 69 nights in a tent.
That included exploring all through NSW, a VIC high country trip and a lap of Tassie.
So that's G'day from me and I look forward to picking up some more tips and ideas from you all out there.
Couple of pics of my setup.