Author Topic: Who do some with Diesel 4WD's think they are superior because I drive a petty?  (Read 25748 times)

Ok, I will throw on my second flame suit in a couple of days. Now this is not aimed at any member on Myswag, but over the past few weeks when I have been looking at some parts & accessories for Frank they all ask why I drive a petrol & not a Diesel!! And what has got me a little worked up is a couple of blokes today I know wanted to argue all day that only Diesel 4WD are worth driving and pretenders drive petrol ones. Why do people have theses attitudes? Aren't we all one enjoying the same experiences & getting out there?

Because they can and  um no!  ;D

Been argued before!

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35000.msg608273#msg608273

8)

Give me a petrol anyday.

Oh,and becoz they are dinosaurs, like their engines. petrol hybrid is the way to go. In 20 years time we will all have electric motors at each four corners.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2014, 08:08:01 PM by Mace »

All campers are equal....and we all are out there to enjoy the outdoors..

But.....if you drive a petrol......it will just cost you a little bit more to enjoy the great outdoors !!!!!!!!!      ;D

Yep I remember that thread mace. This is not an argument Diesel vs Petrol, my next one will most likely be a diesel it's more about me feeling a little inadequate  ;D

While they're arguing about that, they're leaving Jeeps alone.
Go for it I say:-)

Yep I remember that thread mace. This is not an argument Diesel vs Petrol, my next one will most likely be a diesel it's more about me feeling a little inadequate  ;D

Don't do it, hybrid mate, be a trend setter, not old school.  :cheers:

There is NOTHING superior about Jeep, Jeep Owners ,Jeepers Petrol or Oilers   Your  right No Argument    ::) ::) :cheers:

Let em be mate, doesn't matter what you drive. As long as you are happy doing it

All campers are equal....and we all are out there to enjoy the outdoors..

But.....if you drive a petrol......it will just cost you a little bit more to enjoy the great outdoors !!!!!!!!!      ;D

Hmmm will it now, I dont think so when you put the extra purchase cost of a diesel on top, I am still a long way in front after owning the petrol cruiser for 4 years

Offline Jakster1

Yeah I've often wondered this myself. Seems now that everyone wants a diesel whether it be a 4wd, 2 wd, wagon, sedan, ute, hatchback, SUV you name it.
Diesel is in fashion.
My prediction is the novelty will wear off and people will go back to petrol.
Petrols are cheaper to buy, run and service.
They burn cleaner and they way high tech diesels are going they're simpler.
New petrol tech is now producing more powerful and economical petty engines so fuel
Economy will no longer be an issue.
GU Patrol. Lifted Locked and Boosted
 Johnnos offroad deluxe -SOLD
 Dmax dual cab 4x4
 Jayco Eagle Outback

There is NOTHING superior about Jeep, Jeep Owners ,Jeepers Petrol or Oilers   Your  right No Argument    ::) ::) :cheers:
C'mon speewa, I know deep down, you're a closet Jeep lover:-)

Yeah I've often wondered this myself. Seems now that everyone wants a diesel whether it be a 4wd, 2 wd, wagon, sedan, ute, hatchback, SUV you name it.
Diesel is in fashion.
New petrol tech is now producing more powerful and economical petty engines so fuel
reckon I agree with you here Jakster1, plus Diesel seems to be less affected by weekly price fluctuations (god I had to spell check that once or twice), while unleaded is more competitively priced.

scarps if its closet l will nail the cupboard shut . Have a Go at Pajero  if you want  too or  ;D  Trade up  :cup: :cup: :cheers:

Offline graham

• I used to cruise, now i just PATROL
  • nrnr62
Google BTU /gallon /litre , that should answer your question
nrnr62

I love the smell of diesel fumes in the morning  >:D

Each have there advantages and disadvantages, the way it goes, some people just want to measure penis's over it

Offline lino6

• How repugnant
Some people just like to argue their point to make up for the personal inadequacies.... Some argue because they like their own voice.

End of the day, who cares what others think.  :cup:
SWMBO reminds me of a Prodigy song....
Driving - Mighty 89 2.8td Rodeo
Towing - Aussie Jays Big Red (with her DMax http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=33442.0)

Diesel is in fashion.

Volkswagen is putting  $$ into petrol hybrid, GM have never really gone diesel, and Toyota  are also pro petrol hybrid.

Really it's a no brainer, manufacturers  want low weight and better economy, diesel just doesn't stack up.  The gains made with petrol over  the last few years are amazing. Hybrid technology will just magnify these gains.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2014, 11:01:40 PM by Mace »

I've had both, I enjoyed the petrols for simplicity/I understood them but the diesel seems to tow much better, or more effortlessly.

If I was buying again they would both be on my shopping list, only for a new one though. The older petrols drank like a fish!! They were cheaper to buy but also harder to sell.

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
Back when Diesel engines were more expensive it was harder to pin down the real cost of petrol over diesel but when I bought the 150 there was only 2k difference between the petrol and diesel which blew my previous calcs out of the water. Having said that I have owned both and apart from running cost have no real issue with either.

How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

Another swagger and I have been chatting about this on and off for a bit. 

My TD Prado 120 gets around 12.5 lphk average (been towing lately).

His FJ Cruiser Petrol gets 11. 

And I know the FJ would leave mine for dead. 

Some people just like to argue their point to make up for the personal inadequacies.... Some argue because they like their own voice.

End of the day, who cares what others think.  :cup:

It all comes down to the same arguments of what's the best 4WD? (Cruza of course), the best tyres, the best winch, blah blah blah.  There used to be a fair arguement why diesels were better than pretties but I reckon that has all changed over the last 15-20 years.
 I have owned diesel Cruzas for most of my driving life but not long ago I came really close to selling the 105 diesel and buying a 100s petrol. :-*
Don't worry what some others think or say Swannie. :cheers:

I love the smell of diesel fumes in the morning  >:D
Keith that's from your heater you left on all night

Don't worry about them swannie just point to the sign outside a servo and show them the 6  to 10 cents a litre more diesel costs.

Good replies guys, I actually really don't care what they say ( I was certainly telling them that yesterday). It's was more around their perceptions.