Author Topic: Why I hate bathurst 2014  (Read 24625 times)

Why I hate bathurst 2014
« on: October 09, 2014, 06:06:18 PM »
This is for bird and all his mates who hate motor racing to post in.  :cup: :cheers:

Re: Why I hate bathurst 2014
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2014, 06:28:25 PM »
I don't hate all motorsport, love moto 2, and 3, extremely exciting and competitive...

I just the way most of it is these days. nearly all motor racing is just 2-4 competitive teams, and the 20 odd others there to make up numbers.. none greater than taxi racing.

« Last Edit: October 09, 2014, 07:03:32 PM by Bird »

nbd73

« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2014, 06:58:53 PM »
And now that is done time to lock this thread.
PS I too am more interested in paint drying.

Why I hate bathurst 2014
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2014, 07:01:30 PM »
I might watch 10mins or so, before I turn on the tellie and watch a bit o' car racing
« Last Edit: October 09, 2014, 07:34:18 PM by scarps »

« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2014, 07:16:34 PM »
I don't hate all motorsport, love moto 2, and 3, extremely exciting and competitive...

I just the way most of it is these days. nearly all motor racing is just 2-4 competitive teams, and the 20 odd others there to make up numbers.. none greater than taxi racing.

Sorry to hijack your thread mate but don't know how you can say that when you look at V8s at least the top dozen teams are lapping within half a second of each other . I don't go to many of the races but love catching up with mates at Bathurst

« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2014, 07:27:11 PM »
Cmon Bathurst is great, start drinking at 7 write yourself off early, sleep, wake up for the last 10 minutes

« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2014, 07:34:52 PM »
........I don't go to many of the races but love catching up with mates at Bathurst

Cmon Bathurst is great, start drinking at 7 write yourself off early, sleep, wake up for the last 10 minutes

Yep, it's not just about the race.... ;D ;D

« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2014, 07:41:45 PM »
none greater than taxi racing.
Hey taxi racing can be fun too https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GbP-GhH5Ci4

« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2014, 07:46:40 PM »
It's Un Australian not to watch Bathurst, fair Dinkum. V8's, beer an tits what else does a man need  ;D

« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2014, 07:55:09 PM »
It's Un Australian not to watch Bathurst, fair Dinkum. V8's, beer an tits what else does a man need  ;D

Some N gauge or HO gauge Triang goodness..... ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2014, 08:06:19 PM »
Some N gauge or HO gauge Triang goodness..... ;D ;D ;D
Kato or Atlas actually :D Triang haven't been around since you were a kid....

« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2014, 08:07:33 PM »
Kato or Atlas actually :D Triang haven't been around since you were a kid....

Still got 'em....

« Reply #12 on: October 09, 2014, 08:22:10 PM »
Dust off your wind ups & lets play  8) :-*   :cheers: Do you still have the Hornby  :cheers:

« Reply #13 on: October 09, 2014, 08:22:39 PM »
OK OK So as you train buffs dont miss out heres some train racing for ya .https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ZN5tYIBvlA

« Reply #14 on: October 09, 2014, 08:33:21 PM »
Quote from: macca
Sorry to hijack your thread mate but don't know how you can say that when you look at V8s at least the top dozen teams are lapping within half a second of each other .
If racing is so equal, why is it so rare to have a dicing battle of 6-10 cars going for the lead in sprint races of the taxi's?

I suppose I just like dicing, or close racing, slip streaming, out braking... just follow the leader like Nascar is zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz........

Why is it so rare in normal Shitheap racing there isn't 24 cars on the same lap at the end, and all dicing for places?? there isn't.

I don't know the last time there was a battle for the lead swapping places lap after lap at Bathurst towards the end of the race... Even equalizing the cars hasn't helped..

I don't know how much the manufacturers support the teams compared to 20 or more yrs ago...

Bathurst is endurance racing, which like the 24hour, or even the suzuka 8 hour is dull to me.. Its more about pitstops and pacecars... even the commentators sound bored 1/2 the time.

On car racing in AU in general, many of the racing circuits for cars don't lead themselves to passing.. PI maybe the difference there. None worse than that waste of time street circuit racing... nobody passes in fear of wiping out. its just who ever gets the start - or the better pit stop - which has nothing to do with the driver or car.

It's a shame that tracks like Amaroo and Oran park are gone, the racing there was awesome.. and racing on those circuits on the bike was brilliant...

