Author Topic: Australian beer, your favorite?  (Read 27434 times)

Offline qlddsl

Re: Australian beer, your favorite?
« Reply #25 on: May 05, 2016, 11:02:32 AM »
Swapping around abit at the moment, Matsos sessions 3.5(mid) Matsos Mango beer ( only a couple because it's very sweet) and 150 lashes
if i dont need 4wd, i ain't going!!!

« Reply #26 on: May 05, 2016, 11:07:52 AM »
Swapping around abit at the moment, Matsos sessions 3.5(mid) Matsos Mango beer ( only a couple because it's very sweet) and 150 lashes
Try Matsos Chilli beer... It's not bad if you're a fan of chillis. I made some home brew chilli beer many years ago, nowhere near as much bite as Matso's though
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan.

Offline sparkieqld

« Reply #27 on: May 05, 2016, 11:11:47 AM »
As my late father in law said "there is no such thing as a bad beer, only some are better than others". Over the years my taste has changed, I drank Carlton Draught, Courage, Richmond Bitter even Ballarat Bertie. These days my preference is for the Tasmanian Beers in winter, in order of preference, Boags Draught, Boags Premium, Cascade Premium then the Cascade Pale Ale. In the warmer weather not much beats a XXXX Gold.

Your father in law must have got lucky and never had the mis fortune to try TUN beer, I gave it away after my first can and even the people I gave it to threw it away, blowing the "any free beer is a good beer" theory out of the water.
I can be a cranky old bugga so if I offended anyone I apologize, but you probably deserved it.

« Reply #28 on: May 05, 2016, 11:19:06 AM »
never had the mis fortune to try TUN beer

& then there's Southwark  ???

Only tried it once, many years ago when there was a beer strike on in Qld (early '80s?), so we were desperate :D

Have to say we were all happy to say no that's enough for me, thanks!  >:D

On the opposite end of the scale, XXXX Summer is a very tasty drop, but can be hard to find.

« Reply #29 on: May 05, 2016, 11:28:43 AM »
I had the misfortune of buying a box of Resch's wrong once.......

Offline sparkieqld

« Reply #30 on: May 05, 2016, 12:16:18 PM »
& then there's Southwark  ???

Only tried it once, many years ago when there was a beer strike on in Qld (early '80s?), so we were desperate :D

Have to say we were all happy to say no that's enough for me, thanks!  >:D

On the opposite end of the scale, XXXX Summer is a very tasty drop, but can be hard to find.

Ha I remember it well, it was December 1978, the year I finished school and come to live on the goldie, I thought it was a magical place with beer from all over Australia, then the strike finished and all you could get was rubbish in a yellow can. http://www.myswag.org/Smileys/classic/cry.gif
I can be a cranky old bugga so if I offended anyone I apologize, but you probably deserved it.

Offline paulo

« Reply #31 on: May 05, 2016, 12:58:33 PM »
Toohey's Old, Cascade Stout, XXXX Summer Lager with the Lime in it, White Rabbit Dark Ale, James Squires Golden Ale, Sheaf Stout, Any of the Cooper's, and if anyone sees Quickdraw Lager, have one. We had some the other night at the pub after hockey and it was very nice.

Offline EagleBoy

« Reply #32 on: May 05, 2016, 01:13:38 PM »
Another vote for the White Rabbit range, epecially the Dark Ale, also Coopers Pale Ale, Tooheys Old and Stone & Wood Pacific Ale.

All of this beer talk is harsh when beer o'clock is still some ways off.
2016 Amarok TDI420 Core
2015 Jayco Expanda 14.44-4

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #33 on: May 05, 2016, 04:00:43 PM »
Only VB or Carlton Draught is welcome in my fridge.

 I'm a VB man through and through, but i did switch to Carltons when they changed the recipe of VB a few years ago.
Glad they went back to the original formula, now it's nothing but green in my fridges ;D ;D

« Reply #34 on: May 05, 2016, 04:56:53 PM »
now it's nothing but green in my fridges ;D ;D

Yes, keeping VB in the fridge would be enough to turn it green & mouldy!  :D

Just think what it must do to your guts  >:D

Offline brickiematt

• Life member of the Silverton Hotel
« Reply #35 on: May 05, 2016, 05:34:44 PM »
Yes, keeping VB in the fridge would be enough to turn it green & mouldy!  :D

Just think what it must do to your guts  >:D

Apparently it's doing wonders for me...... ;D

« Reply #36 on: May 05, 2016, 05:38:31 PM »
Forget that beer crap, feed them some Bundy Rum instead

« Reply #37 on: May 05, 2016, 05:46:36 PM »
Forget that beer crap, feed them some Bundy Rum instead

As a smart ar$e, pimply faced 18 year old, I drank a bottle once on my own and then started on somebody else's bottle.
Threw up so hard I thought my own bum hole was gunna come up and then the other end started.
I Shit some toxic black substance that looked like melted road tar for about 3 days straight.

Couldn't go near the stuff for about 20 years. Just the smell of it was bad enough, however, a while back now, i did partake in a few.

These days, i don't overindulge too much, as I only have about 4 brain cells left that work and some of them are marginal at best.

But, I never gave up, lets face it, rehabs for quitters. 
« Last Edit: May 05, 2016, 05:50:05 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #38 on: May 05, 2016, 06:16:06 PM »
Gezzzzz..... VB...I can't even say the word without gagging.... Let alone get a can to my lips. It's got to be the worst beer going.... >:D >:D >:D

« Reply #39 on: May 05, 2016, 06:18:55 PM »
Its good for washing mud and grass and crap off mowers.

