Author Topic: Smaller engine and less power new navara  (Read 11464 times)

Smaller engine and less power new navara
« on: July 29, 2014, 07:50:21 AM »
Yes.. that's a step in the right direction - the fixation of small highly stressed engines... designed to last the warranty period and then nothing
http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/new-nissan-navara-less-powerful-20140728-zxkhk.html

"Instead, the most powerful engine at launch is likely to be a 2.3-litre four-cylinder diesel motor "
and
"We are aware of quality issues for the previous model."

and whats with the look of all new cars, they look like a rat caught behind a jet engine...
« Last Edit: July 29, 2014, 08:05:32 AM by Bird »

Re: Smaller engine and less power new navara
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2014, 07:56:54 AM »
Eventhough they are getting more power from smaller motors, I'm happy with my BT50

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2014, 08:25:07 AM »
My goodness me. Look at all that ground clearance! Our friends Mitsu ASX has more than that >:D

Offline GUEY

« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2014, 08:35:08 AM »
I thought there was talk of the 2.8lt cummins. Maybe just American spec?
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2014, 08:35:52 AM »
Eventhough they are getting more power from smaller motors, I'm happy with my BT50

+1 here.  there's no substitute for cubes... :)

Offline Diesel Power

« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2014, 09:35:28 AM »
Yeah had a laugh the other day when a mate was saying that he is getting 13 litres/100 kms out of his Amarok Auto with a load.
I get the same economy out of my 200 series under the same conditions, and being an ex D40 Navara owner, I'm not a big fan of the highly strung small capacity diesels anymore.
Angus
Work - dedicated or medicated?

1999 HZJ105 GXL Auto Fully kitted. SOLD.
2008 VDJ200 GXL Auto.
2007 Custom built soft floor. SOLD.
2015 Kimberley Karavan Classic. SOLD.
2012 Kimberley Kamper Limited Edition.

« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2014, 10:04:11 AM »
Why not it is fast becoming a vehicle that is used for fun rather than work

The average punter may tow twice a year and put a couple bikes in the back. So for the 99% of the time it just runs around town than a small fuel efficient engine is the go. People like us unfortunatly are in a ever shrinking minority and vehicles are designed around the majority

« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2014, 10:09:18 AM »
Goes to show Nissan STILL hasn't got its head around what Aussies want !!

And contrary to what some people think, Australia is a big market for 4wd's....

obviously USA kills us for the other side of the market ( the big Tundras and F150's etc )

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2014, 10:10:30 AM »
I think the biggest selling Navara has been the 2.5L in the last 10 years so it's not a huge change.  I doubt they were selling too many of the "hero" 3L V6 550 vehicles due to the cost.
I assume this new navara spells the end for the D22 as well?

« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2014, 10:18:18 AM »
Not a bad looking vehicle though. Looks like it has been designed to go up against the Ford Ranger with it's styling.

Offline rotare

« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2014, 10:52:47 AM »
the fixation of small highly stressed engines... designed to last the warranty period and then nothing

I'm not necessarily arguing this point, but is there any factual basis that these engines aren't lasting the distance, or is this simply speculation?

Wind the clock back 12-15 years where many manufacturers where releasing models with 4 cylinder turbo diesels, and lots of people then were speculating that these 4 cylinder boosted diesels would have a short life span..... yet there are plenty examples on forums today getting 400K+ on stock standard "untouched" motors. 

My goodness me. Look at all that ground clearance! Our friends Mitsu ASX has more than that >:D

Just like any stock 4wd, a simple 50mm lift and slightly larger tyres will give this thing enough clearance for 95% of people to get to the places they need to go.  Generally people who buy these sorts of rigs don't want / need 500mm of clearance.   

« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2014, 11:16:04 AM »

obviously USA kills us for the other side of the market ( the big Tundras and F150's etc )

Compared globally im Sorry but AUS would make up 5% of Nissan Global sales

« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2014, 11:32:20 AM »

The average punter may tow twice a year and put a couple bikes in the back. So for the 99% of the time it just runs around town than a small fuel efficient engine is the go. People like us unfortunatly are in a ever shrinking minority and vehicles are designed around the majority

i can see your point, but i also subscribe to the theory that a bigger engine might be as (if not more) efficient as a smaller engine because it isn't working so hard, depending on what you are doing with it...

my opinion only... :)
« Last Edit: July 29, 2014, 11:36:00 AM by paceman »

« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2014, 11:32:55 AM »
Compared globally im Sorry but AUS would make up 5% of Nissan Global sales

We wish!  Nissan made nearly 5 million vehicles in 2012.  They sold just under 80,000 here. Less than 2%. Nothing will ever get designed specifically for here ever again.

