Author Topic: Long Range fuel Tanks  (Read 12858 times)

Long Range fuel Tanks
« on: August 01, 2014, 10:52:23 AM »
OK guys who has a long range fuel tank on their vehicle

Was it worth it and does the fuel guage work as normal after the install or do you throw it out the window

I am happy with the Dmax 700k range when not towing but this srops down with the goldstream on the back and i am not sure if a tank is the way to go or just throw a jerry on the back of the camper trailer

An experiences advicew would be appreciated

Re: Long Range fuel Tanks
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2014, 11:35:18 AM »
I had a bigger tank under my Surf.
The gauge was showing nearly correctly, after we did some modifications to the standard floater arm in the tank.
Don't have a long rangetank under the LX yet.
- Rhinomax Scorpion Hybrid

Offline marvellous_matt

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2014, 11:41:25 AM »
our R51 pathfinder (80l) could only get a bigger tank if we removed the spare wheel from underneath, as we have lived and worked remote we already had a 2nd spare on swing way wheel carrier on the back, and didn't want to only have one. So extra fuel was always in Jerrys, much easier now we can carry them on the Camper draw bar. If it could be done with out loosing anything (I think it can be done on the DMAX) I think its a good thing. The DMAX at work has a 140ish l tank, fuel gague work ok, looks full for a bit longer, and goes down a bit quick from half way, but if you know how much you put in and how far you should get its fine. Personally I hate stopping for fuel, Ive always kept this in mind when looking at motorbikes which often have small ranges.

I think you need to look at where you will be traveling to work out if it is cost effective. Across the Tanami it is along way in between drinks, same with Simpson and plenty of more remote 4wd destinations. Otherwise you can normally find some where to fill up within a shorter range (350km), just paying a bit more. Some people think its a good excuse to stop and stretch legs, find a loo and take some photos.

I would prefer to limit my handling of fuel and keep away from jerrys as much as possible, but its a cheap option if you only need to do it occasionally.

« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2014, 11:48:06 AM »
With the patrol, it costs you $1100+ for the long range tank that gives you same amount as 2x $20 jerry cans gives you.

« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2014, 11:48:41 AM »
Had a 58l aux on the Paj. Loved the extra range it gave me towing. If they wernt so damned expensive on the cruiser to only gain 35l I would do it again.  Can't see many drawbacks other than carrying the extra weight around.

Offline Bullant4x4

Long Range fuel Tanks
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2014, 12:05:21 PM »
The Patrol has a 90lt and a sub of 30lt. I've got 2 jerry can holders on the rear bar and the CT comes with 3 more. Since it's easier with the jerry, for me it's not worth it. Also it's better to spread the fuel around just in case something happens (all your eggs is one basket).

You will have to consider your GVM. The extra weight of the tank and then the extra fuel. If your got a front bar, rear bar, duel batteries and a roof rack, you'll just be sitting on the GVM with a bit of gear in as well. Add a long range and extra fuel and you'll be well over.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 12:08:29 PM by Bullant4x4 »

time

« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2014, 12:41:42 PM »
Put a 145 l longrange in the Patrol 6 years ago.  With the 30 l subtank I have 175 l on board, if I need extra two gerry cans give me another 40 l.  So a total of 215 l.  On the Canning with 900 ks between fuel stops I had plenty.

Normal driving gives me around 1000 ks, so I can avoid those high $ fuel stops on most occasions.  Would I put one in again, yes!

Offline Bullant4x4

« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2014, 12:50:14 PM »
Hey Time, what was your GVM?

I'm just sitting on 3T and about to do an upgrade to 3495kg

time

« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2014, 01:08:48 PM »
Hey Time, what was your GVM?

I'm just sitting on 3T and about to do an upgrade to 3495kg

I haven't been game to check, with all the extra bolt on bits I'm pretty sure I would be at the max.  I have beefed up the suspension and added spring tower bracing to the rear end.  Very rarely have a lot on board now days carry the extra weight in the camper.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 01:16:15 PM by time »

« Reply #9 on: August 01, 2014, 01:14:11 PM »
Most of the aftermarket tanks are very very thick and therefore very heavy.  Unlike the factory fuel tanks that are very light.

