Author Topic: Bike riders !!! Grrrr - things are getting worse up here  (Read 68216 times)

Re: Bike riders !!! Grrrr - things are getting worse up here
« Reply #25 on: September 25, 2014, 07:54:21 AM »
Someone grab a violin for gods sake.

« Reply #26 on: September 25, 2014, 07:56:24 AM »
Someone grab a violin for gods sake.

« Reply #27 on: September 25, 2014, 07:57:03 AM »
Thank you dear sir. I bet HE rides a bike too! 

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #28 on: September 25, 2014, 07:59:23 AM »
My mate was stopped at the lights, indicator on to turn left and a cyclist pulled up beside him and stopped. But instead of unclipping his foot, he grabbed onto the bull bar on the front of his ute!! WTF!!! My mate wanted to turn left, so slowly moved when the light changed and got a mouth full because he  'inconvienienced' a lazy cyclist!!
[/quote]

if they're going to make rule and laws they should ban pedal clips these things are dangerous!!!
the last thing i want to do is kill someone, but nearly did of no fault of my own when a bloke lost balance and tipped over which would have been directly under my ps wheel. i near pooped myself wonder how old mate felt?

one more, in fear of a flat tyre on the road.. get damn road tyres ...
to heavy you say ... get over it ...
when you want to race put your damn race tyres on (you will go faster as you've been training on your heavy wheels)

no use being self righteous if what you're doing on the road ends up with you dead or on youtube
everyone wants you to stuff up so they can capture the next funniest video
think about what you're doing and stay safe

thats my pov
Ads
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 08:13:36 AM by Green rv »
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

« Reply #29 on: September 25, 2014, 08:01:42 AM »
Quote from: dazzler
Thank you dear sir. I bet HE rides a bike too!

Come on, we haven't had a bike whinge thread in at last 2 weeks...

blah blah blah bike riders make me

Offline JD-120

« Reply #30 on: September 25, 2014, 08:13:29 AM »
let he who has not sinned cast the first stone.

ever not come to a complete stop at a stop sign
ever exceeded the speed limit while over taking
Ever parked in a handicap space, a senior space or a no parking space
Jay walked or dropped a ciggi on the ground
ever chucked a sickie, thats probably fraud

is all this really worth getting bothered about.

The original post was about a rise in recent bicycle related incidents with  a finishing admission that there are idiots in cars as well. We always seem to get our shirts off over stupid crud like this

Why do they pick on 4x4's where there is a crash involving a 4by and a sedan? Who cares. Its media, they get paid for clicks. News articles with the most clicks find their way to the top of the page.

« Reply #31 on: September 25, 2014, 08:35:17 AM »

time

« Reply #32 on: September 25, 2014, 08:42:41 AM »
I'm constantly amused by people who bet their lives that I am a good driver and will not run into them irrespective of their actions.  The reality is I'm a hopeless driver (who obeys traffic rules), it is just a matter of time  :angel:

« Reply #33 on: September 25, 2014, 08:53:58 AM »

Offline dmax13

« Reply #34 on: September 25, 2014, 12:36:20 PM »
Here are some recommendations that the Victorian government are evaluating.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/pedal-power-vicroads-considers-allowing-cyclists-to-run-red-lights/story-fni0fit3-1227055875630?nk=763bd2dacf25381a779833e1b86ab1aa

The biggest issue is that the lanes have become narrower to cope with the increased traffic of all different types. This is especially true in the city, with the introduction of the elevated tram stops. If you now look at many new estates there is not enough room for cars to park and the traffic to flow.

Until all levels of government start to invest in infrastructure, this problem will continue to grow as will the angst for all.

« Reply #35 on: September 25, 2014, 12:46:15 PM »
Get over it.......if a cyclist is in the wrong and gets cleaned up it no difference to a car being in the wrong and getting cleaned up.

See cars doing the wrong thing way more than bikes......there are more car accident than bike

Source for this statistic? Or are you just making this up?

Offline grafy82

« Reply #36 on: September 25, 2014, 01:19:44 PM »
At the end of the day it doesn't matter who's right or wrong, it comes down to 2 very important words. SELF PRESERVATION. Being within your rights will not keep you out of a pine box.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

« Reply #38 on: September 25, 2014, 05:28:02 PM »
At the end of the day it doesn't matter who's right or wrong, it comes down to 2 very important words. SELF PRESERVATION. Being within your rights will not keep you out of a pine box.

Ah well said..................