Offline marvellous_matt

« Reply #14 on: July 29, 2014, 11:52:27 AM »
So for the 99% of the time it just runs around town
your bang on, but we love having bling on our toys for that 1%. Winches and snorkels and spare spare tyres, muddies, long range tanks, all in preparation for those trips. I know the percentages of use vary, but it is more about perceived need rather than actual need.

« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2014, 11:55:15 AM »
Quote from: paceman
i can see your point, but i also subscribe to the theory that a bigger engine might be as (if not more) efficient as a smaller engine because it isn't working so hard, depending on what you are doing with it...
my opinion only... :)
Not only yours..
What would you expect to last longer, a lazy v8 4.0ltr @150kw @ 3500rpm or a 1.0ltr turbo @150kw @550,000rpm

Offline rossm

« Reply #16 on: July 29, 2014, 12:04:13 PM »
Lots of media about Nissan dropping the v6, the way it is written you would think it was the standard engine not an option that came at a substantial cost.

I suspect most v6 navaras went to cashed up caravan owners rather than tradesmen and miners whose purchases dominate the sector.

Nissan australia is a victim of the global car market. We are minnows and often  get everybody else's leftovers or have their preferences forced on is , like the petrol only new patrol.

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
« Reply #17 on: July 29, 2014, 12:08:20 PM »
Has anyone seen a torque curve for these engines (as a matter of interest)? If so, could you post a link up (just some of the cr@p I'm interested in looking at  :D).
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

« Reply #18 on: July 29, 2014, 12:20:30 PM »
Dunno about the BabyShit brown but i dont reckon it looks too bad. I drive a D40 2.5 everyday and i reckon its got plenty of power without being too greedy. With all the newer technology id say the 2.3 would be quiet similar if not better. Efficiency is what its all about and thats the path the car manufacturers are all heading down in this global market.
Similar thing happened in the MN triton where they stepped down from a 3.2 to a 2.5 in the MN but makes the same power. I have heard of some reliability issues but overall i dont think its too bad  :cheers:

« Reply #19 on: July 29, 2014, 01:54:18 PM »
Not only yours..
What would you expect to last longer, a lazy v8 4.0ltr @150kw @ 3500rpm or a 1.0ltr turbo @150kw @550,000rpm

Your still missing the point the AVERAGE buyer would have the vehucle for about 4 years than change over even if you planned for a 3% failure rate within that and replace the engine under warranty you would still be ahead in terms of R&D costs

Modern market wants alsmost sedan like comfort and economy out of their utes so that is what they are given. As long as the engine lasts say 250,000 which would take the once again AVERAGE punter 10 years to get to the vehicle has operated within its design purpose

« Reply #20 on: July 29, 2014, 02:25:40 PM »
Your still missing the point the AVERAGE buyer would have the vehucle for about 4 years than change over even if you planned for a 3% failure rate within that and replace the engine under warranty you would still be ahead in terms of R&D costs

Modern market wants alsmost sedan like comfort and economy out of their utes so that is what they are given. As long as the engine lasts say 250,000 which would take the once again AVERAGE punter 10 years to get to the vehicle has operated within its design purpose

but i'm not the average buyer.  i plan on keeping mine well beyond the 4 year mark you have specified.

and so, based on this, i chose my vehicle with engine considerations (size, torque, etc) taken into account.

i get better fuel economy out of my 5-cylinder 3.2L than i did out of my 2.4L 4-cylinder, with about the same workload.

i'm sure everyone in this discussion understands the nature of the decision from nissan's point of view (as you have pointed out), but that doesn't change the fact that every single usage case is different, and based on this, why wouldn't you select a vehicle with an engine that supports everything you want to do, without having to worry about the engine working its guts out for a fair portion of that time?

and, based on this, why wouldn't nissan provide a motor (that they already have, mind you - link below) and give consumers the best of both worlds?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/V9X_Engine

my opinion, once again... :)

Offline Chris J

• My OKA - 166
« Reply #21 on: July 29, 2014, 02:33:09 PM »
There’s no substitute for Cubes, low revs with grunt down low!

regards,
Chaos, Panic, Disorder - My work is done here.

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #22 on: July 29, 2014, 03:55:34 PM »

And they never will they sell fifty million more to a petrol enriched country that just sux them up by the gazillions......cant argue with that.....but we can dream I guess, well I can...lol

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #23 on: July 29, 2014, 03:59:41 PM »

Spot on

Offline speedcomm

« Reply #24 on: July 29, 2014, 04:14:22 PM »
It's actually exactly the same power and torque as the current 4cyl diesel D40 Navara ST, Not a reduction if you compare a current ST with the yet to be released ST ( or equivalent ) but with a 25 percent reduction in fuel consumption.
2.8L Prado. Jayco Eagle OB.