Author Topic: On the subject of bad recoveries  (Read 6966 times)

On the subject of bad recoveries
« on: July 14, 2015, 06:56:20 PM »
Just caught the news covering the ute the plunged into the Brisbane river.......

So even the professionals get it wrong......nearly unbelievable they hooked onto the bar work that sits on on top of the style side Utes.....snapped both side off.

I guess we all are only human.......

Offline rigs

Re: On the subject of bad recoveries
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2015, 07:06:23 PM »
Yeah saw that too.
Unless going to towbar or other low down recovery point wasn't feasible due to angle of recovery?
2002 Toyota Landcruiser GLX Advantage 105
2015 Aussie Swag Ultra D, June 2015.

Offline millzzy

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2015, 05:49:14 PM »
If you noticed on one shot I saw they had chain through the car around back door openings and could clearly see c pillars bent.
I reckon the water in the ute was the least of its problems, maybe the water was enough to write it off  ???

Offline MrCruza

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2015, 05:50:39 PM »
If you noticed on one shot I saw they had chain through the car around back door openings and could clearly see c pillars bent.
I reckon the water in the ute was the least of its problems, maybe the water was enough to write it off  ???

Yep. Full imersion in salt water = write off.
Cheers, John.

'12 Cruiser
2020 NextGen Blackline

« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2015, 07:18:44 PM »
Yep. Full imersion in salt water = write off.
Or = reef .

Offline jw2170

« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2015, 11:15:36 AM »
A guy in Sydney area died the other night when he tried to retrieve bogged 4WD with a snatch strap.. Broke and it appears he was hit in the head by the shackle...

Jim & Maree
Sydney NSW

Hilux and soft floor camper.

« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2015, 11:28:31 AM »
Must be a tow truck thing as last year I found a U tube clip of a 4WD where it’s handbrake failed on a boat ramp on the Noosa river, so it slid back and was completely underwater.

Tow Truck arrives and attaches his winch to the top pipe of the aluminium bulbar and seeing the 4WD now weights 10ton it rips the pipe clean off and the 4wd floats even futher away with the tide.

Offline Gazza00

« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2015, 02:35:55 PM »
Wasn't an ARB bar  was it ????    >:D

« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2015, 03:57:44 PM »
When a 4WD is totally submerged, I don’t think the pipe work on any brand bar could handle that level of strain.

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2015, 04:18:52 PM »
A guy in Sydney area died the other night when he tried to retrieve bogged 4WD with a snatch strap.. Broke and it appears he was hit in the head by the shackle...

Saw that.  What a complete tragedy..!

Yeas ago a mate of mine borrowed my Disco to do a 4wd course with the Landcruiser club.  They got him to do a demo recovery using a snatch strap.  The guy he recovered assured everyone his bull bar (although clearly home made) was attached properly.  Unfortunately the recovery hooks were not (normal bolts not high tensile) and the inevitable happened. Bow shackle through the back window right through to the front window shattering both.  Fortunately my mate's wife who was 8 months pregnant at the time, decided to get out of the car to watch the recovery.  If she had been sitting in the passenger seat, she would have suffered a similar fate to this guy in NSW.

The very disappointing aspect of this was the guy denied all responsibility and because it occurred on private property (not a gazetted track), the insurance didn't cover it.  What's more the Landcruiser club denied any liability as well even though they stipulated that all vehicles must be fit for purpose and would be checked prior to going onto the course.

Anyway...lessons learnt. 

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

Offline Davepatrol

• 4.2 Patrol with a lot of extras
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2015, 06:00:12 PM »
Saw that.  What a complete tragedy..!

Yeas ago a mate of mine borrowed my Disco to do a 4wd course with the Landcruiser club.  They got him to do a demo recovery using a snatch strap.  The guy he recovered assured everyone his bull bar (although clearly home made) was attached properly.  Unfortunately the recovery hooks were not (normal bolts not high tensile) and the inevitable happened. Bow shackle through the back window right through to the front window shattering both.  Fortunately my mate's wife who was 8 months pregnant at the time, decided to get out of the car to watch the recovery.  If she had been sitting in the passenger seat, she would have suffered a similar fate to this guy in NSW.

The very disappointing aspect of this was the guy denied all responsibility and because it occurred on private property (not a gazetted track), the insurance didn't cover it.  What's more the Landcruiser club denied any liability as well even though they stipulated that all vehicles must be fit for purpose and would be checked prior to going onto the course.

Anyway...lessons learnt.
one of many cockups in that club

« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2015, 08:05:45 PM »

Anyway...lessons learnt.

Clearly not!!  You just bought a landcruiser.  ;D

Offline lowflyer

« Reply #12 on: July 17, 2015, 07:28:36 AM »
Just saw the latest add for the new mux where it looks like they are trying to do a recovery in reverse.

« Reply #13 on: July 17, 2015, 07:53:06 AM »
Unfortunately too many people just don't know better. The person you refer to in Sydney was a 17 year old boy, and he was in an induced coma. Last I heard he was still hanging on, and I dearly hope he pulls through.

A lot of 4WD adverts make stupid mistakes like that. I believe the colorado one a while back had a recovery using chain off the tow ball.

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #14 on: July 17, 2015, 10:54:20 AM »
Clearly not!!  You just bought a landcruiser.  ;D

HA HA...!  got me there.  :cup:

True but rest assured I wont be joining the club...!!

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com
The following users thanked this post: oldmate

Offline jw2170

« Reply #15 on: July 17, 2015, 04:15:35 PM »
Unfortunately too many people just don't know better. The person you refer to in Sydney was a 17 year old boy, and he was in an induced coma. Last I heard he was still hanging on, and I dearly hope he pulls through.

Thanks Aaron.

My bad...

Nice to know it was not fatal...
Jim & Maree
Sydney NSW

Hilux and soft floor camper.

Offline slydar

« Reply #16 on: July 17, 2015, 06:42:23 PM »

A lot of 4WD adverts make stupid mistakes like that. I believe the colorado one a while back had a recovery using chain off the tow ball.

I think I saw that too - couldn't believe it - was like that 20-something-yr-old that does one of the 4wd shows when he got bogged in mud in Arnhem land:

- "whooooaaaaarrr - I have - NEVVA - in my LOIF-  seen it as BAD as this..."

« Reply #17 on: July 17, 2015, 10:29:24 PM »
Just saw the latest add for the new mux where it looks like they are trying to do a recovery in reverse.

You mean this one?
Small | Large

It's all good. Its a Dmax, the tie down points are ok to recover from. That's what I've read in mh research on the net anyway.

Offline slydar

« Reply #18 on: July 18, 2015, 09:03:20 AM »
they didn't show if he got the car out though!!!

« Reply #19 on: July 18, 2015, 09:19:26 AM »
With respect to the DMAX ad., I prefer to not use shackles when snatching as you have no idea what the shock load will be. I would have turned the ute around and used the rear tow hitch for snatching. Reasons are, you can use a recovery hook mounted in the hitch, you have more steering control and you have more power with forward gearing than reverse...
« Last Edit: July 18, 2015, 09:21:49 AM by D4D »

« Reply #20 on: July 18, 2015, 09:44:17 AM »
With respect to the DMAX ad., I prefer to not use shackles when snatching as you have no idea what the shock load will be. I would have turned the ute around and used the rear tow hitch for snatching. Reasons are, you can use a recovery hook mounted in the hitch, you have more steering control and you have more power with forward gearing than reverse...

X2   GRC