Author Topic: Who do some with Diesel 4WD's think they are superior because I drive a petty?  (Read 25749 times)

There is no need to feel inferior for driving a diesel, or a Tata or a Great Wall, or towing whatever.

There are fancier cars and campers, and it would be lovely to have the best of both but one must make do with what one can manage and be comfortable with that, and I think as a rule myswaggers aren't too judgemental about these things.

I've loved my Cruiser but I would now prefer a diesel tow vehicle for the torque. Of course whatever I'm driving I'm towing the Trackabout so no upgrades required back there  8)

Offline Mallory Black

I'm double gone... drive a petrol fourby AND has IFS  LOL
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

I'm double gone... drive a petrol fourby AND has IFS  LOL

I'm even further gone.  The family cars a petrol auto fourby with IFS, IRS and a monocoque body...

I get points back as my daily drivers a diesel manual fourby. ;D

I'd love a modern diesel for the torque when towing but realistically we tow about 2-3 weeks a year and for the payback with servicing, fuel cost etc etc we don't do the kays. On current km showing on the odometer we are averaging 17,000km a year. We take my company car everywhere for local trips. The wife does the school run, work and some kids sport.

I believe it is largely true that whilst one will pay more for a diesel 4wby over the petrol equivalent, Land Cruiser for instance, that price premium is recouped on resale.

True but why wait 6-10 years to recoup that outlay.

Offline Meken

What if you don't plan on selling it? My daily drive is petrol auto - but then I have done a little over 30,000 in 6 years :0

Offline Elky

i love my 200 diesel.....but the petrol is pretty good and a better bet for shorter term ownership

last month in the market for a new work ute to replace my 99 lux petrol 2.7 4 banger, would of liked the same thing again but yota dont do a petty 4 banger 4wd anymore.....only the v6 and only in a sr5 dual cab, i really did want a petrol but the only choice was the colorado with commo v6 (no thanks) or triton (no thanks) infact there is bugger all choice now

so i have got a dmax, i know i will love it but still unsure of CRD engines, i know petrol and EFI quite well and water in the fuel is not really an issue like on diesels

petrol engines have bridged the gap to diesel

2010 TTD Landcruiser, i have added stuff but can't remember what! Slowly gettin quicker at setting up the brumby but breaking camp is another matter....

Offline mcfqn

Swannie I found the same thing. At the 4x4 show at brisbane I had a young guy from a diesel performance chip company call me over and I politely declined saying I've got a petrol. He had a funny look on his face and asked why. I said, well after owning diesels (105 cruiser with turbo I/c 1hz with 3" exhaust and fuel comp) and a new CRD patrol my petrol prado pulls my jayco better and uses same amount of fuel as a CRD patrol (I had a thirsty one). It's far smoother and quieter as well

Add to the fact I saved $6k instead of buying a D4D I'm happy with my choice. Plus the look on the diesel boys face when I pull away from them uphill is priceless haha
« Last Edit: July 15, 2014, 08:46:51 PM by mcfqn »
2006 Pado V6 towing a 2008 Jayco Swan OB each with mods to make life easier.

Offline Diesel Power

Don't be petty about driving a petty. Just as long as you're getting out there and enjoying it!
Whoever suggested about idleing their diesel for 12hrs, that's not a good thing as they glaze the bore if not worked.
Work - dedicated or medicated?

1999 HZJ105 GXL Auto Fully kitted. SOLD.
2008 VDJ200 GXL Auto.
2007 Custom built soft floor. SOLD.
2015 Kimberley Karavan Classic. SOLD.
2012 Kimberley Kamper Limited Edition.

Don't be petty about driving a petty. Just as long as you're getting out there and enjoying it!
Whoever suggested about idleing their diesel for 12hrs, that's not a good thing as they glaze the bore if not worked.
Agree with you there and that's always been my thinking. Not sure what the thinking behind this is can someone fill us in? 
BTW I run a petrol 80 as well. As much as it lacks power on the road especially when towing compared to some of the newer oilers, it's a whole different beast when in low range.

