Author Topic: LPG by the kg  (Read 11489 times)

Offline Ian Wilkinson

LPG by the kg
« on: July 25, 2014, 03:31:29 PM »
Does anyone know if there is any LPG outlets around Brisbane that sell by the kg rather than just a set price whether the bottle is still 1/2 full or totally empty ?

Would be great to top up a bottle so you know it's full before you go away. I've weighted our bottles empty and noted the weights so I have an idea how much is left, but it sure would be noise to fill gas bottles and just pay for just what it needs.

Re: LPG by the kg
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2014, 04:46:45 PM »
Good luck with that one. Probably still work out cheaper just to head to Bunnings.

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!

Offline Big Damo

• I work only for the holidays
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2014, 06:38:12 PM »
Does anyone know if there is any LPG outlets around Brisbane that sell by the kg rather than just a set price whether the bottle is still 1/2 full or totally empty ?

Would be great to top up a bottle so you know it's full before you go away. I've weighted our bottles empty and noted the weights so I have an idea how much is left, but it sure would be noise to fill gas bottles and just pay for just what it needs.
Check out places like bcf or ray's outdoors some of these stores fill bottles in SA so worth checking out.
Damo

XR6 and Lifestyle Extenda Elite

« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2014, 08:22:02 PM »
Quote from: Ian Wilkinson
I haven't seen one that does that ever.

« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2014, 08:26:32 PM »
I haven't seen one that does that ever.
Cheapest gas refill I've had for a long time was Rawnsley Park, but that's a bit of a drive tho  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2014, 08:27:11 PM »
Cheapest gas refill I've had for a long time was Rawnsley Park, but that's a bit of a drive tho  ;D ;D ;D
Pick me up and lets go!

Offline Homer_Jay

« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2014, 08:37:59 PM »
Have to seen anyone charge by the kg in years.

And yes, some places used to do it.

Landcruiser 76 wagon V8 T/D

Supreme Getaway pop top 12 ft

« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2014, 09:35:04 PM »
So you expect to pay pro rate price for a kg?,  forget it.

Used to refill full containers when we had the business 10 years ago, if someone wanted a partial refil, ie, a kg or two into a 9 kg bottle, I'd say, yep, that will be $10 (half the cost of a full refill then).

When they complained I'd say you're welcome to buy the business and pay the staff like I have to! Just as much stuffing around to put 1 kg in as 9.

Sorry to be so blunt to your post, but a lot of ppl don't have much idea of how a business works.

« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2014, 09:38:19 PM »
So you expect to pay pro rate price for a kg?,  forget it.

Used to refill full containers when we had the business 10 years ago, if someone wanted a partial refil, ie, a kg or two into a 9 kg bottle, I'd say, yep, that will be $10 (half the cost of a full refill then).

When they complained I'd say you're welcome to buy the business and pay the staff like I have to! Just as much stuffing around to put 1 kg in as 9.

Sorry to be so blunt to your post, but a lot of ppl don't have much idea of how a business works.

Should've been a loan shark  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Offline Coiled

« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2014, 10:53:01 PM »
Get an extra 9kg cylinder and buy one of these. You can then top up all of your cylinders to your hearts content. If you want to get really economical you can buy and adaptor to connect to the LPG bowser at the servo.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/LPG-Filler-Decanting-Gun-Hose-To-Suit-BBQ-POL-CGA510-Valves/231248656754?_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIC.MBE%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20140106155344%26meid%3D8563921316300696258%26pid%3D100005%26prg%3D20140106155344%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D231268158466&rt=nc
2013 Nissan Patrol Y61
2015 Kimberley Karavan Eco Suite

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2014, 10:57:05 PM »

No chance.
If you're that tight, get a few of them and use one til it's totally empty, then refill.
That way, if you go away, you always have a full one and one that's partial.
Again, use the partial til empty and so on.

That way, you always fill an empty one.

Gas cylinders don't have flow meters. It's not like fuel that's calibrated and regulated.
Contact me for special MySwag prices on 4x4 accessories!
http://scenicrim4x4.com.au

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #11 on: July 26, 2014, 04:57:27 AM »
Don't think Ian is being a tite arse, his point is valid,, why should you pay for a full bottle if it's not empty..  >:(
I don't like to that's for sure.. i have been filling my own bottles for many year's, i have a 45kg that i fill at the bowser, then decant into my smaller bottles as needed, yes the gas is a different mix.... before you start.!
and i am a tite Arse.   ;D :cheers:

BHG

« Reply #12 on: July 26, 2014, 06:03:24 AM »
No chance.
Gas cylinders don't have flow meters. It's not like fuel that's calibrated and regulated.
I am sure there is a formula of litres to kgs or per 100 grams. The cylinder could be weighed before and after. Bunnings price of $18 swap for a 8.5kg is reasonable compared to others that charge in the high $20 or even $30.

An 8.5 kg bottle will hold about 17 litres of LPG or about $14 @ .80c  per litre.

Offline Jahooper

« Reply #13 on: July 26, 2014, 06:40:30 AM »
A little bit off topic but we have instantaneous gas hot water with 45kg exchange cylinders, when we get home from a camping trip usually remove the bottle from the camper if they are partially full, disconnect one of the 45kg cylinders and use the small cylinder for gas for the hot water til it runs out, then get it refilled.

Always get a full cylinder this way and have it as backup if we run out of gas on the BBQ or hot water.

James.

2011 RRS
2009 Kimberley Kamper Sports RV

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
« Reply #14 on: July 26, 2014, 09:45:19 AM »
I am sure there is a formula of litres to kgs or per 100 grams. The cylinder could be weighed before and after. Bunnings price of $18 swap for a 8.5kg is reasonable compared to others that charge in the high $20 or even $30.