Better to be alive than correct!
I've just given up. I'll be wrong all the time, I no longer care, I just want to keep living as long as I can........ :D

« Reply #39 on: September 25, 2014, 05:39:43 PM »
hoons the lot of them those cycylist https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_wsluK2aJq8

Offline JD-120

« Reply #40 on: September 25, 2014, 05:41:45 PM »
hoons the lot of them those cycylist https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_wsluK2aJq8

this is blatant double standards, if this was a motor vehicle, it would be impounded, fines incurred and loss of license  :police: ;D

Offline whitey1

• Mr and Mrs Whiteys Great Oz Trek
« Reply #41 on: September 25, 2014, 06:27:46 PM »
I ride a mountain bike and try to keep off the roads as much as possible. As such I don't consider myself a cyclist even though I do ride to work a lot. But I keep to the cycleway or even footpath because I don't feel all that safe sharing the road with cars.
I also ride motorbikes and that has taught me to always assume that drivers don't see me! Because quite often they don't. That would be the same for a pushy(or even more so).
I do get annoyed with cyclists on the road when there's a perfectly good cycleway right alongside too.

Toyota Prado D4D towing an custom built off road caravan
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mr-Mrs-Whiteys-Great-Oz-Trek/23574764645

« Reply #42 on: September 25, 2014, 06:42:57 PM »
You know, I get cyclist whining like poodles. 

If a bike gets hit by a car they go squish.

If a bike hits a car they still go squish.

:D

« Reply #43 on: September 26, 2014, 06:25:43 AM »
You know, I get cyclist whining like poodles. 

If a bike gets hit by a car they go squish.

If a bike hits a car they still go squish.

:D

Mate, nothing a good hose can't fix to get rid of the blood and guts, but I do hate it when a wheel gets stuck in the suspension though.
Back and forth, back and forth.....boinnng...there it goes, all good again.
Add one more stamp to the door and go hunting again.  :D

Offline Bullant4x4

Bike riders !!! Grrrr - things are getting worse up here
« Reply #44 on: September 26, 2014, 06:42:04 AM »
« Last Edit: October 31, 2014, 05:28:10 AM by Bullant4x4 »

« Reply #45 on: September 26, 2014, 07:02:38 AM »
Lol... This ain't gonna end well :)

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!

Offline 1302toby

« Reply #46 on: September 26, 2014, 08:58:09 AM »
I grew up on beach rd in Hampton, Melbourne bayside. The amount of cyclists along there now is amazing on the weekend and if you own a house on that road now you can't even park out the front due to traffic restrictions due to cyclists. Even 10 years ago it was popular with the infamous hellride. From memory they did kill at least one pedestrian due to running red lights. However we used to tie the next door neighbours blue heeler (who had a massive dislike of bikes) to the front gate with just enough rope to reach the gutter, he used to sit in the drive and wait then tear out the front barking and snarling..the cyclists called the police one day who called the ranger who fined us. I took the dog back next door and left the fine in the mail box..

Offline Green rv

• SAND CAR-SELS @ FRASER
« Reply #47 on: September 26, 2014, 09:06:48 AM »
.the cyclists called the police one day who called the ranger who fined us. I took the dog back next door and left the fine in the mail box..

now thats funny made me LOL  :cheers: mate  :D :D :D
Hilux 2002 LN167 + Stockman POD

Offline jillybean

« Reply #48 on: September 26, 2014, 10:11:31 AM »
I was really trying hard to stay out of this because I don't want to get caught up in the 'us' and 'them' mentality, but some of the comments/suggestions on here are quite frightening.  I assume (hope) most of these are made in jest, but there is a small percentage of idiot drivers that read this stuff (or listen to the 'shock jock' idiots) and think it is ok to do things to scare cyclists.  It is not - there are no circumstances where it is acceptable.  The outcome for the cyclist could easily be deadly.  I know there are cyclists that do the wrong thing, just as there are drivers that do the wrong thing, but there are many, many more that you don't notice because they are doing the right thing. 

I am a 56 year old wife, mother, grandmother, aunt, accountant, surf lifesaver, driver - and road cyclist. 
« Last Edit: September 26, 2014, 12:25:33 PM by jillybean »
1999 Subaru Outback, 1990 Aussie Swag Outback OffRoad - both oldies but goodies

time

« Reply #49 on: September 26, 2014, 10:34:45 AM »
Couldn't possibly condone this sort of behavior :(

Small | Large