Author Topic: Rays and BCF to close stores  (Read 21910 times)

Offline JohnT

Rays and BCF to close stores
« on: May 31, 2016, 06:46:09 PM »
Did anyone else catch the news tonight? A story on Rays and BCF closing stores.. Could this be the end for them.

Re: Rays and BCF to close stores
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2016, 06:56:31 PM »
Been on the cards for a while, they can't make Rays profitable...

In a statement to the stock market, Super Retail Group, which owns Ray’s Outdoors stores, announced earlier this month that 12 stores would be re-branded to new-look RAYS stores, 16 would remain open and be converted to another brand within the group and the remaining 23 would be closed or converted depending on their financial status. The statement did not reveal plans for individual stores.

http://www.asx.com.au/asxpdf/20160505/pdf/43710nkyw8624q.pdf

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2016, 07:13:01 PM »
Unfortunately the writings on the wall for most bigbox operators. High rents, purely because of the space they require, and staff costs are killing that sector of retail, particularly when they are competing with online stores and the click and collect method. Harvey Norman saw it first and that's why each individual store has a separate franchise owner for each department.......Gerry is spreading the risk around.

I cringe every time an owner walks through my door saying that their showroom tenant is moving out and can I find another tenant. That exercise can take 1 to 2 years and the building is sitting there chewing its head off cost wise.

When you can run an online operation for less than half the rent and probably 25% of the staff costs it just doesn't make sense to have a shop front.

« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2016, 07:31:19 PM »
I went in to a new branded Rays it was crap!

Offline Watty2975

« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2016, 07:36:07 PM »
Rays Mackay was closing down a few weeks ago!
Landcruiser 200 TTD GXL with a few goodies & campomatic camper

Offline baggs71

• Waltzing Australia...one trip at a time.
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2016, 07:39:56 PM »
Mt Barker SA closed today I heard?

« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2016, 07:40:32 PM »
In the last 4 years, Rays have closed their Erina store, and now their Lake Haven store is closing at the end of June. That leaves the nearest as Castle Hill and Kotara IIRC for the NSW Central Coast.

There was an interesting piece on the [ur=http://www.smh.com.au/comment/how-kmart-ate-target-a-story-of-retail-cannibalism-20160531-gp85os.htmll]SMH website about KMart eating Target[/url] - I can see something similar with BCF and Ray's as there is not sufficient differentiation between the two stores.

Add in the appearance of Decathlon from Europe, and that's going to really shake up the market sector - I used them a lot in the UK and France over the last 20 years or so; at one point it was the cheapest way to get a Shimano XT or XTR groupset, you even got a free frame and forks! Not quite as good value as it was, but still pretty good when you understand their brand hierarchy.

« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2016, 07:44:43 PM »
No BCF Stores are closing that I have heard of.
Newly rebranded Ray's stores are not after seasoned campers such as this group.
SRG have BCF for the more experienced outdoors people.
The new Ray's are after the weekend tryer outers.
The people who want to try hiking, camping, fishing etc.
But they want to spend as little as possible to see if they like it.
Little $$ usually equates to not so expensive stuff.
SRG have been revamping some Rays stores, closing some Rays stores and relocating other Ray's stores for nearly 2 years.
So that actually makes it old news.
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2016, 07:46:13 PM »
I used to shop at Rays.

Then they started house-branding every item in the store as "Wild Country"... so I moved to Anaconda... bad move.  They're worse.

BCF... same deal.

Sorry... but if I want to buy brand name camping gear... then that's what I want... not "insert generic brand here".

Online is the way to go.
Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
2018 GXL 78 Troopy with Alu-Cab conversion
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2016, 07:46:55 PM »
I never understood why they competed against themselves.  Supercheap included.
It's silly when you Can buy the same item from Supercheap $200 cheaper than at bcf.
Hopefully most stores get rebranded rather than closing as to minimise job losses. 

Nick
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2016, 07:51:10 PM »
I used to shop at Rays.

Then they started house-branding every item in the store as "Wild Country"... so I moved to Anaconda... bad move.  They're worse.

BCF... same deal.

Sorry... but if I want to buy brand name camping gear... then that's what I want... not "insert generic brand here".

Online is the way to go.

Where is the like button, I am sick of businesses filling their shelves with self branded crap.

Offline archer63

• Live For Today
« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2016, 08:13:03 PM »
Was up at Mooloolaba a few weeks ago and bought an Amp-Fibian from the local Bunnings for $268....Ray's had them for $298.
If they were the same price or close to Bunnings I would have bought it there.

Offline feisty

« Reply #12 on: May 31, 2016, 08:33:21 PM »
I used to shop at Rays.

BCF... same deal.

