Author Topic: SMOKING BANNED in ALL NSW National Parks - FANTASTIC  (Read 31320 times)

Re: SMOKING BANNED in ALL NSW National Parks - FANTASTIC
« Reply #50 on: November 18, 2014, 07:24:12 PM »
So yet again, the issue seems to be the attitude it is done with.

It would appear the problem is not with the smoker, but with the ignorant people who do the wrong thing. YET AGAIN!!!!

Gene pool needs chlorinating....

« Reply #51 on: November 18, 2014, 07:41:12 PM »
Quote from: briann532
Gene pool needs chlorinating....
agree

anyway, someone else said it - while out camping I've regularly found most smokers to be very thoughtful - way more thoughtful than those in suburbia or shops or work etc...

All the gatherings, or trips I've been on most smokers check the wind and go stand away where it wont affect people.. those that done, are usually as smashed as I am by that stage and I couldn't care less.

Around the campfire I don't care as im usually battling the campfire smoke for oxygen....

I think lots of people are getting very much house bound and need to go camping ASAP.. Me included....

« Reply #52 on: November 18, 2014, 07:53:02 PM »
I dropped into my local NPWS office this arvo and had a chat with a staff member who stated that they are incredulous and critical of the ban. It is especially moronic as quite a few of NPWS field workers are smokers and are now subject to the ban themselves. I was told as this is a state government ruling, not a NPWS one it will most likely be put to their union to sort out on discrimination grounds. If it goes in favour of the NPWS workers then one can assume that sets the precedent for all. Yeah, good luck with that guys.

I was also told they have no interest in trying to enforce the ban other than to bring it to park goers attention and that there are bigger issues to address.

Offline GUEY

« Reply #53 on: November 18, 2014, 08:44:45 PM »

I was also told they have no interest in trying to enforce the ban other than to bring it to park goers attention and that there are bigger issues to address.

Just general everyday people showing common sense. Who'd of thought hey.  :cheers:
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

Offline Shelbyright

« Reply #54 on: November 19, 2014, 08:56:58 PM »
Please bring this to Victoria!
Also cant wait till i can visit a local cafe and sit outside and have my lunch without breating in smoke from some inconsiderate prick.
You are born, you will die.
What are you doing in the meantime?

Landcruiser HDJ100, Complete Campsite Kakadu

Offline feisty

« Reply #55 on: November 19, 2014, 10:05:03 PM »
Along with the a$$hole drinkers that leave cans and bottles everywhere
The a$$hole litterbugs that leave rubbish everywhere
The a$$hole wantabee lumberjacks that think they have a right to cut trees down in NP's
The a$$hole DJ's that want to play loud music all night
The just plain a$$holes thst leave their little piles of crap and dunny paper behind every tree
And what about the a$$hole 4wd'ers that rip the crap out of a wet track just because they can
Life would be wonderful
Too True. 
The issue here is that you can't legislate RESPECT!  So the easiest option is to do a little grandstanding and get an  unenforceable law through parliament that will on the whole be ignored most of the time like the beach smoking bans.
Much better off educating than prosecuting.
Feisty
Sahara 100TD & Pioneer Argyle

« Reply #56 on: November 19, 2014, 10:06:16 PM »
I think there are a couple of people making some full on statements about this subject and I feel it's time to point out a few home truths to them like it or not  ::)
1/  smoking is still a legal activity in the majority of outdoors areas
2/ Cigarettes are a legally sold product
3/ More fires are caused by unattended/left camp fires than by cigarette butts
4/ Not all smokers are litter bugs
5/ Not all smokers are inconsiderate of other non smoking people
6/ We live in a democracy here, not an authocracy, this rule will probably be revoked/overturned/reversed/ignored once the general public find out about it
7/ You can always move your seat a couple of feet away if a smoker is too close
8/ You could also ask a smoker to move around a bit because the smoke is bothering you

The word zealot comes to mind when describing some of Vk3bq's comments

but im stupid and cant read the Fking signs???...
Perhaps applies to a lot of other Fking things too ?

