New member requests; if you do not receive a confirmation email first check your spam filter, or if not within 7 days, email admin@myswag.org with your details.  We get a lot of spam applications, and sometimes legitimate request get marked as spam as well.

Thanks for the add

Started by hazza80, April 27, 2015, 06:13:15 PM

hazza80

G'day, thanks for the welcome. I'm currently doing a bit of research into campers. We're a family of 4 (2 kids - 7 yrs, 4 yrs) and we have a Jayco Expanda which is awesome for caravan parks, etc. and I have a roof top for quick get-aways with my son (and take a small tent when all of us). But I have room for a camper trailer down the other side of the house hehe

We've had an Austrack semi-offroad, 2009, which we only used 2-3 times - I found that a bit awkward on the back at the time and hot during the day (although not as important now - 16 mth old trying to sleep middle of day back then). Hence, why we went down the caravan route.

I don't expect to make a purchase until late August or September (our Caravan & Camping show here is mid-August), so that will help narrow things down I'm sure. Currently my mind set is for something that is fast and easy to set up (rear fold or 9-10ft soft floor with gas struts), to fit either 2 stretchers or bunk bed in tent room, practical kitchen, 12V set-up, good fall on the canvas (ie. doesn't pool up), good ventilation and quality made. Trying to keep the weight down to a reasonable amount ie. 800kg or thereabouts, depending on features. Preferably Aussie made, but the Ecomate is one of the imports I'm considering (I think a bit more quality control looks to go in these compared to others).

My budget will be at max $18-20k, but will be looking between $6-20k on the classifieds. Looking both new and 2nd hand - some of the package deals with tinnys/motor/foldable trailer look tempting too. Is it possible or reasonable to put a 3.6m tinny on a rear fold (ie. cub daintree?)

This camper trailer will mostly be used for 3 days to a week camping behind sand dunes, national parks, outback touring, and possibly The Cape.

At the moment NEW I'm considering:
Ecomate Traveller rear fold $16490
Aussie Jay's camper 'Crusher' $12500
Lifestyle Expander Elite $18950 - like the tent, except the tropical roof would flap a lot in sand dune areas, etc, and value for $$$ probably look for one on the 2nd hand market maybe

2nd HAND
Cub Daintree - noticed a few of these approx. 2009-2012 models about $9k-15k or upto $18k for 2013-14
Camel Beachcomber ie. in classifieds for $8k with good extras (draws, kitchen, 12v set-up, boat loader rack, etc) and boat/trailer negotiable
And quite a few others

Thanks again for the add, I look forward to reading and learning and also enjoying seeing what comes on the market and gauging what is selling for what $$$. Cheers

Welcome to myswag aka 'camping gear collectors anonymous' Hazza. Sounds like you'll fit right in :laugh:

G'day mate and welcome to myswag.  Good luck in your CT search

Welcome to the Forum, enjoy your stay

tracker

G'Day Hazza 80,
                           Welcome to this forum....Heaps of willing persons to assist you ( if you wish ) to assist with help.  Good luck with your choice of CT

Welcome Hazza,

Good luck with your search,
We had the lifestyle and loved it.
Did not have a problem with the Tropical roof making a noise if kept tight.

hazza80

Thanks guys.... have been reading heaps already and checking out websites of other campers that forum users own... there looks to be a lot of quality campers to choose from