Author Topic: RAMS coming in unlimited numbers to Australia by September  (Read 9184 times)

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
RAMS coming in unlimited numbers to Australia by September
« on: April 10, 2015, 07:10:04 PM »
Just saw this. Might be interesting for those of you who like to tow bigger rigs

'RAM trucks will make their way to Australia from the United States in unlimited numbers from September this year.

In a deal announced today, the joint venture importer for Fiat Chrysler (FCA) in New Zealand plans to import and convert the vehicles to Full Volume standards, with the active blessing and participation of FCA’

http://www.caradvice.com.au/347643/ram-trucks-in-australia-by-september/

8tonne hitch capacity! Wow!

“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Re: RAMS coming in unlimited numbers to Australia by September
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2015, 07:55:07 PM »
Interesting.

It's crazy how many ram's and silverados I see from day to day now.

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2015, 07:57:08 PM »
I'll laugh when they do the same as the Mustang. A few years ago new RHD converted Mustangs were $100K+. Next year you can buy them for $50K.

Offline Palmer

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2015, 08:58:18 PM »
Always liked the RAM's, but never the price tag.
Pretty sure they will still be out of my price range, but at least that dream will be a little less out of my reach if it causes a price drop.

« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2015, 09:32:29 PM »
Well there is talk about the Tundra to replace the 70 Series

« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2015, 09:41:21 PM »
Big, yes, off-road ... hardly!  :police:

« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2015, 10:37:12 PM »
Well there is talk about the Tundra to replace the 70 Series

Strange as the Tundra is a bigger version of the Hilux and wouldn' t think it seemed like a logical replacement ??

I'm seeing them all over here ATM, but as a true offroader, the pickups are just too big for aussie bush tracks......but as a town runabout ( 90% seem to be that )...they are pretty cool......Ford Raptor or F350 come to mind !!

« Reply #7 on: April 10, 2015, 10:45:06 PM »
Strange as the Tundra is a bigger version of the Hilux and wouldn' t think it seemed like a logical replacement ??

I'm seeing them all over here ATM, but as a true offroader, the pickups are just too big for aussie bush tracks......but as a town runabout ( 90% seem to be that )...they are pretty cool......Ford Raptor or F350 come to mind !!
i saw a Tundra at a servo i was refueling at on the way home from Tassie, i was surprised at how big they are....they definately are much much bigger then the dual cab utes we are used to having here.

« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2015, 10:54:53 PM »
Does the expression " yank tank " spring to mind  ;D

« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2015, 11:34:37 PM »

You have the Tundra which is more the size of your F truck, the Tacoma is more Hilux size. 

http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-news/new-toyota-tundra-lands-in-australia-28528

http://www.autotrader.com/research/article/car-reviews/232549/2015-toyota-tundra-vs-2015-toyota-tacoma-whats-the-difference.jsp

Offline cheif carlos

« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2015, 11:55:22 PM »
Cannot see any of them being long term feasible unless they have a 5star antcap rating which mining will help support the market
Need to get the backside into gear and get out camping

Offline Moggy

« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2015, 07:13:24 AM »

Does the expression " WANK tank " spring to mind  ;D

fixed it for ya

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2015, 07:45:08 AM »
i saw a Tundra at a servo i was refueling at on the way home from Tassie, i was surprised at how big they are....they definately are much much bigger then the dual cab utes we are used to having here.

Yeah the tundras, are in the class of f250 and up, as Al said above the tocoma, is pretty much the Americans hilux. See them everywhere over there

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2015, 08:15:56 AM »
I've got a secret soft spot for American trucks (I love the F-150).  Granted these RAMS are the bigger variants so probably wouldn't be useful off road on some of the tracks. Similar reasons to the Broncos when they first came out to Aus (struggling with width on tracks created by landrovers and land cruisers), but they might have a place especially hauling or long highway cruising. They may get more traction if they brought out the smaller 1500.  The trim and equipment levels these things come with make Toyotas offerings look rubbish.