And just before you fire up at me I am a reformed smoker of some 30 years, I detest the smell of cigarette smoke, especially in my clothes, I hate the litter that a lot of them leave,and I think that people that smoke are being silly because of the health implications,but that's their prerogative,  and atm smoking is a legal activity and I will stand up and defend their rights to pursue that activity

« Reply #57 on: November 19, 2014, 10:12:10 PM »
Please bring this to Victoria!
Also cant wait till i can visit a local cafe and sit outside and have my lunch without breating in smoke from some inconsiderate prick.
70% of outside eating/drinking areas were brought in to accommodate smokers. Oh, there's not many local cafes in National Parks either, better have a whinge about that too. Geeze , don't let the truth get in the way of a good whinge  >:D >:D

« Reply #58 on: November 19, 2014, 10:31:17 PM »
I'm also a reformed smoker, so can see both sides too.
Based on what I have seen on my most recent driving trips in the high country, the bigger concern is alcohol in national parks.
Yes, I'm a drinker too, but am really over seeing young scroats in unroadworthy vehicles swigging from cans / bottles when behind the wheel, flinging bottles out the window, etc.
Not to mention the bottles and glass around most camp sites.
AFAIC the rule has always been, 'if you can carry it in you can carry it out." (The obvious exception being human waste.)
Unfortunately, with the level of usage these days, the number who won't comply with such self regulatory rules ruin it for everyone.
With the recent introduction of a charging regime for Vic National Parks I reckon the 'logical' extension is pre-booked camp sites, so that those who trash the place can be held accountable.
I would hate it to come to this, but then I hate the way our 'wild' places are being trashed as well.

« Reply #59 on: November 20, 2014, 03:30:43 AM »
I think there are a couple of people making some full on statements about this subject and I feel it's time to point out a few home truths to them like it or not  ::)
1/  smoking is still a legal activity in the majority of outdoors areas
2/ Cigarettes are a legally sold product
3/ More fires are caused by unattended/left camp fires than by cigarette butts
4/ Not all smokers are litter bugs
5/ Not all smokers are inconsiderate of other non smoking people
6/ We live in a democracy here, not an authocracy, this rule will probably be revoked/overturned/reversed/ignored once the general public find out about it
7/ You can always move your seat a couple of feet away if a smoker is too close
8/ You could also ask a smoker to move around a bit because the smoke is bothering you

The word zealot comes to mind when describing some of Vk3bq's comments
Perhaps applies to a lot of other Fking things too ?

And just before you fire up at me I am a reformed smoker of some 30 years, I detest the smell of cigarette smoke, especially in my clothes, I hate the litter that a lot of them leave,and I think that people that smoke are being silly because of the health implications,but that's their prerogative,  and atm smoking is a legal activity and I will stand up and defend their rights to pursue that activity

Well said xcvator. Perhaps a little bit of consideration and respect from both sides of this debate would go a long way to reducing the problem.

« Reply #60 on: November 20, 2014, 08:02:48 AM »
There's also an important detail being overlooked here...smoking on/in all Gov owned buildings/property has been banned for a long time, but you still see people smoking in/at them  ;)

Offline Vk3bq

• I Like Cheese..
    • WispyThreads
« Reply #61 on: November 20, 2014, 08:35:01 AM »
But the smokers have no respect. You all say. Stuff the signs. I'll smoke anyway. I'm not the problem.

Respect starts with accepting the rules. Which are very clear. :).

Respect the rules. And you will get the respect you all seem to want.
-- 2012 Prado D4D  --  '05 OutbackCamper  --  VK3BQ  --  HFRadioClub Selcal 0172  --  VKS737 Selcal 0172 --
http://www.vk3bq.com/

« Reply #62 on: November 20, 2014, 09:02:29 AM »
But the smokers have no respect. You all say. Stuff the signs. I'll smoke anyway. I'm not the problem.

Respect starts with accepting the rules. Which are very clear. :) .

Respect the rules. And you will get the respect you all seem to want.
Wrong Wrong Wrong

I DID NOT SAY THAT so please before you go making any more wild statements, I suggest you open the closed eye, and take off the zealot hat. I'm starting to get seriously p1ssed off at another noisy minority telling every one else what they can or can't do and twisting facts/statements to suite themselves .
As I did say in a previous comment  "Geeze , don't let the truth get in the way of a good whinge"  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

« Reply #63 on: November 20, 2014, 10:00:53 AM »
Funny thing is, reading these posts, that most of the people condemning of this rule are reformed or non smokers, probably like myself just sick of seeing silly un-enforceable laws being made by people that have probably never been in a national park in their lives.

The bigger problem here seems to be litter and these rules are being broken now by both smokers and non smokers. WHY, because the rules are extremely hard to police, I would be happier if they got on top of that first and see how things go from there

As for the passive smoking you cant tell me that you would go camping with people that were that inconsiderate would you. All the people I go away with are only too happy to move a few feet or up wind so smoke is not effecting their mates. Also we have a rule that smokers have a can or empty stubby that they use as an ash tray, works for us

« Reply #64 on: November 20, 2014, 10:06:43 AM »
Funny thing is, reading these posts, that most of the people condemning of this rule are reformed or non smokers, probably like myself just sick of seeing silly un-enforceable laws being made by people that have probably never been in a national park in their lives.

