Author Topic: Oh camper, oh camper where art thou?  (Read 6027 times)

Offline Thesmilintraveller

• You only live once, go out and enjoy
Oh camper, oh camper where art thou?
« on: July 18, 2014, 03:17:48 PM »
On this beautiful but windy day, Greg and I decided to go up to Harry's Hut from Brissie to check out the camping situation (never been there before, and wanted to see the size of the camping spots for our new c/t, coming soon.......... the spots are too damn small, but that's another story).   Anyways, up the Bruce Highway, out through Pomona and up Kin Kin Road and Harry's Hut Road we go and back to Pomona for a coffee and a bight to eat...... then quietly meander our way back to Brissie....... got home around 3 this arvo.  Now I have a very serious question for all the c/t owners out there.   On our travels today we saw hundreds  ??? of caravans and probably even more RV's.   There were even a few roof top tents........ but, where oh where were the c/t's.......... we found two, but not sure if they were actually c/t's....... could of been trailers with just a cover over  >:D  Now after much discussion about this very important subject  ;D we have come up with two possible scenarios........ 1.   All you c/t owners are in bed asleep because you are too cold, or ( I am hoping this is the real reason) 2.  You are all away already and have already set up camp. 

I would love your feed back on this very important  >:D >:D subject and, perhaps, a report on your camping location  :laugh: :laugh: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel:

I have attached a pic of the everglades, just as proof that we were actually there today.

Cheers and happy camping, Lyn  >:D >:D >:D

Check out how we are going on : http://lynandgreggreatozadventure.tumblr.com
:) :) :) :) :) :) Life's too short to worry :D :D :D :D :D :D

Offline RedDmaxxx

• HAVAHEART
Re: Oh camper, oh camper where art thou?
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2014, 05:00:15 PM »
I think they are all up Beaudesert way, at Darlington park....if we had our camper we would be there to.
Check out Lyn's blog -
http://lynandgreggreatozadventure.tumblr.com

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2014, 05:27:16 PM »
Really??

We saw many, many trailers on our way home from the cape.
The number of trailers we see on the road just seems to grow with every trip.

Geoff

Offline Meltdown

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2014, 05:32:28 PM »
Saw many campers on the road in Vic. Over the last weekend.

« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2014, 05:37:19 PM »
It looks like they are all on the Cape, in Victoria or Beaudesert........... not North of Brissie :D :D   Looks like that where all the caravans and RV's are going this weekend  :angel: :angel: :angel:

Offline Big Damo

• I work only for the holidays
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2014, 07:33:01 PM »
Bit cold down in SA here but I must say when I hit the Sturt highway on any weekend I am seeing more camper trailers heading up and down the highway than caravans. I know when we are away you see more caravans at parks but do not see them travelling to destination so figure they drive middle of the week as they are all retired and trying to avoid traffic. Probably better not to hold the rest of us up on weekends  ;D
Damo

XR6 and Lifestyle Extenda Elite

« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2014, 08:18:08 PM »
that must be it Big Damo....... it's Friday...... still not the weekend........ everybody was packing to leave :D

« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2014, 09:21:39 PM »
They were probably all standing on the beach with fishing rods and wondering why there were no fish.........its because the netters have bagged 81 tonnes of cat food...................You can get a ct in to harry's hut camp area its just a matter of timing and luck......

Have fun and cheers.

Nomad,

« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2014, 11:42:47 PM »
You would be right Nomad.......... there's no damn fish up there........ that's for sure  >:( >:(

Offline smartyingreen

« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2014, 12:00:24 AM »
Traveled the Sturt Hwy today and seen at least a half dozen campers on the road between Renmark and Adelaide.

Usually see a dozen just going to collect the mail in Renmark these days.

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Smartyingreen - HZJ105 Land Cruiser + Cameron HD Off Road Unlimited Concept Camper.

« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2014, 11:26:00 AM »
Traveled the Sturt Hwy today and seen at least a half dozen campers on the road between Renmark and Adelaide.

Usually see a dozen just going to collect the mail in Renmark these days.

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Glad to hear smartyingreen......... I was beginning to get worried there for a minute  ;D ;D ;D >:D >:D >:D

« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2014, 02:46:30 PM »
We've never been to Harry's Hut before either, so today, because of this thread, we did.

Not a bad spot and might go back with a picnic lunch next time. I reckon, one or two spots would fit a good sized camper trailer, but that would be it.

We also did the Wolvi lookout as well on the way home, nice view, but not great.

« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2014, 03:01:03 PM »
We've never been to Harry's Hut before either, so today, because of this thread, we did.

Not a bad spot and might go back with a picnic lunch next time. I reckon, one or two spots would fit a good sized camper trailer, but that would be it.

We also did the Wolvi lookout as well on the way home, nice view, but not great.

Yes, we have always loved that part of Qld........and, you are right, there are probably a couple of sites that you could squeeze into, but if somebody else is already camped in them when you arrive, there go the plans ........ out the window so to speak......lol     I dont think we will be planning a weekend to stay there, I would rather know that something is a 'definite', if ya know what I mean???   I do love Noosa Northshore Camping grounds......... simply fabulous :D  Hope your Sunday is one to write home about :D :D  Cheers, Lyn  :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel: :angel:

« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2014, 10:14:11 AM »
I think they must be all up here on the Atherton Tablelands, they are every where. On the trip to Atherton yesterday I saw at least ten to a dozen on the road, but I never saw a myswag sticker on any of them.

« Reply #14 on: July 21, 2014, 12:40:32 PM »
I think they must be all up here on the Atherton Tablelands, they are every where. On the trip to Atherton yesterday I saw at least ten to a dozen on the road, but I never saw a myswag sticker on any of them.

Well.......... that's where they are ;D ;D ;D ;D  smart thinking I say  ;D ;D ;D ;D