Wouldn't want to try and park one of these in Coles or Woolies though.
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Offline cruiser 91

« Reply #14 on: April 11, 2015, 08:17:38 AM »
Confucius says:

Beware of Yanky Doodle engine culture....................... engine design for plenty grunt also design for plenty fuel usage.

Confucius says:

Asians copy Yanky Doodle engine..........................design for grunt and design for plenty unhappy oil companies.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2015, 08:22:23 AM by cruiser 91 »
Hell's Gate, Worlds End, South Australia.

« Reply #15 on: April 11, 2015, 09:05:37 AM »
You have the Tundra which is more the size of your F truck, the Tacoma is more Hilux size. 

http://www.carsguide.com.au/car-news/new-toyota-tundra-lands-in-australia-28528

Ha ha, I'm not a yank, just over here for holidays..

As for the Tacoma, haven't seen too many....maybe they are too small for the yanks ???

But I have seen heaps of 6 inch lifted F250, 350,  GMC Sierras, Chev Silverados etc !!

http://www.autotrader.com/research/article/car-reviews/232549/2015-toyota-tundra-vs-2015-toyota-tacoma-whats-the-difference.jsp

Offline Tim - Stratford

• Sarah's Canvas Products
    • Canvas Jaffle Iron Covers
« Reply #16 on: April 11, 2015, 09:46:07 AM »
From another article.....

The biggest of the Dodge Ram pick-ups coming to Australia can carry more than 3 tonnes in the ute tub (versus the current category maximum of 1 tonne) and tow more than 7 tonnes (versus the current category maximum of 3.5 tonnes).

...won't have to worry about "ball weight" with one of these.....the pocket will be a bit lighter though...

Tim

Sarah's Canvas Products...
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30053.0

Offline dirtpilot

Dodge Ram Trucks to be imported in volume.
« Reply #17 on: April 11, 2015, 07:23:41 PM »
Looks like the Ram trucks are going to imported by Fiat Chrysler and converted by Walkinshaw. 8 ton towing capacity and 3.3 ton payload ;D

Re: Dodge Ram Trucks to be imported in volume.
« Reply #18 on: April 11, 2015, 07:35:57 PM »
 already a thread running about it ;) http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=42769.0   

« Reply #19 on: April 12, 2015, 07:06:33 AM »
Sounds as though they are going to aim at the 5th wheelers , horse floats, machine transport & Wanker market . We have a guy up this way that traded his 4 door Ram in on a Big Ford ute & it wont fit in the garage with his boat . That's big too   . Must be compensating for something                        :'(                             >:D :cheers:

« Reply #20 on: April 12, 2015, 07:22:59 AM »
From another article.....

The biggest of the Dodge Ram pick-ups coming to Australia can carry more than 3 tonnes in the ute tub (versus the current category maximum of 1 tonne) and tow more than 7 tonnes (versus the current category maximum of 3.5 tonnes).

...won't have to worry about "ball weight" with one of these.....the pocket will be a bit lighter though...

Tim

You will need more than a car license for this;)

Offline Wortho

« Reply #21 on: April 12, 2015, 04:01:38 PM »
Spotted a Ford F650 a few months back in Sydney and was amazed at the size of the thing. Makes a RAM look like a hilux  ;D
https://chivethethrottle.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/ford-650-500-ford_f650_09wtmk.jpg?w=500&h=375
« Last Edit: April 12, 2015, 04:03:53 PM by Wortho »

« Reply #22 on: April 12, 2015, 04:11:53 PM »
Spotted this a few years ago at my local shops. Got talking to the owners and he reckoned it drove better than any car he has owned

« Reply #23 on: April 12, 2015, 05:02:08 PM »
Spotted this a few years ago at my local shops. Got talking to the owners and he reckoned it drove better than any car he has owned
he probably was a Nissan owner all his life before that  ;) ;D ;D ;D

Offline Andreweasty90

« Reply #24 on: April 12, 2015, 05:02:42 PM »
I wouldn't mind a ram or f150 for a work car but trying to park it in inner city would suck a big one and the comfort level in those American trucks is amazing, would be nice for those daily  coast work trips