Author Topic: Armadillo or Walkabout CT?  (Read 3586 times)

Offline Jumle

Armadillo or Walkabout CT?
« on: June 09, 2014, 12:00:39 PM »
Hello everyone,

I'm looking for some good honest advice please : )

I'm new on this forum and a newbie grey nomad as well. I'm from Cairns QLD. I'm looking at buying a Armadillo ARMA-X CT or Trackabout safari SV extenda 28k and 26k. I'm a single guy going to live permanently in CT going around Australia following the sunny and warm weather I'm not going to be in cold weather so I will go south in summer be in the north tropics in winter : ). Which is better and why? Also in terms of kitchens I see Armadillo comes with Smev kitchen all stainless steel and Trackabout with Drifter kitchen which is made of ply and laminate any advice and experience on kitchens please? I'm going to free camp as well go to Caravan parks. My budget is approx 30k.

Any comment, advice, help is appreciated please : )

Cheers Jan pronounced Yarn like have a yarn with Jan : )

Re: Armadillo or Walkabout CT?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2014, 12:47:14 PM »
Welcome to myswag.  I have no real world experience with either camper.  I do have a Customline which has just been taken over by Armadillo and if they are as good as the Customline you will be happy.  The Trackabout was my second choice when buying and is a great camper also.  I reckon you won't go wrong with either.

I have a Drifta kitchen and like it heaps.  Have never seen any negative reports about Drifta.  Yes it is ply but it is made super strong.  You can lift the Drifta out if you need to and use it under a tree, not something we have ever done but we have lifted it out twice and used both sets of legs to get it level when the CT was parked on a slope.

nbd73

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2014, 12:51:04 PM »
The armadillo doesn't come with the walk up at the foot of the bed, but as you are travelling alone that probably isn't so much of an issue.
Trackabout have a good reputation and are one of the most popular CT's for myswag members (judging by the poll at any rate) whereas haven't seen too many Armadillo CT's out there, but that doesn't mean they aren't any good and their specs are certainly impressive for the $$.  Would actually be interested to hear from any owners.
Trackabout are one of those companies in their second phase of ownership so to speak after closing temporarily a few years back, so the fact that the demand was there for someone to reignite the business is a positive sign in my book.

« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2014, 08:00:23 PM »
G'day Jan,

Welcome to Myswag, glad to see you have made it to the forum...... I'm going to say, go the Trackabout!, only because I own one and reckon  mine is tops, also I know bugger all about the Armidillos, other than that they looked pretty good when I looked one over at the Cairns Expo....... Both the Armidillo and the Trackabout guys are members on here, maybe one of them will PM you with a deal that is just to hard to knock back  :D
As the for the kitchens in the campers, I'm sure the Armidillo runs a nice unit, and they both run Smev cooktops..... the Drifta's are a top unit though, no nonsense tried and proven, and the slide out drawer holds heaps of gear, with no need to ever lift the bed base......

I'd suggest though if you're going for a walk up/extenda camper, first maybe try and open one up on your own, the overall length of the trailer is obviously longer on the walk up types and therefore the roof support bows are longer also more canvas /weight etc,,,,,,,,

The trailer is longer, which could present some issues on certain trails where a normal 7x4 trailer would get through. The trailer will be heavier which will increase fuel consumption on the tow vehicle...... though yes the walk up is great, compared to a ladder...
Remember, "less is more" when ur on the road and camping it etc,,, do u really need to be putting up/packing up more canvas etc each day when travelling....... however if ur parking up in each place for a while, the extra room might be great.......

Check out the chassis on both too, have a look at what they are made from, the Trackabouts do hot dip gal full chassis in 100mm x 50mm x 3mm, which in my humble opinion is about the best in the business..... also, check out the side wall at the bed, the Armidillos are angled, the Tracky's are vertical....  you'd have to think a vertical wall would offer more room for horizontal folk dancing should the situation present itself... ;D ;D ;D

Catch up with me before u hand over the $$...... we'll have a good yarn Jan.

Offline oldarwin

« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2014, 08:31:47 PM »
Was about to say what Barrabart said. Based on the size of the units I would imagine the tent size on the Arma may be a bit easier to setup by 1 person compared to the extra width and weight of the extra 2ft of tent in a walk up camper, hopefully someone can share their experience on setting up a walk up by them self.

As with anything kitchen is going to be personal preference and your circumstances. I currently run a Drifta and love the quality and the space it gives for a family of 4. But I would love the simplicity and the speed of setup of the Armadillo kitchen which has more than enough room for a couple.

On a final note I love the look of the Armadillo, it's an esthetically nice, cool looking unit ALWAYS important when spending that sort of money I recon! :)

Both good Aussie made campers I don't think you could go wrong with either. Good luck trying to pick one.

Offline strom80

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2014, 07:38:48 PM »
Hi Jumle and welcome, I to have not made many posts here but this is a good opportunity as I own a 2010 Armadilo from new. They have change since mine a little. The shape is the same just things like hot water, fridge slide, square axle not 45mm round, It's now powder coated mine is paint which is better in my opinion foe modes.
I have had no dramas at all with it been to fraser, various other destinations beach an inland around the wide bay area. We are also taking it to the Cape in August and am very excited. The only thing that I can think that I would change is to have 2 locks on the tail gate it flexes a bit with 1.

Something to consider as you will be alone and have enjoyed more of life than me is folding soft floor campers in general can be heavy/difficult to fold. I would be setting something up first before you buy. Annexes can be a pain but not impossible to do alone. Just some food for thought.

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2014, 07:51:26 PM »
Jan,

I'd also be looking at a 2nd hand Aussie made hard floor....... trial setting up a hard floor and a soft floor..... see what u reckon........ though a handsome ol' bull like yourself will no doubt have a flock of bikini clad Swedish backpackers in tow, to help out around the camp...  ;D

nbd73

« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2014, 08:11:01 PM »
Jan,

I'd also be looking at a 2nd hand Aussie made hard floor....... trial setting up a hard floor and a soft floor..... see what u reckon........ though a handsome ol' bull like yourself will no doubt have a flock of bikini clad Swedish backpackers in tow, to help out around the camp...  ;D

Offline Jumle

Re: Armadillo or Trackabout CT?
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2014, 02:33:37 PM »
G'day everyone,

I like to thank each and everyone for your comments, invaluable advice this is great. I'm in no rush to choose CT and I will do all my research as well as learn more. I'm thinking to rent a armadillo and trackabout each for a week set it up get the feel and see which is comfy and suit my needs. Also I'm going to write down all my wants in terms of features get a quote from each manufacture and see who comes up with the absolute best deal and bang for my buck  :D

I also like the humour in this forum  :D I will post more as times goes by to let you know what I buy and why. Also post if I have more questions  :D

Again thanks a lot for your input top stuff.

Cheers Jan