An 8.5 kg bottle will hold about 17 litres of LPG or about $14 @ .80c  per litre.

sure - so which business is going to operate calibrated scales and risk the wrath of weights and measures etc when a bloke complains he was ripped off 100 grams?

don't get me wrong, no one like to pay for something they haven't got 100% of - me included.

the packaged swap products are weighed on calibrated scales when filled, and guarantee the weight according to the advertised weight on the packaging.

when you get yours filled, invariably you get more in the cylinder than the packaged product would - I think I posted about this once before - its all to do with safe filling capacity and expansion.
 as filling is cheaper than buying/swapping packaged, you really get more for your dollar - if you follow? assuming you have only a small amount in the bottom.

actually, we are all very lucky that refills are still allowed - overfilling is not dangerous per se, but could be in the right circumstances.

Offline peter2904

« Reply #15 on: July 26, 2014, 09:46:38 AM »
Years ago LPG was always sold by weight in Brisbane.  They weighed bottle before and after fill.  Was great for getting those half full bottles filled before heading off.

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
« Reply #16 on: July 26, 2014, 09:54:00 AM »
Don't think Ian is being a tite arse, his point is valid,, why should you pay for a full bottle if it's not empty..  >:(
I don't like to that's for sure.. i have been filling my own bottles for many year's, i have a 45kg that i fill at the bowser, then decant into my smaller bottles as needed, yes the gas is a different mix.... before you start.!
and i am a tite Arse.   ;D :cheers:

BHG

so you would be aware that the different mix of lpg meant for cars used in appliances (like your bbq) will blacken jets and hose inners, cause faster failure rates and degraded performance over time?  it will never burn as good as using the proper LPG gas sold for this purpose. its a different mixture.
as long as you accept this, go right ahead.

sorry to sound like a smart ar$e - I worked in this industry for years and have seen many a bloke drag his 45 around to servos trying to save a couple of $$, then lie these down under the feet of his kids in the back seat and drive off (not saying you are doing this). they are not meant to be dragged around to servos and filled by inexperienced people - I'm surprised the servo doesn't shut down the pump when they see you doing this.
if you are laying this cylinder down to transport it, I would just like to say that that is dangerous.

anyway, carry on!

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
« Reply #17 on: July 26, 2014, 09:56:39 AM »
Years ago LPG was always sold by weight in Brisbane.  They weighed bottle before and after fill.  Was great for getting those half full bottles filled before heading off.

yes, and then we all realised the internal capacity of bottles differed, as imported bottles (cylinders) flooded the market.
the gas examiner started to crack down on overfilling - weighing before and after simply proves how much you put in - not if that volume you filled is safe for that cylinder

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #18 on: July 26, 2014, 10:07:03 AM »
Slightly off-topic but I noticed recently that bunnings 9kg swaps went up to $23 (Brisbane southside) whereas BCF were doing refills for $20 although that might have been a limited time special.

Offline grizzly

« Reply #19 on: July 26, 2014, 10:07:55 AM »
We have 3 bottles 2x 9kg 1st. 4.5kg , we acquired these overtime all are exchange type that I fill or exchange depending on convenience, We just use one until it's empty then get it filled/exchanged, rarely stuck without gas, camper bottle is included in this and I just put a full one on the camper when needed.
Grizzly :cheers:

« Reply #20 on: July 26, 2014, 10:22:37 AM »
DON'T do the "swap'n'go" in Somerville woolworths  :'( :'( :'(    $35-00 for 9kg,  >:( >:( once bitten, never again, cheaper to drive to bgs in Hastings and get 2 for $45-00  ;D

« Reply #21 on: July 26, 2014, 10:39:41 AM »
Iam surprised there are still shonky service station operators out there refilling 45kg bottles with auto gas mix. You only need to get caught once doing it!  :police:

Offline Ian Wilkinson

« Reply #22 on: July 26, 2014, 03:08:44 PM »
Cheers guys.

Maybe I'm a tight arse, maybe I'm not, kind of immaterial. It's a bit like how my accountant charges me a flat rate to audit the rental properties for tax because the 15minutes it takes him would add up to less than $100. But by introducing a flat rate he can charge $475 per rental property.

We have two 9kg bottles already, one for the camper, one for the weber on the deck so we keep the full one with the camper then swap that to the bbq when the bbq one runs empty and so forth. But it does happen where the van one is half empty and the weber one at home isn't empty yet. Seems pretty reasonable to pay for what you get, not a bonus for the filling station when it's still half full. ANd before anyone says carry the second, sure we could, and the camper has a spot for the second in the boot, but I'd rather use that room for someone else. A little 1kg emergency bottle would be perfect.

Offline heath74

« Reply #23 on: July 26, 2014, 06:04:41 PM »
Yep, we all hate paying for half a bottle of gas, but more to the point we all hate running out of gas mid BBQ!

I have two bottles and just run them down to empty and swap them over, always keeping one full.

That way you are not ever filling half full bottles

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
« Reply #24 on: July 26, 2014, 07:03:11 PM »
Iam surprised there are still shonky service station operators out there refilling 45kg bottles with auto gas mix. You only need to get caught once doing it!  :police:

I read it that BHG is filling them himself using the bowser!!! So he must have some sort of converted hose connector to do this. I wouldn't be admitting to this. It's plainly dangerous.
Auto lpg is not the same as household lpg - sure it will burn, but it's not the same and your appliances will suffer. Plus, you must transport these cylinders upright, otherwise it dangerous and can attract a fine. :police: