Author Topic: Do you Secure your rear mounted spare wheel?  (Read 7228 times)

Offline Gwoods

Do you Secure your rear mounted spare wheel?
« on: March 18, 2015, 11:37:31 AM »
Had to drop my Patrol off at the Panel Beaters yesterday to be fixed after a hail storm. He commented to me that I should secure my spare as heaps of them go missing. I have never secured mine and don't know of anyone first hand who have lost theirs, but am interested in how many do secure their spare wheels and how?
TIA
Sean.
2014 GU Nissan Patrol
2014 Complete Campsite Uluru

Re: Do you Secure your rear mounted spare wheel?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2015, 11:40:32 AM »
when you consider the rims are $1000each + tyre, they are very valuable.... although they don't sell for that much, I've seen numerous GQ's with later model rims lately.. they look hideous, but if kids are getting them free then.....

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2015, 11:41:17 AM »
I've always pad locked mine. Makes it a bit harder for them.

Does your GU not have provision for a pad lock on the carrier?

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2015, 11:42:46 AM »
......I've seen numerous GQ's with later model rims lately.. they look hideous.....

They do....and series 4 on wheels on series 1-3 don't look any better....

« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2015, 11:46:08 AM »
I used to secure mine, I used a custom cable. You can also use a long shanked padlock from memory

« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2015, 01:32:25 PM »
Always padlocked

« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2015, 01:33:01 PM »
I have a padlock on mine which is keyed alike to the locks on the Trackie.
I have black steel GU wheels on my GQ, doesn't look to bad I thought.

« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2015, 02:39:00 PM »
I have the factory Toyota hard wheel cover on my Prado with a wire rope bike lock underneath it securing the spare.

Offline Gwoods

« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2015, 03:05:40 PM »
Thanks guys, I will look at ways of securing mine when I get the car back.  :cheers:
2014 GU Nissan Patrol
2014 Complete Campsite Uluru
The following users thanked this post: V8ute

« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2015, 03:06:39 PM »
I used to secure mine, I used a custom cable. You can also use a long shanked padlock from memory

Wouldn't be one of them GGV8Shitter ones that is the dude sells on myswag would it???

« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2015, 03:11:11 PM »
I have the factory Toyota hard wheel cover on my Prado with a wire rope bike lock underneath it securing the spare.

« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2015, 03:17:08 PM »

The combination type ones ?

« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2015, 03:17:53 PM »
Wouldn't be one of them GGV8Shitter ones that is the dude sells on myswag would it???

A subtle plug for a great product  ;D

see link below  >:D

« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2015, 03:28:23 PM »
apart from the plundered cost of $1K++ each  ... what happens if it happens in say some hickville town - where your next mission is say 5 days on sharp gravel roads (with now no spare(s)??)...

Do you plough on - or cancel your trip??

Thus, its also logically about the safety and the (in)convenience factor as well...
You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

Offline Ratbag

« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2015, 03:38:10 PM »
Every wheel on both cars and the CT have one security nut. All the same keyway socket.

I also have a 5mm braided security cable that runs through the jockey wheel, spare and hitch. This has a BIG Lockwood padlock on it.

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #15 on: March 18, 2015, 03:41:25 PM »
I've got the factory security nut on my Prado. Which I'm led to believe any Toyota key will open...
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Offline V8CRSA

• Just waiting to hit the open road again......
« Reply #16 on: March 18, 2015, 06:39:28 PM »

I might get you to knock me up a couple of shorter cables just for this purpose mate.
Will drop you a pm in the next week or two.

2013 GXL TTD 200 SERIES CRUISER
Not quite "ATS" but working on it

« Reply #17 on: March 18, 2015, 06:53:12 PM »
My fourby has a padlock on it through the back of the steel plate that holds the wheel in place, and the one on the camper trailer has a plastic coated steel cable threaded through it with a padlock to stop the opportunistic thieves

Offline Ratbag

« Reply #18 on: March 18, 2015, 06:58:32 PM »
^ That's the real crux of it Rumpig. Nothing will stop a determined thief with heavy cable cutters ($180 @ Bunnings), or a 24/36V angle grinder ...

My tactic is to try to slow them down, and prevent casual thievery while one is having lunch, or a twinkle ... ;-).

« Reply #19 on: March 18, 2015, 07:04:00 PM »
I have 2 of the Jackaroo security nuts, from different cars. Both work off the same key.
Generally don't bother to use them around town. One of the benefits of having a less popular truck.
On a trip the spare is secured by the shovel and axe mount, which fits onto a square section post through the wheel centre.
Shovel mount is secured to the 'post' by 2 splined 'security' key bolts.  Bought both the bolts and the key from a specialty bolt shop.  I think it would be rare for a random thief to have the correct key. 
The retainer for the shovel and axe is padlocked, so they can't be removed from the mount.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2015, 07:06:09 PM by B&B »

« Reply #20 on: March 18, 2015, 08:25:03 PM »
The combination type ones ?

No a key type. It came with two keys so there is one on both sets of car keys.
The following users thanked this post: Footy Shorts Shane

Offline Jakster1

« Reply #21 on: March 18, 2015, 09:22:13 PM »
If you look at your spare wheel it is bolted up on 3 studs. There is a hole that lines up with one of the other wheel Nut holes that is perfect to padlock the rim to the wheel carrier.
Mine is always padlocked, as said the rims are not cheap nor are good 17 inch 4wd tyres. I also have a tyre cover on mine so it isn't advertising a good rim and tyre for the taking.
GU Patrol. Lifted Locked and Boosted
 Johnnos offroad deluxe -SOLD
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

« Reply #22 on: March 19, 2015, 09:32:39 AM »
I have 2 of the Jackaroo security nuts, from different cars. Both work off the same key.
Generally don't bother to use them around town. One of the benefits of having a less popular truck.
On a trip the spare is secured by the shovel and axe mount, which fits onto a square section post through the wheel centre.
Shovel mount is secured to the 'post' by 2 splined 'security' key bolts.  Bought both the bolts and the key from a specialty bolt shop.  I think it would be rare for a random thief to have the correct key. 
The retainer for the shovel and axe is padlocked, so they can't be removed from the mount.
hey B&B - a couple of pics of your set up would be appreciated, if possible - cheers (specially of the specialty bolts)..
You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

Offline whitey1

• Mr and Mrs Whiteys Great Oz Trek
« Reply #23 on: March 19, 2015, 09:39:08 AM »
I've got the factory security nut on my Prado. Which I'm led to believe any Toyota key will open...
Not from what I've found. I got one off a written off Prado at work to put on my camper but my Prado key wouldn't open it.

Toyota Prado D4D towing an custom built off road caravan
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mr-Mrs-Whiteys-Great-Oz-Trek/23574764645

« Reply #24 on: March 19, 2015, 08:05:03 PM »
Have always had a lock.
Long shanked pad lock at the moment, and I even remember to check if it works from time to time.