Online is the way to go.
Totally agree. I visit rays bcf anaconda etc and there is just the same old crap. My love in life is buying camping paraphernalia that I may not need or use.
Home brand stuff spoils this.

I walk through the local big name stores and are basically bored.  Same old same old.

I love going into specialised hiking shops or country camping stores because they have interesting items that campers need or lust after.

The local bcf are having a clearance sale. Went in to have a look today and yawned.  Total country hike arama rugged ...... spare me.

Feel sorry for the staff that will lose their jobs though.
Feisty
Sahara 100TD & Pioneer Argyle

« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2016, 08:45:27 PM »
Totally agree. I visit rays bcf anaconda etc and there is just the same old crap. My love in life is buying camping paraphernalia that I may not need or use.

I walk through the local big name stores and are basically bored.  Same old same old.

I love going into specialised hiking shops or country camping stores because they have interesting items that campers need or lust after.

The local bcf are having a clearance sale. Went in to have a look today and yawned.  Total country hike arama rugged ...... spare me.

Some of the best camping, fishing and hunting stuff I have ever bought came from little out of the way shops.
Usually Mom and Pop shops.
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #14 on: May 31, 2016, 08:53:05 PM »
I used to shop at Rays.

BCF... same deal.

Online is the way to go.

There use to be a great little camping shop in a back street just off Pennant Hills Rd at Thornleigh. Sadly I don't think it is there anymore.

Offline campingaroundoz

• When smoking a fish, never inhale
    • Our big lap
« Reply #15 on: May 31, 2016, 08:59:22 PM »
Snowys in Adelaide the only way to go
Follow me camper pentacost
https://www.facebook.com/campingaroundoz

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #16 on: May 31, 2016, 09:09:41 PM »
There's a really good one in Launceston - Tas . In addition to the really top shelf ones , paddy Palin , mountain designs .
Or a ripper in Mansfield - small mum dad operation .
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

« Reply #17 on: May 31, 2016, 09:19:28 PM »

Online is the way to go.

Thats why stores are closing.  We all want bargains for reputable brands. Then in ten years we will all be complaining that everything is online and no stores to visit. Next we will be complaining everything is coming from China..... hang on we do that now  ;D ;D ;D

scrapsD40

« Reply #18 on: May 31, 2016, 09:34:13 PM »
I went in to a new branded Rays it was crap!

« Reply #19 on: May 31, 2016, 09:36:42 PM »
Thats why stores are closing.  We all want bargains for reputable brands. Then in ten years we will all be complaining that everything is online and no stores to visit. Next we will be complaining everything is coming from China..... hang on we do that now  ;D ;D ;D

True as this is I refuse to pay inflated prices for Chinese crap I can get for 10% of the price online so if I want cheap stuff that I am willing to take a gamble on and throw out then online it is.  If I want quality stuff, need advice, fitting or aftermarket support I will happily buy it from a quality (non big box) store to support local small business.

« Reply #20 on: May 31, 2016, 09:39:23 PM »

Same......

Best camping shops I have been into are the Newsagency / Haberdashery / Camping store in Winton......dusty old shop with different stuff and packed to the rafters. In NZ last year walked into a camping store in Rotorua and it was full of awesome stuff from diving to shooting and all high quality branded gear. I am not big into guns but that was really interesting to see.......

« Reply #21 on: May 31, 2016, 09:46:42 PM »
Quote from: Burnsy
Where is the like button, I am sick of businesses filling their shelves with self branded crap.

2 Coles stores I went to tonight had no milk but their own brand...

Quote from: Bill
Some of the best camping, fishing and hunting stuff I have ever bought came from little out of the way shops.
Usually Mom and Pop shops.
I'll agree with that.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2016, 09:48:42 PM by Bird »

The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans

« Reply #22 on: May 31, 2016, 10:36:48 PM »

This post sums it all up very well....

Have a close look at 'category killer' Spotlight and their party section - Sparties....   

Shocking crap service and (most) products crap for both.....  But in the meanwhile they have destroyed every  independent mom & pop craft and haberdashery store...   because "all the morans" (sorry) wanted a bargain. ...   now the independent party shops are falling in the same way as the independent craft shops. ....   that's down to the Sparties element of Spotlight - as well as what Big W etc are doing in the craft and party categories ..........

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #23 on: May 31, 2016, 10:41:37 PM »
2 Coles stores I went to tonight had no milk but their own brand...
I'll agree with that.

No one should be going to Coles to get milk (or any other Australian grown produce for that matter), I am surprised you went to two of them, are there no independent stores over that side of the island?

« Reply #24 on: May 31, 2016, 10:49:29 PM »

yep me too