The mowers never run as well afterwards though, so even they don't like tomcat pi$$ either.

« Reply #40 on: May 05, 2016, 06:47:56 PM »
As a smart ar$e, pimply faced 18 year old, I drank a bottle once on my own and then started on somebody else's bottle.
Threw up so hard I thought my own bum hole was gunna come up and then the other end started.
I Shit some toxic black substance that looked like melted road tar for about 3 days straight.

Couldn't go near the stuff for about 20 years. Just the smell of it was bad enough, however, a while back now, i did partake in a few.

These days, i don't overindulge too much, as I only have about 4 brain cells left that work and some of them are marginal at best.

But, I never gave up, lets face it, rehabs for quitters.
good to read you came back for more mate, better late then never...lol
I've had some pretty big nights on Bundy that have ended up like that, the worst being whilst I was taking antibiotics... they seemed to hold off the getting pissed effect until the next day, then I threw up so much the next day it was rediculous. One other time a mate and myself knocked down a 750ml bottle in an hour and then I walked to the pub to get another bottle, only to find my mate passed out when I returned. I got through most of that second bottle on my own, but the damage was done early on. I did end up going through a timber fence that night when a mate slapped me on the back asking how I was going...ahh good times...lol.

« Reply #41 on: May 05, 2016, 07:38:04 PM »
Gezzzzz..... VB...I can't even say the word without gagging.... Let alone get a can to my lips. It's got to be the worst beer going.... >:D >:D >:D

That'll be because the stuff you get up there is brewed in QLD..... :-*

I can switch from XXXX Gold to VIC (not VB) and without an issue. They really aren't very different......

« Last Edit: May 05, 2016, 07:41:30 PM by GeoffA »

Offline The punter

• "avoiding grey nomads since 2011"
« Reply #42 on: May 05, 2016, 07:39:29 PM »
The Chancer

13 FJ Cruiser
15 Lifestyle Reconn
1980 HJ45

« Reply #43 on: May 05, 2016, 08:17:04 PM »
That'll be because the stuff you get up there is brewed in QLD..... :-*

I can switch from XXXX Gold to VIC (not VB) and without an issue. They really aren't very different......

Yep, both crap

« Reply #44 on: May 05, 2016, 08:21:15 PM »
Yep, both crap

Yep, expected that from someone.......and your personal favourite is....??

« Reply #45 on: May 05, 2016, 08:28:33 PM »
If well planned (ie I've gone 20km down the road to the brewery) New Englander Pale Ale
If poorly planned then it's Cooper's Green (if it's only for me) or Beez Neez/Little Creatures etc if the wife is stealing some.

I've been spoilt being a Pom as where my parents are based are 4 or 5 breweries within 45mins drive in Shropshire; some of those breweries have been brewing longer than the Europeans have been in Australia. They came over to visit and brought some with them - not for me, but for the owner of the New England brewery! I've brought him beers back before and he's enjoyed them, so we got a couple of others to try; he's savouring them so every so often I get a message saying how he's got on with them.

The best description of Fosters I've heard was that it's the beer that the teetotal office manager buys for the staff Christmas party...

« Reply #46 on: May 05, 2016, 08:32:18 PM »
Yep, expected that from someone.......and your personal favourite is....??

Is this

http://www.granitebeltbrewery.com.au/portfolio-items/india-pale-ale/

But off the shelf from the normal bottle shop I mix it up a bit.  Burleigh brewery stuff is good, or great northern is easy to drink. I like to try new stuff all the time. 

« Reply #47 on: May 05, 2016, 08:39:07 PM »
Is this

http://www.granitebeltbrewery.com.au/portfolio-items/india-pale-ale/

But off the shelf from the normal bottle shop I mix it up a bit.  Burleigh brewery stuff is good, or great northern is easy to drink. I like to try new stuff all the time.

OK. I haven't seen that one. I'll keep my eye out.
I've tried Great Northern and found it OK, but it didn't win me over.
I've tried plenty of other stuff too, but I keep going back to CUB products......just make sure they're brewed in Carlton, 'cos it makes a difference.

:cheers: :cheers:

Offline smartyingreen

« Reply #48 on: May 05, 2016, 08:47:45 PM »
Another vote for James Squires - 150 lashes, hop thief, jack of spades porter.
As others have mentioned Coopers, but get into their stout. .....yummo.
There may be a chance to get hold of Mildura Brewery stuff also. If so, try some of their cocoa stout.
Probably not available outside much of South Australia is the range from Woolshed Brewery at Wilkadene. A must try is their Wattleseed infused dark ale called Judas Dark and every winter they also do an awesome coffee infused stout. Have a couple friends coming your way in the coming weeks, would be fun to try and get some to you.

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk

Smartyingreen - HZJ105 Land Cruiser + Cameron HD Off Road Unlimited Concept Camper.

Offline markymark

• everyone seems normal until you get to know them
« Reply #49 on: May 05, 2016, 10:18:13 PM »
As others have said, James Squire are all good, Matilda Bay (no-one has mentioned their original, and still my fave, 'Redback'), Little Creatures and an offshoot of Little Creatures is Furphy http://furphybeer.com.au/stockist...made in Geelong in the same mill as Little Creatures and an amazingly good beer for a realistic price.
I am buying less these days though as I'm making more homebrew - currently have a Coopers Pale Ale, Matild Bay Redback clone, a Porter and soon will do a Ginger Beer, decisions, decisions!
Trak Shak, FJ Cruiser