I hate weight so I suggest no.  But lots of 4wd'ers love weight so they may say yes.... :laugh:

Offline cyberess

« Reply #10 on: August 01, 2014, 04:29:35 PM »
Yes I have a light weight 80 litre auxiliary poly under tray tank setup -- that uses gravity feed to the main tank (It's taken my total capacity to 160 Litres)  -- it's a setup that could be used with any ute with a tray setup.  It's a rather inexpensive setup as the cost of the tank with mounting brackets was about $382, plus I also paid $75 for a filler kit. I have the setup documented under my "Mahindra Pik-up UTE build" thread http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=17679.msg430288#msg430288

Just what a 80L poly tank looks like..  They are light and durable,

More info on the 80L under tray poly tank
http://www.enmachind.com.au/products-page/rv-accessories/dprv80s-mk-diesel-slimline-tank-inc-mount-kit

« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2014, 05:40:31 PM »
If you're happy to lose some of your space in the back of the ute then Boab tanks may suit http://www.dolium.com.au/Retail_Catalogue/cat/Poly_Diesel_Tanks.html

« Reply #12 on: August 01, 2014, 05:57:05 PM »
if it's easy enough to chuck the jerry on the back then go that route IMHO...i have a 185ltr sub tank on my Cruiser, i've worked out when the needle hits E on the gauge i can still do atleast 100klms....lol....the added weight from the sub tank at the back is definately noticable, i changed my suspension set up due to this issue. Realistically you need to work out how often you'd think you'd need more then 20ltrs extra of fuel over what you have now, 99.9 % of the time you'll likely get to somewhere that sells fuel with what you have i'd hazard a guess. The extra weight you carry when longrange tank is full and the cost of purchasing the tank are something to take into consideration, yes you can save fuel costs on a trip by skipping smaller more expensive towns to refuel at, but realistically how often do you think you'll be doing trips like that where it's an issue, take that into consideration? Also how long do you plan on keeping the vehicle, will the cost outlay be recouped before upgrading your vehicle?
Rarely does my sub tank get completely filled, on big trips away i do it, but it's been a while now since i filled mine right up.

nbd73

« Reply #13 on: August 01, 2014, 06:19:25 PM »
Chester, I had an auxiliary tank installed on my jeep because A it required premium unleaded which is really hard to get away from big cities & B petrol is harder to carry safely. It had an extra gauge and transfer pump BUT it cost $2k installed and added weight to vehicle + hung down underneath. For diesel I would never consider it, if pouring into tank is an issue just get an elec bilge pump to tramsfer from jerries.
Overrated unless you are doing desert crossings.

« Reply #14 on: August 01, 2014, 06:33:35 PM »
Overrated unless you are doing desert crossings.

Reckon I agree with that.

« Reply #15 on: August 01, 2014, 06:49:10 PM »
I put one onto my 4by from these guys http://www.longrangeautomotive.com.au

Service, quality and fit was great and they advertised it as combined a 2000km capacity. I tested it Melbourne to Brisbane on diesel and they were correct. Both tanks full when I left home, I arrived in Brisvegas without filling up, and according to the trip computer I had enough fuel left for 250km's, (plus there was a 40km diversion into Gosford).

At the time of installation Woolworths and Coles we're offering the 20c, 30c, and 40c off fuel vouchers which has now stopped, but during that time, I recouped some of the cost of the extra tank in voucher savings.

Would I have a sub tank again on my next 4by, possibly yes. One less thing to have to carry separately.