Offline toad

 Having owned both petrol and diesel vehicles, in my humble opinion, there are two main advantages for 4WD diesels.
1/ range in the outback, which includes torque, etc, etc.
2/ availability of fuel in the outback
 Petrol vs diesel models - purchase price, resale, service costs, economy all seem to reach a common denominator after some time.
In other words, if I bought a car or 4WD for the city and local environs, I could probably buy a petrol.
Gary
2009 Cruiser 200 TTD
2007 Navara D40 2.5TD - wife's shopping trolley
2014 AOR Quantum

Agree with you there and that's always been my thinking. Not sure what the thinking behind this is can someone fill us in? 
BTW I run a petrol 80 as well. As much as it lacks power on the road especially when towing compared to some of the newer oilers, it's a whole different beast when in low range.
Us petrol 80 owners need to stick together brother & we cant forget brother Brett B :)

swannie

Just imagine if you had a petrol JEEP........ ;D ;D ;D

Geez I've missed you

Didn't you all notice how my poor old all original diesel "jackaroo 99 " kept up with everybody at Eildon and at Knockwood , especially on the last "Brewery Track" nuff said, 1st time I've ever had the brakes on going down hill  :angel: and without any fandagle downhill/uphill/sideways parking electronic "assist"
Steve, can I borrow that flame suit of yours please  :D

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
Didn't you all notice how my poor old all original diesel "jackaroo 99 " kept up with everybody at Eildon and at Knockwood

99, thats 10 less years than my Rodeo carrying half a tonne of firewood! Fun times!
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Geez I've missed you

Greg,

Why worry about what others may think? Most that fervently push their own opinion are tossers anyway......

Range is the only REAL issue that you MAY encounter, depending where you go. But, if you plan ahead, have an idea of your fuel consumption in different conditions, and know what your fuel gauge is telling you, the issue can usually be managed. It's something we all must do. It's only in very remote areas that it might become a problem.

Petrol or diesel, doesn't really matter that much for most people.....eventually the tank must be filled......

Geoff

Offline Beefgravy

Those of us with V8 petrol Jeeps are certainly a different breed. Gee they tow nice though. :D

Offline dlncooke

• 2014 Dmax LSU, Jayco Destiny & Oztent
What's wrong with a horse & kart !!!

2014 Dmax, LS-U setup for outback touring.

Us petrol 80 owners need to stick together brother & we cant forget brother Brett B :)

swannie

Im still here  ;D

I wish I was still there.

Love the hungie but nothing beats an 80

Offline Beatle

• Devil's Advocate
When I lived in the NT before the blanket speed limit, I knew a businessman who lived in Alice but did a lot of trips to Darwin.  His petrol cruiser could sit on 160KPH on the cruise control..........   I reckon he must have had to leave the fuel cap off to prevent the tank imploding, but he always said he couldn't stand the diesels, and his missus refused to stand in an oily pool at the servo when filling up   ;D

I always tell the diesel guy at the show that I bought a petrol so i don't need to waste time modifying a diesel to get power out of it.  You should see them when I suggest the 1FZ lasts longer than the 1HDT   ;D   Or, tell them you bought the best 'cause you aren't a tight arse and can afford it  :cup:
***The words typed in my messages do not necessarily reflect the personally held views of the author***

Beatle
'97 80 series Landcruiser

Offline Ian Wilkinson

Last year over in Germany, I had to photograph the BMW museum in Munich and a couple of fellas there said diesels have almost reached the end of their development lives, and over the next 5 yrs we'll see more advancements in petrol engines. Diesels aren't going away anytime soon, but they gave a couple of reasons and one was definitely emissions, can't remember what else they said other than petrol engines are seeing more development with smaller engines runnings more forced induction and producing a lot more power then they do now per litre of fuel. A friend of mine bought a Renault Clio (must have lost a bet or something) a couple of months ago, it's a 900cc engine that even with 4 of us in it still zipped along much better than I expected, and uses down in the region of 4lt/100k's.

Offline DeLuxHiLux

• Growing Old is Inevitable. Growing Up is Optional
Its alot harder to drown a diesel in a creek with a soggy sparks box than a petrol. Can get diesel easier in remote outback locations due to restrictions on petrol sales

However, both of these can be overcome, if you don't intend to do remote outback travel or go through deep water crossings, it doesn't even matter. Whatever works for you and your situation

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk HD
'07 HiLux with some "fruit
'11 Tambo Omeo

Back home in one piece!!!

Common Sense: So Rare, it's a SuperPower

Our half lap 2013  blog: www.deluxhilux.blogspot.com.au