There's nothing that could make me sit down and watch a complete modern Bathurst race, I'd want to kill myself.

YMMV

« Reply #15 on: October 09, 2014, 08:36:58 PM »
So don't watch it if it upsets you ,,,go for a drive & relax a bit  :-*     :cheers:

« Reply #16 on: October 09, 2014, 08:41:59 PM »
Quote from: speewa158
So don't watch it if it upsets you ,,,go for a drive & relax a bit  :-*     :cheers:

I wont :D Haven't since the bogans had a dummy spit that the holdens and ford dinosaurs couldn't beat the nasty pasty imported cars.

« Reply #17 on: October 09, 2014, 08:45:53 PM »

That's why he has his own thread, so he can post why he hates it  ;D

If racing is so equal, why is it so rare to have a dicing battle of 6-10 cars going for the lead in sprint races of the taxi's?

I suppose I just like dicing, or close racing, slip streaming, out braking... just follow the leader like Nascar is zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz........

Why is it so rare in normal ****heap racing there isn't 24 cars on the same lap at the end, and all dicing for places?? there isn't.

I don't know the last time there was a battle for the lead swapping places lap after lap at Bathurst towards the end of the race... Even equalizing the cars hasn't helped..

I don't know how much the manufacturers support the teams compared to 20 or more yrs ago...

Bathurst is endurance racing, which like the 24hour, or even the suzuka 8 hour is dull to me.. Its more about pitstops and pacecars... even the commentators sound bored 1/2 the time.

On car racing in AU in general, many of the racing circuits for cars don't lead themselves to passing.. PI maybe the difference there. None worse than that waste of time street circuit racing... nobody passes in fear of wiping out. its just who ever gets the start - or the better pit stop - which has nothing to do with the driver or car.

It's a shame that tracks like Amaroo and Oran park are gone, the racing there was awesome.. and racing on those circuits on the bike was brilliant...

There's nothing that could make me sit down and watch a complete modern Bathurst race, I'd want to kill myself.

YMMV

While I agree with some of your comments, I am also wondering weather you have ever watched any motor racing. Bathurst has had the closest finishes ever in modern times. Yes I liked the old days also,but it was never that close of racing at the end, especially pre safety car days. Brock by 6 laps, winners generally won by at least a lap over every one

Offline Moggy

« Reply #18 on: October 09, 2014, 08:47:50 PM »
Its in the same category as not watching the Boxing Day Test.

You should be deported to Syria for the weekend ????

All men dream but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dream with open eyes to make it possible.
T.E. Lawrence

« Reply #19 on: October 09, 2014, 08:53:58 PM »

That's why he has his own thread, so he can post why he hates it  ;D

While I agree with some of your comments, I am also wondering weather you have ever watched any motor racing. Bathurst has had the closest finishes ever in modern times. Yes I liked the old days also,but it was never that close of racing at the end, especially pre safety car days. Brock by 6 laps, winners generally won by at least a lap over every one
he might watch it if it was 32 Jeeps smashing each other up around the track:-)

« Reply #20 on: October 09, 2014, 08:55:57 PM »

;D ;D

« Reply #21 on: October 09, 2014, 08:58:57 PM »
Quote from: oldmate
...I am also wondering weather you have ever watched any motor racing. Bathurst has had the closest finishes ever in modern times. Yes I liked the old days also,but it was never that close of racing at the end, especially pre safety car days. Brock by 6 laps, winners generally won by at least a lap over every one

as I said, I haven't watched it in years... I don't get all the excitement of it ??? more than 1/2 the field have no honest chance of winning - but that's not just in Taxi's - F1 is the same, MotoGP is the same etc etc.

And as you said, brock by 6 laps, by 3 laps etc where is the excitement in that?

Endurance racing doesn't do it for me. I've competed in a few endurance events on the bike but even those were just not for me - watching your bike going around while you sit there is maddening!!!

So you are telling me that I've missed several years of the lead being swapped 10-20 times over the last 10-20 laps at Bathurst?

« Reply #22 on: October 09, 2014, 09:00:30 PM »
banger caravan racing Ipswich Small | Large

« Reply #23 on: October 09, 2014, 09:12:46 PM »
banger caravan racing Ipswich

Lol, that looks like all the MySwag van owners fighting there way to the local nomad spot lol

« Reply #24 on: October 09, 2014, 09:18:10 PM »
Lol, that looks like all the MySwag van owners fighting there way to the local nomad spot lol
That dude that won did brilliantly!!