Who is Gary?
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 06:51:17 PM by scarps »

« Reply #16 on: August 01, 2014, 06:53:49 PM »
At the time of installation Woolworths and Coles we're offering the 20c, 30c, and 40c off fuel vouchers which has now stopped, but during that time, I recouped some of the cost of the extra tank in voucher savings.

the bigger tank was certainly handy back when they were doing the big discounts like you mentioned above  8)

nbd73

« Reply #17 on: August 01, 2014, 07:36:42 PM »
Further to this, and slightly off topic sorry, I reckon carrying at least 1 if not 2 spare fuel filters(& knowing how to change them)  is critical for modern diesels on long trips. If u need a long range tank then odds on u r going to have to fill up at some suspect servos = risk of contaminated fuel is multiplied.

Offline woftam

• Conanti dabitur
« Reply #18 on: August 01, 2014, 08:44:34 PM »
OK guys who has a long range fuel tank on their vehicle
I run a 150 litre main with a 80 litre sub

Was it worth it
Mine was mainly installed for the CSR and ABH. However this was not the sole reason - I will be doing some remote work involving long distances and the vehicle is expected to last me a minimum of 10 years. On the CSR I fuelled up at Wiluna, made it to Georgia Bore, took a side trip to Desert Queen Baths and back then put approximately 180 litres in at a fuel drop just north of Georgia Bore. This lasted me until Halls Creek where it took 200 litres.
Having watched others on the trip being completely anal about fuel economy and topping up with jerry = then yes it was worth it.

does the fuel guage work as normal after the install or do you throw it out the window
The fuel gauges are usefu as an approximate guide. The main gauge only starts to move after 250-300 kms. I have used 10 litres of fuel after the light comes on and suspect there is more left.
The sub tank gauge has to pump for at least 10 minutes before the gauge moves - it now takes over an hour to empty into the main.
“Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.”
-Dr. Seuss

« Reply #19 on: August 01, 2014, 09:30:26 PM »

Our 100 series V8 petrol/auto has the 90lt main tank and is now fitted with a 170lt sub...........total 260lt.

"Was it worth it and does the fuel gauge work as normal after the install or do you throw it out the window"

Yes, I think it was, but ''only'' because I bought the tank on eBay for $225, otherwise I could never justify the price of a new one !!

The gauge on the original 90lt tank is untouched so works as it did from the factory, the gauge on the second aftermarket tank works ok but once it hits the empty mark we can get about 100 to 120km more around town driving.

The other consideration for us was that we had to then purchase a rear bar\tyre carrier to relocate the spare tyre, that's an extra cost for some vehicles that should not be overlooked !

John K

Offline V8CRSA

• Just waiting to hit the open road again......
« Reply #20 on: August 01, 2014, 09:38:30 PM »
I would love to fit a long range tank to our 200, but can't justify the cost of nearly $5000 for the tank and rear bar/spare wheel carrier.
For the handful of times we will need to carry a little extra fuel I think we will make do with jerry cans.

2013 GXL TTD 200 SERIES CRUISER
Not quite "ATS" but working on it

nbd73

« Reply #21 on: August 01, 2014, 10:01:14 PM »
I would love to fit a long range tank to our 200, but can't justify the cost of nearly $5000 for the tank and rear bar/spare wheel carrier.
For the handful of times we will need to carry a little extra fuel I think we will make do with jerry cans.

End game. Bingo. :cup:

Offline dirtpilot

« Reply #22 on: August 01, 2014, 10:32:17 PM »
I have a Patrol cab chassis. You get a second tank free 8) 170 liters in total and a second fuel guage. :cup:

nbd73

« Reply #23 on: August 01, 2014, 10:57:47 PM »
I have a Patrol cab chassis. You get a second tank free 8) 170 liters in total and a second fuel guage. :cup:
:cup: x 2 : if its free evem better.

Offline Team Evil

« Reply #24 on: August 03, 2014, 04:03:09 AM »
I have a 2010 76 series cruiser, only comes with one 90 litre tank.
Was annoying to fill up if touring with the camper.

Replaced with an Ironman tank $ 759 + fitting, now 160 litre. 
Much cheaper than the other brands.

Gauge stays up for a while  but reasonably accurate after that.

2010 Lc76
2013 Explorer Lawson 9ft Soft Floor