The bigger problem here seems to be litter and these rules are being broken now by both smokers and non smokers. WHY, because the rules are extremely hard to police, I would be happier if they got on top of that first and see how things go from there

As for the passive smoking you cant tell me that you would go camping with people that were that inconsiderate would you. All the people I go away with are only too happy to move a few feet or up wind so smoke is not effecting their mates. Also we have a rule that smokers have a can or empty stubby that they use as an ash tray, works for us
Exactly  :cup: :cup:

« Reply #65 on: November 20, 2014, 10:25:41 AM »
Yep, I had a brief thought to move this thread to the Electrical folder.  ;D ;D

The issue highlighted to me by my local NPWS, ignoring the spin put on by the government, is the toxic litter in the form of butts being left in the parks, not the potential fire hazard or passive smoke risk.

I am an ex smoker and hate the smell of it with a passion but, if someone at the fire I'm sitting at wants to light up, go for it, as long as their smoke doesn't impact mine or my families airspace.

« Reply #66 on: November 20, 2014, 10:52:47 AM »
Yep, I had a brief thought to move this thread to the Electrical folder.  ;D ;D

The issue highlighted to me by my local NPWS, ignoring the spin put on by the government, is the toxic litter in the form of butts being left in the parks, not the potential fire hazard or passive smoke risk.

I am an ex smoker and hate the smell of it with a passion but, if someone at the fire I'm sitting at wants to light up, go for it, as long as their smoke doesn't impact mine or my families airspace.

That pretty well sums it up Snow. That and pick up all of your butts after you finish and dispose of them appropriately and we'll all be happy. (well, most of us anyway)  ;D

« Reply #67 on: November 20, 2014, 10:58:34 AM »
That pretty well sums it up Snow. That and pick up all of your butts after you finish and dispose of them appropriately and we'll all be happy. (well, most of us anyway)  ;D
agree with Snow and you.

« Reply #68 on: November 20, 2014, 11:08:24 AM »
agree with Snow and you.
Are you feeling sick Bird  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D >:D >:D

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #69 on: November 20, 2014, 11:53:11 AM »
wOW,

some heated rhetoric in this thread.

I hope the person referring to people who cant read signs as A-holes, has never ever ever in his life exceeded a posted speed limit / or parked in a no parking zone / etc etc. ;D ;D ;D

This issue is about littering not passive smoking IMHO and the laws to cover this already exist ..they just don't police it.

Jet ;D ;D 
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline Vk3bq

• I Like Cheese..
    • WispyThreads
« Reply #70 on: November 20, 2014, 12:19:30 PM »
But the rules say no smoking. You are the problem. You say education. But you are happy to ignore it?? Or say f it. I'm above the rules. Why? Why are you above the rules?  Because you think it doesn't apply to you or your mates or??

Why is it so hard to follow the rules.  If you want to smoke. Stay away from a national park or beach or other banned public space.

I bet you all wear seat belts?
-- 2012 Prado D4D  --  '05 OutbackCamper  --  VK3BQ  --  HFRadioClub Selcal 0172  --  VKS737 Selcal 0172 --
http://www.vk3bq.com/

« Reply #71 on: November 20, 2014, 12:22:36 PM »
This thread is great reading. Might go and have a SMOKE. :evil:
Sent from .................

« Reply #72 on: November 20, 2014, 12:31:56 PM »
Who is "YOU" ?

« Reply #73 on: November 20, 2014, 01:02:23 PM »
But the rules say no smoking. You are the problem. You say education. But you are happy to ignore it?? Or say f it. I'm above the rules. Why? Why are you above the rules?  Because you think it doesn't apply to you or your mates or??

Why is it so hard to follow the rules.  If you want to smoke. Stay away from a national park or beach or other banned public space.

If I am YOU, I dont smoke

Not saying anyone here is going to break the rules but there is no harm in trying to change an un workable law

I do drive faster than 50kph sometimes though, sorry Fuji, i am trying to reform

After going out the back window of an EH my old man was driving when I was a kid, yep always wear one, everywhere , even in NP's

Edit: should point out I am recovering from surgery and havent worked for seven weeks so am VERY, VERY bored, I will refrain from now on, PROMISE >:D >:D
« Last Edit: November 20, 2014, 01:07:30 PM by macca »

« Reply #74 on: November 20, 2014, 01:32:03 PM »

Mate!! you're hitting your head against a brick wall, pi$$ing into the wind, pushing the proverbial uphill and we all get your point.

We can consider ourselves told, yes?

« Last Edit: November 20, 2014, 01:33:43 PM by Snow »