Author Topic: Tips on fertilising grass when you own a dog  (Read 11001 times)

Tips on fertilising grass when you own a dog
« on: December 09, 2014, 10:33:31 AM »
Howdee,

With the current storm activity around I would love to fertilise my grass, but seeing we have a 7 month old dog I’m also concerned he will eat/lick the fertiliser making him sick or it will burn his skin while rolling in the grass.

My question is can you buy a dog friendly fertiliser that also works?

Offline JD-120

Re: Tips on fertilising grass when you own a dog
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2014, 10:38:55 AM »
I use seasol or powerfeed on a fortnightly basis except winter.  Usually only put granular fertilizers at the beginning of each session. The two mentioned here would be fine for animals imo. My dogs are fine. Have a 3 month puppy also

Offline Moggy

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2014, 10:42:51 AM »
Get out in a raincoat when it's raining. If its a heavy shower it'll be all disolved & the noise should keep dog inside or tie hom up

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2014, 10:47:26 AM »
My mutt would eat anything but never seemed to touch this stuff.  It is small and falls between the grass leaves so is not easily licked up.  Plus you can put it on dry and there is no need to water it in.  Not cheap but often comes up on special at Woolies and Coles

http://www.scottsaustralia.com.au/lawn-builder/lawn-builder-slow-release-lawn-food/

« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2014, 12:53:40 PM »
Dynamic lifter is natural being manure based.

« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2014, 01:10:22 PM »
Dynamic lifter is natural being manure based.

And my dog loved it.  Used to make him crook, but boy oh boy, did he love it  ;D. Black land mines for days.

« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2014, 03:38:59 PM »
I use Campbell's Rustica Plus and then I add Black Urea.

The above is designed for use with fruit trees etc, but works very well on the ol grassy ar$e.

As for killing the dog, you'll know a few days later.

Offline Mongoose

• These are the Good Old Days
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2014, 06:25:54 PM »

http://dogrocks.org

Prevention is better than cure.
200 TTD Cruiser
'05 Pioneer Argyle (Limited Shaker edition)

Offline Black-Pig

• Everything is Subject to change...
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2014, 09:34:26 PM »
I had some old blood and bone, threw it around some trees, and what do you know the hound found it within minutes, and she was not around when I put it down. Those trees are now one of her favourite places!
05 SR5 Hilux  - With Fruit...
2012 Outback Sturt - with some modifications

Offline rokster72

« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2014, 10:14:19 PM »
http://dogrocks.org

Prevention is better than cure.

I'm sorry. .but those DogRocks are a marketing gimmick.. we've been using it for months, and the lawn is just looking worse each week.. if anyone have a bright idea how to counteract the damage the dogs are doing to my nice new Sir Walter Buffalo turf.. please speak up !

Offline Moggy

« Reply #10 on: December 10, 2014, 05:40:17 AM »
I'm sorry. .but those DogRocks are a marketing gimmick.. we've been using it for months, and the lawn is just looking worse each week.. if anyone have a bright idea how to counteract the damage the dogs are doing to my nice new Sir Walter Buffalo turf.. please speak up !
Piece of lead in the dogs ear

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #11 on: December 10, 2014, 06:23:52 AM »
those DogRocks are a marketing gimmick.
Think ya must have miss read the lable on the packet ... your supposed to throw them at the mutt when each time he whizzes on ya lawn . ;D

Offline Me

« Reply #12 on: December 10, 2014, 07:15:59 AM »
Anything organic should be safe for your dog. Just a few things to think about though; Seasol is not a fertiliser, it's a root tonic. Great for general health, but not to feed the lawn. All of the pelleted chook poo ferts (dynamic lifter, rooster booster, sudden impact for lawns, Rapid Raiser etc) are alkaline, which is only an issue if you have neutral, or alkaline soil, as it will make the soil more alkaline & thus make a lot of nutrients unavailable for the lawn to use. Power Feed is great stuff, sort of like steroids for plants! But it's foliar, so I wouldn't use it during heavy rain, it'll wash off before the lawn can use it. Also, it'll make the lawn grow like crazy, as it's very high in nitrogen. So I don't use it if very hot days are forecast, as the sun will burn the new growth. End of boring lecture lol!

« Reply #13 on: December 10, 2014, 08:46:32 AM »
A bag of aftergraze.......and get a small yap yap that stays inside as lawns and dogs will never mix... ;D

« Reply #14 on: December 10, 2014, 09:52:40 AM »
Blood and bone then leave the dog outside for at least a month

« Reply #15 on: December 10, 2014, 10:09:09 AM »
On the way home last night we had what looked like a substantial storm brewing here in Brisbane, so I rushed down to the local hardware to buy some fertiliser. It appears everyone has been thinking the same as they only had a couple of limited options.

I pick some glandular fertiliser and rush home as by now the lightening is quiet severe with thunder everywhere and just starting to spit lightly. I keep the dog inside while I spread the fertiliser over the grass and then guess what happened.

The Bl##dy storm went around us and only ended up getting a few sprinkles of rain. I would say there would have only been a couple of hundred metres between my light sprinkle and the heavy rain my uncle got in the next suburb.

So the dog slept in the laundry last night and early this morning I was out trying to hose the fertiliser in.

« Reply #16 on: December 10, 2014, 11:57:21 AM »
Yeh, always the way....spend 2 hrs and $20 worth of water when mother nature could have done it in 10 mins !!

BernieS

« Reply #17 on: December 22, 2014, 02:08:53 PM »
This is what I use... http://munns.com.au/golf-course-green-lawn-fertiliser
Spread it about the beginning of Spring and my grass has been green ever since. I've had tonnes of comments from passers by about how green my lawn is and how do I get it that way... Ha.
Got it at Bunnings, its organic and its non pelletised, therefore needs very little watering in. Best part about a nice lush lawn is no weeds. Did the nature strip too as had a constant weed issue there. 
« Last Edit: December 22, 2014, 02:17:18 PM by BernieS »

Offline jdove

« Reply #18 on: December 22, 2014, 03:22:46 PM »
Another vote for the Munns greenkeeper fertiliser. I did mine a couple of weeks ago and it's now the best it has been for years. I have a Labrador that loves to play and roll on the lawn and no problems at all with her.
I put it down late in the afternoon and gave it a good water and all was good to use next morning.